5.0

fairly significant
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
19,929 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

The NHTSA is the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints can be spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem. See the Back button — blue bar at the very top of the page — to explore more.

Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2016 Acura MDX:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

Get free help with your lemon!
close ad

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #35

Jun 072018

MDX

  • 36,000 miles
Acura is refusing to address a serious problem with the engine and power train with the vehicle, this may have already caused accidents on other cars in other states. Please see the historical data which gives a complete audit of the issues I have had. 9/22/18 11 days- vehicle taken to the dealer and dropped for service, punch list of issues since purchase that needed addressed. Alignment report is signed off on 9/24/18, battery check 10/1/18, service was started on 9/29/18, car sat for a week with no service attempt made. Oil stains on roof liner were left there and was told they would not clean them off (later proven to be mechanics grease by merrillville) and spider was my problem not theres per ┐rob┐ in service. Issues the car was taken in for. All of the below service was comleted in 5 miles according to odometer readings. On 10/12/18 I took the vehicle to Acura of merrillville per ┐anthony┐ from Acura client care to have it checked. I drove it with the tech and the tech was able to validate a lot of the issues right away. It was returned to me on 11/2/18 22 days on 11/24/18 I returned the vehicle to Acura of merrillville due to the transmission issue returning, also addressed a couple of issues. Car returned on 11/28/18 4 days vehicle loses power when shifting to accelerate, often have to downshift using paddle shifters to make power or car acts like its going to stall. Brakes do not function unilaterally, hit the brakes heavy while in traffic and the back will begin to come around as though one of them does not grab. Engine loses power when in traffic it struggles to accelerate which could cause a crash if needing power to accelerate onto a expressway from an entrance ramp, or anywhere that requires power to move the car.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #34

Sep 012017

MDX

  • miles
The 9 speed transmission on this car is terrible. Hard shifting, lunging forward, the car accelerates on it's own like it doesn't know which gear it should be in. When accelerating, the car hesitates and feels like it loses power. This is a very dangerous vehicle. Took it to the dealer several times and they say this is the way the car was designed. It was done to meet fuel efficiency standards. Acura is sacrificing safety and comfort in order to meet the fuel standards.

- Bolingbrook, IL, USA

problem #33

Jun 112018

MDX

  • 32,900 miles
The transmission shift very hard and when I release the gas pedal the car star to brake and accelerate by him self and it's danger and annoying

- Clearwater, FL, USA

problem #32

Jul 232018

MDX

  • 44,108 miles
When driving around 75 mph on the interstate I went to switch lanes and when pressing the accelerator nothing happened and acceleration was not possible. All warning lights came on, including all wheel drive system problem, emission system problem, all wheel drive system problem, transmission system problem. Check engine and sh-AWD. The power steering and brakes still worked and was extremely lucky to get the car to the shoulder without getting injured or killed. Had car towed to chattanooga Acura dealer. Car was operating normally when they received it. Acura tech support advised dealer to replace transmission and transmission control module (tcm). Also was told Acura is working on a software update for the tcm but it is not available yet but I have little confidence in the fix and little confidence that this won't reoccur. Strongly considering replacing the car

- Marietta, GA, USA

problem #31

Jul 152018

MDX

  • 14,000 miles
9 speed transmission lurches forward when trying to stop - sending the car forward while trying to brake. Happens when the car should shift between gears 3-2 and 1-2/2-1. Acura dealership said it's the fuel saver once, normal the second time, and updated the tcm/PCM another. There is no one addressing this when it could send my car into another car when trying to stop. The last time I drove it on Sunday 7/15 I was slowing down to turn into a shopping center, going around 20mph when the car jerked forward, snapping my neck forward 12"-14" then back again. The car is at the dealership now with the service adviser saying the lurching is the fuel saver and that Acura won't pay for a warrantied item unless the service light/codes are there.

- Waxhaw, NC, USA

problem #30

Apr 302018

MDX

  • 20,200 miles
While driving or parked the "transmission system problem" illuminated on the dashboard. The "D" light also began flashing on console and then car goes into neutral by itself. In addition another warning light came on the dashboard that said "blind spot warning malfunction" followed by 3rd message that said "transmission system problem" and D light disappears from dashboard. When driving, the car continues at same rate speed thankfully. When parked, cannot put vehicle in park and have to use emergency brake. When this happens the car cannot be locked since it recognizes car in drive. Taking to dealership tomorrow. I don't like driving the car since I'm concerned it will go into neutral as I'm driving. I believe this could become a significant safety issue for myself and other drivers at risk. Any time a car does this without explanation on the highway warrants an investigation.

- Dade City, FL, USA

problem #29

May 252018

MDX

  • 16,000 miles
The car overheated and was leaking blue fluid, started smoking and had a weird chirping noise coming from the engine. The car was parked and was jumping another car with a dead battery.

- Winter Garden, FL, USA

problem #28

Mar 222018

MDX

  • miles
The contact owns a 2016 Acura MDX. While driving 72 mph with the cruise control activated, the vehicle lurched twice and all the warning indicators illuminated, displaying transmission system failure, fuel emission failure, and lane departure failure. The vehicle stalled and was coasted to the side of the road. The contact attempted to restart the vehicle, but was unsuccessful. The vehicle was towed to an Acura dealer (Acura of jackson, 828 adcock St, ridgeland, ms 39157) where it was determined that there was a computer glitch. The computer system was reset. The dealer stated that this was a known failure with Acura and no permanent remedy was unavailable. The dealer also stated that the failure could recur in 10 to 10,000 miles. The contact was concerned that the failure would recur and took the vehicle to david mcdavid Acura of austin (13553 research blvd, austin, tx 78750). The contact informed the dealer that she felt unsafe driving the vehicle and wanted to trade it in for another vehicle. The manufacturer was notified and advised the dealer to attempt to duplicate the failure. The vehicle was currently at the dealer awaiting a new diagnosis and possible repairs. The failure mileage was unknown.

- College Station, TX, USA

problem #27

Apr 012018

MDX

  • 32,000 miles
While accelerating and switching lanes on the interstate around 70mph the car reduced power and then downshifted and revved up to over 4K rpms. The car would not accelerate with foot all the way into it and reduced speed to 50mph. Emissions system error, transmission problem error, sh AWD error and blind spot assist error were all illuminated.

- Huntersville, NC, USA

problem #26

Feb 142018

MDX

  • miles
In different settings I have experienced a lag or hesitation when I press the accelerator. The hesitation is sufficient that it makes it dangerous to shift lanes at highway speeds as well as to turn left at a stop sign on a local street. I have disengaged the auto-idle feature to minimize the issue at stop signs and I am now driving in sports mode 100% of the time because this minimizes the hesitation; however, it is necessary to "gun" the engine to ensure that the hesitation does not result in a major accident. I have discussed the issue with the Acura service department each time I have brought my car in for an oil change over the past 1.5 years, and they deny that there is an issue with the power train. I do not allow other members of my family to drive my MDX as I fear their inexperience with the transmission problem will result in a major car accident.

- West Linn, OR, USA

problem #25

Feb 132018

MDX

  • 16,000 miles
While driving on the highway the "transmission system problem" illuminated on the dash board. The "D" light also began flashing. In addition another warning light came on that said "blind spot warning malfunction". the car slowed down. It would not go faster than 15-20 mph on the highway while the RPM's surged to over 4,000 RPM. The car had to be towed to the dealership yesterday. As of today they still have not been able to identify why this happened. I believe this is a significant safety issue that put myself and other drivers at risk. Any time a car does this without explanation on the highway warrants an investigation.

- Township Of Washington, NJ, USA

problem #24

Feb 102018

MDX

  • 21,000 miles
The car rpms do not keep up with the speed. When decelerating in traffic rpms remain high and the car surges forward. Going down hills when taking foot off the brake the car surges forward. When sitting at a stop sign and starting again the car would surge forward. The engine is very erratic and the software updates do not remedy the situation. Very scary driving the car. Cold weather makes the symptoms worse. Need to warm up the car a minimum of five minutes. It is very sluggish in the cold and the surging is more prominent. Not good if you live in cold climates. I need to drive through a residential area of a city with children crossing the street. I am afraid if the car surges when I break there may be an accident with a pedestrian or I may rear end the car in front of me. I have another appointment with the dealer to address the problem. Looking to trade in the vehicle with a different transmission. This vehicle should never be resold!

- Avon, CT, USA

problem #23

Dec 122017

MDX

  • miles
The transmission on this vehicle is unsafe & the car surges uncontrollably driving downhill. My wife & I can no longer drive this car & our local oakland, ca Acura dealer has not corrected the problem - we have taken it in for correction several times. We have 3 kids so we can't drive around in an unsafe car & dont want someone else driving an unsafe car. Acura recently issued a warranty extension on this issue - this car is leased & we want to turn it in now. Please assist. 415 310 9001 - john ryan

- Oakland, CA, USA

problem #22

Nov 282017

MDX

  • 36,000 miles
I was mailed a letter about a warranty extension for my associated VIN. I definitely have experienced associated issues with my MDX. After calling the Acura dealership on 11/24/17, I was given an appointment for 11/28/17 and I was told they would inspect my car over 2 days and provide a loaner car. My experience was "to say the least" the inverse; extremely disappointing. The service technician took my car for a test drive and told me nothing was wrong. In addition, the service team was extremely unprofessional as once again, the customer was wrong. Please advise about the next steps for service. I am extremely disappointed with Acura unwillingness to listen to the customer. I did take the car for service associated with this issue about a month prior. Overall problem is many times I experience shifting and accelerating hesitation that is jerky. Which indicates a problem with the transmission: This is what the warranty extension states.... the transmission shifts poorly.

- Allentown, PA, USA

problem #21

Jun 182017

MDX

  • 36,000 miles
We bought a new MDX 2016 and the car was acting very strange.the powertrain was off, 30000 miles engine was out in the middle of the road, noises everywhere. It is in the shop now and it has been 2 months now since repair.it is still in the shop and it has been over 2 months.

- Irving, TX, USA

problem #20

Aug 042017

MDX

  • 21,000 miles
As the vehicle is moving at 60 -70 mph and you decelerate or reduce acceleration the RPM goes to zero, car cannot accelerate and you do not control over acceleration in moving traffic. If the car iis coasting and not able to have a stable speed with moving traffic this is can be dangerous. Suddenly, the transmission will engage with a sharp engagement (metal sound) of the transmission after about 6-10 seconds. I complained to the dealer as this has happened several times. They said they could not help me since there was nothing wrong at the time of inspection and they have not heard about this problem. Last week similar situation occurred except the dashboard error lights showed sh-AWD, emissions, transmission problems and rear side warning indicator fault. I had to pull of onto the side of road. Once in park the car would only go into sport mode in first gear. Called Acura roadside assistance and they towed to a local dealer. Next morning they said it was ok. Once they tested via diagnostics they said there were errors in the transmission modulator. Hope this fixes the problem. Car has 36K miles on the odometer. The dealer was very helpful and helped me get temporary transportation to my home city 4 hours away. Other people on the internet are having similar problems that have occured to me. My biggest concern is once the car is out of warrantee this becomes my problem not the manufacturer. What recourse do I have if this a design or quality defect for me and other consumers. Current repairs have being completed and unknown if this problem will occur at future date.

- Cumming, GA, USA

problem #19

Jul 242017

MDX

  • 9,800 miles
I got in my car this morning an as soon as I put it in reverse, it lurched forward before finally moving backwards (there was no slope). Then, as I approached a traffic light on a city street and applied the brake, the car felt as though it accelerated slightly before slowing down.

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #18

Dec 012016

MDX

  • 11,111 miles
Un intended non acceleration. Due to severe lag, delay, and sluggish transmission response. Acura has replaced my transmission under warranty at 11,000 miles and did not admit fault and say there was a problem. Here's more on my experience..in my 1 year of ownership.. to whom it may concern: 2016░ Acura MDX 13,000 miles, purchase new from Sierra Acura, alhambra, ca I am writing to request buy back of my vehicle this car is a lemon. Since taking ownership a year ago, my 2016 MDX purchased new has experienced nothing but one problem after problem. Acura replaced transmission a month ago but the problem is still there. Is it engineered and designed to perform in a not safe manner " many times I experience shifting and accelerating hesitation and jerky/jolting. My family and I do not feel safe operating and riding in this vehicle. Several times gas pedal depressed and vehicle lagged at 20 mph for more than 10 seconds before accelerating. A few of the latest new and ongoing problems are below. Driver door now appears off set and at different angle protruding out now. Appears that the door is not closing properly and therefore not sealed at closing. Furthermore every single window has experienced faulty mechanisms with motors, actuators, and seals. When closing the doors it feels like the windows are loose. There are also squeaks and rattles eminating throughout the cabin area. I secured and collected all loose items and the sound is still there. At engine start up each time, there is a high pitch whining noise for a few seconds before engine starts (perhaps something else faulty") I have video / sound documentation of this with 2 seperate recording dates. With regard to the navigation, multimedia unit, it has been lagging, slow (er) to function, and severe delay in backup camera actuating, and audio functions delay in response sometimes.

- Arcadia, CA, USA

problem #17

Jan 042017

MDX 6-cyl

  • 11,500 miles
Hi, I bought a MDX 2016 from autonation Acura last year. I had a problem with the car this week. When I was driving(moving), merging onto a freeway, as the traffic was more, it was slow merge, suddenly I was not able to accelerate as the transmission moved to "neutral" from "drive" automatically. I don't think this is normal behavior and I did not touch the gear buttons or steering wheel shift paddles. This could be a problem with car and its dangerous issue. I was lucky that the traffic was slow moving and I did manage to push to drive again and accelerate. What if this is on a fast moving freeway. Thanks, [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Cupertino, CA, USA

problem #16

Nov 202016

MDX

  • 16,000 miles
Engine does not start and all the warning lights come up on dashboard. After a few seconds, each of the system comes up as failed. Dashboard shows as acc failed, lane warning failed, emission failed, engine check failed. This is a second failure in last 45 days. First failed on Nov 20 and car was in service till Dec 21. Again the engine failed on Jan 02, not allowing to start at all.

- San Ramon, CA, USA

Read the next 15 complaints »