10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
27,020 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

The NHTSA is the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints can be spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem. See the Back button — blue bar at the very top of the page — to explore more.

Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2016 Acura MDX:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

Get free help with your lemon!
close ad
problem #21

Jul 202019

MDX

  • 38,000 miles
My 2016 Acura MDX. Stalled twice. Both times in start and stop traffic when stopped the cylinder deactivation engaged, however then the power went out completely without warning, it took about 5-10 min then the push to start worked and the car restarted. After the first stall we took it Acura, however they said there was nothing wrong. I am writing this report after the second stall today.

- Daly City, CA, USA

problem #20

Jun 172019

MDX

  • 38,000 miles
The contact owns a 2016 Acura MDX. On several occasions, while stopped at a traffic light, the vehicle stalled. When the push to start button was pressed, the vehicle restarted. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. A diagnostic appointment was scheduled with Acura of fremont (located at 5700 cushing pkwy, fremont, ca 94538, (510) 431-2500). The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 38,000.

- San Jose, CA, USA

problem #19

Nov 212017

MDX

  • 24,368 miles
All dash display warning lights will come on sporadically while standing or in motion, last from a few hours to a few days or so, which causes vehicle speed to decrease and certain features to not work. Dealer service unable to resolve problem, but will clear error codes in computer to shut off warning lights.

- Stockton, CA, USA

problem #18

Apr 142019

MDX

  • 60,000 miles
When slowing down at a yield or a right turn on a green light to about 5-10 mph and then when pushing on the gas pedal there is no acceleration. The car feels like it loses power and then after a second or two, the car will jerk and accelerate very quickly while reving the RPM very high. This has happened on numerous occasions and is extremely dangerous when making a right turn. There have been times where I make the turn and the car does not accelerate and then there are cars behind me that must swerve to avoid me.

- Irvine, CA, USA

problem #17

Jan 012019

MDX

  • 28,000 miles
When driving the SUV after the second gear kicks in the transmission has a jolt and it feels like a lag in the shift but then pulls very hard. This shift pull happens when you are going 15-20 mph. Engine timing belt has a loud chirping noise.

- Henderson, NV, USA

problem #16

Mar 042019

MDX

  • 89,000 miles
The contact owned a 2016 Acura MDX. While driving 40 mph on the highway, the contact smelled smoke when the heater was activated. The contact exited the highway, parked, and exited the vehicle. Smoke and flames engulfed the vehicle from underneath the front passenger side. The police arrived shortly and called the fire department. The vehicle was destroyed by the time the fire department arrived. A police report was not filed and there were no injuries. The vehicle was towed. The contact's insurance company contacted the manufacturer to schedule an appointment to determine the cause of the fire. The dealer was not contacted. The failure mileage was 89,000.

- Wappingers Falls, NY, USA

problem #15

Feb 012019

MDX

  • 34,000 miles
The contact owns a 2016 Acura MDX. When the vehicle accelerated after slowing down, the transmission slipped and the vehicle stalled several times when making turns. In addition, the vehicle made an abnormal chirping sound from the engine compartment, which distracted the driver. There were no warning indicators illuminated. The dealer had not been notified; however, the contact planned to take the vehicle to finlady Acura (315 auto mall dr, henderson, nv 89014) for diagnostic testing. The manufacturer was made aware of the failures and did not assist. The failure mileage was 34,000.

- Henderson, NV, USA

problem #14

Jan 012019

MDX

  • 39,500 miles
The vehicle shifted to neutral while driving at 70 mph and the dash started showing transmission and fuel system errors. The vehicle would not shift back to drive mode. After pulling over to the shoulder and turning the vehicle off and on the vehicle could not be put in drive. After about 30 minutes of repeatedly turning off and on the vehicle shifted to drive and was drive able. This could have lead to an accident if there were vehicles behind me.

- Rockville, MD, USA

problem #13

Jun 072018

MDX

  • 36,000 miles
Acura is refusing to address a serious problem with the engine and power train with the vehicle, this may have already caused accidents on other cars in other states. Please see the historical data which gives a complete audit of the issues I have had. 9/22/18 11 days- vehicle taken to the dealer and dropped for service, punch list of issues since purchase that needed addressed. Alignment report is signed off on 9/24/18, battery check 10/1/18, service was started on 9/29/18, car sat for a week with no service attempt made. Oil stains on roof liner were left there and was told they would not clean them off (later proven to be mechanics grease by merrillville) and spider was my problem not theres per ┐rob┐ in service. Issues the car was taken in for. All of the below service was comleted in 5 miles according to odometer readings. On 10/12/18 I took the vehicle to Acura of merrillville per ┐anthony┐ from Acura client care to have it checked. I drove it with the tech and the tech was able to validate a lot of the issues right away. It was returned to me on 11/2/18 22 days on 11/24/18 I returned the vehicle to Acura of merrillville due to the transmission issue returning, also addressed a couple of issues. Car returned on 11/28/18 4 days vehicle loses power when shifting to accelerate, often have to downshift using paddle shifters to make power or car acts like its going to stall. Brakes do not function unilaterally, hit the brakes heavy while in traffic and the back will begin to come around as though one of them does not grab. Engine loses power when in traffic it struggles to accelerate which could cause a crash if needing power to accelerate onto a expressway from an entrance ramp, or anywhere that requires power to move the car.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #12

Jul 232018

MDX

  • 44,108 miles
When driving around 75 mph on the interstate I went to switch lanes and when pressing the accelerator nothing happened and acceleration was not possible. All warning lights came on, including all wheel drive system problem, emission system problem, all wheel drive system problem, transmission system problem. Check engine and sh-AWD. The power steering and brakes still worked and was extremely lucky to get the car to the shoulder without getting injured or killed. Had car towed to chattanooga Acura dealer. Car was operating normally when they received it. Acura tech support advised dealer to replace transmission and transmission control module (tcm). Also was told Acura is working on a software update for the tcm but it is not available yet but I have little confidence in the fix and little confidence that this won't reoccur. Strongly considering replacing the car

- Marietta, GA, USA

problem #11

May 252018

MDX

  • 16,000 miles
The car overheated and was leaking blue fluid, started smoking and had a weird chirping noise coming from the engine. The car was parked and was jumping another car with a dead battery.

- Winter Garden, FL, USA

problem #10

Mar 222018

MDX

  • miles
The contact owns a 2016 Acura MDX. While driving 72 mph with the cruise control activated, the vehicle lurched twice and all the warning indicators illuminated, displaying transmission system failure, fuel emission failure, and lane departure failure. The vehicle stalled and was coasted to the side of the road. The contact attempted to restart the vehicle, but was unsuccessful. The vehicle was towed to an Acura dealer (Acura of jackson, 828 adcock St, ridgeland, ms 39157) where it was determined that there was a computer glitch. The computer system was reset. The dealer stated that this was a known failure with Acura and no permanent remedy was unavailable. The dealer also stated that the failure could recur in 10 to 10,000 miles. The contact was concerned that the failure would recur and took the vehicle to david mcdavid Acura of austin (13553 research blvd, austin, tx 78750). The contact informed the dealer that she felt unsafe driving the vehicle and wanted to trade it in for another vehicle. The manufacturer was notified and advised the dealer to attempt to duplicate the failure. The vehicle was currently at the dealer awaiting a new diagnosis and possible repairs. The failure mileage was unknown.

- College Station, TX, USA

problem #9

Nov 282017

MDX

  • 36,000 miles
I was mailed a letter about a warranty extension for my associated VIN. I definitely have experienced associated issues with my MDX. After calling the Acura dealership on 11/24/17, I was given an appointment for 11/28/17 and I was told they would inspect my car over 2 days and provide a loaner car. My experience was "to say the least" the inverse; extremely disappointing. The service technician took my car for a test drive and told me nothing was wrong. In addition, the service team was extremely unprofessional as once again, the customer was wrong. Please advise about the next steps for service. I am extremely disappointed with Acura unwillingness to listen to the customer. I did take the car for service associated with this issue about a month prior. Overall problem is many times I experience shifting and accelerating hesitation that is jerky. Which indicates a problem with the transmission: This is what the warranty extension states.... the transmission shifts poorly.

- Allentown, PA, USA

problem #8

Oct 052017

MDX

  • 11,797 miles
Vehicle making high-pitch chirp after engine is warm. Noticable at idle. Not noticable during driving/cruising speeds. Took vehicle to dealer regarding high-pressure fuel pump tsb. Dealer stated that high-pressure fuel pump was not involved. Stated it may be due to the starter (defective solenoid or drive piston not disengaging). No current tsb exists for starters. Please investigate.

- Torrance, CA, USA

problem #7

Jun 182017

MDX

  • 36,000 miles
We bought a new MDX 2016 and the car was acting very strange.the powertrain was off, 30000 miles engine was out in the middle of the road, noises everywhere. It is in the shop now and it has been 2 months now since repair.it is still in the shop and it has been over 2 months.

- Irving, TX, USA

problem #6

Feb 172017

MDX

  • 20,000 miles
I thought it was the transmission but they replaced the timing belt pulley and it's still making the same chirping sound. The car is very jerky when it shifts gear while driving. Also, the car accelerates when it's going down hill while in motion. Also the drive 1, 2, 3 button is on the steering wheel and when you accidentally hit it, the car abruptly slows down and will not move forward and I had to literally turn off the car and turn it back on while driving in a parking lot and another time while in traffic, had to keep pushing the button because the car would not go but only idle. (city street.) this happened multiple times on different dates. The accelerating while going down hill happens all the time.

- Smyrna, GA, USA

problem #5

Nov 202016

MDX

  • 16,000 miles
Engine does not start and all the warning lights come up on dashboard. After a few seconds, each of the system comes up as failed. Dashboard shows as acc failed, lane warning failed, emission failed, engine check failed. This is a second failure in last 45 days. First failed on Nov 20 and car was in service till Dec 21. Again the engine failed on Jan 02, not allowing to start at all.

- San Ramon, CA, USA

problem #4

Sep 302015

MDX

  • 100 miles
We took a test drive locally around the dealer on city streets and drove mostly under 35 miles per hour. Later that day we took delivery of our new 2016 Acura MDX. As we started driving it we experienced problems with shifting. It was abnormal jerking and hesitating at speeds between 10-55mph. It would shift through gears randomly. So much jerking and hesitating that my family complains of jolts to their body. I have taken my car in several times and they insist that this is normal to due 9 speed operation. The only way that I am driving the car smoothly is by babying the pedal. I do not feel safe and do not feel confident in driving it. You would hit the accelerator the car will hesistate before the car goes forward. The buttons while being a cool new feature presents a safety problem because you have to look down and frequently cannot engage in the proper gear. If you need to go fast or ever get chased?? then you can't do so in a quick manner! car now has 9800 miles and this problem still exists.

- Arcadia, CA, USA

problem #3

Jun 112016

MDX

  • miles
Transmission failed. This 9 speed transmission has a fluid heater in it that has radiator water supplied to it. Car was not shifting correctly and making a beeping noise at 20 to 25 mph. Car was taken to dealer on 06/11/16 with 8,800 miles on it. They called to tell me that the 2 way valve between the coolant and transmission was faulty and coolant got into the transmission. Acura told them to replace the transmission entirely. Will take 2-3 weeks. Have been having issues the entire time we have had the car. When taking off the car does not accelerate quick, in fact, tends to stall then lurch. Have had issues with the sensors coming on, not sure if this is related to the transmission, but is a continuous issue.

- Lorton, VA, USA

problem #2

Oct 022015

MDX

  • 180 miles
Very similar to NHTSA id number: 10762375. After 3-4 days of driving the check engine light came on along with transmission system U0401, vsa problem, hill start assist problem etc etc etc. The SUV would not speed above 35-40 miles and shake. Dealership replaced cracked spark plug, ignition coil - cause - possible moisture in spark plug. They were nice enough to take the car back and currently waiting for it to be replaced.

- Saint Louis, MO, USA

Read the next 1 complaints »