10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
5 / 0
Average Mileage:
39,499 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

The NHTSA is the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints can be spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem. See the Back button — blue bar at the very top of the page — to explore more.

Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2001 BMW 330:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #18

Jan 082015

330

  • miles
The contact owns a 2001 BMW 330I. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V428000 (air bags) however, the part needed for the repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time to remedy the recall. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Chino, CA, USA

problem #17

Sep 122014

330 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2001 BMW 330I. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V428000 (air bags) and stated that the part needed was unavailable to perform the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 03/30/15.

- Roswell, GA, USA

problem #16

Sep 012014

330

  • miles
The contact owns a 2001 BMW 330I. The contact stated that NHTSA campaign number: 14V428000 (air bags) exceeded a reasonable amount of time for repair. The dealer stated that the part needed was on back order nationwide and declined to provide an estimated timeframe for repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the delay. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact had not experienced the failure.

- Cape Coral , FL, USA

problem #15

Nov 102014

330

  • miles
Dealer refuses to fix defect in regards to airbag recall notice. The dealer is weatherford BMW in berkeley California, 735 ashby ave, berkeley, ca 94710.

- Oakland, CA, USA

problem #14

Sep 252014

330

  • miles
The contact owns a 2001 BMW 330ci. The contact received a notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V428000 (air bags). However, the part needed was unavailable. The contact stated the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall part. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Safety Harbor, FL, USA

problem #13

Oct 242014

330 6-cyl

  • miles
I received a safety recall letter Aug-Sep 2014. The letter stated that I would be notified when the air-bag replacement would be available. It is October 24th. I called the BMW information number 1-800-525-7417 today. A recording repeated the information in the letter: That I would be notified when the replacement airbag would be available. I have only one car, the BMW. My daughter and I live together - I am the usual driver. Yesterday a car pulled out in front of us and I had to slam on the brakes to avoid a collision. Luckily, the air bags were not triggered. But I am concerned about our safety, shouldn't BMW provide us with a replacement vehicle until the air bag can be replaced" thank you for your assistance"

- Red Hook, NY, USA

problem #12

Jul 272014

330

  • 110,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 BMW 330I. While driving 30 mph, the driver side air bags inadvertently deployed and the air bag indicator illuminated. There were no injuries. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 110,000.

- Seattle , WA, USA

problem #11

May 162014

330 6-cyl

  • 111,500 miles
On Friday, May 16th, 2014, while driving alone approx 40 mph on a city street, I hit a pothole on the right side of the road. I immediately heard a loud noise when my wheel hit the pothole and at the same time an extremely loud 'pop'. the door side airbag hit my arm and the plastic covering from the curtain airbag above the driver's side window hit the side of my face but I was not injured. I smelled a 'smokey' smell and my car immediately shut itself off. I have hit potholes on rare occasions when I can't avoid them, but I would never have expected my airbag to deploy. This is a safety concern, and a costly one for the consumer, because I was not in an collision and the impact of the pothole should not have caused my airbags to deploy.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #10

May 032014

330 6-cyl

  • 74,700 miles
I was driving my BMW 2001 330I on dover chester rd crossing the intersection of morris tpke in randolph, NJ when I hit a pot hole and patch work on the road. The passenger side door and window airbags deployed cutting the power to the engine and turning on the emergency hazard lights. I immediately pulled off the road and saw that I had a flat tire but no damage to tire rim and no damage to the body of the car. There was no impact or reason for the airbag system to deploy.

- Hoboken, NJ, USA

problem #9

Mar 012014

330 6-cyl

  • 182,000 miles
On Saturday 03/01/2014 at around 10:30pm I had just passed the tappan zee bridge going to Connecticut so I was on the 287 West or North highway (not sure because at some point 287 changes from West to North). It was about 1-2 miles after when I hit a huge pothole that made air bag or side curtain fell off. The entire bag did not deploy, just the side curtain fell off and stayed hanging. Insurance company considered it a collision and totaled my car. I feel upset because the air bag did not open properly and yet my car was totaled because of it.

- Elmwood Park, NJ, USA

problem #8

Mar 102013

330 6-cyl

  • 119,200 miles
While driving my vehicle, I hit a pothole on the passenger side of the vehicle. My driver side airbags deployed: The side, and curtain. The passenger side airbags did not deploy. After inspecting the vehicle on the outside. The rear passenger side tire was flat.

- Brooklyn Park, MN, USA

problem #7

Aug 132012

330 6-cyl

  • 88,000 miles
Vehicle was hit by another driver running a red light. The other driver centered on the driver's side front wheel but damaged the driver's side door and windshield. The driver's door airbag deployed. The driver's side airbag partially deployed. We could see hit hanging from the rear pillar to the front pillar but it was still tubular shaped and did not prevent the driver from hitting her head on the side of the car. The car was totaled. The front panel was compressed all the way to the engine compartment.

- Boise, ID, USA

problem #6

Jan 132012

330 6-cyl

  • 95,748 miles
Driving down straight road and had to swerve right to avoid animal that ran suddenly into road. Road had no run-off before steep rocky drop to ditch 1-2 ft below. Right (passenger) side tires barely got into rocks, which bent both right side rims and punctured right side rear tire. Bottom of car bottomed out on edge of road with heavy bump, which somehow caused the drivers side door airbag and drivers side head protection airbag to deploy, but was able to pull car back up on road after rocky area leveled back up to road edge. I got out and inspected - rear bumper bottom was torn from sliding on edge of road, previously said tire damage was seen. Seemed to be fairly minimal damage to the actual car, front bumper only has dirt and no damage. This was an impact hard enough to bend rims, but I do not believe the air bags should have deployed as the impact was from below the car.

- Huntsville, AL, USA

problem #5

Jan 062011

330 6-cyl

  • 99,088 miles
The contact owns a 2001 BMW 330ci. The contact stated that the driver was traveling approximately 30 mph and merging into a turn lane when he crashed into a median. The driver and passenger side air bags deployed causing the contact, who was a passenger in the vehicle, to sustain injuries to the eye and fractures to the orbital wall. The driver did not receive any injuries. A police report was available. The driver and passenger were both transported to the hospital via ambulance. The contact stated that the vehicle was not inspected and he was awaiting the opening of an investigation. The failure and current mileage was approximately 99,088. Updated 03/14/12

- Round Rock, TX, USA

problem #4

Jun 012008

330 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 60,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 BMW 330ci. The contact noticed that the passenger air bag warning light would illuminate intermittently whenever the passenger seat was occupied. The failure would occur intermittently over a span of two years. The dealer was notified who informed the contact that the sensor pads located in the passenger seat would need to be replaced. The contact did not inform the manufacturer of the failure nor was the vehicle repaired. The current mileage was approximately 101,000 and the failure mileage was approximately 60,000. Updated 2/23/11 updated 05/06/11.

- Alpharetta, GA, USA

problem #3

May 312005

330 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 56,000 miles
Dt the drivers air bag deployed while driving. The consumer contacted the dealer. It was not under warranty and they could not do anything about it. This happened around May 31, 2005. Vehicle ended up off the road because it hit consumer in the head. Had headaches for a few days afterward.

- San Fransico, CA, USA

problem #2

Jul 192001

330

  • Manual transmission
  • miles
Consumer states while driving the air bag deployed without impact, after deployment he may have hit tires on curb (claim # 59-V831-359).

- Durham, NC, USA

problem #1

Jul 192001

330

  • Manual transmission
  • miles
Consumer states while driving the air bag deployed without impact, after deployment he may have hit tires on curb (claim # 59-V831-359).

- Durham, NC, USA