10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 4
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
53,971 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

The NHTSA is the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints can be spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem. See the Back button — blue bar at the very top of the page — to explore more.

Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 BMW X5:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #17

Feb 152017

X5

  • 140,000 miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2009 BMW X5. The contact stated that the check engine and small vacuum system leak warning indicators illuminated. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic who diagnosed that the fuel pump was leaking fumes and needed to be replaced. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 16V071000 (air bags), 16V364000 (air bags), and 16V746000 (fuel system, gasoline). The part needed for the repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The contact called two local dealers. One dealer informed the contact that the recall was too new and they would call the contact back. The other dealer informed the contact they would not service the recall. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 140,000. Parts distribution disconnect and VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Mckenney, TX, USA

problem #16

Feb 012016

X5

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2009 BMW X5. The contact's VIN was included in NHTSA campaign numbers: 17V020000 (air bags), 16V071000 (air bags), and 16V746000 (fuel system, gasoline). The dealer stated that the parts were unavailable for months to receive the two air bag recalls. The contact stated that the vehicle was slow to pick up speed and the engine was idling roughly. In addition, the engine warning indicator randomly illuminated. The manufacturer was notified of the condition and suggested that the vehicle be taken to a dealer for diagnostic testing. The contact was waiting to determine a solution from the manufacturer. The dealer indicated that additional repairs may be required. The contact felt as if the remedy failed to provide a solution for the current condition. The failure mileage was not available. VIN tool confirms parts not available and parts distribution disconnect.

- Niles, IL, USA

problem #15

Mar 152017

X5

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2009 BMW X5. The contact inquired about part availability. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 16V071000 (air bags), 16V746000 (fuel system, gasoline), and 17V020000 (air bags). The parts to do the recall repairs were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer and dealer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repairs. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issues. The VIN was invalid. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Union, NH, USA

problem #14

Jan 012016

X5

  • miles
Takata recall, in 3/2016, BMW sent me a notice to replace driver's front air bag module, however until now, BMW does nothing. In December 2016, BMW sent me a notice to replace in-tank fuel pump because my BMW smells gas badly when parking and driving. However until now, again BMW does nothing. I appreciate your consideration for safety.

- Myrtle Beach, SC, USA

problem #13

Feb 132017

X5

  • 120,000 miles
I did received a recall letter about my front driver airbag module in March 2016 and immediately contacted BMW of cape cod mass and as a answer they said that the part is not available in the moment and I will get second letter when it is available and ready for replacement. It has been almost a year and there is still no answer. Now I get second recall letter about the fuel pump in my fuel tank. I do travel every week from cape cod mass to New York and there is strong smell of gasoline in my car on long distance travel, but according to BMW cape cod I will have to wait for the part to be available and just need to get used to the smell. I try to call and ask to order the parts that need to be replaced from the recall letters and from the parts department replied that they can get the parts in a day or two as long as I am buying it as a regular customer, but as soon as I try to get the parts replaced as a recall I get a answer that the parts are not available at the moment. When I contact BMW of cape cod mass the only thing I get is that I have to wait for another letter - I have never been asked for my name, car VIN or any other info, and looks like there is not intend this recall to be fixed. I am concerned about my safety and would like this to be fixed up. Thank you.

- North Chatham, MA, USA

problem #12

Jan 062017

X5

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 BMW X5. The contact stated that the vehicle stalled and the check engine warning indicator illuminated. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V746000 (fuel system, gasoline); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage and VIN were unknown. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Bloomington, NC, USA

problem #11

Feb 052015

X5

  • 45,000 miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2009 BMW X5. The contact stated that the check engine warning indicator illuminated intermittently. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 16V071000 (air bags) and 16V746000 (fuel system, gasoline). The parts for the recall repairs were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The failure mileage was approximately 45,000. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. Parts distribution disconnect. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Otisville, NY, USA

problem #10

Dec 012016

X5

  • miles
BMW has taken longer than reasonable to address 3 recalls outstanding on this vehicle. The first recall is from a year ago re driver air bag. The second recall is from 9 months ago re passenger air bag. The third recall is from 4 months ago re in tank fuel pump. BMW has advised that parts will not become available for at least several months from now. BMW was unable to provide an precise dates. In the mean time, we have tried numerous times but been unable to sell our vehicle either privately or to a dealership. No one wants to buy this vehicle because of the long standing, unresolved recalls and BMW has refused to fix the issue earlier or offer any reasonable alternative solution.

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #9

Dec 012016

X5

  • 126,000 miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2009 BMW X5. The contact stated that the vehicle stalled while driving various speeds. The contact stated that various warning indicators illuminated. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 16V746000 (fuel system, gasoline), 16V364000 (air bags), and 16V071000 (air bags). The parts to do the repairs were unavailable. The manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repairs. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The failure mileage was approximately 126,000. Parts distribution disconnect. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Lawrenceville, GA, USA

problem #8

Dec 312016

X5

  • 145,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 BMW X5. While driving, an odor of fuel emitted into the vehicle. While in traffic, smoke appeared under the hood. The contact coasted over to the side of the road and noticed antifreeze leaking into the engine. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, but was not diagnosed or repaired. The VIN was included in NHTSA campaign number: 16V746000 (fuel system, gasoline). The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 145,000.

- Tampa, FL, USA

problem #7

Oct 052016

X5

  • 112,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 BMW X5. When the ignition was turned to the on position, the vehicle failed to start. The contact had to make several attempts in order for the vehicle to start. The failure recurred numerous times. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic, but was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue and stated that the VIN was included in NHTSA campaign number: 16V746000 (fuel system, gasoline). The part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The failure mileage was approximately 112,000. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Lawrenceville, GA, USA

problem #6

Nov 152016

X5

  • miles
I received 2 recall notices regarding this car; the air bag recall was issued on 2/5/2016 and the fuel pump recall was issued on 10/13/2016. No one representing BMW has contacted me yet to have these potentially life-threatening issues resolved. I feel that BMW should escalate their recall resolution process to fixing these recalls within weeks, not months. It has been too long to wait - especially considering I am one head-on crash away from being killed by flying shrapnel from the air bag, or having my car seize suddenly at 65 mph because the fuel pump stopped working. These recalls are not cosmetic - they're very serious safety issues and need quick resolution.

- Germantown, MD, USA

problem #5

Jul 052016

X5

  • 0 miles
#5 & 6 fuel injectors had to be replaced in July 2015. #5 fuel injector had to be replaced again in July 2016. Same mechanic performed both repairs. He advised and gave me a "technical service bulletin" that described fuel injector faults and factory covered repairs. - please advise me of this- there is no outstanding recall that I can find for this.

- Overland Park, KS, USA

problem #4

Aug 282015

X5

  • 77,000 miles
The power cable going to the in-tank fuel pump burnt up, melting the pump housing and melting the insulation on the wires in the tank. When I took it to the dealer they said it was a known issue and that new firmware will fix the issue to reduce how much current the pump draws, they said there was no recall or warranty on this item. The vehicle could have caught on fire with wires getting hot enough to melt the insulation in the fuel tank! how could this not have been a recall?

- Pittston, PA, USA

problem #3

Nov 062014

X5

  • 60,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 BMW X5. The contact stated once the speedometer reached 40 mph, the check engine light illuminated and the message "engine malfunction stop the vehicle" displayed on the panel. The vehicle was taken to a dealer. The technician diagnosed that the fuel supply system needed to be repaired. The failure had not been repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The approximate failure mileage was 60,000.

- Astoria, NY, USA

problem #2

Jul 162013

X5

  • 60,000 miles
Since July 2013 I'm having problem with my 2009 BMW X5 where there is raw fuel smell inside of the car cabin, I have taken my car to BMW dealership many times, the dealership says it's the vapor recovery system, but the BMW rep. Shows up and says if it was the vapor recovery system engine check light would go on and he does not let the dealership to change the vapor recovery system for $1100 which is covered under my BMW warranty, I have found that on 2007 and 2008 BMW X5 BMW North America already did a recall on the vapor recovery system and replaced them, but they are refusing to fix my problem and me and my small kids are getting sick driving this car because of the raw fuel smell.

- Reseda, CA, USA

problem #1

Feb 092013

X5

  • 39,000 miles
I have a BMW X5 2009. I bought this thing brand new 0 miles. Recently has 39000 miles since I both I having issues all the time like Saturday 2/9/13 around 11:00 pm I was returning from Louisiana with my family have a 2 year old son & on I-10 was driving 80 miles an hour and engine just turn off while driving & I was pull over once I stop car trying restart and just don't restart and finally every thing dead no power just dead. Battery die call road side assistant and they send some thru company he told me put car on neutral I don't know how to put on neutral because I cant put neutral bec. Everything was off like no power so I cant do it & he cant do it I call BMW road side assistant I asking help me to put on neutral he say he don't know how to do? just doesn't make any thing BMW road side assistant don't know.... could got kill on road with family. Purchase this X5 $65000.. not expecting this kind issues just not happy 0: engine turn off on road (Jan 9 2013) 1: air blower for ac problem (replaces) Jan 2010 2: sunroof not closing 3: navigation dvd not reading so they replace it.. 4: Jan 31 2013 engine sign came up they fix it.... 5: BMW symbol out side and inside fade it ( replace it) 6: inside driver side handle on door fade (replace ) should I expect this kind problem on BMW X5 [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Channelview, TX, USA