10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
34,452 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

The NHTSA is the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints can be spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem. See the Back button — blue bar at the very top of the page — to explore more.

Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 BMW X5:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

problem #46

Jan 022018

X5

  • 125,000 miles
Passenger seat air bag sensor mat failure.

- Minneapolis, MN, USA

problem #45

Mar 022019

X5

  • 0 miles
3-2-19 I brought car to BMW in ft perce, fl for 4 recalls which they did. There was a passenger air bag light on afterwards which they said they would not fix under recall. I had a licensed asc mechanic scan the car and it came up OC3 seat mat fault. I looked up this and there was a campaign April 2009 which specifically states on the 1st page under situation that air bag warning light issue is extended 10 years without mileage limit. I called BMW headquarters 3-25-19 and filed a report, they told me my VIN# wasn't recalled but I said it is for the passenger seat mat that was recalled April 2009 and this should be covered if it is the same problem. They told me they would escalate it. Today, 3-26-19, I received a call from another BMW rep and they said they were working on it but they would probably not cover it due to the age of the car and mileage. I told them, "no, , your April 2009 recall says it was extended 10 years without mileage limit, so it should be covered". this is a safety issue and if other same make, model, year were recalled for the same problem I am having then they need to fix my car at their cost. I need your help in getting this car resolved as I just recently bought it.

- Port St Lucie, FL, USA

problem #44

Nov 122018

X5

  • 72,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 BMW X5. While driving 40 mph, the contact was involved in a multiple vehicle collision. As a result, the contact crashed into the rear of another vehicle. The air bags failed to deploy. The contact sustained back, neck, and pelvis injuries that did not require medical attention. The driver of the other vehicle was not injured. A police report was not filed. The vehicle was towed to a collision center. The vehicle was not taken to a dealer. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 72,000.

- Lincoln, CA, USA

problem #43

Sep 062018

X5

  • 95,116 miles
The contact owns a 2009 bmx X5. The contact noticed that the air bag warning indicator illuminated, which was a safety concern. The vehicle was taken to BMW of monterey (1 geary plaza, seaside, ca 93955, (831) 920-0743) where it was diagnosed that the passenger seat mat sensor failed. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and stated that the VIN was not included in any recalls. The failure mileage was 95,116.

- Watsonville, CA, USA

problem #42

Sep 022018

X5

  • 85,630 miles
I stopped at a drive thru window and the vehicle shut off without warning. I couldn't get it started and the police tried to put in neutral to move it out of the way. No lights or anything indicated that something was wrong. I have only had the vehicle for 4 days.the airbag restraint light is on and waiting for the sensor. Not sure if this is a recall. It was towed to a shop and then it started when getting it off the tow truck. I don't trust driving it now because it can go out while I'm on the freeway or highway and cause a major accident. There are no reports because I was at a drive thru and just tried to get it out of the way. We had the latest recall done on 08/31/2018.

- Woodland, CA, USA

problem #41

Feb 052016

X5 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 70,000 miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2009 BMW X5. The contact was unable to sell the vehicle because the manufacturer had not supplied the remedy and parts for NHTSA campaign numbers: 16V071000 (air bags), 16V364000 (air bags), and 16V746000 (fuel system, gasoline). The dealer was not contacted because the interim notice did not specify when the remedy and parts would become available. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect. Consumer stated brake failure due to marter cylinder leak.

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #40

Apr 102017

X5

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2009 BMW X5. The contact stated that a recall notice was received more than eight months ago for NHTSA campaign numbers: 16V071000 (air bags) and 17V020000 (air bags). The dealer (harold zeigler BMW, 4201 stadium dr suite a, kalamazoo, mi 49008, (866) 430-1812) stated that they were unable to verify when the manufacturer would provide the remedy and repair parts for both recalls. The contact was unable to determine if the parts were unavailable or on a national backorder. In addition, the contact was not made aware until months later that the vehicle was also included in NHTSA campaign number: 17V683000 (engine and engine cooling) in mid October 2017. The manufacturer was contacted to determine when the remedy and parts would be supplied to the dealer to complete the three recall repairs. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- South Bend, IN, USA

problem #39

Nov 212017

X5

  • 68,000 miles
My seat belt light comes on it starts beeping without anyone or anything on the seat it's very annoying and unsafe I would imagine if I was to get into a car accident would my airbag deploy or not giving false reading this happens while driving

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #38

Feb 052016

X5

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2009 BMW X5. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 16V071000 and 17V020000 (air bags). The parts to do the repair were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The dealer (BMW of the main line, 225 bala ave, bala, pa 19004) was contacted and confirmed that the parts were not available for the recall remedy. The manufacturer was not contacted. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect and VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Philadelphia, PA, USA

problem #37

Jan 102017

X5

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2009 BMW X5. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 17V020000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The dealer was called (BMW of chattanooga, tn, 423-381-6419) and confirmed that the parts were not available for the recall remedy. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue and was not able to confirm when the parts were to become available. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Chattanooga, TN, USA

problem #36

Feb 052016

X5

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2009 BMW X5. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 16V071000, 16V746000, and 17V020000 (air bags, fuel system, gasoline). The parts to do the repair were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The dealer (moses BMW, located at 2001 maccorkle ave, St albans, wv 25177; (304) 722-4900) was contacted and confirmed that the parts were not available for the recall remedy. The manufacturer was called at 800-525-7417, but there was no response. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect and VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Bolt, WV, USA

problem #35

May 012016

X5

  • miles
Takata recall. This has not been satisfied by BMW dealer. There is no remedy available after one year and 3 months.

- Redondo Beach, CA, USA

problem #34

Aug 152017

X5

  • 0 miles
Takata recall - when will I get an appointment to take my vehicle in" is there a phone number for the service department in manhattan"

- New York, NY, USA

problem #33

Aug 032017

X5

  • 140,000 miles
The front passenger seat has a permanent malfunction of occupancy detection. The airbag "off" light is illuminated while a passenger is occupying the seat. This is an obvious safety fault, and fails to meet current dot regulations. I do not feel comfortable putting my passengers at risk while they sit there!

- Torrance, CA, USA

problem #32

Jul 192017

X5

  • 139,000 miles
Front passenger occupancy sensor has permanent failure. "passenger airbag disabled" light continuously illuminated at all times, with audible noise notifying that a passenger is present and must secure seat belt. Occurs when no passenger is present. In order to drive the vehicle with driver only, the passenger seat belt must be falsely deployed/secured. Reference: NHTSA campaign number: 13V564000

- Torrance, CA, USA

problem #31

Nov 152016

X5

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2009 BMW X5. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V364000 (air bags). The part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue and stated that they would send a second notice when parts became available. A dealer was not contacted. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- South Gate, CA, USA

problem #30

Jun 292017

X5

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2009 BMW X5. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 16V364000 (air bags) and 16V746000 (fuel system, gasoline). The parts to do the repairs were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer and local dealer were not contacted. The contact was concerned that she may be unable to sell the vehicle due to the recall not being repaired. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available for NHTSA campaign number: 16V364000 (air bags). Parts distribution disconnect for NHTSA campaign number: 16V746000 (fuel system, gasoline).

- San Rafael, CA, USA

problem #29

Feb 052016

X5 6-cyl Diesel

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 BMW X5. The contact received NHTSA campaign number: 16V071000 (air bags). The part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. Kimberly BMW in davenport, Iowa was made aware of the recall and stated that parts were not in stock. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue and stated that parts were unavailable. The NHTSA campaign number was unknown. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect. Updated 10/24/17 updated 11/20/2017

- Moline, IL, USA

problem #28

Jan 012016

X5

  • miles
This vehicle has had three open recalls for extensive periods of time, there is no end date to when BMW is promising to complete the work by, and the vehicle is unsellable as a result. For over 18 months, there has been a drive air bag recall open and outstanding with no end date. A second air bag recall has been open for around a year, again with no end date. A third recall relates to the fuel system, and again there is no end date provided by BMW. I have raised a complaint before with nhsta and nothing has been done. We are stuck with our vehicle; no one wants to buy a car with open recalls and no end in sight. BMW dealerships have been told by BMW not to purchase these vehicles. Therefore we cannot even sell the car back to BMW franchises. This is incredibly unfair, especially since BMW has been awarded a large settlement from its air bag manufacturer but taken no responsibility for fixing the vehicles at all. Why is NHTSA not helping consumers suffering losses at the hands of this terrible car manufacturer?

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #27

May 212017

X5

  • 63,000 miles
This SUV has 3 safety recalls. Both the airbags are in the takata and the fuel pump creates and extreme risk to me and my family's life. I do not understand why BMW is as a company is keeping these faulty cars on the road. Every time I get in it I am nervous and afraid for my life. Now my wife and kids do not drive with me in the car. It has become a huge burden. It is shameful that BMW but even more so that our government will allow these unsafe cars on the roads. Every time I talked to BMW they try to down play the issue. But I simply can't continue to drive this car and it's unfair to me because dealerships won't even take it due to the safety recalls. I keep smelling fumes from the car and I believe these cars also have additional defects with the radiator to add to the issues already explained above. Today the car stalled and I saw smoke from the hood. I don't know if it was related to the fuel pump situation but it's so annoying and frustrating that BMW is waiting for people to actually die before they will address these defects in their cars!!!! unreal!

- Pittsburgh, PA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »