10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
36,151 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

The NHTSA is the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints can be spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem. See the Back button — blue bar at the very top of the page — to explore more.

Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Buick LaCrosse:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

problem #24

Jun 102013

LaCrosse

  • 51,000 miles
Abou 50, xxx miles the service airbag light in the dash began to illuminate intermittently. It would occur once a month or so. The dealer wanted $1200 to replace the ab control module. For the next 46, xxx miles it has been that way until a few days ago. Now the airbag light is on continually, meaning the airbags are inoperative. Seems like a safety issue to me!

- Saint Peters, MO, USA

problem #23

May 052017

LaCrosse

  • 88,000 miles
The air bag malfunction warning light blinks and then remains on when the ignition is turned on and when driving regardless of speed. This condition has resulted in the replacing of the relevant part twice since I purchased this vehicle in 2009 once under warranty and once out of warranty. This recurring problem compromises the operation of the air bags in the event of an accident. The air bags in this vehicle have never been deployed since it has been accident free since purchased new.

- East Hampton, CT, USA

problem #22

Mar 152016

LaCrosse 4WD 6-cyl

  • 47,000 miles
The sensor for the passenger airbag associated with the front passenger seat works erratically, and generally does not enable the front passenger airbag when a passenger is in the seat. This occurs with a full size adult in the seat. This condition seems to occur regardless of idling or driving conditions. It generally reports through indicators that the front passenger airbag is turned off and the airbag readiness indicator is lit to indicate a problem.

- Kaysville, UT, USA

problem #21

Jun 152016

LaCrosse

  • 24,000 miles
My 2009 Lacrosse will intermittently display the air bag indicator. I noticed this while driving the car around town and there is no passenger in the front seat. It will either stay on for a couple of days and then disappear or will just be on for short periods of time. When I took it to the dealer they stated it was a sensor module and would be approximately $1300 to replace. As of this date, I have not had it repaired. The vehicle only has approximately 24,000 miles. I checked to see if there might be any recalls for this issue and there were none. But in checking online, this appears to be an issue with many Buick especially the 2008. To me this appears to be a safety issue that should be addressed.

- Abilene, TX, USA

problem #20

Jan 152014

LaCrosse

  • 45,000 miles
Seatbelt light came on dash on; no airbag light also on for passenger side. First time it happened someone exited passenger seat while car was in park. Intermittent chime whether seat belt was in use or not; whether someone was in passenger seat or not. That has since ceased to happen. Dealer states dash light on also means no airbag for driver side. Fix is over $1500. Have read many other similar complaints all over America with other Buick vehicles and years. How is this not a recall/safety issue?

- Osceola, WI, USA

problem #19

Jun 202016

LaCrosse 6-cyl

  • 6,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Buick Lacrosse. While driving 30 mph, the passenger side air bag warning light remained off even when the seat was occupied. The vehicle was repaired, but the failure recurred. The details of the repairs were not available. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 6,000. The VIN was not available...updated 11/21/16

- Baltimore, MD, USA

problem #18

Mar 022016

LaCrosse

  • 50,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Buick Lacrosse. While driving 30 mph, the passenger side air bag light remained illuminated. The failure recurred frequently. The vehicle was taken to a dealer, but was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 50,000.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #17

Mar 012016

LaCrosse 6-cyl

  • 38,975 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Buick Lacrosse. While driving 55 mph, the passenger side air bag light illuminated without warning. The vehicle was diagnosed, but not repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The failure mileage was 38,975.....updated 07/05/16 it was determined, the passenger air module had an intermittent internal failure. Updated 07/14/16.

- Eastover, NC, USA

problem #16

Apr 012016

LaCrosse

  • miles
The passenger air bag will display an off indication many times when the seat is occupied. I would guess about 50 percent of the time. This condition happens off and on, doesn't matter if the car is moving or stopped or type of road. Below ask when this condition happened. It happens anytime we drive the car, not a specific date.

- Edna, TX, USA

problem #15

Oct 162015

LaCrosse 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 47,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Buick Lacrosse. While driving at approximately 55 mph and activating the seat heater, the air bag warning light illuminated. The failure recurred numerous times. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where the failure was undetermined. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 47,000. Updated 1/21/16

- Welch, OK, USA

problem #14

Jul 152015

LaCrosse

  • 51,200 miles
Air bag indicator light on passenger side is off 50% of time when carrying a passenger electric automatic door locks fail to operate on driver's side and on occasions when they work you have to manually unlock the doors

- Pinetown, NC, USA

problem #13

Aug 212015

LaCrosse

  • 60,000 miles
The air bag light comes on intermittently. I took it in for service, and was told it would be $1300 to replace the passenger presence module. I've seen other complaints online regarding this same item. I've also had issues with the automatic locks. It initially started with the passenger front door, and has now progressed to all the doors. The price I was given to repair this was $1600. Again, I've seen numerous online complaints concerning this item. This is my 3rd Buick, and I do not intend to buy another one. It seems once the warranty expires, several costly repairs are incurred.

- Bellaire, TX, USA

problem #12

Aug 102015

LaCrosse

  • miles
I am a used car dealer and sell a lot of Buick Lacrosses and have seen at least 7 bad pass. Seat switches in the seat very expensive to fix and should be recalled by GM, this will turn the air bag light

- Holyioke, MA, USA

problem #11

Mar 012010

LaCrosse

  • miles
I wish to formally complaint that Buick has been remiss in its service to its customers. After a simple google search I found that the problem of malfunctioning passenger side airbag module (passenger presence is not detected when the passenger is in the seat and shows malfunction on the dashboard) is pretty common with this vehicle. I am very surprised Buick is not aware of this serious flaw and did nothing to rectify it. Instead the customer is beset with high repair costs each time this module fails due to design flaw than due to normal wear and tear.

- Lima, OH, USA

problem #10

Feb 012009

LaCrosse 6-cyl

  • miles
Consumer front seat passenger airbag indicator does not display when passenger is sitting the in seat. The air bag sensor was replaced. However, the problem continued. The consumer was informed by a local garage mechanic, the passenger presence system would need to be replaced, at a cost of $500.

- Huntingdon, PA, USA

problem #9

Dec 032014

LaCrosse 6-cyl

  • 67,252 miles
Car was towed to auto repair shop where the airbag light and check engine lights were illuminated. Have had four diagnostics performed and problem not found. Advised a complete tear down of passenger seat would need to be done to locate issue which is costing me an exuberant amount of money for something that should be fixed on a recall.

- Rockford, IL, USA

problem #8

Jun 182012

LaCrosse 6-cyl

  • 48,072 miles
Right front passenger seat airbag turns itself off intermittently with passenger seated and buckled. Dealer removed and reinstalled seat and replaced faulty pps module and cushion assembly 06/18/2012, 48,072 miles. Problem recurred, dealer rezeroed system and rechecked ok, 02/20/13, 62,481 miles. Problem recurred, dealer replaced pps sensor 03/13/2013, 63,441 miles. Problem is now recurring 10/07/2014, mileage 96,956, and has been for about 2 months, with a passenger always seated and buckled, wt. 135 lbs. Or more.

- Chesapeake, VA, USA

problem #7

May 082014

LaCrosse 6-cyl

  • 84,000 miles
Left home for local restaurant about 7:am on May 8. traveling down hwy 2 lane, must have dropped wheel off pavement and the car went crazy. I do not remember what happened. The accident report says vehicle crossed the road, hit a bank head first and flipped the vehicle. One car accident. Airbags did not deploy. I was taken by ambulance to a hospital, then transported to another state to a trauma center. Multiple injuries. I was in hospital for 12 days and then a nursing rehab for 2 weeks. I did not know there was a recall on my vehicle until this month August 2014. No other cars were involved.

- Dawson Springs, KY, USA

problem #6

May 152014

LaCrosse

  • 67,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Buick Lacrosse. The contact stated that while driving at approximately 60 mph, the air bag warning light intermittently illuminated. The failure occurred on multiple occasions. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate mileage was 67,000.

- East Hampton , CT, USA

problem #5

May 072014

LaCrosse 6-cyl

  • 65,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Buick Lacrosse. The contact stated that the air bag warning light illuminated intermittently. The contact was made aware of recall NHTSA campaign number 14V355000 (electrical system). However, the VIN was not included on the recall. The manufacturer was made aware of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 65,000. Updated 09/11/14 the consumer stated the manufacturer has recalled the ignition switch but has no solution. Updated 1/13/2015

- Ranson, WV, USA

Read the next 4 complaints »