10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
11,468 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

The NHTSA is the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints can be spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem. See the Back button — blue bar at the very top of the page — to explore more.

Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2000 Chevrolet Cavalier:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

problem #19

May 102014

Cavalier

  • 97,000 miles
I had the air conditioner replaced. The tech said the tensioner needed to be replaced. One week later I returned and had a new belt tensioner installed. About a month later the new air conditioner had premature failure. I had it repaired under warranty and also had a new drive belt installed during the repair. About one year later I began hearing a chatter when accelerating from stop position and had excessive vibration. I took to the shop and they said the belt tensioner was bad. This seems excessively short life span for a replacement part of good quality. Today the shop tried three different tensioners and still it was not correcting the issue. I even double checked the belt routing pattern to ensure it was correct. I dont understand what the problem is with the belt tensioners for this vehicle. All my prior Ford vehicle never had this problem with their tensioners of same design. Please look into this problem as a belt that breaks or slides of a pulley due to a faulty tensioner can cause immediate loss of power steering resulting in hazardous and potentially fatal driving conditions and situations. Also the backlighting on the odometer does not work.the odometer registers milage driven but the backlight does not work at all.please look into and dont wait for someone to have to die before this issue become important.thanks.

- Tallahassee, FL, USA

problem #18

Apr 152006

Cavalier 4-cyl

  • 50,000 miles
Purchased used 2000 Cavalier in 2006. First problem (which has continued for 5 years) is that the service light will come on when the car is cranked unless the headlights are first turned on. If you turn the headlights off while driving, the service light comes on. It will not go off unless you turn the car off and restart it (with headlights on). Second problem is that fuel hand does not reflect accurate amount of gasoline in tank. It goes up and down while driving (with the check gauges light on). Or sometimes it is stuck on E or stuck on F regardless of how much fuel is actually present. Third problem is that car intermittently overheats and is always losing coolant. I have replaced thermostat, water pump, & radiator. Three different mechanics cannot find a leak in the cooling system (despite pressure testing, compression testing, & block testing). We are baffled why it cannot retain constant coolant levels. This is a very frustrating situation as I am left without reliable transportation.

- Atlanta, GA, USA

problem #17

Jun 012002

Cavalier

  • Automatic transmission
  • 12,000 miles
The contact owns a 2000 Chevrolet Cavalier Z24. The contact stated that the paint on the hood, roof, trunk and spoiler of the vehicle began to chip and peel off. As time progressed, he noticed that other vehicles of the same model were experiencing the same failures. The dealer and manufacturer have not been notified. The failure mileage was 12,000 and current mileage was 36,000. Updated 09/16/08. Updated 09/18/08.

- Emmaus, PA, USA

problem #16

Nov 152003

Cavalier

  • Automatic transmission
  • 23,000 miles
Paint, ceyenne pepper. Metal flake paint is starting to turn white in millions of little pockets below the clear coat. GM rep. States the car is out of warranty and the car just needs to be detailed. The dealer john L. sulivan. Just painted the spoiler a month ago for the same cause. The spoiler is starting to show some of the early signs already of the advancing problems. The service manager stated the paint is damaged due to atmospheric conditionc. They are refusing to repaint the car.

- Modesto, CA, USA

problem #15

Oct 052001

Cavalier 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 35,900 miles
I have a 2000 Chevrolet Cavalier. The first problem I experienced was in Oct 2001, while driving the temperature gauge went to the maximum reading without warning, I pulled off the highway and turned off vehicle. Waited a while started back went approximately 1/4 mi and same problem, after stopping 3-4 times I started back on the highway and continued to drive with temp gauge in the red for a approx 1 mile and all gauges returned to normal. Chevrolet garage could not find any problems with cooling system..my second problem I keep hearing a clanging/rattling sound from the front area of vehicle while sitting still if you turn steering wheel you can hear a thump from the front left area where strut is located..my third problem is my check engine/service engine light keeps coming on at various times. My fourth problem I have had to replace my front rotors three times now due to them warping, the first time I had less then 10,000 miles.......

- Grafton, WV, USA

problem #14

Oct 212002

Cavalier

  • miles
Car was being driven on highway, accelerated beyond driver's control, with brakes applied driver put car in neutral, guided car off road and shut off engine. Mechanic where car was towed explained that the air filter cover had broken and a piece from air filter cover was sucked into air duct to throttle body causing throttle to be stuck open. Car is bifuel CNG. Is this is a factor in air filter cover cracking" is there parts tracking for replacement of air filter covers and is it known how many of those went to bifuel cars. Why is air filter cover cracking? or is there a fix to prevent pieces from lodging in throttle"

- Bristol, RI, USA

problem #13

Jul 182002

(reported on)

Cavalier

  • miles
While driving theft light and engine light illuminated on dashboard. Dealer was notified. Mechanic stated ignition switch malfunctioned. Mechanic advised consumer to replace component.

- Hamilton, OH, USA

problem #12

Apr 012002

Cavalier

  • miles
While raining water will enter inside of truck while closing, and spare tire is filled with water. Also. Also, engine check light and traction control light were on dashboard.

- Stratton, OH, USA

problem #11

Jan 302002

(reported on)

Cavalier

  • miles
After buying the car had to return to have the door fixed after door was fixed the keyless entry quit working had the car back to get keyless entry fixed 4 times, had to have front rotors replaced at 28000 miles along with the brakes, still having problems with the braking system grinding and clicking bad vibration in the front end when driving in straight stretches also vibration when going around turns at times it feels like the tires are comming off car is in the shop at present time with the brake problems and dimming of the lights and fuel gage reads empty after filling the tank up and check gages lights come on and remain on for 50 - 100 miles.thats all at this time.

- Graysville, OH, USA

problem #10

Jun 012000

Cavalier

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
On sunny days there is a glare that comes from the dashboard to windshield, obstructing drivers view. Dealer has been notified. Consumer stated dashboard should be dark to reduce reflection.

- Houghton Lake, MI, USA

problem #9

Jun 012000

Cavalier

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
On sunny days there is a glare that comes from the dashboard to windshield, obstructing drivers view. Dealer has been notified. Consumer stated dashboard should be dark to reduce reflection.

- Houghton Lake, MI, USA

problem #8

Jan 242001

Cavalier

  • miles
While driving engine check light came on. Took to dealer, and they replaced oxygen sensor. In March of 2001, problem reoccurred, and dealer replaced oxygen sensor again. On September 11, 2001, problem occurred again, and dealer did not have a solution for problem. On October 22, 2001 problem reoccurred. A dealer told consumer it was okay to drive with engine light on. Finally, on November 14, 200 engine light came back on.

- Binghamton, NY, USA

problem #7

Sep 302000

Cavalier

  • miles
Engine check light would stay up to two or three days at a time. Contacted dealer, and dealer stated reason for engine check light being on was because consumer did not drive vehicle long enough.

- Checktowaga, NY, USA

problem #6

Apr 262001

Cavalier

  • miles
Engine check light comes on at low speed and the gauges fluctating. When vehicle is turned off and back on only the service engine soon light stays on. Receiver/cd player the paint is rubbing off the buttons.

- Grand Rapids, MI, USA

problem #5

Dec 012000

Cavalier

  • miles
Software problem with dashboard-dealer can't fix until GM releases ok.

- Elgin, IL, USA

problem #4

Apr 052001

Cavalier

  • miles
Engine check light and the engine service light staying on while driving. Dealer notified, and unable to correct problem. Feel free to provide any further details on this matter.

- Griffin, GA, USA

problem #3

Jan 152001

Cavalier

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Accident in Dec 2000, engine check light has been on since 15 Jan 2001, after repairs. Took vehicle dealer 3 times. Unable to repair. Dealer stated this was a knowen problem in Cavaliers.

- Wood River, IL, USA

problem #2

Sep 082000

Cavalier

  • miles
Floor mat occasionally catches the clutch pedal while depressed either slowing or inhibiting it's return to the unengaged position.

- Rio Rancho, NM, USA

problem #1

Nov 291999

(reported on)

Cavalier

  • miles
The clutch will return to the up position because of the positioning of the floor mat. Dealer has been notified.

- Worchester, MA, USA