10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
44,865 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

The NHTSA is the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints can be spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem. See the Back button — blue bar at the very top of the page — to explore more.

Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2000 Chevrolet Corvette:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #32

Apr 142014

Corvette

  • 65,500 miles
The contact owns a 2000 Chevrolet Corvette. The contact stated that the service column lock warning light illuminated as the steering wheel seized. The vehicle was taken to the dealer.the technician diagnosed that the steering column needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired but the failure reccured. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 65,500 and the current mileage was 69,000. The VIN was not available.

- Kittery, ME, USA

problem #31

May 222013

Corvette 8-cyl

  • 77,900 miles
Was getting in vehicle too drive N steering wheel locked up after engine was cranked N running. Vehicle has a recall from NHTSA 04V060000 dealership said recall has been fixed before, N they have too charge me 600 dollars to fix problem again. Just wanting too let someone know GM is still having issues with steering wheel locking up when vehicle will crank up N run N you cant steer vehicle, may cause death or injury if it keeps up not fixing problem.

- Biscoe, NC, USA

problem #30

May 032013

Corvette 8-cyl

  • 43,000 miles
Computer message: Service active handling. Per GM need part #26058286 steering position sensor which is discontinued for 1999/2000 Corvettes. They still make this part for all other model years including for 1997-98 Corvettes. This could cause the traction control system to apply the brakes and/or perform other functions, when it shouldn't, causing erratic unsafe driving conditions. I am afraid to drive it and cannot sell it as is.

- Dexter, OR, USA

problem #29

Aug 182012

Corvette 8-cyl

  • 63,000 miles
Driving down rt 2 in ct with cruise set on 65 when a "active handling" failure code just popped up on the instrument panel (very first time ever) and then the back right brake was activated skewing the car immediately to the right. I recovered the car and slowly drove it home with the code still displayed. I brought the car to the Corvette center and they told me that the steering wheel sensor failed and suggested I do not drive the car. They also told me that General Motors does not make a replacement sensor nor do any aftermarket companies! they also told me that with the steering wheel sensor failure the vehicles brakes, either all or individually, could be applied any time I drive the car by the car's computer thus creating a various dangerous condition. I telephoned General Motors Chevrolet division and the representative I spoke with apologized about the vehicles behavior and then confirmed there "was a problem" but couldn't help me as there are no replacement parts available to repair the vehicle. It is totally ridiculous to design a vehicle that incorporates an internal component that is absolutely crucial to the safety of the vehicle, occupants, and all those around it and not supply a replacement part thus rendering the vehicle "grounded" forever.

- Bristol, CT, USA

problem #28

Sep 122012

Corvette 8-cyl

  • 22,000 miles
Unable to unlock steering column after starting engine despite repeated attempts. Intermittently recurring problem. "service steering column lock" fault message appears in vehicle instrument panel display.

- Whitehouse, OH, USA

problem #27

Sep 012012

Corvette 8-cyl

  • 20,750 miles
The contact owns a 2000 Chevrolet Corvette. The contact stated that while reversing from a residential driveway, the steering column seized. The manufacturer was contacted and confirmed that the vehicle was previously repaired under NHTSA campaign id number: 04V060000 (steering:column locking:anti-theft device). The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileages were 20,750. Updated 11/19/12 updated 11/20/2012

- Carneys Point, NJ, USA

problem #26

Jul 112012

Corvette

  • miles
The contact owns 2000 Chevrolet Corvette. The contact stated that the vehicle was repaired under NHTSA campaign id number: 04V060000 (steering column: Locking anti theft device) in March 2005. The contact stated that most recently, the steering failed. The contact took the vehicle to the dealer and was told that the lock link needed to be completely removed. The dealer also stated that there was a second recall issued by the manufacturer that stated that the lock link needed to be removed but the contact's vehicle was not included in the recall. The current mileage was 44,000 and the failure mileage was unavailable.

- Fairfax, VA, USA

problem #25

Jul 102010

Corvette 8-cyl

  • 107,296 miles
I understand NHTSA is authorized to order manufacturers to recall and repair vehicles with serious safety defects in the design. I have also been told that the "column lock recall" on many years of the Chevy Corvette is a government mandated recall that there is no expiration of GM responsibility to fix the problem with this recall. I own a 2000 Chevy Corvette which I bought second handed in 2006 from a Chevy dealer in my area. There had been a recall on this car for the column lock before I purchased it and I was unaware of it or I would not have purchased it because of the seriousness of this issue which the car shuts down completely regardless whether you are at 0 mph or 60 mph. I feel I was sold this vehicle as a way to just pass this issue on to someone else. My first encounter with this issued started three years ago which was three years after I bought it. We took it to the dealer not knowing about the before recall and had it repaired at a charge of $1,700. After I found out about the recall I questioned the dealer and they said it was not their responsibility. Within a years time same issue recurred so this time I reached out to GM and they stood behind it and told the dealership to fix it at no charge. I just went through this same issue again for the third year in a row this time costing us $1,300. If there is no expiration to General Motors responsibility to fix the recall problem why is it coming out of my wallet. Furthermore this is a serious safety defect and I cannot understand how a manufacturer can continue to produce these cars year after year with this same issue. Someone needs to see that something is done before someone is killed if they haven't been already. [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Poolesville, MD, USA

problem #24

Jul 162012

Corvette

  • 47,000 miles
The contact owns a 2000 Chevrolet Corvette. The contact stated that whenever the vehicle was started, the steering wheel would lock. The vehicle was towed to the dealer who stated that the steering wheel actuator needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired under NHTSA campaign id number: 04V060000 (steering: Column locking: Anti-theft device) however the failure persisted. The manufacturer was notified of the issue who stated to the contact that although the vehicle was repaired under the recall previously, any further repairs would be at the contact's expense. The failure mileage was 47,000.

- Sloatsburg, NY, USA

problem #23

Jul 172012

Corvette

  • 87,000 miles
The contact owns a 2000 Chevrolet Corvette. The contact stated that steering column seized as soon as the vehicle was started. The vehicle was towed to an independent auto mechanic who informed the contact that the steering column lock plate would need to be replaced. In 2001, the vehicle was repaired under NHTSA campaign id number was 04V060000 (steering:column locking:anti-theft device). The technician also stated that the previous recall repair was not performed properly. The vehicle was repaired for the most recent failure. The manufacturer was notified of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 87,000.

- Glen Rock , PA, USA

problem #22

Jun 012009

Corvette

  • 110,000 miles
The contact owns a 2000 Chevrolet Corvette. The vehicle was included and repaired under the recall associated with NHTSA campaign id number 04V060000 (steering:column locking:anti-theft device). After the repair, the contact was driving approximately 5 mph when the steering wheel became difficult to maneuver. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for a diagnostic test. The technician stated that the recall repair would have to be performed a second time, but the contact would be responsible for the cost of repair. The repairs were performed, but the failure recurred. The manufacturer covered the second repairs under warranty. The failure occurred a third time. The vehicle was not repaired. The VIN was not available. The approximate failure mileage was 110,000.

- Chapel Hill, TN, USA

problem #21

Nov 152011

Corvette 8-cyl

  • 30,000 miles
This car was recalled by GM under recall bulletin # 04006 (4/19/2004). Weber Chevy installed a harness kit on 10/28/04 although the bulletin said "automatics only". this car is a manual 6 speed. In February 2006 GM issued a new product safety recall (GM recall bulletin # 04006C) on the steering column lock system for 1997-2000 Corvettes with manual transmissions. This bulletin stated that it cancels and replaces bulletin 04006B for manual transmission vehicles. This new recall states that dealers should remove the column lock plate because "a crash could occur without warning". my local GM dealer refused to do this recall because he said that the car was already repaired under the first recall # 04006 (a) and that GM would not pay for it. Please assist me in having the car repaired properly by GM under the current recall which clearly states that the original repair was not adequate for vehicle safety.

- N. Bellmore, NY, USA

problem #20

Aug 082011

Corvette 8-cyl

  • 106,111 miles
Called Chevrolet about campaign NHTSA id # 04V060000, action # EA02031 involving steering column locks up due to malfunction in anti theft device. Chevrolet indicated they performed recall already by reprogram of module controlling that problem and would take no further action even though the exact same problem is occurring. I indicated that a simple additional reprogramming of the said module would more than likely solve the problem and they indicated it had been done and would not be able to help.

- Wildomar, CA, USA

problem #19

Jul 192011

Corvette 8-cyl

  • 12,944 miles
I purchased a 2000 Chevy Corvette, VIN # [xxx], with less than 12,000 miles on it on 31 May 2011. On July 19, I entered and started the car and as I was backing out of my garage into my driveway, the steering wheel locked. I stopped to avoid hitting my truck, parked in the driveway and pulled forward into the garage and shut-down. Later that day I became aware of a safety recall affecting the car, the first, V0743, dealt with the electronic column lock (ecl) and that had been complied with. I also became aware of NHTSA campaign 04V060000 and the mandate to remove the lock plate mechanism from the car to prevent the situation that happened to me. Today, 20 July, I became aware that gms response to this issue was to issue a safety bulletin, not a recall, in Feb 2006 that expired in Feb 2008. Currently I have a GM car that is unsafe to drive, a known material safety problem from the factory and known solution, and GM unwilling to fix the vehicle (at their cost) because it didn't happen to me between Feb 2006 and Feb 2008. A GM case file has been opened, rep # 71-698-549-092 but all indications are leading me to believe that I?lol be responsible for the towing of my vehicle and all repairs. I did not know safety recalls and campaigns were only valid for 2 years. Any assistance in this matter would be greatly appreciated. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6)

- Mary Esther, FL, USA

problem #18

Jul 052010

Corvette

  • 19,774 miles
On 7/5/2010 when starting my 2000 Chevrolet Corvette the steering column would not unlock.I tried several ways to get it unlocked including unhooking the battery as my Chevrolet dealer service person had suggested. Nothing worked so I had to have the vehicle towed to my local Chevrolet dealer. They replaced the steering column actuator and gave me a bill for $874.23. I contacted Chevrolet and had several conversations with tony and received a case #([xxx]). tony said he was passing my case up to someone else. That rather rude person called and said that my vehicle had the recall repair completed in 2004. Also due to the year and mileage of my car that they were not assuming any responsibility for the problem. I informed this "person" that the vehicle had 19000 + mile on it and that if they performed a repair for the recall it must have been an ineffective bandaid because I was having the same issue that the recall was issued for. I was offered some bogus certificate for consideration if I purchased another Chevrolet in the future. I said that I wanted to be reimbursed for the reaper and she told me no. I feel that Chevrolet is avoiding their responsibility for an obvious defect and I am still concerned that this condition may reoccur while I am operating my vehicle. Please help. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Baltimore, MD, USA

problem #17

Nov 252009

Corvette

  • 30,020 miles
Went to drive my 200 Corvette coupe home and there was no power to the vehicle. During the towing operation the tow truck driver could not move the steering wheel despite the key being in the ignition and in the on position. Many attempts were made to try to free the steering wheel without success. Car had to be dragged onto the tow truck with the front wheels off to the side 20 degrees. This vehicle was recalled in 2004 for the same type of problem and the dealer indicated that the recalled issue was successfully addressed in 2004. The dealer claimed the steering column cam, lock and retainer were all defective and needed replacement. Had the car been moving and the steering locked up it would have been a catastrophic failure.

- Morgan Hill, CA, USA

problem #16

Sep 032009

Corvette

  • 79,500 miles
1) steering column lock issue 2) fuel cut off ** was driving with my 12 year old daughter. Stopped for gas 65 miles from home and at 11pm. After getting gas I went to start car would not turn over / start. After several tries it finally started but information center above steering column said "service steering column lock" and would not allow me to drive more than 2 mph before shutting off fuel and killing the motor from running. Had Corvette towed to my office. Finally got home at 2:30 am. Called Chevy dealer, was told that it had a recall that pertained to the problem, recall done in 2007 and that even though it was the same problem the Chevy dealer would not fix it again even though I told them the recall had not been completed because the steering lock plate was still installed and the recall specifically stated the dealer was to remove the steering lock plate. Said nothing they could do and estimated it to be $900 to $1200 to fix. Said to call recall center which said "tuff luck" car still not running. I don't know why they said the recall fixed the problem just to have the same problem and say " I " have to pay to fix this time even though it is the same problem as before the recall " are they kidding me " help !!!

- Santa Rosa , CA, USA

problem #15

Mar 152008

Corvette

  • 62,500 miles
The contact owns a 2000 Chevrolet Corvette. The vehicle was repaired according to NHTSA campaign id number 04V060000 (steering:column locking:anti-theft device). Two years later, when the contact inserted the key into the ignition, he noticed that the steering warning indicator was illuminated on the instrument panel. Afterwards, the vehicle became inoperative and was towed to a dealer. A technician stated that the failure referenced in the recall had resurfaced; however, the dealer refused to assume financial responsibility for the repair. The contact is in the process of having the vehicle repaired. The manufacturer did not assist. The failure and current mileages were 62,500.

- Woodland, TX, USA

problem #14

Nov 232008

Corvette

  • 53,000 miles
The contact owns a 2000 Chevrolet Corvette. While driving less than 55 mph, the steering column failed. The vehicle was taken to the nearest dealer and they stated that the vehicle had been previously repaired incorrectly according to NHTSA campaign id number 04V060000 (steering:column locking:anti-theft device). Upon further investigation by the dealer, it was discovered that the initial recall remedy was surpassed and the pieces needed to complete the recall were missing. The dealer from where the vehicle was purchased informed the contact that he could return the vehicle for a full refund. The failure and current mileages were less than 53,000.

- Blue Springs, MO, USA

problem #13

Oct 122008

Corvette

  • 60,800 miles
I own a 2000 Corvette. I stopped to fuel up the vehicle. When I got back in and started the vehicle I received a warning on my dash to service the steering column lock. This of course locked the steering wheel so it could not be turned at all. I had to have it towed to a dealer. I researched this problem and found there have been several recalls on this issue. The dealer claims the item shows it has been repaired in 2004. However the fix in 2004 did not actual repair the problem so in 2006 another recall was issued for this same complaint on the vette. I have only had the vehicle for two years so the repair was supposedly done before I purchased it. If the recall had been repaired properly I would not be having this problem again. The dealer and Chevy are telling me that since this repair has already been done the recall no longer exists for my vehicle. Yet the problem still exists. This is a safety issue the Chevy is more than aware of. If this would have occurred while driving I or someone I hit could have been seriously injured. How can they close a recall that has never been repaired properly.

- Festus, MO, USA

Read the next 12 complaints »