really awful
Crashes / Fires:
14 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
4 / 0
Average Mileage:
72,770 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

The NHTSA is the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints can be spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem. See the Back button — blue bar at the very top of the page — to explore more.

Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Chevrolet HHR:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #254

Jul 012014


  • 42,000 miles
I was driving on a back road with sharp turns. My car binged a sound, a power steering warning light came on the dash. That instant I had no power steering going into a sharp turn.

- Emmaus, PA, USA

problem #253

Jul 102014


  • 90,000 miles
I own a Chevy HHR 2007, the power steering light has been on everytime I used the car since April 2014. Because of not being able to make turns, I almost caused a car accident in highway a month ago. So, I just got off the phone talking to Chevy customer service, I was told my Chevy HHR 2007 isn't qualified for lifetime warranty of power steering motor replacement, which is conflicted with the news GM released on March 31st, 2014. The news can be found at media.GM.com/media/us/en/GM/news.detail.html/content/pages/news/us/en/2014/Mar/0331-power-steering.html it states on the news that "in addition, 309,160 non-turbocharged Chevrolet Hhrs from the 2006-2008 model years (and several hundred 2009 models) and 96,324 Saturn ions from the 2003 model year that are not subject to these recalls will be given lifetime warranties for replacement of the electronic power steering motor." From what they said, my car should be included. But I was told by the agent that the policy hasn't been added to the system yet, and they have no idea when will happen. Which means, I, a Chevy consumer have to cover the cost of replacement of power steering motor. Because of the old policy, and there is no guarantee that my car will be included in the new lifetime warranty. I as a driver do not feel safe to drive the car because of the steering might be out of the control again, and I don't feel like GM is being responsible for safety of the driver/Chevy car owner.

- Albuquerque, NM, USA

problem #252

Jul 102013


  • 37,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet HHR. The contact stated that while driving approximately 40 mph, the power steering intermittently failed without warning. The vehicle would become increasingly difficult to control. The contact mentioned that the failure was experienced several times. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the power steering module needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 37,000 and the current mileage was 45,000. Djr

- Springfield, VA, USA

problem #251

May 012014


  • 64,500 miles
I was turning my car around, and as I shifted from reverse to 1st gear, the power steering went out. That was odd. Turned car off and back on, power steering returned. Since then the power steering has continued to go out. At this point, power steering goes out every single time I drive my car. Mileage and speed do not matter. How can this not be a recall" I cannot afford to get it fixed or to get a new car. What do I do? will this get worse? are other things going to go wrong now? I have to go to work and I have to take my son to day care. How safe is it to drive this car"

- Fort Wayne, IN, USA

problem #250

Jan 222014

HHR 4-cyl

  • 59,200 miles
I just had my recall for the ignition switch completed on my HHR as of 6/26/14. When I picked up my car from the dealership, I didn't even make it out of the dealership parking lot and my power steering was out. I was told by the gentleman that the power steering motor is not a recall, and I can either continue to drive it with no power steering 99% of the time, or I can pay to have it fixed. It may "potentially" be another recall in the future, but is not confirmed yet. I have read numerous complaints regarding this issue, and GM is aware enough to recall this power steering issue a few years back in Canada, but not here in the us. I have contacted customer care. Their response was the same. I would need to pay out of pocket. Somebody needs to address this issue. This is huge. You can't even drive 5 ft and it is out. I surely hope I am not involved in an accident as I have a 9 yr old son. I am disappointed that GM is failing to recognize this issue. I have read so many complaints about it that it is sickening and sad that their refusal and lack of empathy for these owners disgusts me.

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #249

Apr 232014


  • 81,546 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet HHR. The contact stated while driving approximately 55 mph, a chime sounded inside of the vehicle and there was a loss of power steering with warning. The steering wheel was difficult to turn even with force being applied. Whenever the engine was shut off the steering resumed normally. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic for diagnosis. The vehicle was not repaired because the required part was unavailable. The manufacturer was notified of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 81,546.

- Whiteville, NC, USA

problem #248

Mar 182013

HHR 4-cyl

  • 42,000 miles
While driving, coming onto a busy intersection my car lost power and steering, I was in the far right lane, so traffic was able to go around us, this happen after I picked my kids up from school, it was a nightmare, we were under a hill and was almost rear ended several times. I called the local Chevrolet dealer service department, told them what happen, they told me to get the car to them so soon as possible. We had the car tolled to them at our own expend, they said it was a power steering problem, they charged us to fix it, but sometime we still have some power problems and problems turning key and, key getting jammed in ignition switch, when I reported the problem to them in April or May 2013, they wanted to charge me again to have my car checked, I couldn't afford it. I'm still waiting for my appt. For the recall. I asked to be refunded the $287.52 for repair, plus$40 toll fee, the service department told me to contact GM for the refund. I hope you are GM, if not forward this info.to them or send me the address I need to send this to. Thank you

- Montgomery, AL, USA

problem #247

Nov 122012


  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet HHR. The contact stated that while driving at various speeds, a chime sounded and suddenly there was a complete loss of power steering. The vehicle was able to restart and function as normal. The failure occurred sporadically. In addition, the contact was involved in a crash on two separate occasions where the air bags failed to deploy. A police report was filed and there were no injuries reported. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was unavailable. The VIN was unavailable.

- Augusta , GA, USA

problem #246

Dec 152013


  • 6,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet HHR. The contact stated that the steering wheel was difficult to steer on multiple occasions and the instrument panel failed intermittently. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 6,000.

- Fort Walton Beach, FL, USA

problem #245

Jun 102014

HHR 4-cyl

  • 65,000 miles
On several occasions while driving the vehicle the electric power steering failed causing my son to have to pull over quickly as it was quite difficult for him to control the car. During one event he also described what seemed to be loss of brakes as he said he had the brake to the floor and was not stopping; he had to use the emergency brake; this occurred at the same time as the power steering loss. He has had several instances where he would try to accelerate without affect.

- Plum Branch, SC, USA

problem #244

Sep 132012

HHR 4-cyl

  • 55,000 miles
We purchased this vehicle used in late 2009 with approximately 30000 miles. A couple years into ownership the car engine began shutting off while driving unexpectedly, 4 times during left hand turns where we were turning into parking lots or driving over a dip in the road. Once over a pothole. It's very scary, left hand turns are dangerous maneuvers anyways, let alone having your car stall while doing it. These incidents occurred before we ever heard of recall. We received the notices in the mail, but parts were not available and the dealer is clearly overwhelmed and annoyed. Our first contact was incredibly rude and put my husband on hold for twenty minutes and then basically said don't call us we will call you and hung up on him.. in may the power steering issue happened while I was driving on the freeway traveling 65mph on a freeway curve during heavy winds. The chime sound was followed by the error message and I became very afraid and the car was very hard to steer. I finally got to shoulder after completely panicking because I did not understand what happened. The car will resume normal operation after turning off for a period and restarting, but it's just a matter of time till it happens again. The recall on the steering is not being covered because my model year is not included in recall even though GM is covering it in other 2007"??" makes no sense. I'm told that they are extending lifetime warranty to original owner but most of these model years are already in resale market so we are excluded, so I guess this will fall on our pockets.. I am very annoyed and I refuse to drive my kids around in this death trap anymore. I asked for loaner finally. I'm done with this thing.

- Fullerton, CA, USA

problem #243

May 102012

HHR 4-cyl

  • 70,000 miles
May 10th 2012 was the first sign: Chimes and then displays: Power steering failure, turned off engine and restarted the car and it was fine, then after a few days it started again with chimes and notice of power steering failure, this got more frequent over time to the point of never having power steering. I looked this up on website and found many sighting of the same failure with Chevy HHR's, I did some research and found the same part number for (eps) electric power steering motor was used in 5 different models and years 2003-2011 vehicle with recalls on only some model/years but not mine, which brings us to 2014 and NHTSA and GM announcement recall N140115 note GM bulletin number 14119 will be implemented for model years 2006-2008 and early production of 2009 Chevrolet HHR (non-turbo) and model year 2003 Saturn ion to provide eps motor replacement for the life of the vehicle., on GM's webpage as will as reuters.com stating the same: 309,160 Chevy HHR 2006-2008 and several hundred 2009 and 96,324 Saturn ion from 2003 model years not subject to the recalls will be given lifetime warranties for replacement of the electronic power steering motor. But the dealerships will not honor this unless it's tied to a VIN number, I called GM and the tell me my VIN does not warrant the coverage. Is there something wrong with the english language that I am missing? I even recall the GM CEO announcing this on tv. Can someone please tell a disabled american how to convince this huge corporation to do something as simple as put the bulletin 14119 linked to the model VIN numbers/year that they themselves say are not subject to the recall but are still covered under warranty so I don't spend another four hours a day trying to convince the dealerships and GM customer service that is what they meant by what they wrote. As to this date 06/11/2014 they still won"T honor their own words.

- Orlando , FL, USA

problem #242

Oct 102013

HHR 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 110,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet HHR. While driving 60 mph, the power steering indicator illuminated on the instrument panel as the steering wheel became difficult to turn. The vehicle was not repaired and the manufacturer was not notified. The failure mileage was 110,000...updated 08/11/14

- Orlando, FL, USA

problem #241

Jun 042014

HHR 4-cyl

  • 137,675 miles
I have never had any problem with my 2007 HHR until today. I was driving down the highway when out of nowhere I heard 3 chimes and "power steering" appeared on my driver information center. The car was hard to steer. I immediately pulled over to the side road and turned my car off. I sat there for maybe 10 minutes before I restarted the car. It started normally, no info center light, but I am afraid to drive this car. I drive 40 miles to work, 80 miles round trip. I am 56 years old and work night shift. I felt like I had lost control. My husband told me there is a recall on my HHR for a power steering problem. I received notification for the ignition switch problem but not the power steering issue. For anyone at anytime but especially a woman at night, this is dangerous, very dangerous....no warning...it just happened!

- Donaldsonville, LA, USA

problem #240

May 292013

HHR 4-cyl

  • 87,000 miles
This car has experienced repeated sudden loss of power steering assist. It happens without warning and at all speeds from 25 to 65mph. Research shows that similar vehicles have been recalled for this exact problem but this particular car was not subject to that recall. (NHTSA # 10V073000). Furthermore, research indicates that this is a somewhat common problem for this make and model. Can you please tell me why this car is not subject to steering motor failure recall and please consider issuing a recall for this dangerous condition.

- Beavercreek, OR, USA

problem #239

Jun 012014

HHR 4-cyl

  • 96,986 miles
Was driving approx 30 mph coming to a stop and my power steering light came on and I was unable to steer. Turned car off for approx 10 min and light went off and had power back. Called the dealership and was told that I needed to have diagnostics done which would run $54 - $119. However manual said that if light goes off problem does not exist. The next day 6/2/14 power steering light came on 3 times within 2 hours going no faster than 40mph and light going off when turning car off and then dimmed back on. Car is already waiting for 2 recalls to be fixed; the ignition switch and glove compartment. The airbag recall was just completed last month. This is such a safety issue and very frustrating.

- Tucson, AZ, USA

problem #238

May 292014

HHR 4-cyl

  • 119,522 miles
Vehicle was exiting parkway when loss of braking and steering occurred causing vehicle to collide with guardrail nearly head on. Air bags did not deploy. Major damage to front of vehicle as well as rear of vehicle as it swung around and struck the guardrail a second time with the rear of the vehicle before coming to rest across the roadway.

- Hartford, KY, USA

problem #237

Mar 202013

HHR 4-cyl

  • 94,726 miles
When car is being driven power steering goes completely out and makes car hard to turn and steer.

- Montgomery, IL, USA

problem #236

Apr 162014

HHR 4-cyl

  • miles
The recall I have had so far was with the ignition switch and that took the dealership over one month to repair. After my car was repaired and apparently rekeyed I am locked out of my car, the key will not unlock my car door. I called the GM roadside assistance, with hopes of assistance. They inform me they will be a $59.95 fee to unlock my car and they accept all major credit cards. I explained to them this was not my error it as a result of the ignition recall they stood firm of their fee and suggested I call the local authorities. When I contacted GM about the recall I had shared with them I was having power steering issues. While I am driving my car my power steering goes out and it becomes hard to steer as well the is a display on the dashboard "power steering". on several occasions on the street, freeway and while turning into a parking space. I then became aware of a recall on HHR power steering, however they say it not with my vehicle.later I read an article stating that jeff boyer was offering a lifetime warranty on the vehicles that have not been recalled.GM also said 309,160 non-turbocharged Chevrolet Hhrs from the 2006-2008 model years model year that are not subject to these recalls will be given lifetime warranties for replacement of the electronic power steering motor. So then when I call the 800 number to find out how I may have this power steering issue addressed with my district advisor he shares with me there has been no statement made that he is aware of I feel unsafe driving in this vehicle and with the round around and non assistance I am getting from GM I am not sure I ever will. [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Fountain Hills , AZ, USA

problem #235

Apr 232014


  • 20,000 miles
This is in regard to recall # 14V-047. About 3 months after I bought this car, I lost battery power. Over the next 6 monthe or so I lost the battery 3 more times the last time at a gas station. I got a start from aaa emergency serv- ice who checked the attery and said it wold not charge. So, I had to buy a new battery, since it is not a standard battery I had to look for a battery in several local cities, it was after hours. The following week my power steering died. A local mechanic repaired it, a relay or fuse problem this happened a second time and now I really got worried. I got the recall notice from Chevrolet detroit and called princeton, NJ. Chevrolet. I was told a apart had to be ordered and would take a few weeks. Two weeks later, I called pinceton Chevrolet, no part, yet. Finally, today I called them a third time and spoke to jack their warranty mgr. No part yet. Then I called chev detroit and spoke to"tisa ?". she mollified me by telling me I could get a loner until my car was repaired. I tried to call princeton chev again but the line was busy for over an hour.I feel like I am getting the old run around.they expect me to give up..I won't and I'll make phone calls untill I get satisfaction..

- Princeton Junction, NJ, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »