10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
11 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
4 / 0
Average Mileage:
66,930 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

The NHTSA is the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints can be spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem. See the Back button — blue bar at the very top of the page — to explore more.

Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Chevrolet HHR:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #195

Nov 212013

HHR 4-cyl

  • 100,000 miles
On March 27, 2014, while driving at the speed of 45mph, the steering wheel became hard to turn. This is the third time of this particular incident. The first incident happened around November 2013. Each time the vehicle was taken to a Chevrolet dealer to be fixed. Now I have noticed the coolant temperature displaying under the mileage panel of 95 to 200 degrees.

- Florence, AL, USA

problem #194

Mar 112014

HHR

  • 120,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet HHR. The contact stated that while driving 30 mph, the power steering warning lamp illuminated as the steering wheel became very hard to steer. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was 120,000.

- Jacksonville Beach, FL, USA

problem #193

Feb 142014

HHR

  • 86,475 miles
The contact owns 2007 Chevrolet HHR. The contact stated that while driving at various speeds, the steering wheel became difficult to turn. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who diagnosed that the power steering motor needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 86,475.

- Portland, MI, USA

problem #192

Apr 012014

HHR

  • miles
2007 Chevrolet HHR. Consumer writes in regards to power steering, ignition switch and door handle problems. The consumer also stated, she experienced brake problems and the windows were leaking, also there were electrical and fuse problems. The door handles snapped off in the consumers hands.

- Washington, DC, USA

problem #191

Feb 232012

HHR

  • 95,000 miles
The power steering in my 2007 HHR stops working at random times. The steering wheel is hard to turn and once I turn it off and back on it works again. The power steering light comes on at the same time it randomly happens!

- Hudson, WI, USA

problem #190

Mar 102014

HHR

  • 100,000 miles
My eps would kick off randomly while driving causing the steering to become much harder. It would begin to work again once my HHR was turned off and turned back on.

- Riverside, CA, USA

problem #189

Aug 142012

HHR 4-cyl

  • 45,000 miles
I was driving my car and suddenly my power steering failed. At first I thought it was a wiring issue because the fuse was blown. I replaced the fuse 3 times before taking the car to my mechanic who told me its very common for the power steering motor to fail in Hhrs. I had to replace it out of pocket. I have not had problems since then. It seems like 2007 HHR should be in the power steering recall list too.

- Lincoln, NE, USA

problem #188

Mar 262013

HHR 4-cyl

  • 39,308 miles
I was returning home from work and was rounding a curve entering my addition when the power steering quit working. I barely missed running up and over the boulevard between the two sides of the street (cuba blvd) in the river oaks subdivision in monroe, la. I took the vehicle to my dealer (ryan Chevrolet in monroe, la ) on 03/28/2013 to be examined. They stated that there was a recall on the 2006 models for this problem but not on the 2007 models. They provided an estimate of $1400 to replace the electric steering motor and the steering column to correct the problem. They charged me $133.10 for this inspection. I did not have the fix made as I cannot afford it due to my low income. The power steering continues to fail several times per week as of this writing. I am writing because I just noticed in the news that NHTSA has issued a recall for this same problem on the 2009 and 2010 models but not on the 2007 model that I own.seems strange that 2006. 2009 and 2010 models are recalled but not the 2007 ( 2008). When I took it in to the dealership the service representative told me that they have had several reports of this problem but could not fix the 2007 because it had not been recalled. I could get the name of that person if it would be helpful. Thanks for reading and pray for my safety and others too. Note: I purchased this vehicle new in January 2007 from bunker Chevrolet in marion, in where I lived previously.

- Monroe, LA, USA

problem #187

Mar 012014

HHR

  • 92,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet HHR. The contact stated while driving out of his garage, the power steering malfunctioned causing to the steering wheel to become very hard to maneuver and the power steering warning lamp illuminated. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer for diagnostic testing. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 92,000. The current mileage was 92,500.

- Pahrump, NV, USA

problem #186

Apr 102013

HHR

  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet HHR. The contact stated while driving various speeds, the power steering would stop working sporadically. While driving 65 mph, the clutch caught on fire and disintegrated. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic for the clutch failure. The technician diagnosed that the clutch assembly needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was unknown.

- Pensacola, FL, USA

problem #185

Mar 202014

HHR

  • 90,000 miles
The power steering warning flashes in the dash, the steering wheel gets very hard. If you turn the car off, it will work fine again. Sometimes it does it often, some days nothing happens. I don't understand if so many people is having the same issue with the power steering why it has not been recalled.

- Taylorsville, UT, USA

problem #184

Mar 302014

HHR

  • 125,639 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet HHR. The contact stated that while driving approximately 40 mph, the power steering assist failed with the illumination of the power steering warning light. The steering wheel also became hard to turn. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign id number: 14V047000 (air bags, electrical system) however, the vehicle was not taken a dealer for repairs. The manufacturer was not notified of problem. The approximate failure mileage was 125,639.

- Woodberry, GA, USA

problem #183

Mar 282014

HHR 4-cyl

  • 52,807 miles
Trying to make a left turn, and power steering light came on, was able to pull over, very hard to turn. Was able to get car home with help. But car is not safe at this time. Called dealer, will have it towed.

- Cheektowaga, NY, USA

problem #182

Mar 142014

HHR 4-cyl

  • 108,000 miles
When driving down the road my Chevy HHR will lose all power steering making it unsafe to drive. The problem goes away after I turn off my HHR and restart it. It is extremely dangerous for myself and the other motorist driving on the road. It started to happen about a week ago and goes out a couple times a day. There needs to be a safety recall on this problem before more people die.

- West Chester, OH, USA

problem #181

Feb 122013

HHR

  • miles
At intermittent times and speeds, the power steering would just fail and the steering wheel lock up. There were times on the highway when my husband was driving where he narrowly avoided a crash. There were times when I was driving on a busy city street, where it was all I could do to avoid a crash by using all my strength to turn into a parking lot and restart the car, hoping it wouldn't happen again. This is a safety issue because the failure could happen at any time and any speed, causing a crash. We paid for this to be repaired and haven't had a problem since. This should be done on all of the cars that might have this issue. It seems that quite a lot of people have had this happen in the HHR.

- Cedar Lake, IN, USA

problem #180

Jan 012014

HHR 4-cyl

  • 60,000 miles
The steering wheel is hard to move.

- Barceloneta, PR, USA

problem #179

Mar 032014

HHR 4-cyl

  • 38,000 miles
At various speeds and after various amounts of time the power steering indicator will come on and the power steering wheel fail.. this can usually be relieved by turning car off and back on.. this is happening almost daily.

- Elkview, WV, USA

problem #178

Mar 152014

HHR

  • 131,000 miles
3 days ago my powersteering kept going out.unsafe almost hit somebody..and now today my car smells like gas when I start it..fire..fire..fire..please recall these.

- Racine, WI, USA

problem #177

Mar 132014

HHR

  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet HHR. The contact stated that while traveling various speeds, the power steering assist failed. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the it was found that the power steering module had failed. The vehicle was repaired but the failure recurred. The manufacturer was contacted about the failure. The failure mileage and VIN was not available.

- Noblesville, IN, USA

problem #176

Jul 152013

HHR 4-cyl

  • 120,000 miles
Driving down the freeway, the on board computer dings and a message appears on the dash that my power steering is out. It doesn't lock it up but it becomes extremely hard to steer. I stopped at a auto parts store to get power steering fluid only to find out there is not fluid, it uses an electric motor. Starting the car must reset the electronics, it worked fine for several months. It is now happening quite frequently and I feel it a very dangerous situation. In checking on the internet, it is a very common problem with the car. My understanding is that Chevrolet recalled the cobalt for the same issue, but not the HHR, even though both are basically the same.

- Justice, IL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »