10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
11 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
14 / 0
Average Mileage:
47,934 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

The NHTSA is the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints can be spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem. See the Back button — blue bar at the very top of the page — to explore more.

Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Chevrolet HHR:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #72

Dec 102014

HHR 4-cyl

  • 96,000 miles
My air bag warning light has gone on and off over several weeks. Dealer cannot diagnosis the issue because it is not been on when I bring it ind.

- Bethesda, MD, USA

problem #71

Jan 032015

HHR 4-cyl

  • 73,822 miles
Less then 24 hours off the lot I was driving home off hwy26 exiting to my town of watertown, wi. I was slowing down on the ramp and my side air bag deployed. I was hit in the head by the driver visor causing my to flinch and release the break for a slit second. I tried to reapply the break and had no breaks I was still at 40mph. It was snowing this caused me to not be able to turn so I hit a meaden snapping my a arm. I also snipped my ABS cable, blew out driver ball joints, bent the tie rod, dislocated my axel bent my rim and ruined my new tire on the driver side. On the passenger side I broke my knuck and blew out my ball joints. It locked up my driver seat belt and even with no one wearing the passenger one it locked that up too. After it happened going online I have found a few more cases like mine one caused a woman to spend a month and a half in hospital from hitting a pole.

- Watertown, WI, USA

problem #70

Jan 032015

HHR 4-cyl

  • 73,700 miles
After buying the HHR the day before I went to work. On my way back home. I got off on my exit about half way down the ramp my side airbags went off. Then I pushed the brakes and they did not respond sending me into a meaden causing my wheel to snap almost all the way off.

- Watertown, WI, USA

problem #69

Dec 132012

HHR 4-cyl

  • miles
Service air bag light keeps coming on.

- Bakersfield , CA, USA

problem #68

Oct 132014

HHR

  • miles
Airbag sensor light to have airbag service has been on for sometime. The service department has been asked about this on multiple occasions. The last answer we received is that the airbag is only under warranty for two years but previous to this we were told that the service department does not even know what this means. My service department at gadsden Chevrolet has not even fixed the switch recall yet. They were supposed to call when they got the part in. Even though my husband has called multiple times they still have not called. There is another issue for which they have offered for us to just pay half and they know they are suppose to fix them both at the same time. My car has been in the shop multiple times and yet they still never fixed the previous recall & now this airbag thing has come up.

- Ashville, AL, USA

problem #67

Jun 012014

HHR 4-cyl

  • 90,000 miles
My Chevrolet 2009 HHR airbag light comes on when the car has been sitting in the sun for a few hours on a hot day. Once the car cool off the light goes off, or if it is before the sun come up there is no problem. I reported this to my Chevrolet dealer and they pretended like this issue was foreign to them, but as I search the internet I see this issue reported by more owners than I can count. There is an issue going on and this need to be corrected in a recall.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #66

Oct 022014

HHR 4-cyl

  • 74,820 miles
Re: vehicle:2009 Chevrolet HHR (service air bag -- warning) VIN number:[xxx] my above vehicle has just alerted me while driving to work today, that my air bag system may be a potential risk. This has never happened during my entire ownership of this vehicle. My vehicle has just been recently repaired for GM ignition and starter recall campaigns: 13454 and 14063. I have contacted the dealership that performed the recall work today Oct. 2,2014 11am and I am waiting for their reply. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Tarentum, PA, USA

problem #65

Jul 182012

HHR 4-cyl

  • 24,500 miles
When vehicle is exposed to direct sun and hot and/humid conditions, the service airbag light comes on. The light remains lit until removed from being exposed to direct sunlight and cools down sufficiently. Although, this is not always resolved immediately. Occasionally, the service air bag light remains lit for up to two or three days regardless of sun and heat/humidity exposure. This is a safety issue in that there is no way of knowing whether or not the airbags will function properly.

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #64

Sep 162010

HHR 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 8,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chevrolet HHR. While driving approximately 10 mph, the service air bag soon warning indicator illuminated. The failure occurred on numerous occasions. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified. The VIN was unavailable. The approximate failure mileage was 8,000...updated 10/15/14 updated 03/30/2015

- Pontiac, MI, USA

problem #63

Aug 172014

HHR 4-cyl

  • 47,100 miles
I was pulling out of a parking space at wal mart and a beeping sound got my attention and then I realized the steering wheel was almost impossible to turn.. I stopped in the middle of the lane and turned the car off... we sat there for about 15 seconds and I started the car again and the steering was fine then.. we then drove about a half mile to the dollar tree and it happened again as I was pulling into a parking space.. I parked and we went in the store.. when I came back out it was working again... then today, Sept. 15, 2014, I pulled into the library and as soon as I started to turn into a parking space, the steering wouldn't work and the beeping sound started and the power steering light was on again.... I turned it off right there and waited a few seconds and it was again working... we don't trust taking this car anywhere and had planned an extended trip to Washington to stay with our granddaughter but we just don't dare do it... this is such a huge safety issue and we want it fixed!!!!! also, the service air bag light has been on for almost the entire time we have owned the car.. I have all the receipts of taking it in to be checked and the charges we have incurred... it has been on the last time for over a month as we had just had it in again.. the light went off for about 20 miles after we left the dealership and then came on and has been on ever since... this whole thing has been ridiculous!!!!!! who can help us"???"

- Yreka, CA, USA

problem #62

Aug 202014

HHR 4-cyl

  • 59,321 miles
While driving on smooth paved Suburban roadway the service air bag light(s) illuminated on the console in front of the driver. Later that day the light(s) went out. This has happened again on several occasions. On September 6th the service air bag light(s) came back on at least 3 or 4 times. This car has never been damaged or abused in any way. The electrical system has never been repaired or modified other than the ignition key recall and replacement of the power steering motor (both were recalls performed at our local GM dealer.

- Sharpsburg, GA, USA

problem #61

Apr 112013

HHR 4-cyl

  • 47,061 miles
In April 2013 our service air bag light on the passenger side started coming on and off at varied times. There was no rhyme or reason for when it went on or off. Our dealer stated that if the service air bag light was off at the time of an accident, the air bags would not deploy (scared us into the repair).the car was just out of our extended warranty period of 4 yr 48000 miles. So we would need to pay for the repair. The repair was a connector module and total cost was $264.59 for the repair. After it was repaired I started finding all kinds of similar issues with Chevy cars and trucks, including various years of the HHR. I contacted GM but they refused to cover this repair stating they knew of no issues regarding a service air bag light coming on and off. This was obvious a lie since it's all over the internet and Chevy has recalled some cars and trucks for the same exact problem. I feel that we can't be sure if the air bag would work during a crash it is a safety issue and should be repaired at no cost. The cost of the repair for the actual work done is highway robbery - parts were $17.28 the rest of labor! GM needs to take care of this issue and recall the cars - or at the least, repair for free when the issue arises.

- Dagsboro, DE, USA

problem #60

Jul 302014

HHR 4-cyl

  • 39,750 miles
Service air bag- this message comes up a lot when car is started. It is coming up more often now though. This vehicle has not been in an accident. I have seen on line that other GM vehicles are being recalled for this problem. Talked to my Chevy dealer about this and he said that there is no recall and it is our issue. Our HHR has been recalled for ignition switch and a power steering issue so far. I feel that the service air bag light is just another GM problem. With this warning light on, I do not know if our air bags will deploy. Are our lives in jeopardy?

- Dillsburg, PA, USA

problem #59

Aug 162014

HHR

  • 84,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chevrolet HHR. The contact stated that while driving at 40 mph, the contact stated that the power steering warning light illuminated and the brakes failed to respond. The contact mentioned that the vehicle was shifted to park in order to stop the vehicle. In addition, the air bag warning light illuminated. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 84,000.

- Chavies, KY, USA

problem #58

Jul 162014

HHR

  • miles
They need to give rental cars untilthey get the parts in this would insure our safety and speed up the process that they say they are making the parts as fast as possible.that's just not acceptable. Fix our cars right now I am not ready to die in GM junk. My air bag light came on says it needs service well fix it GM. I cant worry all the time the stress is to much.

- Chesapeake, WV, USA

problem #57

Dec 122012

HHR 4-cyl

  • 53,135 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chevrolet HHR. The contact stated that while stopped at a traffic light, another vehicle crashed into the front passengers side of the vehicle. The air bags failed to deploy. The contact sustained back injuries. A police report was filed. The vehicle was towed to a private mechanic but the failure was unable to be determined. The vehicle was repaired. The contact received a notification of NHTSA campaign id number: 14V047000 (air bags, electrical system) but did not confirm if the VIN was included. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 53,135. Updated 09/05/14 updated 12/3/2014

- Dahlongea, GA, USA

problem #56

Jul 052014

HHR

  • 71,244 miles
Side curtain airbag deployed by itself when pulling off from a stop sign.

- Youngstown , OH, USA

problem #55

Jun 202014

HHR

  • 54,000 miles
I purchased this car in August 2009( special auto program) and had to return in August 2009 for the drivers airbag light kept flashing on and off. The repaired was done (necessary to replace & program pass presence module ) at that time. I started having this same issue this year and brought it back for service again 6/20/14. Paid $315 to be repaired and picked it up today and the flashing light is still on. My concern is this may also be a factory defect also that has not been detected. I am feeling a little uncomfortable with the airbag being repaired and still doing the same thing. I am a senior and I travel always with a 33 year old totally disabled child. If my airbag is not working correctly, you would have two people impacted by this. Now I was told to bring it back but as isaid I am not feeling to good about the job really being done. As a consumer what can I do other then have this on file with your off?

- New Orleans, LA, USA

problem #54

Jun 022014

HHR

  • miles
TL * the contact owns a 2009 Chevrolet HHR. The contact received a recall notice for NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V047000 (air bag, electrical system) and 14V171000 (electrical system). The dealer stated that the parts for the repair were unavailable and would not arrive for several months. The manufacturer was not notified. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- East Greenwich, RI, USA

problem #53

Feb 112014

HHR

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chevrolet HHR. The contact attempted to have the vehicle repaired under NHTSA campaign id number: 14V047000 (air bags, electrical system); however, the parts for the repair were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time to perform the repair. The vehicle had not experienced a failure.

- Rosebird, OR, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »