10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
6 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
72,677 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

The NHTSA is the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints can be spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem. See the Back button — blue bar at the very top of the page — to explore more.

Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Chevrolet Impala:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #161

Apr 012010

Impala 6-cyl

  • 80,000 miles
ABS light ABS/traction control lamp.

- Hagerhill, KY, USA

problem #160

Nov 202013

Impala 6-cyl

  • 142,396 miles
I was driving on the interstate and my headlights went out. I flashed my brights and they came back on. It has done this multiple times since.

- Sarcoxie, MO, USA

problem #159

May 012014

Impala 6-cyl

  • miles
2002 Chevrolet Impala. Consumer writes in regards to vehicle electrical systems malfunction. The consumer stated the problems he experienced were eerily similar as to those described in the recall. However, General Motors customer service informed him, his vehicle was not included in the recall. The consumer stated while driving, all of a sudden, all electrical functions ceased. All of the gauges went to the off position, and the power steering and brakes were lost. Minutes later, all electrical functions resumed. The consumers mechanic was unable to isolate the problem. Updated 06/19/14

- Methuen, MA, USA

problem #158

Jun 042013

Impala 6-cyl

  • 60,106 miles
2002 Chevrolet Impala. Consumer writes in regards to ignition switch problem. The consumer stated the electrical switch was replaced on June 4, 2013. On February 13, 2014, the vehicle lost all power and came to a complete stop. On April 5, 2014, the vehicle lost all power again.

- Friendswood, TX, USA

problem #157

Apr 092002

Impala 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Chevrolet Impala. The contact stated that she was able to remove the key from the ignition and the vehicle would remain on. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was unknown and the current mileage was 103,413. Updated 7/7/14 updated 07/11/2014

- Conesus, NY, USA

problem #156

Sep 182013

Impala

  • 96,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Chevrolet Impala. The contact stated while driving approximately 50 mph, the cruise control engaged independently and would not deactivate. The ignition switch was turned off; however, the vehicle continued to accelerate. In addition, the brake pedal was depressed numerous times and the vehicle failed to slow down. When the emergency brake was engaged the vehicle came to a complete stop. The vehicle then resumed normally. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic where the cruise control cable was detached. The mechanic stated that the ignition switch would need to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the defect. The approximate failure mileage was 96,000. Updated 6/10/14

- Victoria, TX, USA

problem #155

Mar 102011

Impala

  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Chevrolet Impala. The contact stated that the vehicle failed to start. The failure recurred numerous times. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer who informed the contact that the ignition switch lock and body control module would need to be replaced. The vehicle had not been repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 100,000.

- Huntsville, AL, USA

problem #154

Feb 122014

Impala

  • 79,000 miles
I had just dropped my 8 year old son off at school, and I was headed to work. The car cut off while I was sliding on very thin ice. I could not steer away from the back of a pick up truck. The driver drove off before I could even exit the car. The air bag did not deploy and I had to have the car towed to my house. I have not been able to get it started since. I have had several mechanics look at it but none could fix the problem. I am a single parent who lives paycheck to paycheck. I just bought the car in October. I do not have the money to keep pouring into this car. I know there is manufacturing problem but I do not have the money to have it towed to a dealer, much less the money to have it fixed. All I want to have my car back on the road running.

- Philadelphia, PA, USA

problem #153

Mar 192014

Impala

  • 95,000 miles
On the above date I was driving home from work when my car just shut off on the highway. Had to pull of and car did want to start notice the passlock 2 system security light was on. I had the car towed home car start right up drove to work car didn't want to start again. Has not start since. Note I spent 700 on the passlock system a year in half ago.this is bull GM needs to fix this problem for good.

- Cleveland, OH, USA

problem #152

Feb 262013

Impala 6-cyl

  • 21,000 miles
Car began to flash security light. Then within a month the light stayed on all the time with signal light making a clicking sound then not able to flash preventing the drivers behind me not to know the direction im turning. The switch you have to juggle and the car would not start anymore. I had the BCM changed the radio is locked the lights use to flash on and off. Now the car starts interment and the radio is still locked the security light is still on, cruise light, and passenger airbag light on. This is a problem for the Chevy Impala to but their is no recall....why?

- Denton, TX, USA

problem #151

Jun 012012

Impala 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 6,900 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Chevrolet Impala. The contact attempted to start the vehicle but the engine would not start. The vehicle was towed to the dealer for inspection and they stated that the ignition switch needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired but the failure recurred. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 6900. The consumer also stated, the turn signals did not always work. Updated 06/30/14

- Victoria, TX, USA

problem #150

Mar 182004

Impala 6-cyl

  • 39,000 miles
Car would not start. Security light came on and it would not start. This has happened at least 10 times a year since 2004. The wiring to the light system melted at the ignition switch in one incident. I continually have to reset the security system to override the pass lock system errors. The car continues to fail with pas lock security issues. I have researched this on Chevrolet Impala, Pontiac and other GM models. The solutions are vague and inconsistent. I took my car to the Chevrolet dealer in san diego and they could not figure out what was wrong and their suggestion was to replace a bunch of expensive parts with no guarantee that this would fix the security lock start issue. They said this was a very common problem and they had no solution for the cause. They told me the best thing to do was to trade it in on a new car or sell it to some unsuspecting person to deal with.

- Alpine, CA, USA

problem #149

Mar 182009

Impala

  • 80,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Chevrolet Impala. The contact stated that the vehicle failed to start. The vehicle was taken to the dealer but the technician was unable to diagnose the failure. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The VIN was not available. The failure mileage was 80,000 and the current mileage was unknown.

- Cuyahoga, OH, USA

problem #148

Jun 052013

Impala

  • 52,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Chevrolet Impala. The contact stated that after inserting the key in the ignition, the vehicle failed to start and the anti-theft system engaged. Also, the contact mentioned that on another occasion, the vehicle failed to start after refueling. The vehicle was taken to the dealer. The technician diagnosed that the ignition switch and keys needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired but the failure recurred. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not further repaired. The failure mileage was 52,000 and the current mileage was 57,000.

- Sedro Woolley, WA, USA

problem #147

Oct 022013

Impala

  • 58,000 miles
You never know if the car will start. Will start 30 times then nothing. Waiting about 10 minutes and starts. Can not trust it to start and not leave you stranded.the following link has 218+ others with same problem. www.carcomplaints.com/Chevrolet/Impala/2002/electrical/passlock_problem_wont_start_and_security_light_is_on.shtml.

- West Keansburg, NJ, USA

problem #146

Sep 302013

Impala

  • 37,207 miles
Passlock system would disable the car from starting dozens of times for months. I would get stuck anywhere without warning for half an hour or more with my children. It was taken in for a coolant leak issue. The dexcool ( a horrible product with lawsuits due to engine damage) had eaten the hoses and was spraying around the engine. It created a sludge that thankfully did not destroy my radiator. The car finally outright failed because of the security system. The passlock system is a known issue with GM. I have read endless complaints about this problem. There was nothing wrong with the car, but the system would not read the key. It was in the shop for weeks. Had to get new BCM and have the system reprogrammed. My car only has 37,000 miles and for it to fail and need such expensive repairs for a faulty system with nothing wrong with the mechanics of the car is unreal. Another known issue is with the signals going out without warning. I never know if the turn signals will work and this is very dangerous. I am fearful that other issues with the electrical system might happen. But knowing that the BCM might fail again in another year or so is the biggest rub. How many times do people have to reprogram their car and replace parts on a faulty passlock system that will fail again?

- Largo, FL, USA

problem #145

Jun 012012

Impala

  • 159,000 miles
The passlock security system in my car disables my fuel and my starter. I have been stuck places before because the car won't start. The security message is on and so is the battery along with service vehicle soon. The car will not start and hasn't for months now. I am very upset, my radio says locked and I have tried everything to get my car to start. It will leave me stranded at some point if it starts.

- Minot, ND, USA

problem #144

Oct 102013

Impala 6-cyl

  • 175,632 miles
Factory installed security system won't let me start the car, I have to wait anywhere from 15-45 minutes before it starts, and that is not safe to be stranded with the family. I'm not the first person with this problem, and I hope you can do something to help me solve it. Thank you.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #143

Aug 072013

Impala 6-cyl

  • 105,000 miles
I own a 2002 Chevrolet Impala. While I was driving 50 mph, the headlights malfunctioned when switching from low beams to high beams. The manufacturer was notified, but offered no assistance. The vehicle was not repaired. Next the car doors would not lock. Ordered new body control module and had it put in and reprogrammed at dealer. Worked for a week and while in drive thru and shut car off when tried to restart car it would not restart but start throwing a bunch of codes. Sat for awhile found second set of keys put it in and it started. Apparently the security system would not recognize the key when it was inserted into the ignition. This locked the contact in the vehicle and prevented it from starting. The vehicle is now in the shop. I have found over 1,000 complaints of the same nature with this car. In 2004 I had new head gaskets put on due to the coolant and was suppose to recoup some money. I put in claim and never heard anything. Now turn signals work intermediately. This is a very common issue with Impala. Very dangerous when I signal I don't know if it is going to work. I have almost caused multiple accidents because of this issue. I complained multiple times to the dealer but they claimed nothing was wrong. As soon as I hit the 100,000 mile.

- Belleville, IL, USA

problem #142

May 072012

Impala 6-cyl

  • 70,000 miles
Hazard flasher switch is bad. The turn signals will go out intermittently. If you press the hazard buttons over again the turn signals work again. This has been happening since 2012 when my vehicle had 70,000 miles.

- Coon Rapids, MN, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »