10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
7 / 3
Injuries / Deaths:
6 / 0
Average Mileage:
75,236 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

The NHTSA is the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints can be spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem. See the Back button — blue bar at the very top of the page — to explore more.

Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Chevrolet Impala:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #197

Aug 072014

Impala 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
2002 Chevrolet Impala. Problems with ignition turning on and off. According to the invoice, the security light illuminated at times. The technician found no communication with the BCM. The BCM was replaced.

- Louisville, KY, USA

problem #196

Dec 152014

Impala

  • 88,764 miles
My mass airflow sensor and alternator is causing my engine to shut off on me on streets and interstates. A accident has not happened yet but im trying to diffuse this situation by getting it fixed. My name is [xxx]. I just bought the car 12/7/14 with 88,624 miles on it. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Stone Mountain, GA, USA

problem #195

Dec 172014

Impala 6-cyl

  • 32,345 miles
The security passlock system is defective.the security light comes on intermittently after the car is started. The car was taken to the dealer for repair in July 2014, the dealer indicated a low battery was the issue, replaced the battery with a new battery(the battery replaced was a year or so old).this did not fix the problem. The security light still comes on and stalls the vehicle. If the light displays and the car ignition is turned off it will not restart for 1/2 hour.

- Kihei, HI, USA

problem #194

Dec 182014

Impala

  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Chevrolet Impala. The contact stated that after starting the vehicle, the key released from the ignition switch without warning. The contact mentioned that the failure occurred after the vehicle was serviced under NHTSA campaign number: 14V400000 (electrical system). The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was unknown.

- Columbus, NE, USA

problem #193

Oct 012014

Impala

  • miles
2002 Chevrolet Impala. Vehicle is having problems with a faulty ignition switch that has a tendency to shut off the engine in the event of having an accident or even hitting a bump in the road. The consumer stated his daughter was driving when she hit a bump in the road and the vehicle stalled. The consumer stated GM's fix was not adequate. The consumer was forced to pay $300 to replace the ignition.

- Bayside, NY, USA

problem #192

Dec 012014

Impala 6-cyl

  • miles
2002 Chevrolet Impala. The key switch broke along with the icm module and the crank and cam shaft censors and the computer.

- Christiansburg, VA, USA

problem #191

Nov 172012

Impala 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Chevrolet Impala. The contact stated that the key failed to turn and prevented the vehicle from starting. The contact mentioned that the vehicle was repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 14V400000 (electrical system). In addition, while driving various speeds, the vehicle would stall. The dealer and manufacturer were made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 100,000. Updated 1/7/15 the consumer stated the vehicle would not start when the key was in the ignition. Updated 03/03/15

- Stillwater , OK, USA

problem #190

Sep 202014

Impala

  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Chevrolet Impala. The contact received a notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V400000 (electrical system). However, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacture was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Daytona Beach, FL, USA

problem #189

Oct 272014

Impala 6-cyl

  • 145,220 miles
The GM ignition switch recall repair was performed today, and the key still switches itself off of the "on" position by itself. Also the key can be pulled out of the switch very easily with the engine running. The only thing repaired was the plastic top, which was changed, so that it has to be on its own key ring.

- Lemoyne, PA, USA

problem #188

Oct 172014

Impala

  • 120,000 miles
Turn signals work intermittently. And just in the middle of the way you see that your turn signals do not work and sometimes they work!

- Potsdam, NY, USA

problem #187

Sep 052014

Impala 6-cyl

  • miles
2002 Chevrolet Impala. Consumer writes in regards to recall # 14350. * ld the consumer is seeking reimbursement, for the starter he had replaced.

- Barryville, NY, USA

problem #186

Feb 022014

Impala

  • miles
I have had 1 turn signal switch replaced due to a wire that fried and started smoking causing white smoke to come out near the steering wheel. The high beam head lights were stuck on the on position killing the battery. That was last year. These switches cost about $500 bc they are dealer parts. Now, 10/21/14 I was driving down the road at night and lost my low beam headlights. Mechanics tell me same problem. I need another turn signal switch replaced. I've been driving on only high beams now until I can afford another 500 bucks. To expensive for me to keep replacing.

- Imperial, PA, USA

problem #185

Oct 152014

Impala

  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Chevrolet Impala. The contact received a notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V400000 (electrical system). However, the parts needed were unavailable. The dealer was uncertain when the parts would become available to service the vehicle under the recall. The manufacturer was not notified of the delay. The contact had not experienced the failure.

- Athens, GA, USA

problem #184

Oct 122014

Impala 6-cyl

  • 211,365 miles
Traveling on a straight residential street after car had been driven about 10 miles and was at operating temperature, I heard a short "chirp" sound from the front passenger side of the car at which time the engine stopped running. Steering became very difficult and the brake pedal required substantial force to stop the car. I was able to bring the car to a stop and put the car in park. The engine restarted immediately with no problem. I was not moving or touching the key at the time that the engine turned off. I have owned the car since it was new in November 2001 and this is the first time that I have experienced this problem. I have driven the car about 20 miles since this incident and it has not recurred as of yet.

- Cartersville, GA, USA

problem #183

Oct 012013

Impala

  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Chevrolet Impala. While driving various speeds, the vehicle stalled without warning and the power steering failed. The contact had to shift into neutral in order to restart the vehicle. The failure occurred on numerous occasions. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic. The technician was unable to diagnose the cause of the failure. The vehicle was included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V400000 (electrical system). The manufacturer was not notified. The failure mileage was unavailable.

- Findlay, OH, USA

problem #182

Oct 092014

Impala

  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Chevrolet Impala. The contact received a notification for recall NHTSA campaign number: 14V400000 (electrical system). However, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Saginaw, MI, USA

problem #181

Sep 022013

Impala

  • 138,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Chevrolet Impala. The contact stated that the vehicle failed to start. The vehicle would only start after turning the key on and off numerous times. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V400000 (electrical system). The parts were unavailable to perform the repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 138,000.

- New Haven, IL, USA

problem #180

Sep 122005

Impala

  • 6,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Chevrolet Impala. The contact stated that the vehicle stalled and there was an abnormal noise without warning. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnostic testing, who stated that the entire electrical wiring needed to be tested. The vehicle was repaired under NHTSA campaign id number: 14V400000 (electrical system) however the failure persisted. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 6,000.

- Canyon Lake, CA, USA

problem #179

Apr 092012

Impala 6-cyl

  • 130,000 miles
The contact owned a 2002 Chevrolet Impala. The contact's daughter was driving approximately 25 mph, when the vehicle stalled without warning. She lost control of the vehicle and crashed it into a tree. The vehicle landed on its roof. A police report was filed and there were no injuries. The vehicle was destroyed. The contact received a recall notice for NHTSA campaign number: 14V400000 (electrical system). The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 130,000. Updated 11/04/14

- Janesville , WI, USA

problem #178

Apr 012014

Impala

  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Chevrolet Impala. The contact stated that the vehicle would hesitate to start occasionally and the radio failed to operate. An independent mechanic stated that the computer needed to be reprogrammed. The vehicle was not repaired. The vehicle was included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V400000 (electrical system). The manufacturer was not notified. The failure mileage was unavailable.

- Rochelle, GA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »