10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
7 / 4
Injuries / Deaths:
7 / 0
Average Mileage:
66,039 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

The NHTSA is the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints can be spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem. See the Back button — blue bar at the very top of the page — to explore more.

Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Chevrolet Impala:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #149

Sep 102016

Impala

  • 78,782 miles
We brought vehicle in for recall for wiring harness repair back in August because airbag light was on. Dealership wrapped the wires. 3 weeks later airbag light was on again. Brought back to dealership and they told us wires were damaged and wiring connector need to be replaced which was not part of recall. Paid $329. When I read recall online, it clearly states the wires should be inspected before applying the tape and if not wiring should be replaced for no charge. I filed complaint with GM and they contacted dealership who still says wires are not part of recall. Advised word for word of recall and no have to go to dealership with paperwork. My child is driving this car and was told by the dealership this is not a safety issue and we could have left it as is. Really?

- Rochdale, MA, USA

problem #148

Jan 062014

Impala

  • 125,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chevrolet Impala. The contact stated that the door actuators failed to operate as intended. When the vehicle was placed into gear, the actuators would lock the doors. Also, when the vehicle was stopped and placed in park, the door actuators would unlock the doors. The function no longer operated as intended. The vehicle was not diagnosed nor repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 125,000.

- Lakeland, LA, USA

problem #147

Aug 242016

Impala

  • 70,912 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chevrolet Impala. While driving at an unknown speed, the air bag warning indicator illuminated. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the passenger presence sensor module wire needed to be repaired. The vehicle was not repaired. The vehicle was included in NHTSA campaign number: 16V507000 (air bags, electrical system). The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 70,912.

- Byron, NY, USA

problem #146

Aug 242016

Impala 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 51,626 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chevrolet Impala. While driving, the driver side air bag warning indicator illuminated. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the connector needed to be cleaned. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 51,626. Updated 10/13/16

- Bristol, CT, USA

problem #145

Aug 172016

Impala

  • 99,697 miles
I took my car to auto mall in brattleboro vt for the recall 36110 passenger seat occupant sensing. They had it all day said they fixed it but the airbag light is on and it still doesn't sense anyone in the passenger side seat. They also gave me a list of 9 codes that my car now has but didn't back in June 3 of which I know about tire and dead battery in my remote and my actuator door, the rest all have to do with electric issues. I think stemming from the original recall. I wouldn't pay $90 to have it coded again so I looked up the codes myself and they are all loop open circuit and one is second row seat belt pretensioner deployment control. Seems to me that there is more than wrapping the wires is going to fix, I think it all has to do with the recall but they refuse to do anything. I don't even know what they did wrap or change the housing?? my codes are as follows B0223 B3060 B3031 B1325/3 B0074 C0755 boo1B/4 B0021/04. Help please all I want iis to be able to get my car inspected. As I said I had no codes until this started when the same dealer changed my pps module back a few months ago which was a recall too. When my ABS light came on and traction control and loss of power. After auto mall fixed that the airbag light came on. They had the nerve to ask if I had mice living in my car...

- Brattleboro, VT, USA

problem #144

Aug 142015

Impala 6-cyl

  • 50,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chevrolet Impala. While driving various speeds, the air bag warning indicator illuminated on the instrument panel. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V507000 (air bags, electrical system); however, the dealer refused to repair the vehicle. The dealer stated that the recall issue was not on the passenger side, but on the driver side with the seat belt retractor or wiring harness. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 50,000. Updated 11/01/16

- Glen Aubrey, NY, USA

problem #143

Jul 252015

Impala

  • miles
The car has erratic shifting. It seems as if the gears get stuck before they release especially when slowing down then taking off, like if you do a rolling stop or slow down at a traffic light but don't stop fully before accelerating again. It does not do it everytime you drive though. There is also a clicking coming from behind the dash. The actuator for air has gone bad.

- Floyd, VA, USA

problem #142

Jun 152012

Impala

  • 154,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chevrolet Impala. While driving at an unknown speed, the air bag warning indicator illuminated. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the driver's presence sensor failed. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The vehicle was included in NHTSA campaign number: 16V507000 (air bags, electrical system). The failure mileage was 154,000.

- Northfield, MN, USA

problem #141

Jul 072016

Impala

  • 35,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chevrolet Impala. The contact stated that the vehicle made an abnormal noise when the A/C was deactivated. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of failure. The failure mileage was approximately 35,000.

- Wilkes-Barre, PA, USA

problem #140

Jan 012016

Impala 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 40,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chevrolet Impala. While the vehicle was parked, all the doors failed to unlock electronically. In addition, all the doors failed to open manually intermittently. The failure recurred on numerous occasions. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the door lock mechanism needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified. The failure mileage was 40,000. Updated 10/18/16 the consumer stated the doors unlocked randomly. Updated 10/25/16.

- Gaston, SC, USA

problem #139

Jun 102015

Impala

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2009 Chevrolet Impala. The contact had not experienced a failure with the vehicle until it was repaired per NHTSA campaign number: 14V355000 (electrical system). Shortly after the dealer's repair, the check engine warning light randomly illuminated and the vent controls failed to properly work. In addition, the key fob failed to lock and unlock at different points in time. The contact notified the dealer and they were unable to provide a solution for the various electrical failures. In addition, the brakes were slow to respond and the dealer replaced the rotors, which did not prevent the failure. The contact was informed that the brake actuator needed to be replaced. The repairs for the brake system did not prevent the failure. The contact later received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V507000 (air bags, electrical system). The parts were not available. The manufacturer was notified of the failures. The failure mileage was unknown. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Mountainview, AR, USA

problem #138

May 152015

Impala

  • 85,000 miles
I have gotten in touch with GM and Chevrolet customer service and my local dealership who have refused to correctly diagnose my issue. I have been charged 99$ per visit to jones Chevrolet and still have the service air bag light on my vehicle. It stays on all the time and intermittently goes away once in a blue moon. It started off with the light just turning on when I hit a bump or a rough road but now even on the highway it comes on. GM customer service told me that an air bag issues is the customers responsibility after my warranty is up however the air bag has never deployed or the car has never gotten into an accident so I am at a loss as to why it is my responsibility for the repair of such an integral safety part of the vehicle which should last and function without issues for at least a little while if not for a long time after the initial warranty is up. I have now spend in the upwards of $800 out of pocket to try and get this issue resolved but GM has not been cooperative at all. I had to leave 5 voicemails to an advisor to call me back and she and her supervisor rudely told me that they have given me a resolution and if god forbid I got in an accident and the air bag needed to deploy but didn't do so it would be on me and GM wont take responsibility. I am very concerned for my safety and the safety of my passengers. I have transcripts of service and recorded call from them to prove this. Please assist.

- Shaw Afb, SC, USA

problem #137

Aug 012016

Impala

  • 5 miles
A traction control light comes on says it is reducing speed and the car will loose power and just die. This is so dangerous it has happened three times on the freeway with my kids in the. I received a special notice recall but when I took it in they said that since I was over the mileage they could not do the repair. The key is also stuck in the ignition and will not come out draining the batter, aaa has come out twice to switch the battery out for me. There is alwas a clicking sound coming from the dashboard.

- Riverside, CA, USA

problem #136

Nov 302015

Impala

  • 113,803 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chevrolet Impala. While driving various speeds, the air bag warning light illuminated intermittently. The contact mentioned that the interior locks failed to operate. The vehicle was not diagnosed nor repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 113,803. The VIN was not provided.

- Raleigh, NC, USA

problem #135

Oct 222015

Impala

  • 35,000 miles
Heat / air actuator. The motor that controls the heat / air in the dash on the passenger side started to make a horrible clicking noise when the car was off or on. It would start when the car door was opened or when the car was started. I had to take it to a mechanic to be repaired (not a dealer...not giving them any more of my money). It cost over $200 to be repaired.

- Kalamazoo, MI, USA

problem #134

Jul 012015

Impala

  • 32,000 miles
Door locks! the rear car door locks (actuators) will not open with the key fob, or with the power door lock button. This happened with the car stopped. My children now have to wait for me to put the window down to unlock their doors manually. This happened at about 32,000 miles.

- Kalamazoo, MI, USA

problem #133

Jun 272016

Impala

  • 83,000 miles
Service air bag sensor intermittently illuminates and remains on while driving, as does the air bag warning symbol. Unsure if air bag will inflate in a crash if light is on during a crash. Considerable safety concern for myself and family which are currently only ride in rear of vehicle.

- Lindenhurst, NY, USA

problem #132

Nov 012015

Impala

  • 60,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chevrolet Impala. After shifting into the park position, the rear driver and passenger side doors failed to automatically unlock without warning. The passengers were able to exit the vehicle after manually unlocking the doors. The failure recurred intermittently. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic, but was not diagnosed nor repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 60,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Clio, MI, USA

problem #131

May 272016

Impala

  • 78,251 miles
2009 Chevrolet Impala. March 2015 key failed to disengage from the ignition switch. The vehicle was taken to the dealer. The technician diagnosed that the shift park fuse needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. This after the recall for ignition switch. Also on May 27, 2016 car stared having loud clicking sound when air vent is set to air from outside or when off. Comes from passenger side dash board. Upon looking this issue up online many have stated a bad actuator being the cause. This definitely appears to be a manufacturer defect. Continues even when car is off since it switches directly back to that setting. Mileage is 78251

- Fargo, ND, USA

problem #130

Dec 162015

Impala

  • 11,800 miles
While driving on the highway the vehicle would display engine reduce power message then the engine would reduce power and stop. I took the car to the dealer on 12-21-15 with 118755 miles they said no codes. I stated the battery died they said bring it back K if it does it again. I took the car back on 3-17-16 123236 miles the code was in the system but they said it is not covered now over the miles. I called GM on 3-17-16 they said they would look into it and call me back. GM called back and said they can't help me( case # 8-1882923571). I asked when the notice went out and he said he didn't know. I think this known safety issue should be covered. The dealership was chuck nicholson GMC dover Ohio 330-343-7781.

- New Philadelphia, OH, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »