10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
7 / 4
Injuries / Deaths:
7 / 0
Average Mileage:
66,081 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

The NHTSA is the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints can be spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem. See the Back button — blue bar at the very top of the page — to explore more.

Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Chevrolet Impala:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #131

May 272016

Impala

  • 78,251 miles
2009 Chevrolet Impala. March 2015 key failed to disengage from the ignition switch. The vehicle was taken to the dealer. The technician diagnosed that the shift park fuse needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. This after the recall for ignition switch. Also on May 27, 2016 car stared having loud clicking sound when air vent is set to air from outside or when off. Comes from passenger side dash board. Upon looking this issue up online many have stated a bad actuator being the cause. This definitely appears to be a manufacturer defect. Continues even when car is off since it switches directly back to that setting. Mileage is 78251

- Fargo, ND, USA

problem #130

Dec 162015

Impala

  • 11,800 miles
While driving on the highway the vehicle would display engine reduce power message then the engine would reduce power and stop. I took the car to the dealer on 12-21-15 with 118755 miles they said no codes. I stated the battery died they said bring it back K if it does it again. I took the car back on 3-17-16 123236 miles the code was in the system but they said it is not covered now over the miles. I called GM on 3-17-16 they said they would look into it and call me back. GM called back and said they can't help me( case # 8-1882923571). I asked when the notice went out and he said he didn't know. I think this known safety issue should be covered. The dealership was chuck nicholson GMC dover Ohio 330-343-7781.

- New Philadelphia, OH, USA

problem #129

Mar 142016

Impala

  • 140,000 miles
When stationary and when initially moving, the vehicle makes a loud clicking sound which seems to originate inside dash board. Upon looking this issue up online many have stated a bad actuator being the cause. This definitely appears to be a manufacturer defect.

- Leland, NC, USA

problem #128

Sep 012015

Impala

  • 180,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chevrolet Impala. The contact stated that it took several attempts to start the vehicle after the check engine, battery, and service air bag warning indicators illuminated. The failure recurred on several occasions, especially during cooler weather. On several occasions, when the air conditioner or heater was activated, there was a loud clicking sound that lasted for approximately three minutes without warning. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic, but was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure and informed the contact that the VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V355000 (electrical system). The approximate failure mileage was 180,000.

- Perris, CA, USA

problem #127

Mar 172012

Impala

  • 28,000 miles
Takata recall - I have had my vehicle shut off while I was driving down the road. This has occurred at least 3 times. GM is aware and has ignored my requests for two years. A few months ago, GM attorney told me to take my vehicle to a GM dealership as soon as possible and the recall repairs would be done at no cost to me. I made him aware that my vehicle had already been sitting at a GM dealership for months waiting for the repair and the dealership refused to repair it and will not provide a rental vehicle. Prior to the recall, I had numerous steering issues and had taken it to GM dealerships just to have them return it with the same problems. When the vehicle shut off, I was in a bad crash and the airbag did not deploy, resulting in me going through the windshield.

- Pittsburgh, PA, USA

problem #126

Nov 162015

Impala

  • miles
Even when car is not running, loud clicking. Can be heard outside of car. People ask why is your car "ticking" when in parking lots. Tough to explain as of late with fears of isis terror threats. Reports say ac accuator, $400 to replace. GM needs to correct this before Impala are mistakenly deemed threats when sitting in parking lots.

- Hiram, GA, USA

problem #125

Nov 052015

Impala

  • 121,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chevrolet Impala. While starting the vehicle, the interlock failed and it was unable to shift gears from drive to park. The shifter failed to respond. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 121,000.

- Eastpointe, MI, USA

problem #124

Oct 152015

Impala

  • 120,000 miles
The radio has a short in it and has drained two brand new batteries after it sit for over 12 hours.

- Toledo, OH, USA

problem #123

Sep 212015

Impala

  • 124,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chevrolet Impala. When the vehicle was unlocked with the key fob, there was an abnormal noise under the front passenger side dashboard near the air bag. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic who diagnosed that the actuator blend door was fractured and needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 124,000.

- Blountville, TN, USA

problem #122

Sep 082015

Impala

  • 156,550 miles
Was driving along at 55mph and the service traction system light came on followed by the reduced engine power light. Then the car just completly died. I was able to get to right shoulder and park it. I have done some research and seems that there have been several other folks with the same issue. I can't believe that this car would just shut down and have no control. I had the entire family in the car and was thankful that this didn't cause an accident. I am looking for answers and plan on taking it to the Chevy dealership I purchased the car from today or tomorrow.

- Howard, OH, USA

problem #121

Jul 032015

Impala

  • 130,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chevrolet Impala. While driving at 45 mph, the vehicle lost power and stalled. The contact was able to restart the vehicle after it was parked for an hour. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 130,000.

- Harper Wood, MI, USA

problem #120

Jun 212015

Impala

  • 67,000 miles
I was deriving down a steep grade on the gatlinburg bypass toward pigeon forge, tn in second gear for engine breaking. I first noticed the car getting warmer and I checked the dual climate control by feel to make sure my rider had not increased the temperature. Then I noticed the steering was harder on slight curves; then I noticed the tachometer going to zero and sone other gauges decreasing; then I had to slow for a charper curve where I had no power brake assist and no powering steering assist. I managed to bring the vehicle to a safe stop where I tried to restart the engine. The vehicle restarted after a short cranking but acted if it was starving for fuel. Once restarted the vehicle ran satisfactory, if I had been a weak person or had panicked this incident would probably have resulted in a crash. The ignition switch recall had recently been accomplished. The fuel level was 1/2 tank. As an electrical engineer this appeared to be an electrical problem where the engine power was cut off shutting down the fuel pump, instrument cluster, ignition, and electric steering assist.

- Richmond, VA, USA

problem #119

Jun 162014

Impala

  • 74,586 miles
I was driving on the highway during rush hour traffic going approximately 65 per hour and the service traction control came on and then said that engine power was reduced. It also had the engine light come on and stayed on all the way home. I then got home safely that time and shut off the car about 20 minutes later went out and all lights had gone off and was back to normal. This has happened at least a dozen times since then. Then on 6/29/15 this happened again on the highway during rush hour traffic. However this time the car said throttle disabled and the car shut off completely in the middle of the highway and I had to try and get to the side of the road without incident. After about 10 or 15 minutes the car then started back up and the lights went out and I was able to drive again. Then later in the day I returned home and tried to leave in my car and it would not start and had no power what so ever. The key also would not come out of the ignition and I just had that recall dealt with on the key. I could have been seriously injured in this last incident. This needs to be recalled and GM needs to pay for what I am out of pocket because I now had to get a rental car to work. I have read pages upon pages of complaints just like mine, which is ridiculous that this issue has not been fixed. Does it take someone getting injured or killed for GM to do something?

- Scottsdale, AZ, USA

problem #118

Jun 012015

Impala

  • 88,949 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chevrolet Impala. The contact stated that the seat belt warning indicator was illuminated. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 88,949.

- Saint Louis , MO, USA

problem #117

May 112009

Impala

  • 4,700 miles
Going down highway go to adjust ac temp. And this loud tap tap tap tap starts sounding off in dash. Scared me caused me to jump and almost lose control of car. Took to Chevrolet dealer they replaced blend door actuator. I have had this replaced five differ. Times under warranty. 2015 81000 miles and it goes out again. I am now use to the sound and it does not scare me like before. I have talked to other Impala owners and thye have the exact same problem. They said it scared them too when it first happened.

- Mesa, AZ, USA

problem #116

May 182013

Impala

  • 115,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chevrolet Impala. While driving at approximately 40 mph, the fuel gauge went down to zero. Also, the accelerator pedal was depressed but the vehicle did not accelerate. The service engine soon warning indicator illuminated. The failure recurred three times. The vehicle was not taken to a dealer or diagnosed. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The VIN was included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V355000 (electrical system). The failure mileage was approximately 115,000.

- Henrico, VA, USA

problem #115

Oct 042014

Impala 6-cyl

  • 42,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chevrolet Impala. The contact stated that the driver's door key fob failed to operate. The contact had to manually lock and unlock the driver's side door. The contact mentioned that weeks later, the both rear doors failed to lock and unlock. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 42,000. Updated 6/8/15 the consumer stated the problem was diagnoses as dis-functional lock actuators. Updated 06/18/15

- Fort Wayne, IN, USA

problem #114

Jan 252015

Impala

  • 68,000 miles
'service traction control' 'engine power reduced' and engine light came on. Car lost all power. I had to wait several minutes before it would start again. I was driving 65 mph on my daily drive of 60 miles one way. Thank goodness I wasn't passing and did not have my children in the car! this has happened several times since where I have not lost all power but partial, the cruise control will quit working and the car has very little power.

- Bovey, MN, USA

problem #113

Aug 232014

Impala

  • miles
2009 Chevrolet Impala. Consumer writes in regards to parts unavailable to complete recall notice.

- Philadelphia, PA, USA

problem #112

Aug 012012

Impala 6-cyl

  • 65,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chevrolet Impala. The contact stated that while driving at approximately 40 mph, the vehicles speed reduced after the engine power warning light illuminated. The failure recurred on several occasions. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V355000 (electrical system) however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 65,000. Updated 4/6/15

- Tucson, AZ, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »