10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
67,448 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

The NHTSA is the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints can be spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem. See the Back button — blue bar at the very top of the page — to explore more.

Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2000 Chevrolet Malibu:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #67

Feb 102014

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 88,705 miles
Engine shut down while traveling. Coasted to shoulder. After waiting 10-15 minutes car started up again. Over next two days sometimes car would start and sometimes it would not. When it failed to start immediately after multiple attempts over 10-15 minutes car would finally start. After three days of this situation took car in for diagnosis and repair, and ignition lock cylinder was found to be defective and replaced. Mechanic advised this was a common problem on all Chevrolet models for many years.

- Little Neck Ny, NY, USA

problem #66

Feb 282014

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 12,099 miles
I was driving my vehicle and it made a loud noise/ sound like it came from the heating and cooling vent inside. I went to the store and the key was stuck in the ignition. I got it out. Start the card after I left the store. The car speed was 10 mph to 25 mph with no meter moving for the gas, thermostat, there was no electricity. Triple a pick up my vehicle on February 27, 2014. Weber Chevrolet replaced cylinder and ignition switch. The total cost was $854.22. I had this ignition switch replaced for the 3rd time. I would like to have and refund on my ignition switch.

- Overland, MO, USA

problem #65

Aug 182013

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 129,596 miles
When I put the key in the ignition and try to turn it on there's no power to the fuel pump and it rotates but doesn't start I've seen a lot of problems pertaining to this ignition defect also I need to wait 30 seconds to see the lights power on the odometer and still doesn't start.

- Indio, CA, USA

problem #64

Apr 052007

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 62,269 miles
4-2007 gas was pooling around engine, replaced intake gasket, next time I drove car, same problem, they had to do over ( their dime) because failed to replace O-ring. 9-06-07 would not start at gas station, 9-13-07 pass lock sys. Installed ignition switch lock cylinder. 11-13-09 turn signals, tail lights not working, between 11-13-09 @ 4-07-2010, I have been back several times, because signals failed off and on while driving. Told me, they could not do anything until they could see it fail, which it did on 4-07-2010 while I was close to shop. Flasher switch/relay bad, replaced. 6-10-10 harmonic balancer worn and serpentine belt & seal replaced. 2-23-12 water pump leaking, replaced. 6-14-12 replaced sparks plugs, wires, complete injection flush. 9-14-2012 strong fuel smell (fumes) inside car and under hood, performed fuel leak test, no visual signs of fuel leak. Checked vent canister, gas cap, no fuel codes. Have been fumes several times since but by the time I drove to shop could not smell fumes. 4-22-13 fumes very strong inside car and under hood, drove to shop and they could smell fumes, put it up on rack and checked all underneath, no sign of leak under car or under hood. No one can tell me what the problem is but say process of elimination is only way. Why on 6-10-2010 need to replace serpentine belt and seal and again on 2-08-2013 remove and replace serpentine belt and belt tensioner"? when this car reached 62,000 I have had nothing but trouble with it and now I am afraid of a fire, gas is leaking somewhere!!!! I only have 97,461 miles. Is not there some way or someone who can find origin of the fuel leak"

- Hermiston, OR, USA

problem #63

Oct 172012

Malibu 6-cyl

  • miles
The problems that I have had with this vehicle are all too similar to the problems others on here are having especially with the theft security system not letting the car start if the security light starts to blinking after fail attempt to start the vehicle, does someone have to get hurt or killed before you all correct this problem. I have also had to replace the wheel hub assembly on this vehicle more times than normal in a short time frame. I feel that this shouldn't be our problem to pay for if it is GM [xxx] up. I am mad and pissed to say the least. All of these complaints and no reactions. Sad not living up to standards. When obama was bailing your [xxx]out he should of let you just stay [xxx]out. I am disgraced by this outrage. Ill never buy a heavy Chevy again. Toyota here I come. At least yall honor recalls. :( late for work, late taking kids to school, late for dr appt.,tickets for obstructing traffic. By the way GM great theft security system fail it seems like the only feature that's getting you a lot of publicity. Not !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Memphis, TN, USA

problem #62

Oct 082012

Malibu

  • 150,000 miles
There's a recall for this make and model year. My cars VIN skirts the recall but has the same issues as GM recall no 03043. Not sure why my car isn't included in this recall its very dangerous not to have turn signals!!!

- Deatsville, AL, USA

problem #61

Jan 162007

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 80,012 miles
The truth is all I want is my safety and my problem is very serious +the problem is listed under the NHTSA defect investigation# EA02037 and recall# 03V327000 with dates of recall from Feb 1st 2000 - May 31 2001 my vehicle was manufactured in Oklahoma in April 2000 however calling GM a representative of GM named [xxx] informed me that my GM is not on the recall list after 30 min of trying to figure out why I asked for a supervisor named [xxx] whom was not in the office and is supposed to call back and then I asked for that person supervisor presumably the manager and I was told I could not speak to that person and when I asked for that persons name I was told that the managers it was against company policy to give out the managers name and also against company policy to give out any last names furthermore I was given incorrect information about the manufacturing plant of my vehicle. I believe I should have my car on the recall list if I fit the description accurately and fall in between the correct dates it is a very serious safety hazard and could become fatal if not fixed very soon. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Riverdale, GA, USA

problem #60

Aug 102011

Malibu

  • 50,678 miles
Turn signal/hazard lamps become intermittent or inoperative when temperature transitions such as rain are encountered when the turn signals are inoperative, the driver cannot use them to signal intent to turn that could result in a crash NHTSA campaign id number 03V327000 and NHTSA action number EA02037 and GM recall no. 03043 refused at point of purchase: Fox Chevrolet, 60 East padonia road, timonium, md 21093 phone 410-667-6666 on October 13, 2011.

- Timonium, MD, USA

problem #59

May 122011

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 78,622 miles
Pertaining to General Motors product recall #03043A dated March 2004. This recall addresses a problem that exists in the 2000 Chevrolet Malibu vehicles, these vehicles have a condition in which solder joints in the hazard warning flasher switch may crack. If cracking occurs, it may cause the audibled flasher indicator, visual flasher indicator in the instrument cluster, turn signals, and the hazard warning flashers to work intermittently of not at all. If the turn signals or hazard warning flashers are not working, others may react more slowly to a turning or stopped vehicle and a crash could occur. In my case the turn signals and warning flasher were working intermittently. But, the VIN on my 2000 Malibu does not fall into the stated VIN range my compliant is: If this condition is important enough to warrant a recall, why does it only apply to 2000 Chevrolet Malibu"S within a certain VIN range? why does it not apply to all 2000 Chevrolet Malibu?S that have the identical problem" I have had this condition repaired 3 times within the last 4 months. I am on a limited income and I cannot afford a recurring repair that costs hundreds of dollars. To date I have spent over $1,000 on this same repair. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6)

- St. Louis, MO, USA

problem #58

May 152000

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 126,000 miles
2000 Chevy Malibu. Anti-theft system randomly engages and will not allow the car to be started. We have to key lock and unlock the doors, have had to unhook the battery(which we just replaced in hopes that was part of the problem), and let the car sit for ten minutes in hopes that it will reset itself. At 2:30 in the morning, and the neighborhood I work in, this is unsafe.

- Rogersville, TN, USA

problem #57

Feb 012008

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 133,000 miles
2000 Chevrolet Malibu, bought the car in 2005. The anti-theft light comes on and car won't crank, or a few minutes down the road if it does crank it stalls looses all power, and then won't crank for about 30 minutes later if not I might have to beat with my hand on the dash just under the ignition switch for all power to regain its self. This problem started back in 2008, but my husband got it doing right again after about a month of tapping the computer part of the switch from the inside of the dash with a screw driver handle every time he went to crank it. It did fine up until recently, about somewhere in February of 2011, it started doing it again, dealership can seem to tell me nothing, they have no idea even after running it on a computer over night, all because the computer they said can't find anything, how dumb. I am poor, can't afford another car. I love my Malibu apart from what it is doing to me, I have 2 kids, small kids, they are with me 24/7 and the car will just die on me leaving me to use all, Y strength and power to steer and stop the car on to the side of the road. To top it off my air isn't working anymore, and being stuck like that in the heat from this state of Alabama, is not fun or healthy for my 2 kids or me. I just want it to work like it is supposed to. I can't afford to pay over 300 dollars for a switch and I don't even know if that is the problem, my car surges, and no one can seem to tell me a straight answer, but what I do know is I am not the only one with this problem. And someone needs to fix it now.before something bad happens, what if it dies on me like that and it will at high speeds, and someone not paying attention runs me and my 2 kids over. Please I am begging you, I don't want a new car, I just want my problem that seems to be very common fixed.

- Anniston, AL, USA

problem #56

Sep 192007

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 100,000 miles
The anti-theft ignition lock device malfunctions every day, 3 or more times in most cases, you have to wait 10 minutes to attempt to start the car again and even then it may not start and you have to wait 10 more minutes, now its not a "crash your car through a building and kill people" type of problem but it is a "sit in your car in a terrible neighborhood and pray you dont get raped, murdered, robbed, etc" problem. I recently was working in inner city baltimore and was required to park my car on greenmount avenue, which is the worst of the worst and sometimes it would take me an hour to start my car!!!!!!!!! this is utterly ridiculous and this is the reason nobody wants to buy american made cars anymore!!!!!! take responsibility GM!!!!!!!!!! I shouldnt have to pay $300+ to get this issue fixed. GM should pay for it and also remove this device from all of thier vehicles. It was obviously not a well thought out theft deterrent. And further more there are several other issues on my vehicle that I have been told are "notorious" on these cars. The whole entire brand should fall under the lemon law. I want some satisfaction, they need to do a recall for this. It is the ignition lock cylinder and housing assembly and I currently dont have the money to get it fixed, and I may never have the money seeing as how it constantly makes me late for work and I may lose my job because of it! way to go Chevy-thumbs up!

- Joppa, MD, USA

problem #55

Sep 212005

Malibu

  • miles
I have a 2000 Chevy Malibu ls in which the anti theft system does not allow me to operate my car properly. I will try to start my car and go somewhere and it wont start for ten to fifteen minutes. I live inwi where it can get very hot and extremely cold. I also have a child under the age of two who is with me in my vehicle on a regular basis. I have called GM and complained about this issue and I am told that they cant do anything because this is not a safety issue. This is a safety issue. If it is below freezing out side and I have my baby in the car with me and have to wait for ten of fifteen mins for it to hopefully start my child or I could get very sick. Not to mention sitting in a hot car for that time waiting for the fake light to go off so that I can start it with they key that is supposed to go with the car but yet the car thinks im trying to steal it. And another one if im traveling and stop to get gas at night and I have to pay at the pump and turn the car off, cuz that's what your supposed to do while fueling, then it doesn't want to start again im stranded at an unopened gas station who knows where with my young child and myself at night in the freezing cold or very hot temps. Why again is this not a safety issue" this problem needs to be fixed. And we should not have to pay for it to be done either. 400 to 800 to try to fix a problem that GM should recall. And it isn't even guaranteed to not happen again. Why is it that GM wont recall this issue that I have seen tons and tons of complaints about? is it because GM doesn't know a solution to this problem? well GM U better figure one out or U will most likely be loosing a lot of customers. I certainly wont buy another GM car if they wont take responsibility for the issues that they are having with these cars now. GM should stand by their product and fix the issues that consumers are having with their cars. This is definitely a safety issue who are you kidding" fix this problem!!!!

- Oconomowoc, WI, USA

problem #54

Jul 242010

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 147,257 miles
I have a 2000 Chevy Malibu. It has something called the passlock system or theft system and it prevents the car from starting. It prevents the car from starting all the time. This isn't the first time you have received this complaint I bet. I have put an extra $2000 into the car after I brought it hoping it would fix it but I still have the problem. I have read on-line and everyone who owns a 96 and up GM car has this problem. Everyone says GM doesn't care about this problem and they won't fix it. They say this is the only way to get them to fix it. If we complain on here. Please make them fix this problem with their cars because you would save over 1,000,000 people time and frustration. No joke, literally 1,000,000 people have this problem. This is why they went bankrupt. GM sucks. This is why America sucks as a nation. We have to complain on here to fix our problems. No offense to you. I don't have enough money to by another car, as most people with this problem. Please do the right thing and make GM fix it. I know it is not the american way to give the people what they want but maybe this time we can make an exception. Please help all of us who would love to buy a different car but don't have the money. Thank you.

- Hawk Point, MO, USA

problem #53

Jul 162010

Malibu

  • 138,618 miles
TL- the contact owns a 2000 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated the ignition switch works intermittingly. The contact was told to turn the key and let it sit for 15 minutes and then try to start the vehicle. This has worked, but the contact feels this is a safety issue. The vehicle had not been repaired at the time of the complaint. The failure mileage and current mileages was 136818

- St Louis, MO, USA

problem #52

Oct 102010

Malibu

  • 141,501 miles
After driving for a few minutes, suddenly without warning, the turn signals stopped working, so I stuck my arm out the window to try to compensate for the lack, I tried to use emergency flashers and they did not work either. Every day that I drive, the turn signals work for about 15 minutes then stop (even the emergency flashers stop working). I contacted the Chevy recall # 800-630-2438 and spoke to daniel who told me that the recalls are VIN specific and that my car was not included in those VIN #'s and that I have to pay to have it fixed.

- Jamaica, NY, USA

problem #51

Oct 082010

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 141,600 miles
Driving from queens to brooklyn, NY and suddenly without warning, the turn signals stopped working, so I stuck my arm out the window to try to compensate for the lack. Every day that I drive, the turn signals work for about 15 minutes then stop (even the emergency flashers stop working). I've taken the car to mechanics who are as stumped as I was (until today) when I saw the NHTSA.dot recall and investigation list which included my car 2000 Chevy Impala.

- Jamaica, NY, USA

problem #50

Aug 102010

Malibu

  • 171,504 miles
Turn signals inoperable. Flasher inoperable. This makes it impossible to alert other drivers of intent to turn or change lanes causing a dangerous situation. I was told there has already been a recall by the Chevrolet representative. The recall was for the turn signals and hazard switch and both have been replaced by a previous owner at 70000 mi. Under the previous recall. I am now having the same problem at 172000 mi. And was told it is now not their responsibility.

- Ellinwood, KS, USA

problem #49

Sep 082010

Malibu

  • 84,500 miles
Turn signals have not been working upon demand. As of 9/82010 my turn signals have stopped working all together. GM said my VIN did not fall in the recall category of the same vehicles with the same problem.

- Canyon Country , CA, USA

problem #48

Aug 122010

Malibu

  • 80,218 miles
I own a 2000 Chevy Malibu and the theft deterrent system is not working properly. A lot of the time the car will not start and while you are driving the call will stall and die. It will shut off and random times. You can be driving down the highway at 65 miles an hour and you loose power. This is a very dangerous situation and I know that GM knows about this problem and has failed to come up with a fix for it. It is up to you to force GM to put out a fix for this and protect the consumers of their products. Please help keep me and my family safe. Thank you.

- Stansbury Park, UT, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »