10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
77,443 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

The NHTSA is the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints can be spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem. See the Back button — blue bar at the very top of the page — to explore more.

Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2000 Chevrolet Malibu:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

problem #44

Jun 082018

Malibu

  • 204,333 miles
Has issues that are recalled on other 2000 Malibu's. blinkers stopped working on & off one day. Then stopped totally next day, changed fuse nothing helped. Doesn¿T even show on instrument panel. Car refuses to start at times, takes any where from 3-5 tries to start. Also had recall done on ignition, didn¿T help, I replaced whole ignition switch after the dealer ¿fixed¿ it. Battery kepted on draining before that.

- Fairfax, MN, USA

problem #43

Dec 012008

Malibu

  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2000 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that the left and right turn signals failed to activate. The contact took the vehicle to the sour lake Chevrolet dealer where it was diagnosed that the hazard warning switch failed and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and opened case number: 8/2983536744. The manufacturer also informed the contact that the failure was related to NHTSA campaign number: 03V327000 (exterior lighting); however, the VIN was not included. The approximate failure mileage was 100,000.

- Paull, TX, USA

problem #42

Feb 032014

Malibu

  • 92,000 miles
The contact owns a 2000 Chevrolet Malibu. While driving at approximately 30 mph and making a turn, the turn signals lamps failed to respond when activated. The failure recurred intermittently. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic where the cause of the failure could not be diagnosed. The vehicle was not repaired. The VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 03V327000 (exterior lighting). The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The VIN was invalid. The approximate failure mileage was 92,000.

- St Paul, MN, USA

problem #41

Sep 172014

Malibu

  • 185,000 miles
There are three safety problems that have occurred. The first is that the turn signals sometimes work and sometimes don't. the second is that the engine will at time accelerate on it's own while driving and while idle. The third is that the engine sometimes completely shuts off while driving when it rains. A car repair shop has identified problems with the throttle position sensor and the idle air control motor. Searching on the internet reveals that this particular car has problems with the emergency light control that causes turn signal problems. I performed a recall search and the only recall I found was for an ignition switch modification which doesn't seem to relate to my problems.

- Nicholasville, KY, USA

problem #40

Nov 012011

Malibu

  • miles
My turn signal rarely works. I have found if I can get the hazard to come on and go off my turn signal will work at times but sometimes you cant even get the hazards to work.

- Tullahoma, TN, USA

problem #39

Jan 012004

Malibu

  • miles
In late 2003, early 2004, the hazard lights stopped working and you had to hold button down to keep them on. At the time, I had not received a recall notice. I had my mechanic work on it and fix the wiring. In Aug. 2014, it became a problem again, which I haven't fixed yet. Due to recent recalls, of which I received a notice for having my ignition and keys fixed for my car, I went onto the NHTSA website to check past recall notices and saw one issued in Feb. 2004 for cars of my make/model/year for the hazard warning switch. (campaign #03V327000) by VIN number, it shows my car wasn't one with the defective switch, however, I believe there to be a problem there and it should be looked into.

- Christiansburg, VA, USA

problem #38

Nov 152005

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 60,000 miles
My turn signal, hazard lights work periodically had them looked at and worked on and still have problems.

- Anacortes, WA, USA

problem #37

Dec 182013

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 67,000 miles
I own a 2000 Chevrolet Malibu classic and am experiencing intermittent turn signal failure. While attempting a left turn, the turn signals failed to illuminate when activated. In addition, there is a rapid ticking and the hazard lights become inoperable. I was told about a recall for this problem so contacted I manufacturer and was told my VIN was not included in the recall. The failure mileage was 67,000 and the current mileage 72,000.

- Lititz, PA, USA

problem #36

May 132009

Malibu

  • 85,000 miles
The day May 13, 2009 my wife was driving the vehicle for about hillsborough avenue at 12: 15 a day. Another vehicle driving in the opposite direction crossed the street to enter the parking lot of ross. My wife quickly use the brakes but the vehicle was when collided with the other vehicle stopped. My wife suffered trauma to the spine and neck. Breaking the 5th lumbar vertebra and herniated cervical. Never again could work or it could operate. Requires a spinal Fusion which costs $ $80,000. Now we know why the vehicle did not stop and did not prevent the accident.

- Tampa, FL, USA

problem #35

Apr 052007

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 62,269 miles
4-2007 gas was pooling around engine, replaced intake gasket, next time I drove car, same problem, they had to do over ( their dime) because failed to replace O-ring. 9-06-07 would not start at gas station, 9-13-07 pass lock sys. Installed ignition switch lock cylinder. 11-13-09 turn signals, tail lights not working, between 11-13-09 @ 4-07-2010, I have been back several times, because signals failed off and on while driving. Told me, they could not do anything until they could see it fail, which it did on 4-07-2010 while I was close to shop. Flasher switch/relay bad, replaced. 6-10-10 harmonic balancer worn and serpentine belt & seal replaced. 2-23-12 water pump leaking, replaced. 6-14-12 replaced sparks plugs, wires, complete injection flush. 9-14-2012 strong fuel smell (fumes) inside car and under hood, performed fuel leak test, no visual signs of fuel leak. Checked vent canister, gas cap, no fuel codes. Have been fumes several times since but by the time I drove to shop could not smell fumes. 4-22-13 fumes very strong inside car and under hood, drove to shop and they could smell fumes, put it up on rack and checked all underneath, no sign of leak under car or under hood. No one can tell me what the problem is but say process of elimination is only way. Why on 6-10-2010 need to replace serpentine belt and seal and again on 2-08-2013 remove and replace serpentine belt and belt tensioner"? when this car reached 62,000 I have had nothing but trouble with it and now I am afraid of a fire, gas is leaking somewhere!!!! I only have 97,461 miles. Is not there some way or someone who can find origin of the fuel leak"

- Hermiston, OR, USA

problem #34

Mar 152012

Malibu

  • 141,000 miles
The contact owns a 2000 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that the left turn signal failed. The contact would try to activate the signal but it would not engage. The vehicle was taken to a certified mechanic, who stated that the bulb and the circuit board needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired but the failure recurred. The manufacturer was notified but provided no assistance. The failure mileage was 141,000.

- Rural Retreat, VA, USA

problem #33

May 152011

Malibu

  • 102,000 miles
The contact owns a 2000 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that the turn signals and hazard warning lights did not illuminate intermittently. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and informed the contact that the vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 03V327000 (exterior lighting). The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 102,000.

- Hilliard, OH, USA

problem #32

Sep 052012

Malibu

  • 68,000 miles
The contact owns a 2000 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that the turn signals became inoperable. The contact would have to abruptly strike the hazard and turn signal lights in order for them to operate. The vehicle was taken to a dealer for inspection however, the vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified but provided no assistance. The failure mileage was 68,000.

- Galt, CA, USA

problem #31

Oct 082012

Malibu

  • 150,000 miles
There's a recall for this make and model year. My cars VIN skirts the recall but has the same issues as GM recall no 03043. Not sure why my car isn't included in this recall its very dangerous not to have turn signals!!!

- Deatsville, AL, USA

problem #30

Sep 272011

Malibu

  • 78,663 miles
The contact owns a 2000 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that the turn signals failed while driving 25 mph. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who advised that there were no recalls for the failure. The dealer replaced the hazard warning switch and the manufacturer was notified who confirmed that there were no recalls for the vehicle. The failure mileage was 78,663.

- Baltimore, MD, USA

problem #29

Aug 102011

Malibu

  • 50,678 miles
Turn signal/hazard lamps become intermittent or inoperative when temperature transitions such as rain are encountered when the turn signals are inoperative, the driver cannot use them to signal intent to turn that could result in a crash NHTSA campaign id number 03V327000 and NHTSA action number EA02037 and GM recall no. 03043 refused at point of purchase: Fox Chevrolet, 60 East padonia road, timonium, md 21093 phone 410-667-6666 on October 13, 2011.

- Timonium, MD, USA

problem #28

Jul 152009

Malibu

  • miles
The contact owns a 2000 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact was driving approximately 30 when mph she engaged the left signal and the vehicle began to exhibit an abnormal noise. The turn signal would not activate. In addition, the contact stated that the hazard lights had also failed. The vehicle was taken to a local repair shop, yet the mechanic was unable to duplicate the failure. The contact referenced NHTSA campaign id number: 03V327000 (exterior lighting:hazard flashing warning lights:switch). She contacted the manufacturer who advised her that her vehicle was not included in the recall. Also, the contact stated that after refueling the vehicle, the vehicle would become slow to respond to the contact's attempts to accelerate. The vehicle was taken back to the same local mechanic where they were unable to duplicate the acceleration failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was unknown and the current mileage was 84,649.

- Lake Charles, LA, USA

problem #27

Jan 012001

Malibu

  • miles
I have replaced my tail light bulbs numerous times as well now the entire bulb panel once on each side. The design and the seal allows for water to enter and hold water in the covering/reflectors which in turn cause rusting and blown bulbs. At this point I now need a whole new wiring harness due to the water damage on the passenger side as well as another new bulb panel. I have many friends whom also have the same cars who can not keep tail lights working either. I notice as I drive around many, many others on the road have no visible lights I would have to guess for the same reason. I am pulled over by the police frequently for this as well. I have not been issued a citation yet as I have a spoiler, rear window, and both break lights that are working. This is definitely a design problem and have been told this by many mechanics over the years. This should be corrected to potentially reduce accidents due to lack of rear lights and owners not knowing they have gone out or being unable to repair. The seals are poor and hold bowls of water constantly in the covers. I often see the problem in the passenger side as well as mine. Unsure if this in common or just my observation.

- Columbiana, AL, USA

problem #26

Jan 012005

Malibu

  • 85,000 miles
The contact owns a 2000 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that the hazard lights failed intermittently. The vehicle was taken to a local repair shop but the failure could not be duplicated. The contact called the manufacturer who took a complaint and stated that the vehicle was not included in recall 03V327000 (exterior lighting: Hazard flashing warning lights: Switch). The vehicle had not been repaired. The failure mileage was approximately 85,000 and the current mileage was 175,900.

- Pembroke Pines , FL, USA

problem #25

Oct 242010

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 113,000 miles
My 2000 Chevy Malibu, VIN [xxx] recently began having intermittent turn signal failure. Sometimes the turn signals work, and sometimes they don't. recall 03V327 did not apply to my VIN, and a special program Chevy implemented, described in NHTSA action # RQ04005 applied to my car but expired in February 2010. Under this program, GM replaced failed switches for free. They refuse to do this for me now, as the program has expired. The recall doesn't expire, but the program does. As this acknowledged defect is exactly the same as the issue of the recall, why is there an allowed expiration for the remedy??! this makes no sense, and is adverse to public safety! information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- East Haddam, CT, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »