10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
25 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
11 / 0
Average Mileage:
70,912 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

The NHTSA is the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints can be spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem. See the Back button — blue bar at the very top of the page — to explore more.

Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Chevrolet Malibu:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #132

Apr 252008

Malibu

  • 50,000 miles
Multiple problems with this car - left turn signal does not work - car is aligned and still wants to go left (electrical steering issues I am told) - adjustable pedals do not adjust - visor mirror is broken -

- Fenton, MO, USA

problem #131

Mar 042008

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 58,750 miles
My steering wheel started to move on its own even at idle. This happened for a day, then I lost my power steering as I tried to turn left in a parking lot. The car wouldn't turn. Now I cannot steer left or right and the check engine light is continuously on and you see "power steering" in the info box on the dash. I am upset that I am finding many complaints on the internet and Chevy/GM has not made this issue a mandatory recall. I will be even more upset if I run into the same issues that other people have had by having their steering columns replaced 2 and 3 times only to continue having problems!!!

- Rochester, NY, USA

problem #130

Jan 202007

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 32,228 miles
I have a 2004 Chevy Malibu. In January 2007 I noticed a clunking noise which could be felt in the steering wheel when I was turning. On 02/07/2007 I took the car to a Chevy dealer and they replaced the steering gearpart number: 15858368, and another gear, part number: 06508. About 2 weeks ago I noticed the problem had returned, the car now has 39,000 miles on it. Something should be done about this as I have seen multiple complaints about this and numerous people, such as myself, reporting multiple failures. Now that the car is out of warranty I will have to pay for it out of pocket to fix a Chevrolet defect, not to mention the obvious safety issue.

- Brick, NJ, USA

problem #129

Jul 012004

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 12,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Chevrolet Malibu. While making a right or left turn at any speed, the steering would make a grinding or grating noise. The dealer could not find or hear any failures. The contact stated that the steering wheel is now making a very loud grating and grinding noise. She scheduled an appointment to take the vehicle to the dealer. The purchase date was unknown. The current mileage was 23,836 and failure mileage was 12,000.

- Fullerton, CA, USA

problem #128

Nov 072007

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 54,525 miles
2004 Chevy Malibu steering column has been replaced 3 times and now the steering goes out again and the car is out of warranty. I paid over $100 to the Chevy dealership to figure out the steering problem and an eletrical problem just for them to tell me there is nothing wrong. However both problems still exist. Chevy does not want to pay for any repairs, but they say they stand by their cars.

- Irving, TX, USA

problem #127

Jun 222007

Malibu

  • Automatic transmission
  • 55,219 miles
Vehicle started to drive hard/loud after the first year. Vehicle at dealer for problems with lights found problem with steering rack and leaking seal at the axel shaft. Replaced steering rack and fix seal also replace brakes. Problem with gas cap which lead to a series of problems including need to replace a throttle body and then the transmission. Traded vehicle December 2007 will never buy another Chevrolet. 2004 Malibu was purchased new in February 2004 with only 7 miles.

- Richmond, VA, USA

problem #126

Nov 102007

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 25,900 miles
A clunking in the steering wheel when turning at low speed. Took my 1st Chevy to the mechanic with the same noise and was told I bought a lemon because GM can't resolve issues with the steering column so I was bummed. I went out and purchased another GM thinking that the last car was a lemon and it couldn't happen again. I was sadly mistaken! I've bought 2 GM cars in the last 3 years and now regret it, I owned foreign cars before and it's the first and last time I'm buying GM unfortunately....

- Shakopee, MN, USA

problem #125

Sep 282007

Malibu

  • miles
Got power steering warning. Had diagnostic check with no results. Ignored the warning for a month. Power steering failed while in a parking lot. Shut off engine, restarted and had power steering again. Happened a second time this time with my wife driving. She managed to pull over and shut off car. Power steering worked when the car was re-started.

- Arnold, MO, USA

problem #124

Feb 042005

Malibu 6-cyl

  • miles
2004 Chevrolet Malibu with noise in the steering wheel customer states that this problem has been going for 2 years without correction from the dealership* the dealer replaced various parts in the steering, however the problem remained the same. The battery was replaced. The vehicle hesitated to start. The dealer found the ignition switch had shorted out internally. The horn was replaced. The cd player made a clicking sound.

- Rocky Mount, NC, USA

problem #123

Jun 292007

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 31,700 miles
Car was making clunking noise in the steering wheel/tire area when making turns. Dealer replaced intermediate steering shaft. This was the third time involving a steering issue. Replaced steering gear assembly and rack & pinion.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #122

Apr 272007

Malibu

  • Automatic transmission
  • 48,000 miles
TL-caller is leasing a 2004 Chevrolet mailbu. Current and failure mileage 48000. While driving at 3mh and attempting to enter traffic, the car died with no warning. Steering froze. She was able to restart the vehicle and took it to dealer later that day. The steering was replaced however the engine problem was a mystery to them. Weather was dry temperature unknown. The vehicle has both manual and automatic. Ktf

- Rochester, MI, USA

problem #121

Sep 232006

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 10,905 miles
- the contact owns a 2004 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that while driving on 09/23/06 the steering became very hard. The contact was just able to steer the vehicle and park it. The vehicle was towed, and it was found that the steering module did not work. The steering module was replaced on 09/27/06. However, because the vehicle owner believed this was a hazard he was afraid to drive the vehicle. The current and failure mileage were both 10905 miles. Update 4/9

- Naples, FL, USA

problem #120

Dec 122006

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 70,000 miles
: the contact stated the vehicle lost power steering control nearly causing an accident. The vehicle was taken to a service dealer could not duplicate the issue.

- Hamshire, TX, USA

problem #119

Jan 202004

Malibu

  • miles
2004 Malibu anti theft light and radio lock light illuminates, problem with seal on the rear left window. The steering was stiff, the molding on the let rear window came out of place when the window was rolled up. The vehicle would vibrate while driving. There was a rubbing noise coming from the front of the vehicle, the check engine light illuminated several times, the temperature and fuel gauge light illuminated. The trunk would not open properly when using the remote. The vehicle started by itself and all the lights illuminated which caused the battery to die.

- Hamilton, MS, USA

problem #118

Jun 092006

Malibu 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 59,650 miles
: the contact stated while attempting to make either a left or right turn there is a knocking noise present in the steering of the vehicle. While driving at any speed the vehicle pulls to left. The vehicle was taken to the dealer on 3 occasions and the manufacturer has been alerted however there is no fix for these problems.

- Lancaster, OH, USA

problem #117

Jan 022006

Malibu

  • miles
There was a clunking noise in steering when turning or acceleration and or steering wheel shakes when standing still.

- Hallandale, FL, USA

problem #116

Jan 062006

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Steering failure, steering replaced three times. Steering went out when car was 11 months old, again fall 2005, Jan 2006. Two different dealers have worked on car, noting that they are aware of steering problems with this model.

- Troy, MI, USA

problem #115

Jun 012004

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 6,000 miles
I bought the car brand new in 2003. Have had to take it into the dealership on three separate occasions. And it's happening again so this next time will be the fourth. Problem occurs every 6K or so. Play in the intermediate steering assembly begins to occur. First indication is a knocking noise heard while turning. I have taken it to three different dealers and they still can not correct the problem. It is just going to get frustrating over the life of the vehicle to constantly have to have it repaired. Very concerned with the safety of the vehicle. Also, if I tried to sell it, this problem could seriously affect the value of the vehicle.

- Sunnyvale, CA, USA

problem #114

May 232005

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 6,110 miles
2004 Chevrolet Malibu developed major steering problems. The steering column assembly had to be replaced three times in the last thirteen months.

- Lakewood, NJ, USA

problem #113

Aug 042004

Malibu

  • miles
2004 Chevrolet Malibu experienced problems with the steering.** answer required***. the consumer stated the vehicle pulled to the left when he would take off from a stop and it would drift to the left while driving.

- Unknown, DC, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »