2.0

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
78,286 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

The NHTSA is the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints can be spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem. See the Back button — blue bar at the very top of the page — to explore more.

Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Chevrolet Malibu:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #44

Dec 102015

Malibu

  • 90,000 miles
When hooked up to the computer it threw the code transmission control module. The car is stuck in one gear, sometimes it is 1st gear sometimes it is 5th gear. You never know when you start the car andealers take off what gear it will be in.

- Fredericktown, MO, USA

problem #43

Feb 052016

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 103,399 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that while driving at 20 mph, the transmission failed without warning. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic to be diagnosed. The contact was informed that the wave plate in the transmission had fractured and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 103,399. Updated 04/11/16

- Downers Grove, IL, USA

problem #42

Jan 202016

Malibu

  • 115,500 miles
Hard shift developing between 4th & 5th gear as well as reverse beginning to slip. There is a 10 year/120,000 mile campaign issued by GM concerning the 6T45 as well as the 6T70 / 75 transmissions concerning defective 3-5-R wave plates, but does not include the 6T40 transmission which my vehicle has. The defective internal parts in question are shared between the 6T40 as well as the 6T45 so I dont understand how my model transmission is not included in this campaign to solve this known issue.

- Highland, MI, USA

problem #41

Jan 272014

Malibu

  • 78,798 miles
Transmission bell housing and torque converter seals. Why was the transmission not under warranty for this repair. I purchased the car at 36,045 miles, at 78,798 miles this transmission pan leakage occurs. This result in 3rd gear shift slipping. Rendering me to pay a total to roger dean of $1,234.15, mind you the seals were $30 and the labor $1086.40. There must have been a defect in the seals for that situation to occur in the transmission. Please investigate. Purchase car from roger dean on 7/30/11 at 36,045 miles. Had repairs done on 1/28/14 at 78,798 miles.

- Riviera Beach, FL, USA

problem #40

Oct 232015

Malibu

  • 65,000 miles
October 23, 2015, my wife was driving the 2009 Malibu to work when, all of a sudden, the transmission would not shift. She was able to get to the side of the road and stopped. She tried to go forward and the car stayed in first gear. She stopped tried to back up and it would not go. She called me and, I was able to get the car home slowly in first gear. We knew the warranty was done as of the 5 years but only had 65,000 miles on it. So, after reading on line about dealerships using used parts to fix the transmission, we chose atlas transmission to do the work. We were told the wave plate broke basically taking out the trans and needed a new trans. $2808 later we had the car fixed. I contacted Chevrolet anf GM about this since I read the coverage on the 6 speed automatic was extended to 10 years or 120,000 miles. I was told my car was not in that recall and they couldnt do anything to help me since it was a government mandated coverage because it was a safety issue. Really"-- my wife breaking down in traffic on the highway was not a safety issue? --really?-- I am very dissappointed in Chevrolet and General Motors. I have driven their cars for 40 years! --a known problem with the wave plate, a transmission replaced at 65,000 miles because of the known problem. $2808 cash out of my pocket because of a known problem and they cant do anything for me ? I think that sucks! I was offered a gift card for the service department or to buy accessories for my car as compensation for the problem. --really"--- wow, I thought GM would step up to the plate on this one, especially because they were covering other transmissions with the same problem. --well, they definately lost me as a future customer. I traded it in om a new Ford escape for my wife. A much better choice as I see it. Im sure they will take better care of their customers, ---as they did in the past.

- Middleburg Hts, OH, USA

problem #39

Nov 062015

Malibu

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chevrolet Malibu. When the contact placed the vehicle into park and then back into drive, the shifter moved but the transmission did not change gears. The VIN was included in NHTSA campaign number: 12V460000 (power train). The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the shift cable needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was unknown.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #38

Oct 192015

Malibu

  • 86,000 miles
While driving the car at 55 mph it started jumping/skipping while I was driving on a 3 lane highway and then it just died. I couldn't get it in reverse and it wouldn't shift at all. The electrical information on the dash went out as well. I had to arrange a tow. I'm being told it needs a new transmission and there is electrical failure as well. The car has 86,000 miles on it and has been serviced routinely. How does a transmission go from working to dead in seconds?

- Crofton, MD, USA

problem #37

Oct 282015

Malibu

  • 117,500 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that while driving at various speeds, the vehicle began to slow down independently and came to a complete stop. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic where it was diagnosed that a wave plate within the transmission had disintegrated. As a result, the transmission needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 117,500.

- Orian, MI, USA

problem #36

Oct 052015

Malibu

  • 160,000 miles
One October 5, 2015 owner was driving at or around 35mph when the vehicles, ESC, check engine light, and brake dashboard icons came on. Then car then lost engine power, and would not accelerate. Owner then cruised the car to the side of the road, where turned the key to the off position and then tried to restart it. Owner tried turning the key to restart the vehicle multiple times over the course of 15 minutes and the vehicle would not start. Finally, the vehicle restarted and the owner was able to drive off the freeway and contacted the GM customer service number to report the incident.

- Long Beach, CA, USA

problem #35

May 152015

Malibu

  • 123,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that while driving at 55 mph, the vehicle slipped gears and stalled. The contact activated the emergency brakes in order to stop the vehicle safely. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic who diagnosed that the shift cable fractured. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 123, 000.

- St. Louis, MO, USA

problem #34

Aug 152015

Malibu

  • 90,100 miles
My car stopped being able to shift. I pulled over and lost the ability to reverse as well. The mechanic confirmed it was my transmission, and recommended I take it to the dealership B/C Chevy consistently has problems with transmissions and there was a "special coverage adjustment". my particular VIN did not qualify to be repaired by Chevy/GM although it was the exact same issues that the "special coverage" paperwork described. Do not buy a Chevy or GM vehicle. They refuse to own up to any issues with their parts. Their poor quality standards don't stop at the assembly line, they go right on through to customer service as well.

- Chicago , IL, USA

problem #33

Aug 052014

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 125,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that the vehicle failed to accelerate on several occasions while driving at various speeds. In addition, the contact stated that the power steering, the door locks, windows and rear tail gate failed. The vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V153000 (steering). The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The failure mileage was 125,000. MA 10/23/15

- Niantic, CT, USA

problem #32

May 042015

Malibu

  • 75,000 miles
When driving the power steering went out. This has happened 4 times in the past year.

- Muskego , WI, USA

problem #31

Jul 172015

Malibu

  • 130,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chevrolet Malibu. While attempting to shift into the park position, the gear indicator light would only display reverse and the vehicle would only operate in reverse. The vehicle was towed to the dealer. No further information was available. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 130,000.

- Ruleville, MS, USA

problem #30

May 192014

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 118,000 miles
Driving in traffic, vehicle suddenly lost power and I had to pull out of traffic, nearly causing an accident. Engine revved, rpms were high. Shut car off, restarted and car would not get out of second gear. I had the car towed to a Chevrolet dealer, who told me my transmission failed due to a wave plate issue. Although 6T70 transmission warranty was extended to some 6 speed 2009 Malibu's, I was told mine was not, even though the problem is known to exist in all GM 6 speed transmissions. This transmission is a definite safety hazard and the 10 year 120K mile extended warranty should be offered to every automobile with this transmission....updated 09/22/15

- Selkirk, NY, USA

problem #29

May 192015

Malibu

  • 130,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that the gear shift failed to switch into the park position. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the shifter cable kit and bracket needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and stated that the VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V224000 (power train). The failure mileage was 130,000.

- East Point, GA, USA

problem #28

Apr 262014

Malibu

  • 56,000 miles
While driving power steering went out. 2014 April 26. Same thing happened a year later the exact date 2015.

- Omaha, NE, USA

problem #27

Apr 062015

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 41,700 miles
Vehicle suddenly starting jerking while driving on main road barely made it home unable to put car in reverse had car towed to dealer wave plate disintegrated and had to have transmission rebuilt. General Motors has issued a special service coverage for certain vehicles with this problem mine is not included and being that this is a known problem they really should include all vehicles affected by this known issue.

- Garfield, NJ, USA

problem #26

Mar 132015

Malibu

  • 127,056 miles
While driving on city street going maybe 35 mph my 3year old who was strapped into his car seat in the backseat began to choke. I immediately pulled over and got out to go to his aid but I couldn't unlock the back door. I panicked and had to try to climb through the small space from the front seat to the back but could not quickly get my choking child out of the car. Later that day I checked the door locks after calming down and I am not able to lock or unlock the doors.I noticed clicking noises but never paid any attention to it as it was not a concern until I could not free my chocking child from the back seat.I just purchased the car used last month. After review the locks on this car is a know'N common problem that is a safety concern. My helpless child was locked in.

- Fresno, CA, USA

problem #25

Oct 142014

Malibu

  • 95,000 miles
I could not shift car into park. I could not turn the key to off. Car was stuck in drive. Had to call a towing service to pick up. The nearest auto shop had to put in park, and fix the shift cable. We were out of $165 dollars, plus rental fees cost of $85 dollars. They kept our car for five days.

- Carson, MS, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »