2.0

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
78,286 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

The NHTSA is the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints can be spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem. See the Back button — blue bar at the very top of the page — to explore more.

Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Chevrolet Malibu:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #24

Jul 012013

Malibu

  • 88,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chevrolet Malibu. While driving 50 mph, the traction control warning light illuminated and the vehicle independently decreased in speed. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who was unable to diagnose the failure. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 88,000.

- Knightstown , IN, USA

problem #23

Jan 282015

Malibu

  • 72,000 miles
I was picking my little brother up from school I was at the light and the car started to shake violently and engine reduced power light came on is does this on and off and this is not safe for any driver.

- Bowie , MD, USA

problem #22

Feb 142013

Malibu

  • miles
We reported last year to GM that we were without power steering, instead of fixing our car the argued with us that there hasn't been a recall on the power steering. Now we are having problems with the tracking. And the transmission has been slipping since last summer.

- Muscatine, IA, USA

problem #21

Dec 142013

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 79,000 miles
Wave plate failure of transmission resulted in sudden loss of 5th gear and loss of speed at highway speeds. This resulted in a near collision at interstate speeds. Also, while attempting to turn around and get the vehicle to a safe stopping point off the interstate the vehicle lost reverse resulting in a second near T-bone collision due to having to push the vehicle out of the roadway. The vehicle was repaired in 12/2013 at the dealership under warranty a second wave plate failure resulting in loss of transmission occurred in 11/2014.

- Palmyra, VA, USA

problem #20

Aug 262014

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 40,800 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that while driving approximately 40 mph, the vehicle failed to shift into gear and excessive force was required to depress the accelerator pedal. The failure recurred on numerous occasions. The vehicle had not been diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 40,800. Updated 1/7/15 the consumer stated while driving, the vehicle would stick in gear decelerate without apply the brake. Updated 03/03/15

- Salem, NH, USA

problem #19

Jan 012014

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 115,590 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that the power steering failed and the vehicle stalled. The contact indicated that the steering wheel had become tight and extremely difficult to turn. The vehicle was merged to the side of the road where the vehicle was restarted after several attempts. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer. The technician diagnosed that the steering column and the fuel pump needed to be replaced. The vehicle was taken to an independent repair shop who replaced the steering column. The vehicle was repaired. The vehicle was not included in recall NHTSA campaign number: 14V153000 (steering). The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 115,590. Updated 12/22/14 updated 9/28/2015

- Sanford, NC, USA

problem #18

Oct 142014

Malibu

  • 110,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that when the vehicle was put into park and turned off, the vehicle would continue to roll and failed to restart. The vehicle had not been diagnosed or repaired. The vehicle was not included in recall NHTSA campaign number: 12V460000 (power train). The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 110,000.

- Huttig, AR, USA

problem #17

Jul 282014

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 114,200 miles
I was trying to accelerate to go onto the high way and my car would not go, there was a truck behind be and he just missed me and my family. Took the car to rodgers Chevrolet and they said that the transmission needed to be replaced. I remember complaining about my car not wanting to accelerate before I think it was to gordon Chevrolet. I had to dish out $2,500 that I did not have, I also had to replace my tie rod, I think GM should have stood by their product and replaced this under warranty. This is my second complaint with you about this vehicle, I have had my front end worked on by gordon Chevrolet countless times.

- Flat Rock, MI, USA

problem #16

Jul 252014

Malibu

  • 100,016 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that the vehicle speed suddenly decelerated and the vehicle would not shift into gear. The vehicle was restarted and the vehicle would not accelerate over 20 mph or operate in reverse. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, who diagnosed that the clutch wave plate ruptured and caused the failure. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 100,016.

- Tallahassee, FL, USA

problem #15

Jun 282014

Malibu

  • 100,400 miles
I had pulled into a parking lot and was waiting for customer to close their car door when my car would not move. The car was in drive and it felt like it was out if gear. It grabbed and I was able to pull in. When I was ready to leave the store I had gotten onto the highway and around 25mph the car did not want to shift into 2nd gear, I was also having trouble going into reverse. I decided to take my car home and I was unsure what was wrong with it. I took it to the dealership the next day where they ran a test on it. I was told the wave plate was broke in my transmission. Wow an 2009 with transmission problems. I was told the wave plate that was used for the Malibu's were bad. They really should have a recall for the Malibu's that are having transmission problems due to poor design using that style of wave plate.

- Bardstown, KY, USA

problem #14

Jul 102014

Malibu

  • 71,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that the vehicle decelerated when the acce;erator pedal was engaged and the engine light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to a dealer. The technician diagnose that the input speed sensor and transmission control module needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 71,000 and the current mileage was unknown.

- Kennar, LA, USA

problem #13

Mar 012010

Malibu

  • miles
Ongoing issue that dealership cannot diagnose or repair -- transmission will slip out of gear, resulting in a loss of power; car behaves as if it is in neutral. If pressure is removed from accelerator, transmission will re-engage. Since incident is intermittent and unpredictable, dealer has not been able to replicate. I have asked them multiple times if other 2009 Malibu have the same problem and have been told no. Given recent events I am skeptical now of that answer. Because power to the vehicle is lost, this can be very dangerous and I would like to know if other gms with the six-speed transmission (new on the 2009 model, I believe) are experiencing this problem.

- Washington, DC, USA

problem #12

Feb 162010

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 410 miles
Power steering train, I personally purchase new last one, end of the year vehicle on the available list.

- Durand , WI, USA

problem #11

Jan 292010

Malibu 4-cyl

  • miles
My service engine light has been on continuously because of my ignition switch is malfunctioning; at times it locks up disallowing me to be able to start my car or remove my keys. I have had issues with the camshaft actuators and has since been replaced on the engine; but this car is still malfunctioning. Also, my low beam headlight will not come on, on the passengers side of my vehicle after the bulb has been replaced. All of GM cars made between 2008-2012, needs to be recalled for these issues not just some but all!

- Jacksonville, AR, USA

problem #10

Sep 262013

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 62,855 miles
I own a 2009 Chevy Malibu and vehicle was taken to a Chevy service center for fuel smell on the exterior of vehicle on 09-2013. Chevy service center found cause fuel pump module cracked and replaced faulty part at no charge and stated that it was covered under power train warranty. NHTSA/GM recalled 40,000. 2007-2009 Chevy colbalts and other twin vehicles in 09-2012 for faulty fuel pump modules that crack and cause fuel leaks that has a potential of igniting a fire. I'm here to file a complaint against GM and make the public aware of other vehicles in the GM family that are not listed in the recall and advising NHTSA to further investigate 2007-2009 Chevy Malibu.

- Irving , TX, USA

problem #9

Sep 142012

Malibu

  • 34,000 miles
Within a one year period, had to have all 4 wheel bearings replaced, a strut, and the front sway bar linkage. 2009 Malibu ltz, 3.6 L V6 with approx. 32,000 miles.

- Washington, DC, USA

problem #8

May 022013

Malibu

  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that while traveling 45 mph, the vehicle suddenly lost acceleration power. The vehicle was moved to the shoulder where it was shut down and restarted but to no avail. The contact also stated that the vehicle rolled away while in park. The vehicle was taken to a private mechanic where it was repaired. The manufacturer was contacted and informed the contact that the vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign number 09V073000 (power train). The failure mileage was 100,000.

- Westminster, MA, USA

problem #7

Feb 212013

Malibu

  • 86,000 miles
I purchased a used 2009 Chevrolet Malibu in 2011. On February 21, 2013, I took my car to ourisman Chevrolet in marlow heights, md due to a recall notice related to the transmission. My invoice says they repaired the cable kit. On July 29, 2013 I pulled into a service station for gas in North Carolina. All pumps were taken. I waited. A car pulled out so I put my car in reverse to back up in order to get to the pump. When I tried to put the car in drive, the gear shift would move, however, the car remained stuck in reverse. I had to back up to the side of the gas station to move out of the way. I put the emergency brake on because the car would not go into park. I turned off the ignition, then tried to restart it. The car would not start because is was not in park. I called my brother for help. He noticed the shift cable had come apart. He used a twist tie, a washer, and a rubber cap that he found in his vehicle to repair the shift cable so that I could hopefully make it back home. It worked.the next day I made an appointment (07/31/13) to take the car back to ourisman to fix the cable. That invoice states that I need a shifter cable. According to ourisman, this part is not covered under the initial recall. The shift cable adjustment clip broke off somehow. The cable is still intact. That's why my brother was able to fix it enough to get me back home. I was told by the customer service technician that the part broke due to normal wear and tear. In the past, I've owned a Chevrolet cavalier for 12 years, and a Chevrolet Beretta for 8 years. Neither car had this problem of "normal wear and tear". it's a defect. The 2/21/13 invoice says replaced cable kit. The 7/31/13 invoice says "needs shifter cable". the bottom line is the shift cable adjustment clip broke off the shifter cable. Why is this not covered under the recall? it's a piece of the same part.

- Temple Hills, MD, USA

problem #6

Nov 012012

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 60,000 miles
Bought vehicle new 01/09, 3 mon. Later received letter from GM citing recall for transmission shift cable, took vehicle to dealer and they replaced. Recall id # 78844 - power train:automatic transmission:lever and linkage:column shift no problems with vehicle until 12/12 driving on interstate at approx. 50 mph vehicle began to shift hard/erratic with RPM gage going to 6-7 before vehicle would shift/accelerate, check engine, ABS, check tire pressure lights all came on. Called onstar was told there nothing indicated on diagnostics report and to contact GM. Contacted GM was told there was another recall on my vehicle for recall id # 94402 - power train:automatic transmission:gear position indication (prndl). Took vehicle to dealer, dealer said they could not replicate problem I was having and would not have parts until late Jan. To fix recall if that was in fact the issue. Told by dealer that erratic shifting is a normal problem with those vehicles. On 4/2/13 car will not go in park completely and ignition will not turn to "off" position, cannot remove key from ignition. Contacted GM was told there were no active recalls on my vehicle because original recall from 2009 fixed the shift cable and replacement part was only covered by GM for 12 months. GM said second recall was not attached to VIN# and therefore my vehicle was not affected although GM rep and dealer verified it was in Nov 2012. GM said to take to dealer and get diagnostic report and they would go from there but issue would probably not be covered if it has something to do with shift cable because warranty of 12 mon. On replacement parts has expired. If GM knows there is a continuous problem with this make/model and this component then it should be covered regardless. How many times should you have to take vehicle in for same set of issues. If GM does not own this problem I will never buy a GM vehicle again!

- Weaverville, NC, USA

problem #5

Oct 052011

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 30,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that when driving at various speeds, the service traction, service ESC and ESC off warning lamps illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the technician advised that the body control module was defective and needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure but only offered to cover part of the repair costs. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 30,000 and the current mileage was 67,000...updated 01/16/2013 the consumer stated when the driver's foot is on the brake the brake lights go off. Upon taking foot off the brake the brake lights stay on. This happens when the service traction light comes on. Updated 1/28/2013

- Detroit , MI, USA

Read the next 4 complaints »