10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
65,328 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

The NHTSA is the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints can be spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem. See the Back button — blue bar at the very top of the page — to explore more.

Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Chevrolet Malibu:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #57

Jul 052015

Malibu

  • 93,000 miles
There was a recall for the wiring harness related to these problems..rk Chevrolet in vineland, NJ repaired it supposedly. Days after the warranty on socalled repair the problem persisted yet again and I returned to dealership they said there was no problem with it...gave me codes for something else which did not relate to what is wrong...I'm getting nowhere with this and it is not safe to drive this vehicle which is needed for family transportation and work.ESC light stays on, traction control stays on, brake lights come on while driving but not when braking.

- Millville, NJ, USA

problem #56

Oct 202015

Malibu

  • 82,997 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chevrolet Malibu. While driving at any speed, the brake light illuminated without the brake pedal being depressed. In addition, the instrument panel lights illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the electronic stability control module needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not included in a NHTSA campaign number: 14V252000 (electrical system, electronic stability control, exterior lighting, service brakes, hydraulic, vehicle speed control). The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 82,997.

- Mountplesant, TN, USA

problem #55

Oct 072015

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 90,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chevrolet Malibu. While driving at various speeds, the third brake light illuminated independently. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was serviced under NHTSA campaign number: 14V252000 (electrical system, electronic stability control, exterior lighting, service brakes, hydraulic, vehicle speed control), but the failure recurred. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the third brake light wiring needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 90,000....updated 02/19/16 updated 4/19/18 dealership claims it is not part of recall, but there is a recall for brake light malfunction. Updated 4/19/18

- Pumpkin Plains, NJ, USA

problem #54

Oct 062012

Malibu

  • 40,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chevrolet Malibu. While driving various speeds, the passenger side headlight failed to work without warning. The contact stated that the bulb was changed; however, the failure recurred. The contact also stated that the air bag warning indicator illuminated and would not recognize if someone were seated in the passenger side of the vehicle. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 40,000.

- Gloucester, VA, USA

problem #53

Jul 012013

Malibu

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chevrolet Malibu. While driving at 30 mph, the contact noticed smoke coming from the front passenger side head lamp. In addition, both the passenger and driver side high and low beam head lamps failed to illuminate. The vehicle was taken to a dealer who diagnosed that the wiring harness and the head lamp assembly needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired; however, the failure recurred on numerous occasions. The contact also stated that while at a stop light, "service ESC, service traction. ESC off" was displayed across the message board. The ESC warning light illuminated and the vehicle stalled. The contact was able to restart the vehicle, but the failure recurred. The vehicle was taken to a dealer who was unable to diagnose or repair the vehicle. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The VIN was included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V252000 (electrical system, electronic stability control, exterior lighting, service brakes, hydraulic, vehicle speed control). The failure mileage was unknown.

- Milwaukee, WI, USA

problem #52

Aug 152014

Malibu

  • 118,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chevrolet Malibu. While driving at approximately 35 mph, the rear brake lights illuminated intermittently. The vehicle was serviced under NHTSA campaign number: 14V252000 (electrical system, electronic stability control, exterior lighting, service brakes, hydraulic, vehicle speed control), but the remedy failed to repair the vehicle. The contact mentioned that the brake lights remained illuminated after the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 118,000.

- Westland, MI, USA

problem #51

Sep 102015

Malibu

  • 127,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that the brake lights constantly remained illuminated. Prior to the failure, the vehicle was serviced under NHTSA campaign number: 14V252000 (electrical system, electronic stability control, exterior lighting, service brakes, hydraulic, vehicle speed control). The contact mentioned that the brake light briefly deactivated when the brake pedal was depressed and illuminated afterwards. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the brake switch, the brake assembly light, and the multifunction switch needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 127,000.

- Purcellville, VA, USA

problem #50

Jun 272014

Malibu 4-cyl

  • miles
2009 Chevrolet Malibu. Consumer writes in regards to body control module connection system recall reimbursement. The consumer stated in June 2014, the vehicle wasn't running smoothly. It seemed to exhibit a jerk motion and felt as though it was going to stall. The ESC light would illuminate and then go out. The dealer made some repairs on June on June 27, 2014. After the repairs were made, the consumer received a recall letter. However, the parts were not available. GM informed the consumer, the repairs were not covered by the recall. According to the invoice, the fuel injector wire was replaced. Recall # 14V252000 updated 12/30/15.

- Geneva, IL, USA

problem #49

Sep 292014

Malibu

  • 110,000 miles
First issue happened with the driver low beam not working then work again a few days later. The problem keeps going on from passenger and driver low beams. I've noticed the connectors were melted and changed them and they would both work for a few weeks then one would go out again. Second issue is the passenger airbag doesn't turn on when passengers are in the vehicle. It works sometimes but not everytime. Third issue is the passenger side door locks. The door locks work sometimes and again not everytime like they should. There's a lot of people reporting these same issues but nothing gets done unless it's out of our pockets.

- Homeland, GA, USA

problem #48

Sep 252014

Malibu

  • 75,000 miles
After the completion of repairs for recall 13036 in the fall of 2014 I was informed that my high mount break light was no longer function. After doing a great deal of research I have learned that a great number of consumers are facing the same challenge. My light worked without issues until the recall work was done on my car. The dealership stated that it was not warranty covered nor were they liable for the malfunction. It seems there is a direct connection between the recall repairs and these lights no longer functioning.

- Norfolk, VA, USA

problem #47

May 282015

Malibu

  • 76,555 miles
Bought my 2009 Chevy Malibu ltz in April 2015 in May 2015 my service ESC service traction control lights started to come on and my taillights are lighting up as if on the breaks when I am not.( they come on while I am stoped at a red light have never come on while moving) returned to the dealership where I got my car and the lights were off so they said they could not do anything until the lights were on(the lights reset when I shut my car off). They came on last night went to Chevy dealership last night 7/20/2015 and they told me to replace the break pedal switch and we did that but my break lights are still coming on when they want, it looks like there was a recall for this before I got my car and I don't know if it was fixed or not and if it could be fixed again under the recall...... very unhappy about this.

- North Versailles, PA, USA

problem #46

Dec 042012

Malibu

  • 80,000 miles
The passenger front headlight burned out. I took it to the dealership and had it replaced. Within a week or so, it had burned back out. At that time the dealership determined that the entire headlight assembly needed to be replace. I researched the problem on.chevymalibuforum.com and this is apparently very common.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #45

Nov 282014

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 93,000 miles
The passenger front headlight burned out. I took it to the dealership and had it replaced. Within a week or so, it had burned back out. At that time the dealership determined that the entire headlight assembly needed to be replaced.

- Lake Mary , FL, USA

problem #44

Dec 022014

Malibu

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V252000 (electrical system, electronic stability control, exterior lighting, service brakes, hydraulic, vehicle speed control); however, the parts to do the repairs were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Scottsville, NY, USA

problem #43

Sep 242014

Malibu

  • 113,400 miles
First issue noticed was passenger airbag not on while passengers are in front and rear of vehicle. The passenger airbag sensor works 50% of the time. Second issue started close to the same time as the airbag. When using the keyless entry or the electric lock buttons inside the car, it fails to lock or unlock the passenger side doors. After 30 minutes or so it will then lock the doors. The latest issue started on the 19th of November 2014 with the driver side lowbeam not working as like it's blown. The car has been sitting for two days since and now the lowbeam is working but, it's dim compared to the passenger lowbeam. I believe there's a short in the electrical system from manufacturer. There are many forums online about these issues online from other owners. This car has not had any aftermarket installations of its electrical components and the battery is new. Chevrolet needs to take the time when manufacturing their vehicles instead of cutting corners. Their customers safety should be valued better than worrying about sales. You would think after going under they would take the time to do things right the first time. I highly doubt I will ever purchase a vehicle manufactured after 2002 from Chevrolet due to all of the electrical components that fail or cause serious injury or death. Please fix these issues or lose a 15 year customer.

- Homeland, GA, USA

problem #42

Sep 012011

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 60,000 miles
I have had so much trouble with the 2009 Chevy Malibu I bought it brand new no miles thinking I was going to be stress free but it has given me the most headaches ever. I have had to replace the shift gear and that my head lights have had to been replace at least once a year since I got it the headache about that is that the whole bumper has to be removed to have them replace. I also had to replace the catalytic converter. I don't think I will ever purchase another Chevy car.

- Grand Prairie , TX, USA

problem #41

Jul 022012

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 135,000 miles
I have to change head lights 3 times. Only can take to dealer ($150). When having tires replaces and brakes. The ABS/ESC/traction control alarms lights stays on while driving. I contact Chevrolet now for last three years. I was told because my car is out warranty they will not approval repair. I recently taken car to dealer recall # 13036. That my car would be approval for loaner. Chevrolet/ dealer. All warranty have expires that would not approval for repairs there's no one to bill or pay for repairs and loaner. I will be taken this public. As a consumers and would like to stay a purchaser of GM/Chevy to warn everyone of their practices.

- Detroit, MI, USA

problem #40

Nov 302012

Malibu

  • miles
Back driver side turning light bulb keeps burning out. Before it goes out it will work sometimes. So I don't think it is the bulb, but some other issue. At this time my car is 6 years old with 32,000 miles and this will be the 4th time of changing this bulb.

- La Habra, CA, USA

problem #39

Jul 282014

Malibu

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact received a recall notice for NHTSA campaign number: 14V252000 (electrical system, electronic stability control, exterior lighting, service brakes, hydraulic, vehicle speed control); however, the parts needed for the repair were unavailable. The dealer could not provide an estimated date for arrival. The manufacturer was notified. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Sinton, TX, USA

problem #38

Apr 142014

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 54,635 miles
I received a recall notice number13036. To my understanding the recall has not been sent out to the current dealers to deal with the recall. My car brakes lights illuminated and the traction control light comes on while I'm driving putting my life in danger. Took the car to the dealer several times, but since the lights were not showing any defect they said there was nothing they could do. I have contacted the dealer several times, but since the recall is still in the notification process they tell me there is nothing they can do since the parts are not available. If and when I take my vehicle in if the lights are not coming on while the car is running or in park they told me there is nothing they can do. What am I left to do at this point I'm very concerned that before this is all over someone is going to lose their life.

- Clinton , MD, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »