7.6

pretty bad
Typical Repair Cost:
No data
Average Mileage:
6,500 miles
Total Complaints:
38 complaints

Most common solutions:

  1. not sure (37 reports)
  2. keep full tank of gas (1 reports)
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2017 Chevrolet Silverado 1500:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

Get free help with your lemon!
close ad

This problem may be covered under warranty. Ask your Chevrolet dealer.

problem #38

May 292019

Silverado 1500 LT 5.3L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 39,000 miles

Since my truck had 3000 miles on it. It always jerks and shifts hard. I have brought it in to the dealer about 6 times and they never find anything! The problem continues and I fully expect next oil change visit they will magically find the non warranty issue.

- Lawrence R., Edgewater, US

problem #37

Jan 152018

Silverado 1500 High Country 6.2L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 18,000 miles

Transmission bumps in gear at low start speeds. Problem persists during start tow mode.

- Earl B., Hoschton, GA, US

problem #36

Jun 052017

Silverado 1500 LT

  • Automatic transmission
  • 2,000 miles

Various dealerships told me that it’s not a problem, I assumed that it was normal. 91,800 miles later, a trip to Texas the transmission slipped so bad it would not drive. Stranded in Kansas City at a Dealership on Saturday afternoon.Still waiting to hear the cost to repair it.

- Tom A., Eldridge, IA, US

problem #35

Nov 222016

Silverado 1500 LTZ Z71 5.3L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 2,000 miles

My problem is like a lot of the other complaints that I've been reading. I purchased my 2017 LTZ Z71 with a 5.3 and 8 speed transmission in late 2016 and after driving it for a month or so I really started to notice surges and jerks mostly at low speeds and sometimes slowing down coming to a stop. The jerks sometimes feels like I got hit from behind. After several visits to the dealer and long discussions with service management, I was first told it had to learn my driving habits. Then I was told it is a characteristic of the transmission. I recently took it back and they replaced the transmission fluid and told me they were going to replace the torque converter early next year when the new design came out. So I guess have to just put up with it, I just don't know for how long.

- Rudy D., Corpus Christi, US

problem #34

Sep 012017

Silverado 1500 High Countrys V8

  • Automatic transmission
  • 1,000 miles

click to see larger images

surges and jerks

I found hundreds of complaints about a transmission slip, bump feeling when starting to drive or slowing to a stop with no solutions or suggestions. Took it in last week for the third time and after hearing the previous 2 times that it was a "programming issue" they told me it might be the drive shaft.

When I went to pick it up at Chevy they told me the drive shaft was fine and gave me the following bulletin (#PIT5161F). Basically states that if you do not have a full or empty tank - the shifting in fuel can cause these characteristics. So here I am thinking that I have a $56,000 truck (high country 4x4) with no rear a/c and now I have to deal with a feeling of getting rear ended if I do not have a full tank of gas. Rear AC - my fault for not noticing...but not sure how GM thinks this gas tank issue is acceptable. Its a truck that weighs over 5,000 lbs and a couple hundred pounds of gas "shifting" can make it feel like it has transmission issues. Owned it about a year and has 15,000 miles on it. Wish I could just return it at this point.

- Brian S., Dallas, US

problem #33

Dec 102018

Silverado 1500 LT 5.3L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 26,000 miles

Purchased a 2017 Certified Pre Owned. I have driven a lot of trucks in my time and i started to notice this one. Feels like the transmission is slipping and jerking. Took it to the dealership and I was surprised to hear that they actually saw the issue. They told me that they were going to reprogram the transmission. In the meantime I was driving a loaner 2019 Silverado and I didn't notice anything with it. I picked mine up and let the truck learn my habits but the problem is still there. After reading all these complaints I am starting to regret trading my Ram for this. Will be scheduling another appointment tomorrow.

- Todd M., Waxahachie, US

problem #32

Dec 032018

Silverado 1500 LTZ 6.2L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 3,000 miles

Same as others, new 2017 1500 Silverado, jerks, surges, during acceleration. Now and then I get a loud thud in the rear like I got rear-ended. Dealer first acted like they never heard of this issue but I confronted them with TSB bulletins and multiple complaints online. They finally flashed it a couple times and drove it about 50 miles. It seemed to get better after this. Then started acting the same.

Took truck in yesterday and they wouldn't even look at it. Service manager came out and said it's just the way the transmission works. He then said you have warranty coverage until 60k miles so don't worry. Total BS. Not what I expect from a dealer I've bought 3 trucks from 2014, 2015 and this 2017. And for a $54k truck.

- Ron A., Irving, US

problem #31

Aug 012018

Silverado 1500 LTZ 5.3L V8

  • Automatic transmission
  • 19,000 miles

When I bought this truck off a lot over the summer, I asked the dealer why would anyone sell such a beautiful looking truck only after a year. Well owning this truck for the past 6 months I completely understand why. This thing shifts like a farm tractor going from 1-2 2-1. Taken it up to the dealership 5 times now with no resolution to the hard shift problem. They gave me the same story as everyone else has been getting, that it's normal for these trucks to shift like that. There is no way that its normal. I've owned many vehicles and driven other trucks that never sounded like that. A $45,000 truck should not be shifting like a bus. I really wanted to love this truck but this problem is driving me crazy. If GM doesn't come out with a fix for this soon I'm trading it in for a F150.

- David J., Revere, MA, US

problem #30

Oct 212018

Silverado 1500 LTZ 6.2L V8

  • Automatic transmission
  • 900 miles

Service Request Number: 8-3968027860 / GM Program# 2044120 / Document ID 4567465 Cracked clutch piston that causes a 1-2 upshift / downshift slipping and or flaring/ hunting issue that feels like you are bumped by another car from behind.

I have reached out to GM Customer Satisfaction and AutoNation Dealership West Austin multiple times to only get negative feedback if any. "Tony advised that he himself was able to duplicate the 1-2 shifting issue at low speeds. Solution: The transmission has been reprogrammed and or reset to factory specification in an effort to relearn my driving habits.I advised Tony yesterday that I hope that this resolved the issue but I am not confident that is will. Today my concern(s), is what caused the transmission not to learn my driving habit for stop and go traffic as explained below within 1100 miles? I don’t believe that stop and go traffic as explained below is considered as a “driving habit”. I am now at 21,000 miles and the issue is present with the low-speed-2 hunting issue. I finally got the service Manager Steve to acknowledge the SRN# above but was told that it was a recall on Silverado's before 2017 and manufactured in Mexico. I have been told by the AutoNation Service department that I must duplicate the issue in their presence before they are going to acknowledge there is an issue.

Research shows that my truck was manufactured in Mexico as well as the Fact sheet that was taped to the window when I purchased the truck, but I still cannot get them to fix the transmission issue. I am in the process of trying to purchase a gopro camera just to be able to video this issue. I joined this website because I saw there was an active lawsuit

Update from Jan 22, 2019: This issue happens every day when I leave work in stop and go traffic. I have noticed that it will happen on a decline more often than level ground between 8mph and 18mph upshift and downshifting with foot slightly on the gas or slight on the brake. It has also happened when I have slowly come to a stop from higher speeds. Despite this happening every day leaving work, I still cannot seem to duplicate it on demand.

Update from Jan 22, 2019: Not sure if the transmission temperature has anything to do with it considering that the issue is similar to older non-fuel injected cars when the transmission fluid is low and or hot / burned and thinned out causing the transmission to slip.

Update from Jan 28, 2019: Issue still with 1-2 upshift/ downshift

- jstyl101, Austin, US

problem #29

Nov 102017

Silverado 1500 High Country 5.3L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 25,000 miles

Took a lot of time but dealership in Madison Sd stuck with it and fixed it.

Update from Jan 25, 2019: New tranny put in at 25,500 miles by Chevy, worked fine until 27,500 miles, now jerk back at 2nd to 3rd up shift, and when coming down from 5th to 4th.

- Steve S., Chester, SD, US

problem #28

Aug 092017

Silverado 1500 Z71 V8

  • Automatic transmission
  • 1,000 miles

This is same complaint that everybody has. Very irritating that a new truck has these issues and GM will not fix the concerns. Almost 50k for junk. They all say "could not duplicate concern. working as designed". REALLY! or "we can feel something and GM is working on an update of some kind, but don't know when it will be released". 2018 are out and have same issues so doubt they will ever fix. They should buy them all back!!!

- sbartman, Weirton, wv, US

problem #27

Jun 012018

Silverado 1500 LT 5.3L V8

  • Automatic transmission
  • 4,000 miles

I bought my 2017 Silverado LT 5.3 V8 4X4 last Octber. The truck was very bouncy and jerky. I was able to notice the jerks and surges at low speeds. I took it to dealer beginning of June 2018. The first thing they have done is reprogram the transmission but that did not fix the problem. Took back again and after a week and half, they have changes tran oil and changes the torque converter. Unfortunately the problem did not go away so I took it back to dealer.

After another week and a half and after driving other like vehicles and not finding the same issue they decided this is coming from engine and tran. They dealer worked with GM tech support and decided to change to fuel injectors. Got the truck back and after driving couple of day I noticed the problem still existed. So I took the truck back to dealer and this time they kept it for a month. They had a GM engineer come out and drive the truck couple of times and take some readings.

After a month the dealer called me and told me that GM engineer said that this is normal driving and truck drives according to specs. I was not surprised to hear that and I think there something wrong in the design which GM does not want to admit. Got the truck and after a week I decided I want to own this truck anymore as the drive is really horrible. I went ahead and traded the truck in and got a new 2019 RAM 1500.

- Haitham S., Oak Forest, IL, US

problem #26

Nov 282017

Silverado 1500 LT 5.3L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 6,686 miles

Purchased a new 2017 Silverado June 2017. The truck ran great. I did call the dealership because the transmission temperature was running 197 to 199 degrees. Was told that was normal. Did the first service in November 201. Was informed that there is a recall of chuggle drive quality.

After the recall was done my truck didn't run the same when the transmission upshifted it would hesitate and jerk between gears. When the transmission would downshift it would slam the gears especially in the lower gears to where my back wheels sometimes would lock up. Sometimes the going from a start the transmission would lunge forward. My RPMs are way lower now then when I purchased the truck. Was at least 750 rpms after engine warms up. Would drop to at least 650 when put in gear. Now after the engine warms it is 500 rpms when put in gear it drops below 500 rpms.

The way I am understanding and this is my opinion only that the torque converter was running hot causing the transmission to run hot. That is why the recall of the chuggle drive quality. The engine is turned down to the lowest rpms to bring the transmission temperature down causing the transmission to work improperly. I did research to come up with my opinion. Look up torque the converter problems and you will get your answer.

Update from Sep 15, 2018: I need to add that when going down a steep grade the grade brake will downshift and slam in gear very hard. If anyone else is experiencing back wheel lock up when the transmission is downshifting. Contact Chris Lash at NHTSA. Chris.Lash@dot.gov Chris said he was concerned about the back wheels locking up when I was in contacted with him.

Update from Feb 5, 2019: I just wanted to add that I drove my truck for five months after buying it with no problems. In November of 2017, General Motors said I had a recall. It was a general service bulletin, recalibration of the TCM. General Motors recalibration of the TCM is a problem that they created with my truck. I am fighting the problem that General Motors created with my truck through my States Attorney Generals Office. I encourage anyone fighting General Motors to contact their States Attorney General Office and file a complaint against General Motors. Don't let General Motors get by with not fixing the problems with your vehicle.

- Roger D., Rocky Gap, US

problem #25

Apr 072018

Silverado 1500 LTZ 6.2L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 18,000 miles

The problem is with truck vibrating and feels as if it's in a bind and coming apart. It's very scary to drive it thinking something is coming apart. Disappointing to spend as much money to purchase a vehicle as I have and this is second time they have had the truck to fix the problem and they say they can't find anything wrong with it.

- Autry B., Wrightsville, US

problem #24

Mar 272018

Silverado 1500 LT 5.3L V8

  • Automatic transmission
  • 8,450 miles

Same as others, new 2017 1500 Silverado, jerks, surges, during acceleration. Now and then I get a loud thud in the rear like I got rear-ended. Dealer first acted like they never heard of this issue but I confronted them with TSB bulletins and multiple complaints online. Then they took the approach of “we are aware but there is no fix” they say they are waiting on a GM tune to fix the issue but have no idea when. RIDICULOUS.

- Marc B., Downingtown, US

problem #23

Aug 152017

Silverado 1500 LT All Star 5.3L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 55 miles

I have the 6 speed transmission in this Silverado. From day one it has never shifted smoothly. It seems to get confused when slowing down to make a turn. It hunts for the right gear to slam into. I have read just about every post about this and it seems I am not alone. I'm at the point where I want to flash this POS transmission with a Diablo Tuner and take a chance with the warranty.

I watched a video from a guy with the same truck. He commented that his new truck is absolutely miserable to drive and wanted to know what GM was thinking when they designed this transmission tune. He then flashed his transmission with a Diablo Tuner. He couldn't believe the improvement with the new tune. Shift points were higher at around 2000 RPM. No more lugging the engine as well as smoother shifts.

- Fred S., East Northport, NY, US

problem #22

Jan 032018

Silverado 1500 LTZ 5.3L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 535 miles

Purchased 2017 Silverado 5.3 w/8 speed auto on Dec 20 2017. At approx 535 miles, transmission began shifting hard at speed under 15 miles per hour, included a "clunk" similar to a universal joint going bad. Problem exists with both up shift and down shift. At 2066 miles truck started to surge as I slowed to stop. A heavy clunk and surge gave me the impression I was hit from behind. I stopped at selling dealer and service advisor assured me that this transmission had a "learning" curve that adjusted to my driving habits and i should drive for 10,000 miles to allow the system to "learn" my habits. Deciding that sounded like a great story I Googled for Silverado's with 8 speed transmission issues and found more than I cared to.

I have seen all the complaints and concerns but no solution from GM. I fear I have invested a bunch of money into a disaster. Having owned over 7 GM products over 57 years I am disappointed with this one.That said I'm heading back to dealer today.

Any GM service people monitoring this or anyone that has a definitive solution I'd appreciate a reply.

- Gary L., Cumming, US

problem #21

Feb 042018

Silverado 1500 LTZ Z71 6.2

  • Automatic transmission
  • 4,637 miles

$62,000.00 truck including the new CORSA 3.5" exhaust and COLD AIR INDUCTIONS sealed cold air intake box. This truck shifts horribly throughout the 1-2 shift and especially the 2-3 shift. How can these 8 speed transmissions function this poorly. I had a 2012 AUDI Q7 S-LINE with over 110K miles on it. The 8 speed transmission worked flawlessly the entire time I owned it. Every single shift whether flooring it or accelerating as slowly as humanly possible, were seamless and exuded quality engineering and workmanship. How can this transmission shift as poorly as it does with only 4637 miles on my truck. GM big wigs need to start taking some pride and responsibility in their most profitable and best selling vehicle that they sell.

- 98supra6spd, YPSILANTI, Michigan, United States

problem #20

Oct 012016

Silverado 1500 LTZ 5.3L V8

  • Automatic transmission
  • 150 miles

I have had my truck into the dealer, Len Lyall Chevrolet, twice and they tell me that they can't find anything wrong. The transmission hesitates that could cause an accident when pulling out into traffic. It also slips when cold and pulling into my driveway causing the truck to lunge forward. This happens daily since I purchased the truck.

- stevil, Aurora, US

problem #19

Jan 102018

Silverado 1500 LT 5.3L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 6,873 miles

Took back to dealer on 1-19-18, reprogrammed tcm again, did not fix.

- stuntman350454, Wagener, US

Read the next 18 complaints »