10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
5 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
4 / 0
Average Mileage:
26,876 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

The NHTSA is the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints can be spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem. See the Back button — blue bar at the very top of the page — to explore more.

Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 Hybrid:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #87

Jul 022016

Silverado 1500 Hybrid 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2009 Chevrolet Silverado 1500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V381000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The contact called Monday Chevrolet at 281-397-8600 and was informed that the part was not available. The manufacturer was not notified. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available. Updated 8/2/18

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #86

May 272016

Silverado 1500 Hybrid

  • miles
Takata recall, cheverolet has yet to replace the defective airbag under recall # 20149151

- Cleveland, GA, USA

problem #85

May 272016

Silverado 1500 Hybrid

  • 0 miles
Takata recall, GM still has no recall action on this they have no fix available for the replacement of these air bags. The GM recall number is 2049151. GM is contesting this recall because they do not have enough evidence to justify the replacement of these defective airbags. I have not been involved in an accident with this vehicle I just want the airbags replaced as recommended by takata and in the NHTSA recall number 16V381. Received a notice of recall from GM on May 27, 2016 advising me of the recall stating that GM considers the vehicle safe to drive and the status of the recall is "incomplete, remedy not yet available" GM is still protesting this recall and has not received a final ruling from the NHTSA on its position that the GM vehicles are safe to drive. I believe that GM is stalling and should be required to replace these defective airbags.

- Russellville, TN, USA

problem #84

Oct 062017

Silverado 1500 Hybrid

  • miles
Takata recall- no remedy available. My "service airbags" light is on and need to fix this.

- Wilsonville, AL, USA

problem #83

May 272016

Silverado 1500 Hybrid

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2009 Chevrolet Silverado 1500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V381000 (air bags). The parts to do the repair were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The dealer (moritz Chevrolet, 9101 camp bowie w blvd, fort worth, tx 76116) was contacted and confirmed that the parts were not available for the recall remedy. The manufacturer was contacted via email (mary.barra@GM.com) on August 8, 2017. The contact received a call from General Motors, but was not able to confirm when the parts were to become available. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Fort Worth, TX, USA

problem #82

Jul 012016

Silverado 1500 Hybrid

  • miles
Takata airbags. Was made aware of my vehicle needed to have these replaced in July 2016. It is now Oct 2017 and still no notice on where to take my vehicle to have these repairs.

- Kilgore, TX, USA

problem #81

May 272016

Silverado 1500 Hybrid

  • miles
Takata recall - have been waiting over a year for parts to be available and the recall status still shows "recall incomplete. Remedy not yet available".

- Sulphur Springs, TX, USA

problem #80

May 242016

Silverado 1500 Hybrid

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2009 Chevrolet Silverado 1500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V381000 (air bags); however, the part needed for the repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The vehicle was taken to dyer Chevrolet (1000 us-1, vero beach, fl 32960, phone number: (772) 469-3000), but the parts were not available for the repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Vero Beach, FL, USA

problem #79

Oct 202017

Silverado 1500 Hybrid

  • miles
"takata recall"

- Port Orange, FL, USA

problem #78

Jun 172016

Silverado 1500 Hybrid

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2009 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 the contact stated that NHTSA campaign number: 16V381000 (air bags) exceeded a reasonable amount of time for repair. The contact received the recall notification in June of 2016. The dealer (starling Chevrolet Buick GMC, 1001 E irlo bronson memorial hwy, St cloud, fl, 34769 ) stated that the parts were unavailable for the repair and that parts would not be available until a year up to two years. The manufacturer was not contacted and or made aware of the failure. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available........updated 11/15/17 updated 11/29/2017

- St Cloud, FL, USA

problem #77

Mar 022017

Silverado 1500 Hybrid

  • 100,000 miles
Takata recall- since March 2017, my warning light system has intermittently displayed a "service airbag" message. There is an existing recall associated with my VIN, however since may, 2016 the recall status remains as "recall incomplete, remedy not yet available". I believe this to be an obvious safety concern.

- Venice, FL, USA

problem #76

May 162016

Silverado 1500 Hybrid

  • 20,000 miles
Takata recall

- Redwood City, CA, USA

problem #75

Sep 302015

Silverado 1500 Hybrid

  • 8,000 miles
Broken plastic dash board( top plastic) leaving sharp jagged edges around airbag panel on passengers side where airbag deploys. Dash cracks in other multiple locations above instrument cluster with sharp plastic broken pieces on drivers side near instrument cluster. Vehicle is garage kept and I use a windshield shade in the sun. Vehicle had 8000 miles on it. New breaks continue to develop on dash board from thermal expansion and material structural failure of the dash board top plastic. Also has dis-coloration on the airbag panel plastic panel on the passenger side dash board. Dash board airbag panel looks to be deteriorating and may possibly fragment in an airbag deployment. I have concerns with facial lacerations and contusions if a bag deploys and this panel along with other sharp broken dash board plastic fragments become projectiles for both the driver and passenger on the upper torso, face, arms and potential blindness from an eye injury from sharp dashboard plastic fragmentation intrusion. Newest cracks on the drivers side were witness on a warm day recently when I entered the car I heard a crack as I shut the drivers door. The airbag I noticed in September of 2015 in the left corner of the airbag cover, the forward most corner of the dash that is around the passenger airbag. The passenger air bag plastic panel recently shows sign of white discoloration streaks through the plastic and will not cleanup. Plastic look as if it is deteriorating and changing color. I'm very concerned with this panel as this deploys with airbag on the passengers side. Also concerned that the driver airbag cover on the steering wheel looks to be made of the same material and that fragmentation may occur here as well in a airbag deployment.

- Memphis, GA, USA

problem #74

Sep 232017

Silverado 1500 Hybrid

  • 90,500 miles
Traveling under 10 mph in neutral, both side air curtains deployed. Traveling on dirt road. No pot hole, rock or bump involved. No warning of deployment.

- Trabuco Canyon, CA, USA

problem #73

Jul 012016

Silverado 1500 Hybrid 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chevrolet Silverado 1500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V318000 (air bags). The part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. All american Chevrolet in midland, Texas was made aware of the recall and stated that the parts were unavailable. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available....updated 11/15/17 updated 11/27/2017

- Midland, TX, USA

problem #72

May 272016

Silverado 1500 Hybrid 8-cyl

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2009 Chevrolet Silverado 1500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V381000 (air bags) and stated that the part was not available within a reasonable time frame to schedule the recall repair. The unknown dealer did not give a specific date for when the part would become available. The manufacturer was contacted and could not provide an estimated date for when the vehicle would receive the recall repair. The contact was not experiencing a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available. Updated 10/17/17 consumer stated joel rogers chev (877-245-0089) says part not available even though they continue to sell new vehicles with airbags. 9-18-17 updated 10/4/18

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #71

May 272016

Silverado 1500 Hybrid 4WD 8-cyl

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2009 Chevrolet Silverado 1500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V381000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The dealer was contacted (childre GMC in milledgeville, ga) and confirmed that the parts were not available for the recall remedy. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue and was not able to confirm when the parts were to become available. The contact stated that the air bag indicator flashed consistently, but the dealer stated that it was not an issue. The failure mileage was unknown. VIN tool confirms parts not available. Updated 09/06/17 updated 09/14/2017

- Sandersville, GA, USA

problem #70

May 272016

Silverado 1500 Hybrid

  • miles
I am very frustrated that a year later and we have no fix for this problem. I have to send my son of in this vehicle everyday and worry. Why is it taking this long when it can cause a horrific problem.

- Pasadena, TX, USA

problem #69

Jun 012016

Silverado 1500 Hybrid

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2009 Chevrolet Silverado 1500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V381000 (air bags). The parts to do the repair were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The local dealer (jim ellis) confirmed that the parts were not available for the recall remedy. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Decatur, GA, USA

problem #68

Jan 012015

Silverado 1500 Hybrid

  • 70,000 miles
I have a concern about the dash board around the passenger air bag.. the dash is cracking around the plastic cover and I know of 2 other trucks that have done the same thing" I have read different articles about people who have had the same issues and the dealer tells them it's too bad and they will not warrant the repairs. This to me is a very very bad safety matter just because if you are in a bad wreck and the air bag does deploy there is a good chance the dash will pop the bag if it doesn't blow the dash board up and send plastic projectiles flying all over the place possibly blinding or killing you from the scrapnal plastic pieces. Has anyone else complained about the dash boards being defective"

- Pearland, TX, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »