10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
40 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
7 / 0
Average Mileage:
41,181 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

The NHTSA is the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints can be spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem. See the Back button — blue bar at the very top of the page — to explore more.

Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2000 Chevrolet Silverado 2500:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #150

Nov 152004

Silverado 2500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 68,000 miles
The ABS activated at low speeds. Every once in a while they would activate when they shouldn't on dry pavement.

- Wayland, MA, USA

problem #149

Nov 012004

Silverado 2500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 75,000 miles
Anti lock brakes activated at speeds of 5-10 mph, causing extended stopping distance. Brakes failed about 50% of the time. First began in November 2004, and problem became worse. No brake lights came on. Happened under any weather conditions. Vehicle was regularly serviced and service records were available.

- Cinncinnatti, OH, USA

problem #148

Mar 102005

Silverado 2500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 56,700 miles
Brake pedal became very hard, truck became hard to stop under 5 miles per hour.the problem occured more often, once for every three stops. The truck was taken to the dealer for repairs. The antilock brakes were found to be faulty. A speed sensor was replaced in each front wheel. Cost of repairs was $400.

- East Wakefield , NH, USA

problem #147

Jan 042005

Silverado 2500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 42,000 miles
Antilock brakes engage at low speeds

- Schenectady, NY, USA

problem #146

May 012004

Silverado 2500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 65,000 miles
Have not wrecked yet but have had many close calls because my truck needs a longer stopping distance because of the anti lock brakes. Numerous times I have almost hit vechicles because I could not stop. Reported the problem to GM and to my dealer they tell me they are looking into the problem. In the meantime they tell me to clean the sensors on the antilock brakes. This does not work. Still have the problem. This problem started about a year ago.

- Alverton, PA, USA

problem #145

Jan 112005

Silverado 2500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 92,000 miles
Over the past 3 years I've experienced failures while braking. After having the dealer check this problem he advise me to replace hub and bearings. At my cost..... this hasn't fix the problem. Last winter I slid through several intersections. At slow speeds I know now to forget about ABS-ing and pump the hell out of the brakes. Please note that the "incident date" is just a guess from last winter.

- Warrenville, IL, USA

problem #144

Mar 202005

Silverado 2500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 40,000 miles
After reading the newspaper of 05/04/2005, I realized my vehicle, a 2000 siverado, was involved in the NHTSA investigation #PE05020, low speed braking distance increase. On several occasions throughout this past winter, my truck just seemed like it didn't want to stop in what I thought was a sufficient distance. I had been told by my local dealership shortly after purchasing this vehicle in July of 2002, to either use my parking brake all the time or not at all because the components would rust and become inoperative. Apparantly this problem has been known by GM for a long time. Having read the news article, the further ramification becomes clear. I now know the a.B.S. system was too aggressive on slippery surfaces. The last time this happened, I was turning into my driveway and wound up in my front yard stuck, but with no damage. If I had been at an intersection on a public road, I might not be here to write this. The incident date and number of failures will be relative due to the frequency of this failure.

- Harbor Springs, MI, USA

problem #143

Dec 142003

Silverado 2500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 80,000 miles
This is in regards to today's newspaper article about the government's new investigation about GM's antilock brake problems with its trucks and SUVS. My 2000 Chevrolet Silverado started experiencing antilock braking problems on December 2003. The problem was that whenever I braked slower than 10 mph, the brakes won't stop the truck until after it slowed down to less than 3 mph. The brake pedal would pulsate strongly. Then at that speed the brakes would grab very hard. It was really annyoing and dangerous. For some time I nearly hit some cars ahead of me. On February 2004 I had the front hubs, rotors and brake pads replaced at a cost of $746.60 including labor at an independent repair shop. The warranty had expired over a year ago. The mileage on the truck was 85,000, but the truck was barely 3 years old. Fyi, GM made a profit of about $8,000 when I bought the truck, according to industry publications. Multiply that by 1,200,000 and you have a filthy profiteering company on your hands. I want my money reimbursed. I have never experienced such a safety problem in my life before. For settlement, I don't want a coupon for buying another GM truck at a discount. I want to be reimbursed! please do not settle for less! the detroit people must be made to see the errors of their ways and to stop profiteering at our expense!

- Campton, NH, USA

problem #142

Apr 192004

Silverado 2500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 66,670 miles
When coming to a stop at slow speeds (less than 3 mph) my anti-lock breaks activate and increase my stopping distance. This has resulted in near accidents in parking lots and in almost causing the vehicle to hit the closed garage door of my house. The condition occurs repeatedly (everytime) on all types of surfaces including dry smooth pavement. No service lights or brake warning lights were illuminated. To correct this problem at minimum expense I have pulled the ABS fuse to inactivate the ABS system. The problem has never reoccurred with the ABS fuse removed. Neither General Motors or its dealerships have been contacted with this problem since it occurred outside of the warranty period.

- Algonac, MN, USA

problem #141

Feb 102005

Silverado 2500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 42,579 miles
Very difficult to apply brakes with vehicle speed between 5 and 10 mph. Pedal was extremely difficult to push. Trying to apply brakes a buzzing noise is heard from the front of the vehicle. Using both feet to push the brake pedal was able to stop vehicle. No ABS or brake warning lights were illuminated. Incidents happened on the road as vehicle slowed in traffic.

- Albany, NY, USA

problem #140

Apr 032004

Silverado 2500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 60,000 miles
ABS failing at low speeds. During braking, below 10mph the brake pedal locks up and fails completely. Before it fails the brake pedal will chatter. ABS fuse has been pulled in order to drive vehicle.

- Pittsfield, MA, USA

problem #139

Feb 162005

Silverado 2500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
(hydraulic brakes) when the brakes were applied, the ABS kicked in and the vehicle continued on. No warning given about the ABS failure. The problem continued to get worse. The problem would also occur on dry road conditions with normal braking. This was an intermittent problem. Per invoice; the ABS brakes would activate at slow speeds. The sensors had corroded.

- Carthage, NY, USA

problem #138

Sep 232004

Silverado 2500 4WD 6-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 60,689 miles
In my 2000 Chevy Silverado 4X4 truck, without warning the brake pedal went to the floor as I was pulling into my garage and the vehicle did not stop causing minor damage to garage contents (shelves, stored garden equipment; no damage to truck). My mechanic could find no problem after inspection. Brake failure occured twice more and then I went to the dealer mechanic. The ABS error light never came on. I paid approximately $500 to replace driver side front ABS sensor. This was in Oct 2004 so the old part is not available.

- Bentleyville, OH, USA

problem #137

Jun 242004

Silverado 2500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 30,466 miles
June of 2004 contact states at 30000 miles the brake sensor went bad, brakes failed, dealer replaced brake sensor on left wheel then two months 32000 miles replaced front brake sensor, left and right. Barely avoided crashing into garage due to vehicle. Vehicle is regularly serviced and contact has service records.

- Saint Claire Shores, MI, USA

problem #136

Apr 152003

Silverado 2500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 60,000 miles
On numerous occasions starting approx. 1 1/2 to 2 years ago, the brakes on my 2000 Chevy Silverado 1500 act up when pulling up to a stop sign, or otherwise braking under normal conditions to a stop. After reading this morning about the investigation launched into the brakes, I realized that this is what is happening to me. I haven't had any accidents, but in that moment I push the brake pedal as hard as I can, and the truck just doesn't stop. The anti-locks kick in, but it is a very scary feeling as it adds stopping distance. I asked the dealer about it, and got a kind of non-answer, so I still have the problem occasionally. Something is definitely not right; it's unlike anything I've ever experienced to date.

- Madison, WI, USA

problem #135

Apr 142005

Silverado 2500 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Contact states, low speed ABS activation; happens intermittently.

- Bryans Road, MD, USA

problem #134

Nov 152004

Silverado 2500 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 90,000 miles
Brakes catch when slowing down with no notice; anti-lock brakes activate when applying regular brakes.

- Erlanger , KY, USA

problem #133

Oct 302004

Silverado 2500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 55,000 miles
Consumer complained about an ABS brake system problem. When applying the brakes they will chatter and vibrate, and will not stop the vehicle. Consumer contacted the manufacturer, who suggested that consumer take the vehicle to the dealer to have it inspected. Consumer had it inspected by an independent mechanic, but the cause of the problem had not yet been identified. Nearly rear ended an auto at a stop light and ran completely through 2 stop signs. Anti-lock brake failure.

- Uniontown, PA, USA

problem #132

Apr 052005

Silverado 2500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Anti-lock brakes are not functioning properly, which is causing the vehicle to come to a rolling stop. Owner will be taken vehicle to dealer for the second time for the same problem.

- Parish, NY, USA

problem #131

Mar 152004

Silverado 2500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 70,000 miles
I own a 2000 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 4X4. I purchased it used in May 2003. I like everything about the truck but this past year I have had trouble with my ABS system malfunctioning. I had several occasions had the ABS activate while the truck is going between 5-10 mph and came very close to rear ending another vehicle and also a tree at the end of my driveway. I have since removed the fuse from the ABS circuit to dis-able this very dangerous situation. I recently notified Chevrolet via E-mail and they instructed me to take my truck to a certified GM dealer for a diagnoses of my truck. I feel after reading several threads on Chevy truck forums that this is a major problem with Chevrolet trucks from the 90's to the newer trucks. I have also learned that GM has recalled trucks in Canada but here in the states. I am going to carry through with taking it to a dealer and geting it diagnosed but I feel very strongly that this should be a recall in the usa also.

- Prattsville, NY, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »