10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
7 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
74,037 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

The NHTSA is the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints can be spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem. See the Back button — blue bar at the very top of the page — to explore more.

Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2000 Chevrolet Silverado 3500:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #48

Jun 182011

Silverado 3500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2000 Chevrolet Silverado. The contact stated that the steel brake lines were rusted, making it dangerous when attempting to stop the vehicle. Neither the dealer nor the manufacturer were made aware of the failure. The contact repaired the vehicle. The failure and current mileages were 100,000. Updated 6/6/12

- Bellbrook, OH, USA

problem #47

Jun 122011

Silverado 3500

  • 102,000 miles
As I was approaching an intersection I applied the brakes and shortly thereafter the pedal went to the floor. At the time it seemed that I had a complete loss of braking and had to swerve to the side to avoid colliding with the vehicle in front of me. After I came to a complete stop and assessed the situation, I realized I had very limited braking, about 10%, and was able to get the vehicle home (1/2 mile or so and almost no traffic). I parked the vehicle in my driveway and noticed a puddle of brake fluid on the driveway under the junction of the cab to the bed. I felt the brake line and determined that it had totally failed and was now in two pieces. I visually inspected the rest of the brake lines and determined they were all in a similar condition and extremely corroded and any of them could fail at any time. I had three of my children with me at the time and was very grateful that it wasn't worse than it was. No one was injured and no damage to other vehicles or property occurred, but it very easily could have. This is a serious safety concern and after searching the internet I know this is not an isolated incident.

- Solon, OH, USA

problem #46

Jan 102011

Silverado 3500

  • 82,518 miles
The consumer states he discovered leaking brake fluid from the bundle of brake lines beneath the driver side door. The Chevy truck was taken to the local Chevrolet dealer. The dealer found the brake lines were rusted. One had corroded to the point of rupture causing fluid to leak. Brake components were found to be rusted. The dealer determined that the brake system failure was not due to excessive use or abuse the manufacturer was contacted. There is no recall currently for this defect. The Chevrolet company representative refused further assistance citing the age and mileage of the vehicle. The front lines from the master cylinder to the ABS unit as well as from the ABS unit to the two front calipers were replaced. The brake bleeding values and hoses were cleaned. The system was bled.

- Washington, DC, USA

problem #45

Jan 102011

Silverado 3500

  • 82,518 miles
The consumer found leaking brake fluid beneath the driver's door. A brake line ruptured due to rusting. This represented a severe and immediate safety hazzard. The Silverado truck was taken to the local Chevy dealer. The dealer found front brake lines rusted and one rupturted on LH side of vehicle. Rear brake lines rusted but not as bad. The dealer fabricated and flared new brake lines to the front brake components. They also cleaned out brake valves and hoses. The system was bled. The dealer stated that the brake line rupture was not due to abuse. The Chevrolet manufacturer was contacted at 1-800-222-1020, GM customer assistance. Chevrolet refused to compensate for repairs citing age and mileage.

- Wset Chester, PA, USA

problem #44

Jan 212011

Silverado 3500

  • 118,800 miles
On a snowy day going back home for lunch, I tried to stop at a 4 way stop but it took a little bit longer than I expected. First I thought it was because of the ABS engagement and road condition. But I felt something unusual, so I pressed the brake pedal after leaving the 4way stop around 30mph. Then the pedal started loosing back pressure and it went down to the floor before it stopped. I could come back home with lower gear down shifting and parking brake. When I checked the bottom of the vehicle, I found fluid leakage around the brake line on the floor.

- Troy, OH, USA

problem #43

Jan 082011

Silverado 3500

  • 68,784 miles
I was backing my truck up to park it in yard, and hit the brakes and it went to the floor. After investigating I found a hole in the line to the left rear wheel. The hole was caused by a wire harness rubbing on the brake line. At the same time of looking at the problem I discovered the brake line were very badly rusted. Any way the wire harness had to be put there at the factory because I have never messed with it and no one else has either. I feel this should have been caught at the inspection area on the assembly line. But now I have to pay to have it fixed do to the poor workmanship by the factory. And when I went to move the truck to my barn the emergency brake did not hold very well, yeah more problems.

- Lafayette, IN, USA

problem #42

Jul 162005

Silverado 3500 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 30,000 miles
The contact owns a 2000 Chevrolet Silverado. The contact stated that when applying the brakes from 10 mph or less, the brakes would abnormally lock. The dealer recommended replacing the sensors at the contact's expense. The contact stated that the vehicle was previously repaired under an unknown recall where the dealer cleaned the brake sensors. The contact was under the impression that the brake sensors should have been replaced under the recall. The failure mileage was 30,000 and the current mileage was 64,000. Updated 12/01/10 updated 12/07/10

- Matemora, IL, USA

problem #41

Jul 252010

Silverado 3500

  • 190,000 miles
The contact owns a 2000 Chevrolet Silverado. The contact stated while driving at an unknown speed, the brakes were engaged and there was only fifty percent braking power. The contact was able to stop the vehicle and barely avoid a crash. The dealer advised that all of the brake lines were corroded and fractured. The contact stated that the fuel lines were replaced two years prior to the failure due to corrosion. The VIN was not available. The failure and current mileages were 190,000.

- Thornville, OH, USA

problem #40

Nov 172001

Silverado 3500

  • 30,000 miles
The contact owns a 2000 Chevrolet Silverado. The contact stated that she experienced ongoing brake failure; when she attempted to apply the brakes, the vehicle would not respond. She had to exert more force in order to stop the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer nine times where brake lines, rotors and other braking components were replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact wrote a letter to the manufacturer and was offered no assistance. The VIN was unavailable. The current mileage was approximately 130,000. The failure mileage was approximately 30,000.

- Alanson, MI, USA

problem #39

May 102010

Silverado 3500

  • 131,000 miles
2000 Chevrolet Silverado - sudden brake line failure as driver was approaching intersection, brake pedal went to the floor and there was no slowing action whatsoever. Driver was able to limp vehicle home using emergency brake. Upon inspection, I discovered that all brake lines on the vehicle were badly corroded and the ABS to rear axle chassis brake line had ruptured due to excessive corrosion. While examining the line that failed, I observed that all steel lines on the vehicle were corroded very badly and were likely to fail at any time. When I asked a mechanic about this issue, I was told it was a common problem and that I should plan to replace all the brake lines on the vehicle soon to help prevent another failure. A vehicle that is only 10 years old should not have metal brake line failure due to corrosion - clearly the manufacturer used an inferior product that has made the vehicle unsafe to drivers as the vehicle ages. What I really don't understand is why automakers are not required to use a stainless grade steel or some other material that is not prone to corrosion/failure when it is for such a critical system such as the braking system. At least a requirement that if the pedal hits the bottom, as would occur with line failure, that it activates a non-hydraulic mechanical system that doesn't rely on fancy electronics or hydraulics would be a better safeguard than hoping that the driver is able to remember the parking brake when he/she has seconds before a collision. I removed the failed brake line and replaced it with a new steel line. I also sprayed the line with a clearcoat paint in an attempt to preserve the replacement line. I then examined the other lines and confirmed that they look solid (for now); but noted that they are more extremely corroded than the brake lines on my 1999 Mercury Cougar or 1985 Toyota MR2.

- Des Moines, IA, USA

problem #38

Feb 242010

Silverado 3500

  • 114,000 miles
The contact owns a 2000 Chevrolet Silverado Z71 pick up truck. The driver was traveling 7 mph when he tried to step on the brake pedal and he heard a rumbling sound. The driver stated that his vehicle would not stop. The driver had to put the truck in neutral and pull the emergency brake in order to stop the vehicle. The driver also stated that he had to jerk the wheel to keep from hitting a tree. The contact also stated that the climate control does not work properly. The defrost takes an hour to work. He contacted the dealer about the failure and the dealer stated that it is suppose to work that way. The driver also stated that the fwd indicator malfunctioned. When he spoke with the dealer they said it needed to be replaced. The failure mileage was 114,000. The current mileage was 114,100.

- Mastic Beach, NY, USA

problem #37

Feb 102010

Silverado 3500

  • 140,000 miles
The contact owns a 2000 Chevrolet Silverado. While driving 30 mph the brakes failed and the pedal extended to the floor. He then shifted to a low gear and waited for the vehicle to stop. When the vehicle stopped he then pulled over and then noticed that he lost all hydraulic brake pressure. Prior to this incident the brake warning light illuminated when the identical failure occurred. The Chevrolet hotline was contacted and they offered no assistance. The vehicle was taken to a local repair shop and the brakes were repaired at the owners expense. The failure and current mileage was 140,000.

- Gary , IN, USA

problem #36

Oct 182009

Silverado 3500 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 86,000 miles
The contact owns a 2000 Chevrolet Silverado. While attempting to decelerate down-hill, the brakes failed. He had to down-shift the gears to stop. A mechanic concluded that the entire brake system was corroded. The components were repaired at an expense of $3000. The manufacturer stated that the failure occurred because he resides in a salt dense region. The failure and current mileages were 86,000. Updated 12/09/09 updated 12/11/09.

- Burlington, MA, USA

problem #35

Mar 182003

Silverado 3500

  • 26,000 miles
The contact owns a 2000 Chevrolet Silverado. While driving at an unknown speed, the contact depressed the brake pedal and the vehicle would not stop. The vehicle proceeded to slow down at a very slow pace. He was able to maneuver the vehicle off the highway and drove to a local service station. The mechanic stated that the rear brakes failed. The rotors, caliper, and 4 wheel drive brake discs were replaced; however, the failure recurred. The vehicle was taken to the dealer and the front and rear pads were replaced. It was also discovered that the front rotors were warped and the oxygen sensor was replaced. The contact has been in five crashes due to the brake failure. While depressing the brake pedal, the vehicle would not stop. The manufacturer offered $1,000 toward the purchase of a new vehicle. The failure mileage was 26,000 and current mileage was 61,000.

- Coventry, RI, USA

problem #34

Jun 102008

Silverado 3500

  • 108,000 miles
The contact owns a 2000 Chevrolet Silverado. While driving approximately 5-10 mph, the brake pedal became very difficult to depress. After approximately one minute, the brake pedal returned to normal and the ABS light illuminated. The vehicle has not yet been taken to the dealer, but will be towed to them by the end of the week. The contact feels that the vehicle is unsafe to drive. The failure mileage was 108,000.

- Shreveport, LA, USA

problem #33

Mar 122008

Silverado 3500 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 119,000 miles
The contact owns a 2000 Chevrolet Silverado. While attempting to park the vehicle at approximately 3 mph, the brakes failed. The contact crashed into a pole. There were no warning lights prior to the failure. The front bumper was damaged. Two days after the crash, the contact received a recall notice for the brakes. The vehicle has not been diagnosed by a dealer. The contact has changed the fuel pump every 2,000 to 3,000 miles. Each time the fuel pump failed, the engine shut off and prevented her from driving the vehicle. The recall number was unknown. The failure mileage was 119,000 and current mileage was 119,500.

- Beach Park , IL, USA

problem #32

Jul 092007

Silverado 3500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 54,000 miles
The contact owns a 2000 Chevrolet Silverado. The contact applied the brakes while driving 5 mph, but the vehicle failed to stop. She was forced to apply the emergency brake to stop the vehicle. The vehicle was towed to the dealer and they stated that the brake line was corroded and needed to be replaced. Parts of the brake line have previously been replaced at 54,000 and 55,000 miles. At 55,000 miles, the vehicle crashed into the garage due to brake failure while driving 5 mph. The manufacturer stated that the VIN was included in NHTSA recall numbers 00V055000 and 05V379000 (service brakes, hydraulic:antilock), however, the failure was not related and the recalls were closed. The current mileage is 58,000 and failure mileage was 54,000.

- Portland , CT, USA

problem #31

Nov 152005

Silverado 3500

  • miles
2000 Chevrolet Silverado lost brakes due to the flex pipe rubbing the right front wheel. February 2001 the consumer received a recall for clearance condition between the front right brake pipe and the body cross sill (00V345000). On Oct 14, 2003 the front brake pads and rotors had to be replaced. The vehicle had 75155 miles. On Nov 9, 2005 another recall was received in reference to rust on the front wheel sensors (05V379000). After repair and less than 100 miles later the brakes failed due to the flex pipe rubbing the right front wheel. Emergency brake had to be adjusted. The consumer believes that when the recall work was done some how they got the flex line against the wheel causing the brakes to fail. The consumer is convinced that the dealer never did the recall for the right brake pipe.

- Sunbury, OH, USA

problem #30

Dec 012000

Silverado 3500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 1,923 miles
This information pertains to a Chevy ck 3500 crew cab 4X4 dully purchased new in 2000. At 1,923 miles the original factory front brake pads were worn out and replaced under warranty. At 3,108 miles the rotor assembly was replaced. Again, at 7,709 miles the front disc pads had to be replaced. At 11,596 miles front disc pads, rear shoes and linings. At 20,317 miles front pads again along with replacement of H1320 booster assembly. At 24,977 miles front pads and H0780 brake valve replaced. At 35,000 miles one more set of front disc brake pads before the warranty ran out and the general cut me loose. Since the warranty expired, it has continued to be a front brake job between every 6,000-10,000 miles.

- Rutledge, TN, USA

problem #29

Oct 042005

Silverado 3500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 55,880 miles
Failure of 3 brake components within 3 1/2 months, including replacement of all 4 rotors due to their having rusted out, 2 front ABS sensors, and immediately thereafter we are advised that the brake lines have rusted out (not yet replaced); neither the dealer nor the manufacturer will discuss with us, state that this is environmental, notwithstanding that our other (and older) vehicles have never had anything like this; we have been stone walled by the dealer and GM. Truck is presently inoperable due to no brakes!

- Annapolis, MD, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »