5.6

fairly significant
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
15,718 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

The NHTSA is the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints can be spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem. See the Back button — blue bar at the very top of the page — to explore more.

Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2000 Chevrolet Silverado 3500:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

problem #26

Jun 152006

Silverado 3500 8-cyl Diesel

  • Automatic transmission
  • 40,002 miles
Driving down the interstate when I experienced 90% tread failure on my left outside dual rear wheel on my 2000 Chevrolet C3500 pickup truck. The defective tire was a general ameri 550 as, size LT225/75R16. No crash or injuries were involved, but my left rear fender was obliterated. Mileage on the tire was 40,000 miles.

- Ladson, SC, USA

problem #25

Jul 242005

Silverado 3500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 53,400 miles
1) highway driving for 4 hours, 60 mph, normal loading of vehicle, 2 adults, 2 children 2) complete tread separation of tire, fortunately tire remained inflated, no accident, damage to rear wheel well, Firestone Wilderness AT, size P265/75R 16 114S M/S, tire was original from Chevrolet, truck had 53,400 miles 3) replaced all tires to Goodyear.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #24

Aug 012004

Silverado 3500

  • 35,500 miles
While driving the quarter panel collapsed damaging the brake line, and the emergency brake line. Consumer had an air bag installed on the suspension. However that was damaged also. The tires delaminated. The tread separated from the sidewall of the tires. Firestone steeltex radio, R4F, LT245/75R16, 00-80-11 120/116R M/S, dot VN11-B1C.

- Eden, NY, USA

problem #23

Aug 302004

Silverado 3500 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
While driving, a loud noise was heard coming from the rear and the vehicle shook uncontrollably. Consumer was able to maintain control of the vehicle, and pulled over. Passenger's side right front tire tread separated from the vehicle, causing damage to under carriage and the door. Firestone steeltex radial, LT245/75R16, dot vn11B1C. The driver was able to change the tire, and will contact Firestone.

- Vacaville, CA, USA

problem #22

Aug 282004

Silverado 3500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 35,600 miles
While driving at 70 mph left right rear tire tread separated, causing the tire to blow out, Firestone wilderness, sizeunknown, dot: Unknown.

- Troutville, VA, USA

problem #21

Aug 052004

Silverado 3500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 26,667 miles
Tire tread separation blow out with body damage.

- Mobile, AL, USA

problem #20

Aug 032004

Silverado 3500 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 93,000 miles
While driving 70 mph, the rear driver side tire tread separated. As a result, the vehicle swerved. However, the consumer maintained control. This was the fourth tire. The belts slipped and there were separations.

- Waterford Township, MI, USA

problem #19

Jul 132004

Silverado 3500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 23,116 miles
Tire tread separation.

- Mobile, AL, USA

problem #18

Jul 092004

Silverado 3500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 30,926 miles
Tire tread separation.

- Mobile, AL, USA

problem #17

Jul 022004

Silverado 3500 8-cyl Diesel

  • Automatic transmission
  • 45,949 miles
I have had 6 tires replaced on this vehicle due to tire separation. Two caused body damage chevroet replace 2 tires under warranty for out of round at approx 1000 miles. (11/2000) I replaced the left fron Apr 18000 miles with no damage. The rt front cause 1200 in damage to the rt fender in 2002 and the rt reat cause damage to the rear outer fender 1500 in damage in April 2004. General tire did send a check to repair the damage in which I am thankful. However I recieved the reimbursment check on 6/30/04 claim#4117006. I was driving home 7/1/04 and noticed a vibration again. On 7/3/04 I found yet another tire seperating see file #75617. I am very unhappy that my vehicle is being damaged from these tires let alone the inconveanced of time from work and rental car explence. I thing contenintal tire should repalce all of these tires with some thing else. As it seams to bring back memories of an other company (Firestone) I am very fortunet that no injurys have ocured from these tire conserns. The date of the incident is the last tire concern to date.

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #16

Dec 312003

Silverado 3500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
2000 Chevy K3500, I have had 5 tires replaced under warranty tread seperation. None of them had the tread come completely off due to the fact that I am a shop foreman/technician with 25 years in the business and maintain my vehicle religiously. Pressure was adjusted to 65 front and rear when towing. 65 front and 50 rear when using as a daily driver. None of these tires had puncture repairs during thier use. They all seperated in the exact same place, the outside two rows of tread is were it would start. Front or back it didnt matter. The truck would develope a vibration and I would bring it in and have the tires checked.they were ameritrac 550 as 245/75R16. I have wittnessed many tires of this size and brand develope the exact same condition and many of them will blowout and damage the vehicles severly. I finally replaced all of them with a different brand because I didnt feel confident that they were safe to travel out of town on. I retained the tires that came off with the exception of the one that had seperated for the last time. I work for one of thousands of GM dealers acrossed the country and I am shocked at the number of tires that we see with defects. My current position is shopforeman and yes I am in charge of the tire department. The other brand that I see alot of with complete tread seperation and the tire is still holding air is the Firestone steeltex 245/75R16. I am note sure how all the politics work between the tire man. And the auto man. But it sure seems that alot of this must be going unchecked by the agencies that are regulating defects. I write as a concerned citizen.

- Gilbert, AZ, USA

problem #15

Apr 122003

Silverado 3500 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 24,500 miles
Tire/tread separation on a Firestone LT245/75R16. Right rear wheel (the tire did not loose air pressure). This tire was original equipment on a 2000 Chevrolet passenger van - less than 25000 miles.

- Tampa, FL, USA

problem #14

Feb 282003

Silverado 3500

  • miles
The right rear tire tread separated while driving 70 mph resulting in loss of control and an accident. A passenger died and an other was in critical condition.

- Fort Pierce, FL, USA

problem #13

Oct 012001

Silverado 3500 4WD

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Have had three flat tires, due to gravel puncture in the tread at exactly the same in the tread of each tire.

- Keyser, WV, USA

problem #12

Nov 272001

Silverado 3500

  • miles
This tire failure is the 2nd on this vehicle. The outer tread separated from the tire and the steel belts came apart. Inspection by sears tire center in rocky mount, nc also found a third tire ready to separate. Had previous incident on 4/26/2001 and filed with NHTSA on 4/30/2001. Ref ODI#744753. I emailed Continental tire hq but they will not respond. Now removed all these tires from vehicle and purchased neww brand. Have all 5 generals in my possession for inspection. (tiresize: Lt24575R16)

- Hollywood, FL, USA

problem #11

Nov 022001

(reported on)

Silverado 3500

  • miles
Left front tire developed a bubble while driving. Had developed a slow leak. Tread was separating due to bubble which was located in middle of tread. Contacted Goodyear, and Goodyear informed consumer there was tread separation on tires. Goodyear, Wrangler St with 18,000 miles, P235/75/R16.

- Floresville, TX, USA

problem #10

Oct 012001

Silverado 3500 4WD

  • Manual transmission
  • miles
All four Firestone tires, size: LT245/75R16, dot: Vn11bab399 on 2000, Chevrolet, Silverado 1500 have wavy/deformed areas in center of tread. There are approximately 19,000 miles on the tires, and they are original equipment.

- Dayton, VA, USA

problem #9

Jun 252001

Silverado 3500

  • miles
The tires on my 2000 Chevrolet Silverado P/U were found to have severe cracks in the tread are, the cracks were significant enough to warrent replacement by the tire dealer. The manufacturer agreed to prorate the tires, which was a significant expense on my part. The tread wear was minimal. I as the tire dealer if there was problem with these particular tires he said no. After having my tires replaced I personally inspected six 1999-2001 chev Silverado 2wd ext cab pickups with the same general tires, of the six, with milage from 7,500-42,000, I found that five of the six had the same cracking in the same area as did the tires on my truck. (tiresize: 255/70R/16)

- Oakwood, IL, USA

problem #8

Jun 252001

Silverado 3500

  • miles
The tires on my 2000 Chevrolet Silverado P/U were found to have severe cracks in the tread are, the cracks were significant enough to warrent replacement by the tire dealer. The manufacturer agreed to prorate the tires, which was a significant expense on my part. The tread wear was minimal. I as the tire dealer if there was problem with these particular tires he said no. After having my tires replaced I personally inspected six 1999-2001 chev Silverado 2wd ext cab pickups with the same general tires, of the six, with milage from 7,500-42,000, I found that five of the six had the same cracking in the same area as did the tires on my truck.

- Oakwood, IL, USA

problem #7

May 032001

Silverado 3500

  • miles
Vehicle started vibrating while driving on interstate 10 on May 3, 2001. At first we could not see any visible problem so we slowed our speed to well under 50 mph. We took vehicle to Firestone store and the tread separation is now very obvious. The Firestone store said they will replace tire with another Firestone tire but they claim the steeltex tire is safe and does not have tread separation problems. This vehicle is a GM cutway, made into a class B motor home by roadtrek (home and park of Canada). It is one year old and has original Firestone tires. We have not driven it offroad, over medians, curbs or shoulders (this is what Firestone has previously claimed was problem with emergency vehicles using steeltex tires). We did not have an accident but the tv in the motor home quit working as a result of the vibrating. (dot number: Dn11bia299 tiresize: Lt24575R16)

- Irvine, CA, USA

Read the next 6 complaints »