10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
46,805 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

The NHTSA is the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints can be spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem. See the Back button — blue bar at the very top of the page — to explore more.

Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Chevrolet Trailblazer:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

problem #105

Jan 112009

Trailblazer

  • 72,000 miles
Instrument cluster stopped working.

- Shiloh, IL, USA

problem #104

Feb 082009

Trailblazer

  • 72,000 miles
Faulty speedometer! it started displaying the wrong speed. Took about two weeks and now it doesn't move.

- Panama City, FL, USA

problem #103

Mar 092008

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 67,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Chevrolet Trailblazer. While driving approximately 50 mph on normal road conditions, the oil pressure gauge failed without warning. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer for inspection and they reset the electronic oil gauge; however, the failure recurred. In addition, the speedometer displayed inaccurate readings whenever the vehicle was in operation. The vehicle has not been repaired. The failure mileage was 67,000 and current mileage was 75,000. Updated 03/31/09.

- Lillington, NC, USA

problem #102

Jan 152009

Trailblazer

  • 72,000 miles
2004 Chevrolet Trailblazer speedometer stuck at 80 mph.

- Clio, MI, USA

problem #101

Sep 182008

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 52,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Chevrolet Trailblazer. While driving approximately 55 mph, the door ajar chime began to sound. Immediately following, all of the warning indicators illuminated on the instrument panel and the gauges became inoperable. The vehicle was driven to the dealer, but they could not duplicate the failure. The failure has been persistent for the past six months. The vehicle has not been repaired. The manufacturer stated that they were not liable for the repair costs. The current mileage was 81,393 and failure mileage was 52,000. Updated 3/16/09 */cn the instrument panel and lights failed. Updated 03/19/09.

- Smyrna, TN, USA

problem #100

Sep 012008

Trailblazer

  • 68,000 miles
Dash board gauges are frequently inaccurate. So far the RPM gauge has been sticking at 2200 and the speedometer is typically showing a speed 10-20 mph slower than actual when compared to gps speed. When this happens the speed gauge goes below 0 mph at a stop. Other times the speedometer will stick at a random speed whether moving or not. This is very dangerous as it causes the driver to unknowingly speed. If it were not for the gps unit showing the real speed I may have gotten a ticket.

- Deptford, NJ, USA

problem #99

Oct 102007

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 60,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Chevrolet Trailblazer. The contact stated that the speedometer would become stuck at 50 mph while the vehicle was completely stopped. The accurate speed could not be determined due to the failure. The dealer stated that the repair would cost over $500. No repairs have been made to date. The failure mileage was 60,000 and current mileage was 80,000. Updated 03-06-09 updated 03/09/09.

- Novato, CA, USA

problem #98

Dec 202008

Trailblazer

  • 76,000 miles
For about 6 months, the speedometer on my 2004 Trailblazer would intermittently read 120 mph and get stuck. The problem would correct after repeated starting of the engine. In December the speedometer became stuck again and has not reset. I currently have 80,000 miles on my car. I have contacted Chevrolet customer care and was told that they know about this issue in many of their vehicles but no recall has been ordered. Customer care wants me to take my car to my dealership at my cost ( $89) to have the problem diagnosed. At that point they will inform if anything can be done for me. I do not understand why GM is being allowed to get away with this.

- Taunton, MA, USA

problem #97

Dec 042008

Trailblazer

  • 71,000 miles
The speedometer does not register the speed of the vehicle. I don't know how fast or slow I am going.

- St.Francis, MN, USA

problem #96

Dec 152008

Trailblazer

  • 78,000 miles
I had been driving with a faulty speedometer in my 2004 Chevy Trailblazer for some time without even knowing it was not working properly. Inability to gauge speed is a major safety concern in my opinion and the problem is not limited to my vehicle. It is a well known defect affecting GM clusters, so much so that is has been the source of a recall in the Silverado. That, however does nothing to help the other thousands of people with these defective and dangerous clusters made by the same company driving in other GM vehicles like the Trailblazer with no indication of their speed. A product that affects safety like this does should be immediately recalled for all affected vehicles. When I searched for GM cluster there are well over 500 complaints about these and no less than 3 companies out there independently fixing them while GM does nothing about the problem. Thank you for your attention to this serious matter.

- Webster Groves, MO, USA

problem #95

Dec 232008

Trailblazer

  • 50,000 miles
2004 Chevrolet Trailblazer ls with 50,000 miles speedometer stopped working. Sometimes it shows 40, sometimes it shows 120mph while parked in my driveway. Found to be a common problem in this model, but no recall. This is very unsafe for all drivers and passengers. January 13th, 2009 - have appointment to replace entire instrument cluster at a cost of $500 that I have to pay. GM should replace faulty parts at no cost, or at least cover part of the replacement. This model of vehicle is unsafe to drive in this condition. With other models in this same year having a recall for the same problem, I don't see why GM cannot expand it to include an obvious continuing problem. Please look into this matter and have GM recall this problem for the safety of all motorists.

- Brooklyn Park, MN, USA

problem #94

Nov 152008

Trailblazer

  • 53,000 miles
1. speedometer on 2004 Chevrolet Trailblazer started to give false readings. You could be in a 25 mph speed zone and the speedometer would show A100 mph. 2. intermittent. 3. replaced speedometer on January 9, 2009 (54,000 miles on car).

- Chillicothe, OH, USA

problem #93

Jan 062009

(reported on)

Trailblazer

  • miles
2004 Chevrolet Trailblazer with a defective speedometer. Consumer states that the speedometer was replaced and cost him nearly $600. He feels that the Trailblazer should be added to the recall list.

- Sedalia, CO, USA

problem #92

Sep 012008

Trailblazer

  • 42,000 miles
Speedometer on 2004 Chevrolet Trailblazer is not working. This is a common problem among Trailblazer owners, and GM refuses to issue a recall for it. The repair must be done by a dealer and is upwards of $600. This causes a very unsafe driving situation!

- Oceanside, CA, USA

problem #91

Oct 052008

Trailblazer

  • 96,000 miles
I have 2004 Trailblazer and cluster is bad this need to be recall. I need to report a problem a can't solve with GM complaint number from GM is 71-683-983-288 and VIN number it will cost around 600 to replaced.

- Massillon, OH, USA

problem #90

Dec 012008

Trailblazer

  • miles
Speedometer fails to report the proper speed, at times it starts out at 80 mph and go up to 120 mph sitting still, at times the whole instruments panel fails ( fuel gauge temp gauge voltage meter ).

- New Castle, DE, USA

problem #89

Dec 162008

Trailblazer

  • 79,000 miles
We have a 2004 Trailblazer lt and have issues with the speedometer not working properly. It gets stuck between 30-120mph or does not move at all. Took it to a Chevy dealer a few miles from our home. They said, they have to send the instrument cluster out to get repaired/ reprogrammed and it would cost $525. I don't understand why Chevy does not provided some sort of discount or recall for the repairs since it seems to be a very common issue with there Trailblazers.

- South Elgin, IL, USA

problem #88

Dec 162008

Trailblazer

  • 86,685 miles
Speedometer and fuel gage completely stopped working. Researched the internet and lots of people have complained of this very issue, but no recall has been made. This is a safety hazard and to fix this problem our dealership said it would cost anywhere at the least $500. This really upsets me as we cannot afford to fix this for that amount of money.

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #87

Jan 192004

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 9,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Chevrolet Trailblazer. The contact stated that the instrument panel has not worked since she purchased the vehicle brand new in January of 2004. The warning indicators are constantly illuminated. She took the vehicle to the dealer several times while it was under warranty, but they could not locate the failure. Due to the failure, she does not know how fast she is driving, how much fuel is in the vehicle, and cannot read the odometer. Recently, the headlights failed and she took the vehicle back to the dealer. The dealer charged $91 to diagnose the failure, which produced a failure code at the headlight low beam relay cluster switch. The dealer replaced the low beam relay switch and ignition switch, but the failure persisted. Now that the vehicle is out of warranty, the dealer has finally located a diagnostic code for the instrument panel failure. The dealer stated that the instrument panel cluster failed and would cost $600 to repair. The failure mileage was 9,000 and current mileage was 68,000. Updated 4/14/09 the air bag light illuminated. Updated 04/17/09.

- Thibodaux, LA, USA

problem #86

Nov 102008

Trailblazer

  • 40,000 miles
The instrument panel is not working. It started with the RPM and each one is going out. Odometer is not working. Only 40,000 miles this is not right. I now regret buying a Chevy.

- Greenville, SC, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »