really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
58,592 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

The NHTSA is the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints can be spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem. See the Back button — blue bar at the very top of the page — to explore more.

Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Chevrolet Trailblazer:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

problem #244

Dec 242014


  • 71,000 miles
Speedometer and tachometer. Both have not worked properly for a few months now... un safe will be getting it fix unfortunately its going to cost alot of money but will save lives...I have heard many complaints about this same issue did some research and there were quiet alot of ppl w same problems.. something needs to be done to prevent any and all safety issues.

- Pendleton, NY, USA

problem #243

Jan 012015


  • 71,000 miles
I have 2004 Trailblazer in Jan my tach and speedometer have not worked properly...I cannot afford the 500 dollar plus fix on this vehicle. I have read many complaints in regards to the same situation. Apparently no one has taken care of this problem. Ifrom my understanding there have been recalls on most other vehicles with the same problem, I do not understand why there isn't one for the Trailblazer.please advise what to do.

- Pendleton , NY, USA

problem #242

Jun 012010

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
Instrument cluster panel completely gone crazy. All gauges are out of control. I am not able to tell my speed and some of the lights come in the panel while the truck is off. Have to disconnect the battery to make sure the thing will not catch fire.. this issue really needs to be investigated due to a possible fire hazard.

- Columbus, GA, USA

problem #241

Nov 112013

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • 119,500 miles
I purchased a 2004 Chevy Trailblazer lt in February 2013. That winter I started experiencing issues with my speedometer needle rising above whatever speed I was going. I took a picture of it saying I was driving 120 mph when I clearly wasn't. so I did my research and found that thousands of other Chevy Trailblazer owners were experiencing the same problem!! I called Chevy customer care line and the representative claimed this was her first time hearing about this and there is nothing they can do to help me. I contacted them via facebook and still not willing to help. As of right now my speedometer doesn't work. I have to use an app on my phone to know how fast I'm going. I can't afford to spend the $500-$800 that it would cost to repair something that is a malfunction on Chevy behalf!! I just don't understand how they're getting away with this when thousands of other customers have the same problem!! I will never buy another Chevy or GM again!!

- Dixon, IL, USA

problem #240

Dec 192014


  • 122,255 miles
Speedometer does not work in vehicle. Stuck in one spot cannot determine what speed is in vehicle.

- Pepperell, MA, USA

problem #239

Aug 162014


  • 92,004 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Chevrolet Trailblazer. The contact stated that while making a turn at 5 mph, the speedometer failed. The vehicle was taken to a dealer. The technician diagnosed that the instrument cluster gauge failed and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 92,004.

- Grants Path, OR, USA

problem #238

Dec 012006

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 20,000 miles
Instrument cluster started going bad in 2006 and every year another gauge is faulty - first it was the gas gauge, next the oil, etc and 4 years ago the speedometer started sticking. I talked to the dealer and they wanted $800 to fix it. I have researched at the time and this it is a very common complaint. This should have been recalled. I have complained about it for years and even called GM - no help and I don't have the money to repair this. I would appreciate help with this and feel that GM has known that this is an issue. I drive a lot of kids in my car and I am afraid that one day this is really going to be a problem.

- Olmsted Falls, OH, USA

problem #237

Jan 032011

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • miles
The speedometer gauge went down to 0, while I was on the freeway traveling at 65 mph. This has happened frequently since it first started happening----and it will work for awhile--and then stop. On average, I would say this has happened at least 6 to 10 times a year in the past 3 years. My speedometer currently isn't working and hasn't worked for 2 months. Why isn't there a recall on this?

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #236

Aug 012012


  • miles
The speedometer, gas gauge and RPM gauges stopped working shortly after we purchased this vehicle used. I understand that this is an issue that has not be taken care of. Please do something.

- Fife Lake, MI, USA

problem #235

Oct 202008

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 55,000 miles
Had erratic speed readings on my 2004 Chevy Trailblazer (e.g., reading 140 while driving to work, or stuck on 20 mpg while stopped!). an obvious safety issue. There are blogs all over the internet complaining about this issue and stating that the original instrument cluster stepper motors are defective. Based on this research, I purchased replacement stepper motors on ebay, personally soldered in replacement stepper motors into the instrument cluster, and it corrected the problem. Why were the stepper motors never recalled?

- Golden, CO, USA

problem #234

Jan 172013

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 130,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Chevrolet Trailblazer. The contact stated that while driving 45 mph, the instrument panel failed and the speedometer was providing an inaccurate speed reading. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer for inspection and was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified. The failure mileage was 130,000. Updated 03/01/13 updated 4/24/13

- Pickens, SC, USA

problem #233

Dec 202011

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • miles
In December 2011 my RPM gauge stop working. I did some research and found that there are several complaints about the same problem with the 2004 Chevy Trailblazer. Then, on December 7,2012 my speedometer stop working and now all the other gauges are starting to malfunction. There are recalls on this same problems for 2005 and 2006 Trailblazers. GM didn't issue a recall on the 2004 Chevy Trailblazers. I filed a compliant with the attorney general's office against General Motors. A representative from General Motors called and said there was not anything that they could do, because the vehicle has met its life expectancies. They will not doing anything because my vehicle is over 100,000 miles. He basically told me that once the vehicle reaches 100,000 miles that General Motors does not stand behind their product.

- Detroit, MI, USA

problem #232

Jan 192013


  • 105,427 miles
Speedometer stuck at 0 mph even when vehicle was in motion on highway.

- Stratford, CT, USA

problem #231

Jan 022012

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 70,000 miles
While driving on the freeway with my family the speedometer and tach stopped working. We have been calling GM to find a solution with no results. I have come to realize that I am one of many with this same issue with their 2004 Trailblazer. We cannot understand how GM can say that this is not a safety issue when this puts our children and families in danger when ever they are in a vehicle that is not producing accurate feedback concerning our speed and performance of the vehicle.

- Vallejo, CA, USA

problem #230

Jul 022012


  • 50,000 miles
I have the same problem that an earlier blogger as, all my gauges are stuck, the speedometer is stuck, the oil gauge stuck, gas gauge stuck, I think GM needs to take control of their problem and correct it, not just say it's not a problem they will not fix. There needs to be a recall for this problem pin the Trailblazer trucks.

- West Grove, PA, USA

problem #229

Oct 212011

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • 84,000 miles
Love the vehicle except the fact all my gauges stick.... GM had told me this has to be safety issue in order to be recalled... I'm pretty sure not knowing how fast I am going on the highway is a safety issue... especially with little children in the car. This is unacceptable. I refuse to pay for a defect that is happening in many GM vehicles... if I can find all the complaints I'm sure GM can as well. How do we get GM to fix these problems and try to keep customers"??"

- Erie , PA, USA

problem #228

Jan 012010


  • 70,000 miles
This issue needs to be addressed, my speedometer and trans meter on left of speedometer started showing my Chevrolet speed was 80 miles an hour even in park. Then while I drive it will move to 100 miles an hour while I'm driving 35, and it moves up and down depending on my speed. Some times it will work other times it will not show the correct speed, or acceleration on trans meter to the left of speedometer. I have went online and seen 1000's of people saying the same thing at the same miles of the Chevrolet. 70,000-90,000 most are around 80,000. Shouldn't this have been recalled years ago" and why have this issue been ignored for so long"

- Somersworth, NH, USA

problem #227

Jan 092012


  • miles
One day when I was driving I stopped my vehicle and the speedometer read 60 mph at a standstill. As I continued to accelerate it increased until it reached well past 120 mph. Each time the vehicle is stopped the speedometer sometimes goes back but never to 0. the RPM does not function at all, and not sure when that stopped working. The speedometer did fix itself and then started again a month later. The second time is when the problem started with the RPM not functioning. I have seen multiple incidents with people complaining of these same issues and have saved the issues. I contacted the dealer and they are stating that this is not a manufacturers defect and stated it is $300 to replace a "internal fault in the dash cluster." This is what I was told by someone in the service department at a Chevrolet dealership.

- Aurora, IL, USA

problem #226

Jan 022012

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • miles
Speedometer and tach works erratically. Speedometer works approx. 25% of the time.

- Irondale, MO, USA

problem #225

Sep 282011

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 78,000 miles
Speedometer does not register proper speed. Reads at 0 mph when going 65mph or any other mph for that matter. At no time is the speedometer ever accurate.

- Bellingham, MA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »