10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
13,884 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

The NHTSA is the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints can be spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem. See the Back button — blue bar at the very top of the page — to explore more.

Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2016 Chevrolet Trax:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

Get free help with your lemon!
close ad
problem #8

May 072019

Trax

  • 60,000 miles
Takata recall my ties kelp inflating my sensor was stuck my steering was off when I tried to turn on a city street my inside of my car start pilling

- Florissant, MO, USA

problem #7

Jun 082018

Trax

  • 35,000 miles
I was slowing down to a red light and the brake froze, it would not continue to press down, I ended up hitting another car. I put the car in park, turned it off and turned it back on and the brake was still stuck.

- Boston, MA, USA

problem #6

Nov 082016

Trax

  • miles
About 3 months after purchasing this brand new car, the brakes started squealing when stopping. I toke in to lawrence hall Chevrolet abilene, Texas, they couldn't recreate the noise. So I made several videos of this and showed and emailed to lhc. They said they could not find problems. 4 service calls later, they said they will regrease the brakes. That helped a little. Now it sounds like it is down to the metal when I stop.

- Abilene, TX, USA

problem #5

Jun 202016

Trax

  • 20 miles
My mom purchased a 2016 Chevy Trax for me at Chevrolet of homewood, 18033 S. halsted, homewood, il on 6/13/16 under her name. Within the 1st week of purchase the brakes began squeaking while in motion. After the 2nd week the brakes began squeaking loudly as onlookers responded to the noise they say were coming from the back brakes. I took the car to Chevrolet of homewood on July 7, 2016 for brake inspection. Service test drove the vehicle, heard the noise from brakes but said it was normal. On 7/10/16, the brakes were squeaking so badly I took my car to Firestone on elston & addison in Chicago, for a vehicle inspection. Firestone noted the brakes were squeaking & told me to take the Trax back to the dealer as the brakes were squeaking all the time. I emailed CEO mary barra on 7/22/16 to complain & she set me up with antoinette baker under case# 8-2249264993, who worked with me until 7/27/16, & without notice turned me on to GM's legal nicole rodella. On 10/27/16 @ 11:03am nicole rodella, called to inform me that GM was gathering information from dealer to determine my claim & she would call me in a few days. On 11/15/16, nicole called telling me she needed an affidavit from my mom to further discuss my complaint. I asked to speak to her supervisor. GM's Ms. Barber (supv.) told me my mom needed to sign an affidavit for them to deal with me re: The complaint, although both names are on GM's paperwork. I sent barber dealer paperwork with both names of me and mom, & barbara said that was not enough on 11/15/16. Barber told me she would have nichole get paperwork from dealer & call me back on 11/16/16 & never did. I called barber back on 11/16/16, left message & she has not responded. Attached is sound of brakes. I am requesting to be put in a new vehicle or that GM pay off Trax immediately.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #4

Aug 262016

Trax

  • 7,500 miles
We had an single car crash. The car went over a curb and down an embankment and damn near took out a wooden walk way with people near by on the walkway it ended up totaling ($20,000 in damage ) our brand new Chevy Trax 2016. And when all 11.......... airbags right 11 airbags and not one when off and we both had seat belt on but I still managed to hit my head so hard I had an small indent in my head and U would think brand new car and 11 air bags U think you would B save....?? but not in a Chevy!!!! all cuz of the airbags and brakes were affected as well

- Omaha, NE, USA

problem #3

Aug 012016

Trax

  • miles
Trax has squeaky and squealing brakes every time brakes are applied. This noise started off every once in a while, now is a consistent headache. Took to dealer serice and they couldn't find anything wrong, ok squealing brakes and they couldn't find anything wrong... all they could come up with is that all vehicles do that if it sits for long periods. The vehicle is driven every day. Chevrolet must really think it's customers are really stupid. I have owned lots of vehicle's in my life and have not once ran into this problem. I am a first time Chevrolet purchase customer, if and when this problem gets resolved I will never buy another Chevrolet product again.

- Cottage Grove, MN, USA

problem #2

Nov 122016

Trax

  • 8,500 miles
The contact owns a 2016 Chevrolet Trax. While driving 25 mph, the vehicle lost brake functionality and was involved in a crash. The failure occurred without warning. A police report was filed and there were no injuries. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the failure could not be replicated. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 8,500. The VIN was not provided.

- Staten Island, NY, USA

problem #1

Jun 162016

Trax

  • 50 miles
Takata recall [purchased a 2016 Chevy Trax at Chevrolet of homewood 18033 S. halsted, homewood, Illinois on June 13, 2016 for my daughter. Within the first week of purchase the brakes began squeaking. After about the second week the brakes began squeaking loud. Some onlookers noted that the noise was coming from the back brakes. My daughter took the car back to Chevrolet of homewood on July 7, 2016 for brake inspection. The service department test drove the vehicles heard the brake noise but said they found no problem. On 7/10/16, the brakes were squeaking so loud until my daughter took the Chevy Trax to Firestone on elston & addison in Chicago, Illinois for a complete vehicle inspection. Firestone noted the brakes were squeaking and suggested my daughter take the Chevy Trax back to the dealer. The sound is when the vehicle is in motion and when coming to a stop.

- Robbins, IL, USA