10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 9
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
68,103 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

The NHTSA is the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints can be spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem. See the Back button — blue bar at the very top of the page — to explore more.

Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Chrysler Pacifica:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #64

Jun 132014

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • 125,000 miles
I bought the car Feb 6th 2014 from a buy here pay here. After I bought the car I noticed that the vehicles gas light would move on its own from half a tank to empty while driving also my lights would flicker and engine would make a humming noise also after getting on and off the freeway, hittiing the gas pedal car did not want to accelerate and would sputter. On June 13 2014 my vehicle was putting while going 35mph and just shut off on me while driving with my son in the car.

- Columbus , OH, USA

problem #63

Feb 242011

Pacifica

  • 86,000 miles
Have a 2004 Chrysler Pacifica I've had this truck for two years, I've always had a problem with the gas running out like water. I took my truck to Chrysler for them to do a tune up, while there I told them about the problem. When I got back to pick upmy truck they told me that both of my fuel pumps were bad. It seems like they know what's wrong with these trucks and they just decided to tell everyone their fuel pumps are bad. Anyway, I had the fuel pumps changed and the problem got worse. Now if I put $10 in it the gauge will read 1/2 tank. If I fill it up once it gets to 1/2 tank it'll just drop to the E. once it reads E it cuts off. There could be a full tank of gas but it will still read E. I took it back to Chrysler so many times they couldn't find anything wrong. The last time I went back up there, they said I need to replacethe whole tank. I know for a fact that replacing the tank won't fix it. To add to that, while I'm pumping gas the gas foams or it kicks back. I refuse to keep paying my money for them to keep playing the guessing game. If my truck shuts down completely or cause an accident I'm suing Chrysler and everyone else!!! Chrysler needs to fix the issue, there is a defect. I even called headquarters and they're saying they can't help because the truck is so many years old, and because of the mileage. Thing is they knew what was wrong with these trucks. Chrysler needs to fix this issue! !!!!!

- Fort Lauderdale, FL, USA

problem #62

Oct 192013

Pacifica

  • 80,900 miles
The computer that controls everything including the headlights failed causing all my headlights to go out and blow during night time driving, resulting in a crash.!!!!! this is just as bad as a cars brakes totally failing and should be a recall on these ECU/ECM computers on Chrysler immediately as the dealer wants to charge $1000 to fix!!! I see hundreds of people reporting the same problem and there are law suits also from this failure!

- Harwinton, CT, USA

problem #61

Sep 192013

Pacifica

  • 89,000 miles
I have almost been in four accidents in the past week and a half due to my 2004 Chrysler Pacifica stalling in the middle of intersections and roads without warning. As I accelerate the car starts to hesitate, sputter and then just dies out. The last time it did this in the middle of a busy road with cars going by at 50mph, I had two good samaritans and two police officers that were nearby help me to safety where I had to have the vehicle towed back to my home where it sits today. The first time it happened the check engine light came on, it said bad crankshaft sensor, so I replaced it. The second time it happened it said bad camshaft, so I replaced it. The third time it happened it said bad camshaft sensor again, so I replaced thinking I bought a defective one. This did not work either as the car ended up stalling for good two days ago. I know there have been recalls in the past for this exact stalling condition of the engine, but Chrysler says my car did not show up as one of the recalled ones. I find this very concerning that this dangerous condition would not be covered by Chrysler when they know it has been an issue on thousands of other similar Pacificas.

- Broomfield, CO, USA

problem #60

May 182011

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • 97,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Chrysler Pacifica. The contact stated that while starting the vehicle, the air bag warning light illuminated. The vehicle was not taken to a dealer for a diagnostic. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 90,000 and the current mileage was 97,000....updated 10-21-13 the consumer stated the battery went dead. When the battery was replaced, the air bag light illuminated.

- Columbus , OH, USA

problem #59

Jul 012013

Pacifica

  • 129,000 miles
Four months after replacing a rear motor mount. It failed again. This time it cause the other two motor mounts to fail which melted wires leading to the failure of the car's power control module. This resulted in a loss of speedometer, other electrical functions, and the loss of three ignition coils. It was brought to a dealer who fixed the PCM, and later discovered that all motor mounts need replacing. He had no explanation why a motor mount would have failed four months after they were inspected to be safe, and when one was brand new. The cost requested by the dealer for repair totals more than $2,500.

- Harrisburg, PA, USA

problem #58

Jun 252013

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • 82,000 miles
I bought this 2004 Pacifica from a dealer about a month ago. Took it to the shop to get my shocks looked at and they told me they wouldn't do any work on it because the sub frame was rotted so badly they advised me not to drive or put any money into the vehicle because it is a safety issue. Also there is clicking coming from the steering wheel when you turn left or right. And also a week after I purchased the vehicle the blower motor resister is bad.

- University Hts., OH, USA

problem #57

Apr 212013

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • 129,000 miles
The vehicle was being driven when suddenly smoke starts coming from the engine compartment pulled over to check under the hood and flames began coming out closed the hood and the vehicle just burned down to the ground called 911 firefighter came and put out the fire it was all so fast its unreal.

- Reading, PA, USA

problem #56

Dec 032012

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • 170,000 miles
I have had tons of mechanical issues with this vehicle and replaced 2 alternators within a couple months of each other, one was replaced about 3 weeks ago. I was driving in a school zone to drop my daughter off and the car just shut down. I have had to replace the starter, battery, alternators (2), and items with the tires and suspension. This car makes loud clinking noises and coming to a stop you can hear a loud knock sound. Chrysler needs to be required to fix vehicles instead of saying they can't find anything wrong with them.

- Virginia Beach, VA, USA

problem #55

Oct 022012

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • 130,000 miles
The windshield wipers and electrical systems failed during a mild rain. We got the vehicle to a Chrysler dealer and contracted for them to put it on the lift. We've learned that the main wiring harnesses on many 2004 Pacificas - such as ours - have collected water for years due to their design on the 2004 Pacifica, and have completely corroded. This substantially compromised our safety, as we exited the road having lost windshield wipers, all electrical, etc., we attempted to use the horn which also was no longer working.

- Manchester, MA, USA

problem #54

Jul 052007

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • 40,539 miles
07/05/07 customer reported blower motor noisy, Chrysler checked and found blower motor noisy and replaced the blower motor. Cost to customer $179. On 08/11/10 blower motor noisy on high speeds, Chrysler removed and replaced the blower motor. Cost to customer $256. On 07/05/12 customer experiencing same problem with noisy blower motor. Will need to take vehicle to dealer to have blower motor replaced again.

- Sharon Hill, PA, USA

problem #53

Aug 022011

Pacifica

  • 120,000 miles
Starting in 2011 my Pacifica's electrical systems seem to be shutting down. First I lost the ability to open windows or use power locks on the passenger side. Next I lost the cruise control function. Now my check engine light appears intermittently. Most recently the air bag light and alarm comes on but only intermittently.

- Kitchener Ontario Canada, DC, USA

problem #52

Dec 122011

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • 102,000 miles
On numerous occasions I will be driving my car and it will just stall out completely. I have no control over my car. There is no inclination that it is even going to happen. I have almost wrecked my car. At higher speeds my car jerks and stutters and will randomly shut off too. I will be stopping to make a right or left turn and my car will stall out and I have almost wrecked my car with my four children in the car!!!!!!! I see there is a recall on some Chrysler Pacifica's for this exact problem, but for some reason it is not on mine and it is a major issue!!! I am very concerned with my family's safety when driving my car.

- Titusville, PA, USA

problem #51

Apr 262012

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • 129,000 miles
A follow up to earlier safety complaint.just ordered a computer for the affected vehicle and while describing the problem to the tech was informed that it is a well known problem affecting not only my Pacifica but their town and country mini van as well.

- Knoxville, TN, USA

problem #50

Apr 242012

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • 100,000 miles
This vehicle has suffered through a wide variety of problems as outlined from online complaint boards. Today has started sudden acceleration while stopped at traffic lights almost taking me into traffic your investigation on these are closed but I never had satisfaction speaking to Chrysler officials and was informed by my dealer a couple of years ago that the vehicle was made by the ;old; company and the new company does not honor problems.what is disturbing is that a close inspection by me has revealed that the wiring harness going to the control computer was routed under the drivers side flexible motor mount and the harness has been damaged by the mount compressing this harness right on top of a bolt on the frame causing fraying of several control wires.the poor design has indeed created most of the problems with the vehicle and could cause wrecks and perhaps even deaths. Chrysler has informed me they do not accept suggestions from the public but for the safety of the citizens still driving these vehicles, I see a lot on the road, please contact them as to this problem which while not covered under their warranty should be as this flaw only shows up with mileage. The wiring harness has not been priced by me yet but if past experience is the guide Chrysler parts are significantly higher than competitors, even if the last 'genuine' part had product of South Korea right on the box. The problem is poor design.

- Knoxville , TN, USA

problem #49

Apr 082012

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • miles
My husband was driving and suddenly the car started smoking we pulled over, the fire fighters were called. They had to break the dashboard in order to stop the fire. They spray the car with water inside and out. Car was total. The fire fighters thought that it was possibly the wire that stared the fire. Radio and light on dashboard did not work in one point, it started working again by itself.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #48

Dec 012011

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • 118,000 miles
Dash heater control panel--lamps for several functions have ceased working--blower fan, air conditioning, circulation/recirculation, front window defrost and rear window defrost making adjustments or changes at night impossible. There is no way to change bulbs according to the manufacturer service/shop manual. Additionally, the function status (led) panel fades out leaving no information for what function is working, or what the status is, thus making changes impossible at anytime. Inability to control environment--specifically the functions concerning visibility make the vehicle a hazard to drive when the controls are inoperative or impossible to use.

- Mount Juliet, TN, USA

problem #47

Jan 032011

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • miles
Headlamps - the headlamps had to be replaced due to light beams not coming through the clear plastic cover. The cover became cloudy and visibility was limited which caused safety concerns. The Chrysler dealership tried to clean but was not successful. Tire sensors - a year ago, we had an issue with the message center not responding to the tires. The Chrysler dealership installed 1 tire sensor and several months later a new message center panel had to be replaced. A year later, we are replacing the other three sensors. We are told by the Chrysler dealership that the batteries only last several years. They claim that these sensors are goverment regulated. Why are we putting parts into american made cars that have to be replaced every several years that cost $100 for each sensor plus labor. Either Chrysler needs to produce a better sensor that lasts longer or the government should provide rebates since this is regulatory. These car issues should be considered a safety issue and reviewed for potential liabilities that can cause harm to the driver.

- Covington, GA, USA

problem #46

Feb 012011

Pacifica

  • 88,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Chrysler Pacifica. The contact stated that all of the gauges on the instrument panel malfunctioned. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who diagnosed that the electronic control module was defective as a result of an electrical short. The contact mentioned that the module was replaced three times. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure but did not offer any assistance and referred him to NHTSA. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 88,000 and the current mileage was 90,000.

- Round Rock , TX, USA

problem #45

May 162009

Pacifica

  • 109,700 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Chrysler Pacifica. The contact stated while driving various speeds the vehicle would suddenly stall without warning. The failure occurred on an intermittent basis. The vehicle was towed to a dealer who advised her that the control module needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was contacted and advised her that there were no recalls. The failure mileage was approximately 109,700.

- Akron, OH, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »