10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 10
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
37,184 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

The NHTSA is the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints can be spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem. See the Back button — blue bar at the very top of the page — to explore more.

Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Chrysler Town & Country:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #80

Nov 042014

Town & Country

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chrysler Town and country. The contact received a notification of a NHTSA campaign number: 11V139000 (electrical system) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Islip, NY, USA

problem #79

Aug 012014

Town & Country

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chrysler Town and country. The contact stated that a recall notice for NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (electrical system) was received in August of 2014. The dealer informed that the part needed to remedy the vehicle was not available and no estimated time for receiving the part was available. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact did not experience a failure.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #78

Dec 222014

Town & Country

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chrysler Town and country. The contact stated that the part was not available for NHTSA campaign number: 11V139000 (electrical system). The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact did not experience a failure.

- Vero Beach , FL, USA

problem #77

Oct 252013

Town & Country

  • miles
We received a recall notice in October to replace a fobik (frequency operated button ignition key) in our 2009 Chrysler Town & Country van. Since that time we have called our dealer on numerous occasions to schedule an appointment to have the part replaced and each time the dealers response is that the part is not available. We are concerned about the safety of the vehicle and would like to have this part replaced as soon as possible.

- Sioux Falls, SD, USA

problem #76

Dec 192014

Town & Country

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chrysler Town & Country. The contact received a notification of NHTSA campaign number: 11V139000 (electrical system) however, the part to do the recall repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Franklyn, TN, USA

problem #75

Jun 162011

Town & Country

  • 54,000 miles
My vehicle was issued a recall on June 16,2011 dealing with the wireless ignition; however, I did not receive a notice for this specific recall until June 2014. I immediately brought my vehicle to a Chrysler dealer. But after inspecition, they said they did not have the part needed to fix the problem. Since June 2014, I have made several phone calls only to be told that they are still waiting for the part. Since this is a safety issue, what can I do to speed up the process for rectifying my situation?

- Adamstown, MD, USA

problem #74

Dec 152014

Town & Country

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chrysler Town and country. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 11V139000 (electrical system). However, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The VIN was not available. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Celina, OH, USA

problem #73

Dec 152014

Town & Country

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chrysler Town and country. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 11V139000 (electrical system). However, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. The VIN was not available. Mailed out 01/13/15

- Celina, OH, USA

problem #72

Dec 112014

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chrysler Town and country. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact experienced a failure. Updated 1/23/15

- Orange Burge, SC, USA

problem #71

Sep 022014

Town & Country

  • 63,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chrysler Town and country. The contact stated that the ignition key disengaged from the vehicle without warning. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The contact received a notification for NHTSA campaign number: 11V139000 (electrical system). However, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 63,000.

- Galatia, IL, USA

problem #70

Dec 072014

Town & Country

  • 185,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chrysler Town and country. The contact stated that the driver door window switches failed to open and close windows. A few hours later, the vehicle was idle in the garage when burning fumes started to emitted from the driver door into the vehicle. Upon further inspection, the contact heard cracking noises that came from the door itself. The contact immediately shut off the engine and the smoking stopped shortly. No injuries were sustained. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 185,000.

- Gulford , CT, USA

problem #69

Dec 042014

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 118,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chrysler Town and country. The contact received a recall notice for NHTSA campaign id number: 14V373000 (electrical system) and stated that the part needed was unavailable to perform the repair. The contact had not experienced a failure...updated 01/28/15 updated 9/7/2017

- Livonia, MI, USA

problem #68

Sep 042014

Town & Country

  • miles
All four brake warning lights come on when the car is started and they do not go off. When the incident first happened the brake warning lights would stay on until the car was turned off and would not come back on for days. This same cycle would happen over and over again. Now the warning lights come on a few minutes after the vehicle is in motion and will not turn off. I think that there is a problem with the instrument panel or it has something to do with the L25 recall that has not been fixed yet.

- St. Petersburg, FL, USA

problem #67

Oct 162012

Town & Country

  • 90,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chrysler Town and country. The contact stated that while driving at approximately 35 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle was able to restart. On another occasion, the contact stated that the vehicle failed to start and the key fob failed. The failure occurred on multiple occasions. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the ignition and the key fob needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact had also received notification of NHTSA campaign id number: 11V139000 (electrical system) however, the part was unavailable to perform the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 90,000.

- Barberton, OH, USA

problem #66

Sep 052014

Town & Country

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chrysler Town and country. The contact stated that the key would not turn over into the on position several times. The contact had to make several attempts in order to start the vehicle. The contact received a notification for recall NHTSA campaign id number: 11V139000 (electrical system) and stated that the parts were not available for several months. The dealer was unable to provide a specific date when the parts would become available. The manufacturer was contacted and could not provide an estimated date for when the vehicle would receive the recall repairs. The failure mileage was not available.

- Chattanooga, TN, USA

problem #65

Nov 142014

Town & Country

  • 119,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chrysler Town and country. While driving various speeds, the vehicle would stall intermittently without warning. The contact stated that NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (electrical system) exceeded a reasonable amount of time for repair. The dealer stated that the parts were not available for repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the both the delay and the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 119,000.

- Englewood , OH, USA

problem #64

Nov 242014

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chrysler Town and country. The contact received a notification for recall NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (electrical system). However, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 12/30/14 updated 5/28/2015

- Lapeer, MI, USA

problem #63

Aug 042014

Town & Country

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chrysler Town and country. The contact received a notification for recall NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (electrical system). However, the recall repair part was unavailable. The contact stated the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The VIN was not available.the contact had not experienced a failure.

- Peoria, IL, USA

problem #62

Nov 182014

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chrysler Town and country. The contact received a notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (electrical system). However, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount updated of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 01/09/15 updated 6/2/2015

- Hoyt Lakes, MN, USA

problem #61

Nov 012013

Town & Country

  • 90,000 miles
I received a recall for frequency operated button ignition key (fobik). Recall L25. I have called my dealer and they have told me for a few months now that the part is on back order. I called Chrysler group recall assistance center at 800-853-1403 and they cannot tell me when this part is going to be available. I have had issues with this car stopping in the middle of the road, especially in rough terrain, over railroad tracks, etc. Because the key moves to the accessory mode from the on position on its own. I am fearful to be read ended when this happens. I've had this issue with the car for about a year for what I thought was "stalling" but now realize it is the fobik causing this. Chrysler dealer tells me they get daily calls regarding not having this part available. What recourse do I have to get this recall taken care of?

- Middleburg Hts, OH, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »