10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 10
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
37,184 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

The NHTSA is the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints can be spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem. See the Back button — blue bar at the very top of the page — to explore more.

Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Chrysler Town & Country:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #420

Nov 062017

Town & Country

  • 50,000 miles
Hello, can you give me any information about the ┐totally integrated power module┐ (tipm) in my 2009 Chrysler Town and country LX, 3.3L minivan" how to diagnose a problem with it? are there known problems with it" my van exhibits the following random conditions┐ 1.) horn stops working after repeated use. It will work again after a period of time. Recently, I have pushed on the horn and it will blow and then cut out after a couple of seconds. This happen whether the van is in motion or stationary. 2.) starter will rotate the engine but engine will not fire. This is very infrequent but has gotten a little worse. Engine will eventually start and run fine. And the next time it needs to start it will without issue. Also, one time during the same day that this happened, the engine started but then immediately died.it started and ran fine after that. Van was always stationary. 3.)center mounted rear brake light will look very dim or not work at all one day, and then work the next. Van was in motion or stationary. 4.)cruise control will not engage and then it will. This was happening about a year ago but has not happened lately. Van was in motion. These situations have happened intermittently since we bought the van in 2012. Am I and my family in danger of the airbags not deploying when they should? thanks for your help

- St. Marys, OH, USA

problem #419

Oct 312017

Town & Country

  • 120,000 miles
The vehicle was in park and running in a parking lot. The van had been running and in motion for approximately 10 minutes prior to arriving at the parking lot where it was then placed into park and left running while waiting for my kids to get out of school. Radio on, heat on then with no warning at all the vehicle shut off, lost all power. I was unable to remove the key from the ignition. It would not go into the off position allowing me to remove the key. I tried to turn the key to the various positions to start the car and nothing happened. Auto locks would not unlock, the car was completely dead. I sat for about 5 minutes in a panic trying to figure out how cars I was blocking were going to get out of their parking spots. Then the van suddenly started up on its own. My hands were not on the keys, nowhere near the ignition and it just started up. What would have happened if this occurred while I was driving and in motion and even worse traveling at a high speed"??" there should be a recall on this issue as it is a major safety concern. The vehicle did receive the recall fix for the issue with ignition a couple years back and now I wonder if that was even the real issue since my van randomly shut off on me for no reason at all whatsoever. I don't know if there are any other official reports but a google search pulls up many others having the same issue this year with various years of the Town and country and the reports are recent.

- Lenexa, KS, USA

problem #418

Oct 132017

Town & Country

  • 156,000 miles
Van dash lights flicker when applying the brakes. Van will completely shut off with all electrical dying. This happens when sitting at a light or slowing to yield to traffic replaced alternator, but the problem still occurs. Jostling the battery cables will restart electric system. New battery, cables are secure.

- Belton, TX, USA

problem #417

May 012017

Town & Country

  • 145,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chrysler Town and country. While driving at various speeds, the power steering and brakes seized and the vehicle decelerated. The contact pulled the vehicle over to the side of the road, shifted into park, and restarted the vehicle. The contact took the vehicle to a certified mechanic who was unable to diagnose the cause of the failure. The failure recurred. The dealer was not contacted. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and informed the contact that the vehicle was previously included in NHTSA campaign number: 11V139000 (electrical system), which had been expanded into NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (electrical system, air bags). The vehicle was not included in the new expanded recall. The approximate failure mileage was 145,000.

- Louisville, KY, USA

problem #416

Apr 102017

Town & Country

  • 32,000 miles
The power doors on either side do not open or close electrically and the drivers side rear passenger door does not open from the inside of the vehicle making it unsafe for a passenger in the back seat. The windows do not go down either. Major issue. This happens all the time when in motion or stationary.

- Valhalla, NY, USA

problem #415

Jun 132017

Town & Country

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chrysler Town and country. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (electrical system, air bags). The parts to do the repair were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. A local dealer (carl hogan, located at 1923 highway 45 N columbus in ms 39705) confirmed that the recall remedy parts were on backorder. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Columbus, MS, USA

problem #414

Mar 152017

Town & Country

  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chrysler Town and country. While driving 35 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle was able to restart immediately after shifting into park. The contact stated that the failure occurred several times at random. The vehicle was taken to crystal Chrysler Jeep Dodge (1005 South suncoast blvd, homosassa, fl 34448), but the failure could not be duplicated. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 100,000.

- Anthony, FL, USA

problem #413

Mar 272017

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 144,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chrysler Town and country. While driving 40 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The contact stated that the engine cut off and the vehicle lost complete electrical power. The dealer replaced the fuse panel and the load management computer. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 144,000. Updated 05/30/17 updated 06/02/2017

- Howard, OH, USA

problem #412

Mar 072017

Town & Country

  • 48,500 miles
The dash warning lights come on, blink, and a red light in the center of the dash comes on and beeps. The windshield wipers activate without using the switch. What is causing this" is the vehicle safe to drive"

- Bountiful, UT, USA

problem #411

Oct 132016

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 135,000 miles
I went out and started my van, the wipers turned on automatically so I thought maybe I had turned the handle somehow... so I turned it off and that's when everything went wrong. All the dash lights started flashing and cycling through start up checks and then saying everything is off ABS, airbags etc. The seat was even repositioning itself. I took out my phone and started recording this weird episode that I have never seen before. I bought this van 5 months ago and don't know of its history, but this is not something anyone should have to deal with. 3 days later my wife was driving down the road when this started happening to her, the difference was that she sits closer to steering wheel then I do and the seat was jerking her back and forth while driving and scared her. Thanks [xxx]. I bought this van because I wanted the stow and go seats and side curtain safety along with everything else. My van is a loaded limited edition with most available options. After looking around the internet it seems like the tipm or a loose connection could be the problem and that dealerships are pretty much a waste of time for help on this. Chrysler knows of the issues because it happens across their vehicles and have only fixed certain models. The fact that a cracked shorting wire in the power door or a loose connector could cause all this is to go wrong is just poor engineering. Link to youtube video of incident- https://www.youtube.com/watch?V=cdcovnhrluw. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Wellington, OH, USA

problem #410

Jul 012015

Town & Country

  • miles
Received written notification of wireless ignition node module recall (R03/NHTSA 14V-373) in June 2015. I called freedom Chrysler/Toyota of harrisburg, pa on 7/1/15 to schedule the recall service. The part needed to be ordered. I have called again on 9/18/15, 3/26/16 and 10/10/16. The part is still not available from Chrysler. The dealer explains they are "at Chrysler's mercy." Why is this "important safety recall" taking over 16 months to resolve?

- Harrsiburg, PA, USA

problem #409

Sep 222016

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chrysler Town and country. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (air bags, electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 12/21/16 the consumer stated there were several incidents of weekly malfunctions where the vehicle would go into auxiliary mode which caused the steering and brakes not to work. Updated 12/27/16.

- Thornton, CO, USA

problem #408

Aug 012016

Town & Country

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chrysler Town and country. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (electrical system, ignition switch). The part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the dealer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Brookville, KY, USA

problem #407

Sep 062011

Town & Country

  • 30,000 miles
Various electrical systems fail while driving and then restore themselves. There are many occurrences of these problems date shown below is the earliest occurrence to the best of our recollection, year is correct): 1. blind spot detection system indicates it has failed as you are driving at highway speeds, then error clears. 2. tire pressure monitor system indicates that it has failed, then after a few minutes is restored and all tire alarms go away. 3. high beams come on when it is still daylight 4. rain sensing wipers are triggered when there is no precipitation

- State College, PA, USA

problem #406

Jul 312016

Town & Country

  • 100,000 miles
After several hours of driving on interstates at the various legal speed limits from Massachusetts to central Pennsylvania, the dashboard warning chime started, and the tire pressure monitor system said that it had failed and then recovered after five minutes. Eventually, the tpm system recovered. This problem has occurred many times over the last two years. The car dealer could not detect any problem.

- State College, PA, USA

problem #405

Jul 282016

Town & Country

  • 100,000 miles
After several hours of driving on interstates at the various legal speed limits from central Pennsylvania to Massachusetts, the dashboard warning chime started, the information display showed that the blind spot detection system was inoperative and then the transmission down shifted to 3 resulting in excessive engine revs. Cruise control was engaged at the time, but the car was not going down a hill. The driver used the +/- shift control to return the car to gear 6. at the same time, the tire pressure monitor system said that it had failed and then recovered after five minutes. Eventually, the tpm system recovered as did the blind spot detection system. All of these problems have happened in the past individually, but on this trip they all happened at once. The car dealer could not detect any problem.

- State College, PA, USA

problem #404

Sep 072016

Town & Country

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chrysler Town and country. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (air bags, electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Staten Island, NY, USA

problem #403

Apr 152015

Town & Country

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chrysler Town and country. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (electrical system) however, the parts to do the repair were unavailable. The manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Part distribution disconnect.

- Carl Junction, MO, USA

problem #402

Jun 152016

Town & Country

  • miles
Fuse for this circuit does not blow, the connectors could overheat and module the ABS control

- Carolina, PR, USA

problem #401

Apr 152016

Town & Country

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chrysler Town and country. After the vehicle was repaired per NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (air bags, electrical system) and while the vehicle was parked with the key out of the ignition, the engine continued to run. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was unknown.

- Diboll, TX, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »