10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 10
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
37,184 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

The NHTSA is the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints can be spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem. See the Back button — blue bar at the very top of the page — to explore more.

Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Chrysler Town & Country:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #60

Nov 122014

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 83,690 miles
I came to a stop sign and the vehicle shut off (as if the key had been turned to the accessory position). After taking it to the dealership, they informed me that it was affected by the L25/NHTSA 14V-373 recall. This can cause then engine to stop at any point in time (including driving while on a highway). This is not a condition where the minvan should be driven. If this were to happen on a highway the results could be deadly (the engine shuts off and the sudden lack of steering and brakes plus the airbags deactivating). I have been told that there are no parts available to fix this and that I should drive it home. This is incredibly unsafe and I can't believe that this is allowed to happen. The recall has been out since June of this year and I'm being told that there is no eta on when the parts will be available.

- Ijamsville, MD, USA

problem #59

Jun 072011

Town & Country

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chrysler Town and country. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 11V139000 (electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- White Lake, MI, USA

problem #58

Nov 132014

Town & Country

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chrysler Town and country. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 11V139000 (electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- White Lake , MI, USA

problem #57

Jun 172014

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • miles
2009 Chrysler Town and country. Consumer writes in regards to several problems with vehicle. The consumer experienced ongoing problems with the radio/dvd/ the consumer made several trips to the dealer, where they suggested a new battery. However, the new battery did not rectify the problem. Also, the driver side window, as well as the ignition would stick at times. The dealer lubricated the window. However, the problem continued.

- Wanaque, NJ, USA

problem #56

Nov 072014

Town & Country

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chrysler Town and country. The contact received a notification for NHTSA campaign id number: 14V373000 (electrical system) and stated that the part needed was unavailable to repair the vehicle. The dealer was unable to specify when the part would become available. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Westfield , IN, USA

problem #55

Jun 012014

Town & Country

  • 130,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chrysler Town and country. The contact stated that while driving approximately 45 mph, the engine stalled without warning. The vehicle had restarted. However, the failure recurred multiple times. The vehicle had not been diagnosed. The contact received a notice for recall NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (electrical system) and stated that the parts were unavailable. The dealer was uncertain when the part would become available. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and they stated that they were also uncertain when the parts would become available. The approximate failure mileage was 130,000.

- Griffon, GA, USA

problem #54

Nov 052014

Town & Country

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chrysler Town and country. The contact received a notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (electrical system) and stated that the parts needed were unavailable. The dealer stated that the they received the parts but had to send them back since they recalled by the manufacturer. The dealer was uncertain when they could service the vehicle under the recall. The manufacturer had not been notified and the contact had not experienced a failure.

- Concord, CA, USA

problem #53

Jul 152014

Town & Country

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chrysler Town and country. The contact received a notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (electrical system). However, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Slater, MO, USA

problem #52

Aug 042014

Town & Country

  • 80,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chrysler Town and country. The contact stated that the check engine warning light illuminated and the vehicle stalled. The vehicle was able to restart after several attempts. The failure occurred on several occasions. In addition, the contact stated that the key failed to turn in order to start the vehicle intermittently. The contact stated that the part for NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (electrical system) was not available to repair the vehicle. The initial failure was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 80,000.

- Albany, NY, USA

problem #51

Oct 132014

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 96,800 miles
On 10/13/2014, highway driving, used turn signal to pass another vehicle, when returning to original lane and turning off turn signal, the turn signal started blinking the opposite way, thinking I had missed the neutral position tried again, started blinking the opposite way. This went on for at least 2 minutes then finally stopped. On 10/28/2014, started vehicle in driveway and all dash indicator lights came on along with windshield wipers, the radio display was blank like it was off, but there was sound (radio display has been ongoing issue since we purchased vehicle in 2012). Turned vehicle off and tried to restart with same issue. Turned off and let sit for several minutes and condition went away. Next incident was on 10/31/2014. Was idling in a parking spot and the windshield wipers turned on along with the security light in the dash. This stopped within 30 seconds. Then while driving about 15 minutes later about 25mph, all dash indicator lights came on along with windshield wipers and lights inside of the van. Pulled over to side of road and turned off vehicle for a few minutes and restarted with no issues.

- Fowlerville, MI, USA

problem #50

Sep 092014

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • miles
Safety recall L25 wireless ignition node module detents. I have been waiting on repair part for some time. My dealer does not have it in stock and we are being told that Chrysler will only permit dealers to order 5 parts a time. I never know when my car will start or not. Its unacceptable that their are not enough parts to repair these vehicles. I made an appt with my Chrysler dealer only to arrive and told they did not have the part.

- Fort Washington, MD, USA

problem #49

Sep 182014

Town & Country

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chrysler Town and country. The contact received a notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (electrical system). However, the part needed to remedy the vehicle was unavailable. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had experience a failure.

- Port Huron , MI, USA

problem #48

Oct 012014

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 81,000 miles
Vehicle refused to start on several occasions, lights on, power on, engine would not turn over, no sound from starter. Then after many attempts, vehicle would start as if nothing was wrong. Then vehicle would stop in traffic and whatever speed traveling, dead with no response when trying to restart. After many attempts to start while in middle of traffic vehicle started as if nothing happened. Dealer states ignition & tipm module are fault.

- Inverness, FL, USA

problem #47

Mar 142014

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 96,114 miles
The car engine shuts off while driving, you have to pull over and start the car again. I have been unable to remove the key fob from the ignition switch and not able to turn the engine off. I had to work at pulling the key fob out for over a half hour before I was able to shut the car off. At one put I removed the key fob from the ignition switch but the engine was still running. I checked if there were any problems with Chrysler vans and learned of a recall L25 regarding ignition switches. I never received a recall notice for this problem from Chrysler. I called a Chrysler 800 number, they told me of the recall but said they did not know when parts would be available. I called a local Chrysler dealer, talked to a service person, they had no idea of when a part would be available to fix the problem. They gave me another 800 number to call, I basically received the same information. Both 800 representatives told me to rent a car in the mean time. I called the corporate headquarters, spoke to a representative and she told me their engineers don't even have a fix for the problem and they have no idea how long it will take. I asked about Chrysler providing us with a loner car and she said that was not an option. She also said if I feel the car is unsafe to drive, I shouldn't drive it. What good is my van if it sits in the driveway for who knows how long. I am unable to drive the vehicle because it is unsafe. Chrysler's customer service is very much lacking especially in light of all the GM ignition switch problems and law suits in the news. The impression I received from Chrysler is one of "too bad, there is nothing we can or are willing to do for you." Chrysler should be held accountable for cars unsafe to drive while they come up with a solution to the problem. Consumers should not be expect to lay out money to rent a car when it is Chrysler's fault!

- Monroe Township, NJ, USA

problem #46

Oct 062014

Town & Country

  • 178,000 miles
Today when starting my van. I noticed it was taking longer to turn over than normal. Then tonight out of nowhere it quit starting all together. After doing some online research I have found that it is the power module most likely and that there will be a recall eventually, but it is in the early stages only. How am I supposed to raise two kids and make a living with a van that doesn't run. I am so sick of this van. I have had nothing but problems with it. Chrysler better start making things right with their customers. I will never buy another Chrysler product ever again. I do not feel safe in this van, and now it doesn't even run.

- Sault Sainte Marie, MI, USA

problem #45

Sep 232014

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 92,000 miles
On 9/23/2014, I went to start my vehicle in the morning and it took a few more seconds than usual to start. When is started it ran fine. A little later, I went to start my vehicle, it started and then immediately stalled. Each of these incidents happened another time on this day for a total of 4 times. I called my local Chrysler dealer, nemer Chrysler, and they suggested I bring it in. I would be charge a $86 plus tax diagnostic fee per hour. After being there for 2 and 1/2 hours, they told me my vehicle needed a tipm (totally integrated power module) as well as some other routine maintenance for a total of $2000. They told me the tipm manages the power supply of the car and if it fails, I would have not power, it is dangerous to drive my car and I could get into a serious accident if its not fixed. I wasn't sure I was given honest information from the dealer so I decided to come home with my vehicle as is and do some research. When I got home, I went online and found that Chrysler is recalling this part but the recall is in the early stages and has not been launched yet. I also called Chrysler and was told the same thing. Chrysler told me that I would be contacted once the recall has been launched. In the meantime, I have 3 small children and need to get them to school, etch but I am concerned that driving my vehicle could cause harm to them. I cannot afford to rent a vehicle while waiting on Chrysler to launch this recall. I also don't want to fix the vehicle yet because I don't want to be responsible for the cost if Chrysler is recalling the part and will pick up the cost eventually when the recall is launched. I also read online that many owners of the same vehicle are having the same problem which leads me to believe it is a chronic problem with these vehicles.

- Saratoga Springs, NY, USA

problem #44

Dec 272013

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • miles
Purchased 2009 Town and country van from crystal Chrysler Jeep Dodge brooksville 34613 Florida. The vehicle was sold with an existing safety recall not repaired. After 9 months of use I received a notice from my insurance carrier notifying me of this. I made an immediate call to the dealer and validated they had the part and made an appointment for repair. When I arrived for the repair they informed me they did not have the part because there were 9 different models and all they needed to find out was which one I had. They then informed me it would take 2 or three weeks and they would notify me. After 2.5 weeks I followed up only to be told they can only order and receive 1 part every two weeks because the problem is extensive. I should call Chrysler direct. I called the ownership who gave me back to the dealer who reiterated that and had no way to get a part. I advised them for 9 months they had placed me and my family in jeopardy. Sorry, we will continue trying my best bet call Chrysler. I did just that and spoke to [xxx] their representative and opened case [xxx]. he reiterated he did not have any idea when the parts would come. I informed him of my safety concerns and made sure he noted it and warned them on notice if something were to happen I would seek alternative action. I find this extremely non caring in that they gave me an unsafe vehicle and now cannot repair it to insure our safety. Understand they had this vehicle for two weeks prior to my picking it up. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6). The consumer referenced recall # 14V373000. Updated 10/05/15.

- Florida 34613, FL, USA

problem #43

Jun 022013

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 50,000 miles
I have a 2009 Chrysler limited Town and country which I started having ignition turnover and random electrical problems with in June 2013.I have a lifetime Chrysler warranty which along with my generous dealership, has provided me to date with 2 dozen+ rentals while my car has been at my dealership sometimes up to 1 month at a time. My car problems began abruptly in June 2013 when I drove my vehicle to church.upon reentering the car to leave, it would not start.I knew it was not my battery since it was recently replaced with aaa and thought it might be the alternator.the aaa tow truck driver tested the battery and alternator which were fine.he was unable to start the van and towed it to the dealer.the dealer called me the next day to ask what was wrong with the vehicle since it started on first attempt. No codes have ever been present and the internal systems wipe them out.this issue is still unresolved after 16 mo. I was stranded 1 more time requiring a tow and then the dealer worked with star engineers in detroit and replaced both fobik keys 2X, win module, ignition module etc.these repairs have not stopped the problems but at least allow the car to turnover by 3rd attempt or while waiting. It has created great anxiety and pain and suffering to my family along with serious safety concerns for fear of being randomly stranded while traveling. I have filed a formal complaint with Chrysler to be ignored and told "driver error". I along my children, have experienced this turnover problem in 2 T&C 2014 enterprise rentals. In addition, my personal mechanic has had vehicles at his shop which have been basically junked.this fobik issue is not particular to my car but I have friends who have had problems in their Jeep and Dodge too. Please come clean Chrysler and be concerned with your customers safety and admit and repair your faulty engineering before someone is killed.

- Fayetteville, NC, USA

problem #42

Apr 162013

Town & Country

  • 40,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chrysler Town and country. The contact stated that the steering wheel was difficult to turn intermittently and the entire instrument panel illuminated. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified. The failure mileage was 40,000.

- Fayetteville, NC, USA

problem #41

Jun 032013

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 60,000 miles
The key fobik stuck in the ignition on several occasions, took it to the dealership for repair "and asked if any recalls were out there for this vehicle and was told no by peterson stampede, nampa[xxx]208-475-3030" paid for wireless control module and new keys for a total of $504.20 invoice #12637. This is the second time the key thing has had to be replaced, not happy with this electrical key. I am [xxx] as they are older individuals in their 90's and can't take care of this. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Nampa, ID, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »