10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
27,920 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

The NHTSA is the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints can be spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem. See the Back button — blue bar at the very top of the page — to explore more.

Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 1996 Dodge Avenger:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

problem #28

Nov 212007

Avenger 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 89,500 miles
The lower control arm on the left side is going and I've gone to deluca Chrysler in haverhill MA twice and both times told me that it was already serviced and when I asked him what side was serviced he couldn't answer me and I asked him if they could check my since it should still be covered under recall warranty he told me no and just today I was told that any repair like control arms, tie rods, ball joints and struts are supposed to be repaired in pairs and they only repaired the right side on 8/6/02.

- Haverhill, MA, USA

problem #27

Jun 012005

Avenger

  • Automatic transmission
  • 128,000 miles
The contact owns a 1996 Dodge Avenger. In 2005, while driving approximately 55 mph, the contact lost control and the vehicle pulled to the right. She depressed the brake pedal, but the vehicle would not stop. The vehicle crashed into a dirt hill. She had the vehicle towed to a repair shop and was informed that the lower ball joints failed. A police report was filed. The contact paid for the repair. One year later, the failure recurred. The vehicle is currently parked at her residence. Dodge wants to conduct an investigation on her vehicle, however, they are asking her to pay out of pocket for the repairs. The contact refuses because she believes this is a manufacturer defect. The VIN, engine size, and number of cylinders were unknown. The failure mileage was 128,000 and current mileage was 140,000.

- Acampo, CA, USA

problem #26

Dec 192006

Avenger 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 143,000 miles
I was driving out of a fast food restaurant, and without any sign or warning my tire snapped off my axle! the service department at the local Dodge dealership was closed so I had to have my car towed to another place that also works on my car whenever I have problems. The part that needed to be fixed was the "lower arm control" on the driver's side of my car. I was very lucky that day, because not more than 15 minutes before this incident I had just driven home, approx. 10 miles, on the highway in 5 O'clock traffic!! I did not get hurt!! I was never mailed a recall notice about the lower arm control; not even in 1999 or 2000!!!!!!!!! I bought my car brand new from Dodge, so I feel like I should have been in somebody's computer system to be able to receive recall notices!!!! now, that I had to pay for the part to be fixed out of my pocket, how do I go about getting reimbursed? I got both the driver's side and passenger side lower arm controls replaced.

- Charlotte, NC, USA

problem #25

Nov 212005

Avenger 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • miles
Per two separate recall notice I received from daimler Chrysler, I brought my 1996 Dodge Avenger into a dealership to have the lower lateral arm ball joints inspected and resealed. Upon taking it to the dealership they inspected and both times they told me no further work was needed. Specific instructions from daimler Chrysler say, if the ball joints are not damaged or worn, the ball joints will be sealed. This was not done to my vehicle and on 11/21/05 while driving I lost the ability to steer when the ball joint separated.

- Osawatomie, KS, USA

problem #24

Mar 012005

Avenger

  • miles
Dodge Avenger 1996, ball joint and axle broke. Recall campaign# 99V066003. This problem occurred while the vehicle was in motion. The consumer expects reimbursement. The consumer received the recall letter in the mail 1 year later. The consumer was denied reimbursement because the receipt was not typed it was hand written.

- Memphis, TN, USA

problem #23

Apr 062004

Avenger 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
I was driving on the side streetwhen my front wheel bent inward and my car dropped to the ground. Had it towed to dealership and he claimed to fixed it. So about 1 week later, while on the express way going about 65mp my lt. Drivers side tire bent inward causing my to be all over the road in rush hour. But somehow I mananged to control the car and not have any vehicle crash nor damanges. It is a wounder I and here to talk about it. Still fussing with carlot!

- Columbus, OH, USA

problem #22

Jan 292004

Avenger 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 130,000 miles
While driving 55 mph, the lower later arm ball joint separated and caused the front left wheel to detach. The vehicle wasinvolved in a collision. Tthe driver lost control and the vehicle hit a bridge. The lower lateral arm ball joints were inspected twice befrore this failure, once on on 6/5/2001 under NHTSA recall# 00V421002. During the inspection the dealer's technician found no problem and no repairs were done.

- Camden, AR, USA

problem #21

Jan 212004

Avenger

  • miles
While driving 30 mph front ball joints failed. Consumer pulled over to check. Then, consumer managed to drive home. Dealership was notified, but did not resolve the problem.

- College Park, GA, USA

problem #20

Sep 152003

Avenger 6-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 131,000 miles
In the am on 9/15/03 on the freeway traveling about 65 mph, lateral arm broke off on the left side of my car, causing the left tire to push upwards into the fender and the axle to snap in half. I had to put the car into park at 40 mph to get it to stop so I would not hit the concrete barrier or the I-5 sign. Dodge did pay for the car to be repaired, but not more than 2 weeks later the car began to make a noise while reversing and while going over bumps in the road, they told me this is the brakes, but another mechanic said that it is the lateral arm again. Dodge is refusing to pay to fix it and when I brought them the car they did not visually inspect the car, they only took it on a test drive. I have been having anxiety attacks everytime I hear that noise, my back and shoulder have been in pain and I have seen a specialist because of this. And to be quite honest I just don't have the money to repair the vehicle myself. Also, the front brake rotars are warped and this is the 2nd time that they have been replaced in the 3 1/2 years I have owned the vehicle. I think that is a bit much.

- Keizer, OR, USA

problem #19

Sep 262003

Avenger 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 160,250 miles
The car (1996 Dodge Avenger ES) was in to the dealer for service. The dealer called to inform me that the lower ball joints were ready to fall off the car and needed replaced at a cost of $260. I asked if this was the same ball joint that was covered in an earlier recall. After a long pause, the dealer confirmed that it was, and that they would take care of it (fix at no cost to me). A second service appointment was scheduled for a week later. The car went in, and the dealer replaced the lower control arms. When I picked the car up, I drove off the lot and immediately heard a clanking noise when ever I hit a bump with the right front wheel. I inspected the car myself and found a large crack in the frame around the front-most upper control arm mounting bolt on the right front strut tower. I took the car back to the dealer and the service writer remarked boy, that is the largest crack I've ever seen. You shouldnt drive that car because the wheel could fall off. I suppose the ball joints being bad and hammering the suspension caused that [frame] to crack. However, the service writer had no answer when asked how they missed the crack during the work on the lower control arm the day before. After several calls to the service department, the dealership general manager, and to the Dodge customer service phone number; no one at Dodge would formally acknowledge that the defective ball joints caused the stress crack or that a problem existed with the upper control arm; despite multiple complaints on the NHTSA website for sebrings and Avengers with very similar problems. I have digital pictures of the crack if anyone is interested. It has since been fixed for the safety of my wife and children, however I am very displeased with how it was handled by Dodge and the dealer.

- Midland, MI, USA

problem #18

Aug 202002

(reported on)

Avenger

  • miles
Vehicle was included in lower arm ball joint recall 00V421002. After first inspection in October 2001, part failed on 8-3-02. Arms and joints were actually replaced. Currently, compression arm ball joint cracked just as the latteral arm ball joint that was recalled.

- Peru, IN, USA

problem #17

Jul 172002

Avenger

  • miles
After making an appointment to have recall 00V421000 repairs done was told that parts were not available, after waiting for an hour. Scared to drive vehicle due to fear of its safety.

- Titusville, FL, USA

problem #16

Aug 142001

(reported on)

Avenger

  • miles
Consumer received a recall notification and made an appointment, however when she arrived the parts were not available, a week later the parts came and consumer took vehicle back and hours later consumer was informed that another day was needed to complete the work.

- Sunnyvale, CA, USA

problem #15

Aug 142001

(reported on)

Avenger

  • miles
Consumer received a recall notification and made an appointment, however when she arrived the parts were not available, a week later the parts came and consumer took vehicle back and hours later consumer was informed that another day was needed to complete the work.

- Sunnyvale, CA, USA

problem #14

Apr 112000

Avenger

  • miles
The vehicle was inspected for recall of the lower ball joints (99V-066), less than four months (4-Aug-00) later the vehicle was taken to the dealer for another problem when the mechanic informed the consumer that the vehicle was in need of front lower ball joint, the consumer was forced to pay for the repair because the dealer stated this problem was not covered under recall. Nlm

- Middletown, CT, USA

problem #13

Jun 122001

Avenger

  • miles
In sum, I was driving the above vehicle and about to make a right hand turn and there was a sudden jerk and the drivers side front of the vehicle had collapsed onto the ground. The drivers side lower ball joint had cracked causing the wheel to fall off and causing major body damage to the front end and the front fender. Also causing damage to the brake lines and the drive axle. This sudden crash also has caused soreness to my back and neck. On June 12, 2001 I had taken my vehicle to midway Dodge, 4747 S pulaski, Chicago il 60632, 773-376-8060 for recall #00V421002, which was for the inspection of the lower lateral arm ball joint for wear. I was told that my vehicle had passed the test designed for this recall and nothing was done. On 25jun01 my ball joints from my vehicle failed causeing the above damage and injuries.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #12

Jun 252001

Avenger

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Consumer had recall 00V421002 lower ball joint boot, done on 12 June 2001. Dealer did not replace ball joint. On 25 June 2001 while driving 5 mph driver side of vehicle dropped. Dealer had to replace broken ball joint.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #11

May 042001

Avenger

  • miles
Consumer took vehicle into dealer to have recall 99V066003 repairs done. Consumer was informed by dealership that unknown component next to lower contral arm ball joint was torn and is not included in recall. Please provide any additional information/attachments.

- St. Louis, MO, USA

problem #10

Nov 012000

(reported on)

Avenger

  • miles
Recalled lower ball joint (99V-066) failure was the possible cause of accident which occured prior to recall notification, the cause of the accident was never determined due to other circumstances. Nlm

- Sacramento, CA, USA

problem #9

Oct 242000

(reported on)

Avenger

  • miles
After recall repair 99V-066 of the lower ball joint the consumer was driving down the road when the front axle fell off without warning, the vehice was towed back to the dealer where consumer was told that the problem was related to the recall (attorney for client). Nlm

- New Haven, CT, USA

Read the next 8 complaints »