10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
5 / 0
Average Mileage:
121,759 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

The NHTSA is the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints can be spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem. See the Back button — blue bar at the very top of the page — to explore more.

Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2000 Dodge Dakota:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

problem #5

Mar 272016

Dakota

  • 0 miles
Complaint #10734989 7-19-2015.no response from you. Calling and sending E mails since October 2013 not just your department! no one will help. You, Dodge or the person when I was sitting on the side of 71S. & promised someone would call me back - oh it was Friday afternoon and everyone was leaving work! no one will help me resolve this.do I and have to get killed before anyone will start to listen! purchased this vehicle in July 2010.when driving at a speed of 65, long distance the engine light comes on, slows me down to 45. The engine makes the loudest whinning (like something is stuck under the hood) like it wants to blow up!!!pull over - wait til the light goes off. Temperature gauges do not show overheating. I've started replacing parts.still light comes on and slows me down to 45 I actually am very upset about no one helping me. I was told to take to dealer when it does it..I did and they can't find anything wrong because light is now off to drive it there. They tell me to leave it and they will go thru it. "I don't have the money to have them do this" my life as well as my grandchildren, father, me and anyone that I have had in this car is at risk. Being on the side of the expressways or exit ramps waiting for this light to go off with semi's, cars, flying by. People are driving off roads with distracted driving hitting people parked on the side. I don't want to be a fatality! my grandchildren were in the back seat and I was parked along I96. My father (alz) was in the car while I was parked on US23. My husband and I...when do I get help. When someone is dead. Please please is it the cvt!!! I don't know anymore.... I was depending on you to help me or Dodge. I have to drive to nc and I am actually scared to drive the distance.

- Uniontown, OH, USA

problem #4

Dec 012006

Dakota 6-cyl

  • 118,795 miles
The contact owns a 2000 Dodge Dakota. The contact stated that when the ignition was turned to the on position, steam appeared from the vents. The failure recurred several times. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the heating coil spring needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The VIN was unavailable. The approximate failure mileage was 118,795. Updated 02/10/16;updated 04/30/18

- Wakeeney, KS, USA

problem #3

Sep 102015

Dakota

  • 224,000 miles
I was slowing down to turn into my driveway and the other vehicle was speeding and took a curve to fast and crossed the center line and hit head on. The driver side air bag did not deploy properly and the passenger side airbag was busted when it was deployed. The steering wheel inner componets came out with the airbag which did not inflate and caused injury to my chest area. The passenger side airbag deployed but was busted and caused my daughter to get a broken arm. I believe this was a default in the airbag system in my truck. My two youngest children were taken to the hospital by ambulance.

- Verona, MO, USA

problem #2

Nov 202013

Dakota

  • 126,000 miles
While driving car, turn signals stopped working, all fuses and relays and new turn signal have been replaced, and turn signals still not working, since this happened it still has not been working. Also at idle, car revs up to 2000 RPM, and drops back to normal idle, this problem happens at any speed or at idle. Car was tuned up, and no codes found. But still revs up at times.

- Bayville, NJ, USA

problem #1

Feb 122014

Dakota 4WD 8-cyl

  • 140,000 miles
The contact owns a 2000 Dodge Dakota. The contact stated the engine failed. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic. The technician diagnosed that the engine was faulty and needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 140,000. Updated 12/30/14 updated 05/27/2015

- Towanda, PA, USA