10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 9
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
111,427 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

The NHTSA is the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints can be spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem. See the Back button — blue bar at the very top of the page — to explore more.

Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Dodge Durango:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #264

Sep 152015

Durango

  • 120,000 miles
I have had this SUV for just a few months the day I mad my first payment it went into the shop to be fixed. At first it was apparently my #5 piston shot thru the block with only 120,000 mile on it. Than after spending the $3,700 to get that fixed it was still smoking and having issues. Next thing I know it is now the intake manifold whitch was another $700 and it was 84 in back order when I seen that I pulled it up online were I read that thousans and thousands of people have had this same problem with the first year of the hemi motor in the Durango. I have three small children and I support my kids and husband due to his spine surgerys. I feel if there has been this many parts go bad that it should have a recall with it. I cant afford to keep putting money in something that is still not going to drive properly with my children in it. It has shut off while driving the SUV. It is not safe for my kids to be in im afraid they will be hurt or killed if it happens again. Dodge needs to do the right thing and have thiss recalled as soon as they can. The vechile turned off while on a street thank god it was not on the free way.

- Grove City, OH, USA

problem #263

Oct 102015

Durango

  • 160,131 miles
Just purchased this vehicle two months ago from dealer in NJ. We had a hard rain about a month ago, and the Durango wouldn't start immediately. I turned it over again a few hours later and it started with a hard rumble, but it started up. It drove fine for about a month, and just as the wife and I were leaving a gas station, we drove about fifty feet and heard a loud bang. Smoke was coming out of the passenger side of the engine, and the Durango was making a noise like metal was rolling around in the engine. I stopped the car, pulling over to the side of the road. I looked under the Durango and saw oil dripping out from the engine. I got under the car to inspect it a little further and saw a dime size hole in the engine block. I got the car towed back to my home as it was Saturday and the mechanic was not open. The tow truck driver told me that this was the third Durango he picked up that day. Not saying that all of the other cars were towed because a blown engine, but you get the idea. Dealer wouldn't warranty vehicle because of mileage. I couldn't get anyone to warranty the Durango because of the mileage being over 150000. Now im told I will have to buy a remanned/new engine for this clunker. I will be making a complaint to the manufacturer. I know it may not go anywhere. I have read all of the complaints here and on the internet, forums, etc. All the result of blown engines due to "hydro-locking", and the wiper cowl defect were water would get into the engine during heavy rains or car washes. I hope our government would intervene on behalf of its citizens and force Chrysler to issue a recall or at least be responsible for a defect that they created, but I won't hold my breath. My Durango currently has 160131 miles on it, and I guess it's gonna stay that way now because it can't move, and I still owe money on a SUV that I cannot drive. NHTSA do the right thing.

- Wappingers Falls, NY, USA

problem #262

Sep 282015

Durango

  • miles
Bought this vehicle 3 months ago with just 52000 miles and running in good condition. During the weekend of 25th of September 2015 it rained and upon trying to turn on the vehicle to go to work on Monday as usual, the motor/engine was hydrolocked. Water had seeped into the cylinders and the motor suffered failure and broke rods. I had installed the newly redesigned cowl vent grille that was supposed to prevent this, but it didn't work. Dodge company is very well aware of their bad engineering but won't recall the vehicles and protect their customers. I just lost over $9000 dollars in investment, including taxes for $700 + getting the vehicle registration, inspected, tags, etc. The vehicle wasn't in motion when this happened. It was parked. Not even their redesigned cowl vent grille prevents hydrolock, water from leaking into the intake manifold, from happening.

- New York, NY, USA

problem #261

Jul 072015

Durango

  • miles
Consumer stated that he filed a pro-SE lawsuit against fca us llc that he will be mailing the complete lawsuit and other supporting documents to substantiate his complaints in regards to issuing recalls. The consumer stated his issue involved a defective cowl panel, which allowed water to penetrate the spark plugs and engine combustion cylinders causing it to hydrolock and/or throw a rod. The damages cost the consumer $8,900.

- Salem, VA, USA

problem #260

Sep 102015

Durango

  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Dodge Durango. The contact stated that there was excessive smoke coming from the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where the motor was replaced, but the failure recurred. The contact mentioned that the original owner previously replaced the motor. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the intake manifold needed to be replaced, but the part was on back order. The contact was placed on a waiting list where the vehicle was number ninety-five. The vehicle was not repaired due to the part being on back order. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was not available.

- Grove City, OH, USA

problem #259

Jun 262015

Durango

  • 166,000 miles
After an overnight rainstorm, vehicle was started and driven approximately 1/4 mile when the engine threw a rod through the engine block. We had had issues prior to this of the vehicle not starting after a rain event. It would start after drying out. Thought it was the starter and had the starter replaced twice. I just replaced the engine with a used engine that with parts and labor cost me $4,800. I see that this is a somewhat common issue with this vehicle and wanted to be on record.

- Salisbury, MO, USA

problem #258

Aug 192015

Durango

  • 229,500 miles
This complain involve several issues that constantly happens. The first issue is that the interior lights and instrument panel lights illuminated intermittently and I can hear a buzzing sound when it does this. The second is that the battery dies and I have to jump start or charge it manually most days. Third, every day I have to pour coolant into my radiator because there is a leak somewhere either the water pump or radiator. Fourth, when it rains, water gets inside via the door seams. Fifth, then my radio/dvd player stopped working and I had to pull the fuse because it would not turn off. Sixth, my head lights goes very dim and even sometimes shut off. This is very scary in the middle of the night coming home from work. Seventh issue involves the engine stalling on several occasions, mostly when it's pouring down raining.

- Groveland, FL, USA

problem #257

Aug 052015

Durango 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 98,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Dodge Durango. While driving at various speeds, the vehicle shook before suddenly shutting off. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The failure occurred on multiple occasions during rain weather conditions. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 98,000. Updated 11/06/15 the consumer stated the repair garage stated the vehicle needed spark plugs, coils and wires. However, another establishment stated everything was ok. Updated 12/10/15.

- Powell, WY, USA

problem #256

May 202015

Durango

  • miles
One random day..as I started my Durango, it started making a fast clicking sound from the engine. Seems to driver and idle fine, but it isn't a normal sound since I have had this Durango a while and never heard it till now. To find out its on the passenger side..been told its the exhaust manifold. Takes a few mins, but goes away about 90%.the colder it is outside the worst and louder the noise is.I searched online about this and looks like I am not the only one and supriseing its not a recall. I was told by a shop I have a broken stud bolt and will cost.1200-2000. I don't have that kinda money.so is there a way I could get help getting this fixed? because it is possible it could mess up the piston on that side of the loos manifold. Also received a letter that I have a recall for the driver airbag inflator..waiting for my dealer to call me back for a appointment.

- Lexington, KY, USA

problem #255

May 102015

Durango

  • 107,000 miles
Engine making noise at start up. Had it looked at by several mechanics, including the local Dodge dealer. Said it is probably piston. Had valve covers and heads taken off for possible stuck lifter and found plenty of rust etc. That would indicate water in motor. Several people indicated this is an issue with this model and make with leaking cowling at windshield leaking water onto motor in bad spots causing this failure. Should not be needing new motor at 107K.

- Federal Way , WA, USA

problem #254

Aug 212015

Durango

  • 143,000 miles
Aug 21 @ 1030am. My fiancÉ, our daughter and I were about to leave our home. I went to the car and strapped our daughter into her car seat while my fiancÉ had bags at the front of our apartment building. Turned on the car it struggled to turn over, went clunk clunk clunk. I turned it off. Called my fiancÉ to come up to our parking spot to have a look. He couldn't see anything immediately. Called a tow but in the meantime a friend who knows a bit about cars came by, looked under the car and found pieces of the engine as well as leaking engine oil under the car. The discussion was that it had blown a rod and the engine was done. At this point in time I can't afford to get it worked on, so it is still sitting in the same place. The description is so similar to other reports of a rod going through the engine block. Luckily we weren't on the road driving when it happened and everyone is safe. For a problem like this that is obviously recurring due to the engines being defective how can Dodge not still be responsible.

- Nyack, NY, USA

problem #253

Apr 012012

Durango

  • miles
I have been battling with my 2004 Dodge Durango 5.7L hemi for years now. Every time it would rain heavy, my vehicle acted as if it were going to die. It would get very jumpy, and I felt like I had to fight it to keep going. If I got stopped by a light or stop sign, it was horrible. My engine light would come on and sometimes stay on for a day or two. I brought it to different mechanics who could only fine a cylinder misfire when the engine light was actually still on. It seemed like it always went off as soon as I was able to get it to the mechanic. The mechanics were not able to recreate the problem I was having in order to view what the vehicle was doing. I had numerous plugs changed and nothing helped. It has since gotten worse, yet no one can figure it out. It now happens if I take it to the car wash. They are not able to start it after it comes out. They have to try a few times before they can get it going. I decided to do my own research to see if there are any others out there with this issue. I was surprised to find all the information I did and yet no mechanic can find a solution. I came to read about the hydrolock issue on this model. After reading all these complaints by everyone else, I can't believe there wouldn't be a recall on this! I have lived with this issue for at least 3 years dreading every time it rains heavy. It makes me panicked to drive my vehicle in any rain knowing the outcome of all these other people. I can't believe that Dodge just let this go on, especially after all the complaints. I have 190,000 miles on it now, it is full of rust (which is another issue that should have been resolved...I have seen so many Durangos with rust on the back door by the chrome above the license plate. It starts out as bubbling and just rusts away into big holes), and there is no point to replace the engine. This issue should be addressed by Dodge.

- Plainfield, IL, USA

problem #252

Jul 152015

Durango

  • 98,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Dodge Durango. The contact stated that while driving at 40 mph, the engine warning light illuminated, the vehicle violently shook and stalled. The contact discovered that the cowl screen needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 98,000. The VIN was not available.

- Powell, WY, USA

problem #251

Aug 042015

Durango

  • miles
We purchased a 2004 Dodge Durango slt 4X4 sport utility 4-door about a year ago. We noticed that when we went through a car wash it would stall out. It progressively got worse and every time it rained it would stall out. Yesterday (8/4/2015) it started to make a loud clunky noise. The engine hydro-locked and we noticed oil dripping all over. We are lucky that this did not happen while we were driving or someone could have gotten seriously hurt or even worse killed. Now we have a vehicle we are still making payments on and can't even drive. We don't have the money to fix it.

- Fort Wayne, IN, USA

problem #250

Jul 032011

Durango

  • 107,000 miles
My 2004 Durango had sat for 2 days in rainy weather. When attempting to start there was a loud bang or clunk. I attempted to start it again and when it started there was a loud tapping noise. I immediately shut it off. I looked around and under the car found a puddle of oil as well as 3 pieces of iron,1with a Chrysler symbol molded into it. Apparently the engine hydro locked and threw a piston rod through the block. I had it towed to my local mechanic and he verified this was the case. Checking various forums this is a common problem with 04 Durangos with 5.7 hemis. Many many incidents some while driving were reported. Weak engine components as well as a poorly designed windshield cowl has contributed to the problem, which Chrysler has denied. This is a safety issue as it could happen at any time at any speed. I hope something can be done. Dodge should be held accountable for a poorly designed engine and cowl. Thank you

- Pittsburgh, PA, USA

problem #249

May 052014

Durango

  • 140,000 miles
The engine hydro-locked breaking 2 rods and blowing a hole through the engine block. Caused the vehicle to lose all power and my wife drove off of the road. Luckily she did not hit anything or get injured. The vehicle needed an engine replacement. The local Dodge dealership was familiar with the issue as it turns out to be very common with this year vehicle. The windshield dam that directs rain water away from the engine is poorly designed and it allows water to flow right onto the motor. Over time the water rusts and rots the intake manifold bolts eventually allowing the water to flow into the engine causing hydro-lock. This is an issue that Chrysler should have taken responsibility for but instead they have not. My wife could have been killed and it cost me $6,000 to replace the motor.

- Brentwood, NH, USA

problem #248

Jul 192015

Durango

  • 124,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Dodge Durango. While driving 50 mph, the vehicle made an abnormal rattling chain sound. In addition, the contact smelled smoke coming from the engine. The vehicle was towed to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the lower part of the engine block failed due to a hole in the rod. The engine needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 124,000.

- Centervalley , PA, USA

problem #247

Jul 032015

Durango

  • 116,000 miles
When wife started vehicle sounded like hammers in engine results was total engine failure.

- Parma Heights, OH, USA

problem #246

Jul 012015

Durango

  • 199,990 miles
When it rains the vehicle starts to "chug". when I approach an intersection/ stop light or attempt to slow down the vehice will cut off. I then have no power and can not restart the vehicle for several minutes. Last week while going to cross the highway in the rain the vehcle cut off in the middle of the road. I was almost hit by oncoming traffic. I have taken it to 2 mechanics and they can not find the problem. It has happened several times over the years but has gotten much worse. I have just been made aware of this site to file a complaint.

- Machipongo, VA, USA

problem #245

Jun 222015

Durango

  • 140,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Dodge Durango. While driving 55 mph, the contact heard a popping noise coming from the vehicle. The contact pulled over to the side of the road and noticed oil leaking under the front end. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic where it was diagnosed that a spring from inside the motor snapped and the engine needed to be replaced or rebuilt. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 140,000.

- Sioux City, IA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »