10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
7,429 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

The NHTSA is the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints can be spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem. See the Back button — blue bar at the very top of the page — to explore more.

Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 1996 Dodge Grand Caravan:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

problem #42

Jan 022007

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 140,000 miles
- the contact's vehicle was taken to the dealer for recall 00V268000 repairs. The dealer told the contact that the recall repairs had already been made on the vehicle per recall requirements. This repair was done on December 11, 2006. On January 2, 2007 after driving approximate 6 miles the driver smelled gas fumes so he drove the vehicle back home. The contact stated that the gas fumes killed 14 of the birds that were housed in his garage. The contact opened the hood and gas was leaking. The contact stated that he had noticed the vehicle was using more gas than it had previously. The vehicle was still slowly leaking gas 24 hours after he originally noticed the leak. The contact stated that the vehicle was not drivable and he has not yet contacted the dealer. The contact stated the check engine light was on. Updated 2/6/2007 - updated 03/21/07

- Huntertown, IN, USA

problem #41

Oct 142003

Grand Caravan

  • Automatic transmission
  • 172,000 miles
While fueling gasoline spilled out from the bottom portion of the fuel tank. An independent mechanic determined that the O-ring snapped off, causing the gasoline to leak.

- Milton, FL, USA

problem #40

Feb 202003

(reported on)

Grand Caravan

  • miles
After the recall was performed regarding the fuel rail seal, the vehicle started to misfire, the dealer refused to look at the vehicle without charging consumer.

- Olmaha, NE, USA

problem #39

Mar 282002

Grand Caravan

  • miles
Vehicle is leaking fuel from the sealing O ring. Dealer was not notified at this time. Feel free to provide any further information.

- Stanton, MI, USA

problem #38

Apr 102002

Grand Caravan

  • miles
Consumer received recall (00V268000) notice for fuel rail replacement. Recall notice stated that replacement would take up to 1 and 1/2 hours, however, dealership took up to 6 hours to repair. Also consumer is requesting paper work for state inspection that was performed on vehicle.

- Lorena, TX, USA

problem #37

Feb 272002

Grand Caravan

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The consumer received a recall notice (00V268000) but parts were not available and the dealer had no idea when the parts would be available.

- Tucson, AZ, USA

problem #36

Apr 052002

(reported on)

Grand Caravan

  • miles
The consumer received a recall notice on the fuel rail, but the parts were on back order and the dealer could not complete recall repairs.

- Little Silver, NJ, USA

problem #35

Jul 022002

(reported on)

Grand Caravan

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Even after fuel rail recall 00V268000 and replacement of fuel line at elbo, more items of replacement, including tank, were necessary to stop leaks.

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #34

Jun 012001

Grand Caravan

  • miles
Consumer received recall 00V268, however vehicle had failures prior to receiving the notification, consumer states vehicle started losing power and would not go over 20 mph, dealer informed consumer that not only did the fuel rail assembly need replacing, but the engine needed to be replaced as well.

- Orland Park, IL, USA

problem #33

May 062002

Grand Caravan

  • miles
Vehicle was leaking fuel in driveway. Consumer received recall 0V26800 for fuel leak. Took vehicle to dealer, and they replaced seal., but recall letter stated if fuel was leaking fuel rail assembly would be replaced.

- Orange, CA, USA

problem #32

Feb 252002

Grand Caravan

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Recall 00 V 268 000/fuel leakage: Dealer: Ed moses Dodge, scottdale, AZ; phone 480-607-8584 was unable to honor recall repairs, no parts available.. consumer stated the parts were finally replaced on May 16, 2002.

- Scottdale, AZ, USA

problem #31

Mar 282002

Grand Caravan

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
NHTSA 00 V 268 000/ manufacturers recall 895 concerning fuel leakage. Dealer, super store greenville, greenville, mi, phone# 616/754-3635 unable to honor manufacturers recall, no parts available.

- Stanton, MN, USA

problem #30

Apr 102002

(reported on)

Grand Caravan

  • miles
I was notified of recall the forst week of March. I have been calling since then to schedule repair. Local dealer name above has not received parts needed to make repair. I call daimler chysler who contacted dealer. Daimler told me the dealer had been ordering incorrectly and it would be corrected. The dealer now tells me the parts are on back order with no expected release date available. The recall notice I received said to : "simply contact your dealer right away" that "after extended use, the fuel rail crossover tube O-rings on your minivan may leak fuel...can result in an engine compartment fire." They made the repair sound terribly important yet I can't get the repair scheduled.

- Vancouver, WA, USA

problem #29

Apr 012002

(reported on)

Grand Caravan

  • miles
On waiting list for more than 48 days for fuel rail crossover tube O-rings replacement. Dealer cannot say where we are on the list, just that "you are in the pile." Notified DaimlerChrysler customer service, no assistance. Now turning to NHTSA for assistance.

- Stafford, VA, USA

problem #28

Mar 252002

(reported on)

Grand Caravan

  • miles
Got recall notice 00V268000/ manufacturer's recall 895 concerning fuel leakage. Called dealer to make an appointment. Was put on a waiting list because dealer stated manufacturer did not sent out more than 3 parts per month to fix recall.

- Magalia, CA, USA

problem #27

Feb 252002

Grand Caravan

  • miles
Consumer had taken vehicle to dealer for replacement of malfunctioned fuel injector. Had to be replaced twice.

- Mammoth Lakes, CA, USA

problem #26

Feb 252002

Grand Caravan

  • miles
Leakage in fuel rail. Had contacted dealer, but problem still there, and could not be fixed.

- Mammoth Lakes, CA, USA

problem #25

Feb 022002

Grand Caravan

  • miles
I discovered a leak on the front fuel rail on my 1996 Dodge Grand Caravan. Was informed prior to purchase in November 2001 that all recall issues had been resolved on this vehicle. The repair had never been done to the van, and I discovered the leak as the van idled in my driveway on 2-2-2002.

- Cottage Grove, WI, USA

problem #24

Dec 102001

Grand Caravan

  • miles
Fuel leakage via cracked fuel rail and O rings. Dealer states "no recall" so no "free" repairs.

- Fishers, IN, USA

problem #23

Dec 152001

Grand Caravan

  • miles
Contacted local dealer and they did not want to fix problem under recall even though aware recall notice coming out in January. Due to extreme hazardous conditions with planned trip of boy scouts immediate repairs necessary by local mechanic.

- Bradenton, FL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »