10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
83,765 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

The NHTSA is the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints can be spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem. See the Back button — blue bar at the very top of the page — to explore more.

Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2000 Dodge Grand Caravan:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

problem #17

Jul 282010

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • 1,400,003 miles
Anti lock brakes wouldn't turn on, as a result I got into a fender bender.

- Ramsey, MN, USA

problem #16

Jan 302002

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • 24,000 miles
Anti-lock brake pulsated violently. There was a service bulletin for this condition, however, dealership claimed too many miles on vehicle to perform repairs.

- Boynton Beach, FL, USA

problem #15

Aug 192002

Grand Caravan

  • miles
When trying to apply brakes brake pedal will go to the floor, causing extended stopping distance. Dealer notified.

- Lexington, KY, USA

problem #14

Jul 012002

Grand Caravan

  • miles
1st incident: John elway Dodge service on 12/27/2000 for final inspection from the sale. Asked to check rattle in the front right dash and the brakes, which acted soft. No paperwork was given. 2nd time occurred 11/13/2001: The brake problems reported to john elway Dodge service, unable to get in before 2+ weeks. Brought to christopher's Dodge world, Inc. 16655 w. colfax ave. Golden, co 80401 303-238-7311. Stated that the brakes failed when tried to stop (petal felt like it went to the floor, but yet the van did not stop.) also complained about the rattle in the dash and engine vibration at idle. Invoice #24497 which states each complaint and the findings a) engine vibration - unable to duplicate customers complaint. B) rattle noise in R/dash - cause: Replaced belt and tensioner and repositioned fuel lines. C) brakes - clean, inspect, and adjust rear brakes. D) the transmission needed to be serviced- but my wife declined. The bill was $62 and the mileage was 13362. The 3rd time @ a week prior to 1/10/2002. Complained the brakes when driving on dry ground will act as if the ABS is working, the vehicle seems to have a soft petal and not stop the vehicle properly. Findings: A) transmission - not due for service until 40K (fluid confirmed by service manager at my wife's request due to last service at christopher' Dodge.) B) brakes- found to be operating normal. Mileage was 15747. The fourth time June 2002- pushed on brakes but went through stop sign. The 5th time 7/1/02 under 15 mph pressed on brakes, foot felt like it went to the floor not stopping, pumped brakes twice then pushed again felt like foot to the floor hit from behind. Driver stated that the brake lite flickered once, van still going then brake lite on when hit. No damage, no major injuries (wife's right collar bone red) 2 toddlers and 2 adults in van. Called john elway- van in next day. Miles 22772. Findings: Could not verify concern at this time. Chrysler inspects same findings. Van at john elway.*

- Lakewood, CO, USA

problem #13

Jun 032002

Grand Caravan

  • miles
The entire braking system is insufficient for a vehicle of this weight. These mini vans simply will not stop unless braking components are new and cool. After nominal low speed city driving, the braking system suffers severe fading. I seriously doubt if the system, when warm, has enough muscle to lock the tires if the antilock system were to be temporarily disabled or disconnected. NHTSA engineers: Test these brakes warm with the antilock defeated. They are not strong enough to lock the tires! the manufacturer has "hidden" and anemic braking system with the antilock.

- Seminole, FL, USA

problem #12

Feb 232002

(reported on)

Grand Caravan

  • miles
After having the car for a few months my wife started complaining about the brakes. I thought it was her. Eventually she brought the vehicle to the dealer to be checked. They replaced master cylinder 7/31/01. On August 29 2001 she brought it to them again for brake problem. They bled and adjusted the system. On 2/10/02 my wife comes into the door and says she can't drive the car. There is a loud grinding noise. It was towed to the nearest dealer. They said that the front brakes were worn to backing plates and there is no to little tread left on the front tires. We declined them doing the repairs. We brought it to king bear. They told us it needed new rotors. We had them cut the rotors and put new pads on. We brought it back to the dealer we bought it from on 2/20/02. I felt it was ridiculous that the brakes, rotors and tires all needed replacing at 19,000 miles and wanted the brake system checked. They said it is normal brake operation. We bought a Dodge minivan in 1990. We replaced front and rear brakes at 48,878 miles. We put 4 new tires on at 50,000 miles. We replaced front and rear brakes at 82,190 miles. Replaced 4 tires at 108,520 miles. Repaced front rotors and pads at 108,537 miles. My brother has a 1998 Dodge pickup and just replaced the brakes at 48,000 miles. Can you help us? (tiresize: P215/65R15)

- Medford, NY, USA

problem #11

Nov 292000

Grand Caravan

  • miles
Summary: Since November 2000 my 2000 Dodge Grand Caravan has been in the shop 7 times related to the brake system failing. Three of those times the master cylinder was replaced. The most recent occurance was November 16th. They are once again failing. The following is the timeline of repairs: 11/29/00 mckinney Dodge, 15,396 miles, master cylinder replaced, front brake rotors re-machined; 02/06/01 @ 19,224 miles, system "slushy"- brakes bled; 02/28/01 @ 20,334 miles, system "slushy"- brakes bled; 03/03/01@ 20, 527 master cylinder replaced; 04/17/01, benson Dodge, 22,097 miles, system "slushy" brakes bled; 04/16/01 daimler/chrylser contacted, ref # 8524982; 11/16/01 @ 32, 328 miles, master cylinder replaced; 11/16/01 daimler/Chrysler contacted, ref # 9367556; 11/19/01 @ 32,500, returned to benson Dodge, master cylinder leaking fluid; 01/07/02 daimler Chrysler contacted, ref# 9519579. The vehicle is going to benson Dodge tomorrow (01/08/02) once again for the same problem. The brake system is once again "slushy" and the pedal is gradually going to the floor.

- Greenville, SC, USA

problem #10

Jan 012002

Grand Caravan

  • miles
Consumer is having problems with brakes, resulting in extended stopping distance. Consumer has taken vehicle to the dealership three times already to get brake pads replaced.

- Oakland, CA, USA

problem #9

Sep 122001

Grand Caravan

  • miles
Extended distance when braking for stoplight. First time left vehicle in the intersection(8/15/01). Second time brakes made a chatter noise and pulled to the left, was able to stop after stepping on brakes three times. Dealer unable to identify a problem after first inspection.

- Gilbert, AZ, USA

problem #8

Aug 262001

Grand Caravan

  • miles
While pulling out of driveway brake system locked up and prevented movement of vehicle. Consumer then shut vehicle off, and turned it back on, which allowed brakes to release and vehicle to move. Dealership has not examined vehicle. Please provide any additional information/attachments.

- Dowagiac, MI, USA

problem #7

Apr 132001

Grand Caravan

  • miles
Brake failure while applying brake at a low speed, vehicle would not stop. No sign of failure was given. Dealer notified, and was unable to duplicate problem. Feel free to provide any further details on this matter.

- Eden Prairie, MN, USA

problem #6

Mar 282001

Grand Caravan

  • miles
Traveling 25 mph-brakes made loud chatter... pedal stiff, stopped 2 car lengths past stop sign. Dealer can not duplicate, so says "nothing is wrong."

- Longview, WA, USA

problem #5

Mar 232001

(reported on)

Grand Caravan

  • miles
On 3 occasions at low speeds and taking off from a stop brakes did not respond and failed. Dealer has inspected vehicle 3 times, but could not determine cause.

- Bonney Lake, WA, USA

problem #4

Feb 212001

Grand Caravan Diesel

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
While driving could step on the brakes pedal and brakes will grind like metal to metal. Rotors and pads had to be replaced.

- Bay Point, CA, USA

problem #3

Jan 152001

Grand Caravan

  • miles
No summary listed for above vehicle.

- Billerica, MA, USA

problem #2

Feb 082001

Grand Caravan

  • miles
While driving could step on the brakes pedal to stop and brakes will start making noise, and will skip. Rotors had to be fixed four times.

- Concord, CA, USA

problem #1

Oct 172000

Grand Caravan

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Consumer was traveling about 35mph on highway and went to apply brakes and there was a loud streaking noise. He took vehicle to the dealership. Mechanic told him that brakes and rotors were bad. Dealership replaced the brakes. The customer states that recall on rotors and brakes is over due because the problem had existed and the manufacturer is aware of it since 1996.

- Jamesville, WI, USA