10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 5
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
73,948 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

The NHTSA is the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints can be spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem. See the Back button — blue bar at the very top of the page — to explore more.

Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2000 Dodge Intrepid:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #211

Feb 012008

Intrepid

  • 94,361 miles
I bought my 2000 Dodge Intrepid in October of 2000. Within 2 years I had the inner tie rods and weather stripping/door trim replaced. Whenever I would take my car in for an oil change every 3000 miles, the mechanic would notify me of sludge build up. Now the engine is gone. Beyond repair with only 94,000 mile left on the car. This was just after I paid to replace an evaporator coil that was leaking and the inner tie rods for the second time. I also paid over $200 to replace the weather stripping for the second time. I have replaced a radiator that was leaking and a shift cable that had seized up preventing my car from shifting into gear. I figure those were due to normal wear and tear but the engine is what really blows my mind with such low miles and regular maintanence. Please help.

- Orlando, FL, USA

problem #210

Jun 202008

Intrepid

  • 122,541 miles
Had mild tapping sound from engine a few months ago, took vehicle to the mechanic and that is where I learned the reputation of the 2.7 liter engine. He advised that we should look for another vehicle before we became the latest victim. Unfortunately, on the way home from work one afternoon the engine started developing an even more pronounced clattering, knock and vibration; as if it were about to tear itself apart. Pulled over to avoid subjecting engine to even more damage. Had to have it towed home. Will not spend another dollar on this vehicle until Chrysler hands me a check from a lawsuit settlement.

- Suwanee, GA, USA

problem #209

Jun 202008

Intrepid

  • 70,000 miles
Engine and transmission and A/C failure of Dodge Intrepids.

- Mobile, AL, USA

problem #208

Sep 062007

Intrepid

  • 189,762 miles
Need assistance in repair to my 2000 Dodge Intrepid. I was told about the lawsuit against Chrysler caused by bad engines. My Intrepid has a 2.7 liter engine. I was current on all my oil changes, it started off smoking all the time even after oil changes, knocking noises, also experienced bad driver side window. The lawsuit was told to me by a mechanic, and was also stated that Chrysler would reimburse the value of the car, or repair car need to hear from someone asap!!!! thank you

- Indianapolis, IN, USA

problem #207

May 052008

Intrepid 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 103,780 miles
The contact owns a 2000 Dodge Intrepid. The contact stated that while attempting to make a left hand turn the engine stalled. She had the vehicle towed to a local mechanic. The mechanic informed the contact that there was a build up of sludge in the engine. She then contacted the dealer and they were unable to provide any assistance because the vehicle is no longer under warranty. The vehicle has not been repaired as of current date. The failure and current mileage was 103780. (SC) updated 07/29/08. Updated 08/06/08

- Lamirada, CA, USA

problem #206

May 202008

Intrepid

  • 130,400 miles
The contact owns a 2000 Dodge Intrepid. While driving between 65-70 mph, the contact's son noticed smoke coming from the vehicle. He attempted to pull over, but the brakes malfunctioned and would not stop properly. The contact was forced to coast to a stop. He exited the vehicle and notified the police. Flames began to appear from under the engine and hood. The police and fire departments arrived, stabilized the fire, and towed the vehicle. The insurance company then towed the vehicle to their salvage yard to investigate. The contact has still not heard back from the insurance company. A police report was filed. The current and failure mileages were 130,400.

- Metropolis, IL, USA

problem #205

Jul 012007

Intrepid 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 141,389 miles
The contact owns a 2000 Dodge Intrepid. While driving 25 mph on a dirt road and slowing for a stop sign, the engine shut off. Everything else in the vehicle remained on. The vehicle was towed to a mechanic, who stated that the engine seized and the head gaskets sucked up all the oil. There was still oil in the engine, but not enough, which caused a rod to blow. The current and failure mileages were 141,389. Updated 07/15/08. Updated 07/15/08

- Oxford, MI, USA

problem #204

May 062008

Intrepid

  • 82,000 miles
The contact owns a 2000 Dodge Intrepid. While driving 55 mph, the engine failed and the vehicle lost power and steering ability. The vehicle would not restart. The contact was able to coast to the side of the road. There were no warning indicators prior to the failure. The vehicle will have to be towed. The VIN was unknown. The current and failure mileages were 82,000.

- Niles, OH, USA

problem #203

May 012007

Intrepid

  • 83,000 miles
The contact owns a 2000 Dodge Intrepid. After a few months of owning the vehicle, it began to make rattling noises when driving beyond 40 mph. The contact took the vehicle to the dealer and was informed that the tensioner snapped due to built up oil sludge. He later discovered that this was a common failure among that make and model of vehicle. The dealer offered to replace the engine with the same type of engine, but the contact believed that the failure would eventually recur. The vehicle is currently at his residence and has not been repaired. The failure mileage was 83,000.

- Indianapolis, IN, USA

problem #202

Apr 212008

Intrepid

  • 117,000 miles
The contact owns a 2000 Dodge Intrepid. While driving 35 mph, the engine hesitated, but did not stall. The contact pulled over and the vehicle stalled. She had to make several attempts in order to restart the vehicle. Once it was started, she could not drive far because the vehicle stalled once more. The vehicle was unable to be restarted and was towed to her residence. A mechanic stated that the failure was common with that vehicle, but it has yet to be inspected by a mechanic or dealer. The vehicle is currently at the contact's home and has not been repaired. The failure mileage was 117,000.

- Prescott, MI, USA

problem #201

Feb 072008

Intrepid 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 143,378 miles
I have a 2000 Dodge Intrepid and I bought it from extreme Dodge in jackson mi in 2001. In June 2005 I was driving and it started make this awful noise so I pulled of into a parking lot and turned it off called my husband and when he got there the car wouldn't start so we had the car towed home and had our mechanic come over to check it out and he told us the timing chain when out. So we bought the parts and had him take care of it. Then I drove it for about 6 months and it happened again so this time we took it to the dealer and had them fix it this time. Again drove it for about 18 months and now it is broke down again same thing. I cant afford to keep putting timing chains in this car every 8 to 10 months at 1,800 to 2,300 dollars a pop. And I hear so many people say how bad the interepids are known for this problems. Well I wish I would have know this before I bought the car because I never would have bought it.

- Jackson, MI, USA

problem #200

Apr 052008

Intrepid 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 118,000 miles
Purchased car last week (April of 08'). on my way home ( 100mi drive) from picking up car the motor started knocking then locked up in the middle of the interstate. Had to have car towed back to my dads house and are now trying to sale the car we just bought. It will be hard to sale a car with a locked up motor.

- Knoxville, TN, USA

problem #199

Apr 152005

Intrepid

  • Automatic transmission
  • 106,000 miles
The contact owns a 2000 Dodge Intrepid. While driving 65 mph, the vehicle totally lost power. The contact was nearly struck by a large truck. The vehicle was towed to a Chrysler dealer and the mechanic stated that the engine had a lot of oil sludge. The entire engine had to be replaced at the cost of $7,400. The manufacturer only offered to pay $1,000 of the repair cost. The contact feels that the manufacturer should cover the entire cost because this was a common failure among many consumers. The failure mileage was 106,000 and current mileage is 106,000. Updated 04/21/08

- New Carlisle, OH, USA

problem #198

Mar 212008

Intrepid 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 90,000 miles
The contact owns a 2000 Dodge Intrepid. While driving 60 mph, the engine failed and the contact pulled the vehicle off the road. The vehicle was towed to his residence. The contact experienced issues with the check engine light prior to the failure. A mechanic stated that a new engine was needed, which would cost approximately $2,000. The purchase date was unknown. The current mileage was 100,000 and failure mileage was 90,000.

- Kansas City, MO, USA

problem #197

Mar 122008

Intrepid 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 84,000 miles
Dodge Intrepid oil sludge and timing chain.

- South Lyon, MI, USA

problem #196

Oct 052007

Intrepid 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 100,000 miles
We bought a 2000 Dodge Intrepid, used, has 112K miles on it. Engine is ticking, about to blow a rod. My husband is a mechanic, he did some research on the engine and found the problem to be sludge build up. Jumped online and found tons of issues with these 2.7L engines. I've emailed, called, written letters to Chrysler / Dodge and have had no luck obtaining a response back from them. I think it's ridiculous that they created a disposable car. According to the previous owners, the engine began having heating problems, then the noise began around 95K, the parked the car and put it up for sale. That's when we bought it. We had planned on fixing it and then having another family vehicle. Now that we realize we'll have to sink about $2,000 or more into it, we're not happy.

- Elkhart, IN, USA

problem #195

Oct 122007

Intrepid 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 69,700 miles
Engine blew up.

- Kearney, NE, USA

problem #194

Dec 132007

Intrepid 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 96,137 miles
"sludge" engine failure.

- Louisville, KY, USA

problem #193

Jan 132007

Intrepid

  • miles
Car exhibiting all symptoms that engine will fail--oil light comes on at stop lights, ac broken, radiator filled with sludge. I have a six year old daughter and will not our lives at stake driving a car that could potentially leave us stranded in the middle of rush hour traffic. Dodge refuses to even acknowledge these cars have oil sludge problems.

- Raleigh, NC, USA

problem #192

Sep 052007

Intrepid 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 102,000 miles
I got a loan on a 2000 Dodge Intrepid. It has been nothing but expense after expense. It didn't want to start, so I took to a Dodge service place. They said it was a crank shaft positioning sensor, which cost me $582 to have it fixed. Two weeks later it didn't want to start again. They said it was the cam shaft sensor, which cost me another $284 to have it fixed. Each time that the Dodge service department had the car, they supposedly did a 24 point inspection after fixing it, and it passed the inspection both times. So, a week and a half later, there was some really loud knocking sounds coming from the motor. The Dodge service place said that the whole lower unit on the engine is shot, so it needs either an overhaul or a new motor. I got some quotes over the phone to either fix the motor or replace the motor with a new motor. For overhauling the motor, which includes parts and labor, they want at least $4300. To put a new motor in they want $4600. I bought the car used for over $7000, not including the finance and interest charges. Now in order to fix the car, I would have to pay out a whole lot more than half of what the car cost to begin with. The Dodge service places say that the 2.7 motors are not made well, because they have too small of an opening for the oil to be dispersed correctly throughout the engine. My Intrepid only has 102,000 miles on it. So I am stuck paying for a car that cannot be driven, unless I want to be stranded somewhere. I still owe on the car, so I am paying payments and keeping insurance on a car I cannot afford to fix. Shouldn't there be a warning somewhere on these vehicles, about the chances of sludge build up causing the engine to fail" shouldn't Dodge stand behind their vehicles, and put some kind of recall on these motors? what are people like me to do? am I just suppose to pay and pay on a car that I would have to drive at my own risk, of the engine failing at any given moment"

- Liberty, MO, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »