10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 3
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
71,415 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

The NHTSA is the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints can be spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem. See the Back button — blue bar at the very top of the page — to explore more.

Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2000 Dodge Intrepid:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #151

Mar 242006

Intrepid 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 91,752 miles
2.7 liter engines in 2000 Dodge Intrepid without warning starts knocking then the engine lets go. This could happen at anytime or anywhere. Replace motor because the engine builds up sludge due to the oilier being to small.

- Jonesboro, AR, USA

problem #150

Nov 042005

Intrepid 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 127,816 miles
I bought my 2000 Dodge Intrepid in very good condition. Had all fluids changed on a regular basis. Started noticing bluish/gray smoke. Took vehicle to repair shop for diagnosis. Was unable to determine cause of problems. Was driving the car and had complete engine failure. Good thing I live in a small town, some one could have been seriously hurt! I had no idea this motor was this poorly engineered. Also know first hand of three other cases with this motor right here in my hometown. Sadly, I am unable to make the engine replacement at this time because I am still making payments on the vehicle.

- Clintwood, VA, USA

problem #149

Dec 242005

Intrepid 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 92,225 miles
I brought the vehicle on 9/14/2004. The vehicle stop functioning on December 21. The car wasn't functioning until June of 2005. To repair the car it cost $4,500, we had to change the motor. I took the vehicle to the dealership, Texas star motors in June. On December I left the car on Maryland mall, and the keys at the dealership so that they could go get the car. They knew that we were going to interchange cars. On December I went out of town and no one stayed in charge of the car. On the first week of January they said the car was ready but they didn't know where to locate me. When I showed to the dealership they were already selling the car to some other people. I talked to a salesperson at the dealership, but she didn't even know what car I had exchange. The car was insured until January. I couldn't interchange the car unless she paid two more years of insurance which I had already agreed to pay only one year. By the dealership the car cost $1,785. I wanted to interchange the car and give an down payment of $1000. The owner wanted me to give the $1000 and go exchange the car in a different dealership. If I waited the two years to make the interchange it would had been too long. I stop paying on December 29, 2005. The next payment was due on January 15 and they send a letter of late payment on January 14, which made no sense because the payment was not even due on that date yet.

- Galveston, TX, USA

problem #148

Jan 092006

Intrepid 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 80 miles
I drive a 2000 Dodge Intrepid. My car has 80,000 miles on it and has always been in good condition. I have a maintenance track record proving that I keep my oil changes and tuneups, etc up to date. On December 20th my car was hit and the persons at faults insurance company (progressive) agreed to fix it. On January 9th I was told that my car was repaired and ready for pickup. As I was driving home my car made this loud sound so I immediately called progressive to have them tow it because I didnt feel safe driving it and it never done anything like that before. Progressive took it to champion Chrysler to assess it I was told that my cars engine locked up while being tested by champion Chrysler. So this means that progressive had my car in their pocession for over a month and now my engines locked up and stuck at champion. Progressive says I did not maintain my car and they will not fix it because it was not their fault. I since then went to jiffy lube and got a print out and it shows I did keep my oils changes regularly and the car was in good shape. I have replaced the brakes, tires, power steering system. Over all it was considered to be in good condition. Now I am stuck champion wants $6,000 that I do not have and I do not feel I am liable for. My cars not fixed and I have no car to drive. I have a job, children that have to get to school and this has been a huge in convenience. I would like to know what am I supposed to do. Is this a car malfunction or who should be fixing my car?

- Indianapolis, IN, USA

problem #147

Apr 152005

Intrepid 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 75,000 miles
I purchased a used 2000 Dodge Intrepid in May 2003. In April of 2005 while turning a corner at a busy intersection car stalled in the middle of the intersection. Vehicle was towed to mechanic. I was told by my mechanic that I needed a new engine. He advised me to have the car towed to a junk yard because all Dodge engines were junk. I still owe $5000 for this car, and still required to maintain car insurance. It is sitting in storage. I could not afford to purchase a used or new engine. As a result, I have been without transportation for almost a year. I am a single parent on a fixed income. I now car pool and sometimes rent vehicles for transportation.

- Lansing, MI, USA

problem #146

Jan 182006

Intrepid 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 73,200 miles
I have a 2000 Dodge Intrepid with a 2.7 liter V6 engine that just turned 73,000 miles last week. On 1/18/06 was running errands when the engine light came on and approximately 20 seconds later the car shut down. It would not restart. I called aaa to have the car towed to the dealership and I called the dealership to let them know it was on its way in. The service rep. At the dealership called on Thursday morning for approval to replace (2) sensors in the engine (one dealing with the crank shaft) before they could even get the car started to determine what the engine noise was. I gave the okay for the $322 sensors to be installed and was told they would get back to me later. The service rep. Did call a short while later and said that I needed a new engine and that the cost would be $5,300 plus tax (this includes the two sensors)! I asked the rep. That if I had gotten the car in sooner if I could have avoided this problem. I was told that the timing chain or tooth or something could have shifted or broken inside the engine and that the small pieces of metal circulating inside would have caused irreversible damage in 12-15 miles so that there was nothing I could have done. When asked if this was normal for a car well maintained and with 73,000 miles on it, the service rep. Told me no. My husband called the owner of the dealership on Thursday and asked if anything could be done about the price. The owner told my husband that he would look into it and get back to him. On Friday the owner called and informed my husband that there was nothing he could do locally (after 50,000 miles the warranty is expired) and gave him a 1-800 number to call the daimler Chrysler customer assistance center. I have records of every service performed on this car. The oil has been changed every 3,000 miles and all maintenance, with the exception of new tire installation) has been performed at the dealership.

- Duquesne, PA, USA

problem #145

Oct 212005

Intrepid 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 98,500 miles
I am the owner of a 2000 Dodge Intrepid (2.7 model) while on my way to work my car began to make a strange ticking noise that grew louder I stop at a four way intersection to find out where the noise was coming from and that is when my car cut off and would not start back up and had to be towed to the dealership where the service manager after checking told me that my car slung a rod so to speak and would need a new engine an that a replacement would cost 4900 I am highly upset because I am still making payments on what I thought would be a decent american made car instead I am stuck with a piece of junk that still has not been fixed I will never buy another Dodge or Chrysler again.

- Waycross, GA, USA

problem #144

Dec 212005

Intrepid

  • miles
On 3/17/04 we had our 2000 Dodge Intrepid (mileage 45700 )2.7 liter engine repaired at iron river Chrysler, Inc.. they removed & replaced the timing chain tensioner reinstalled intake manifold & valve cover. I paid $703.91 for repairs. On 10/31/04 ( with 55260 miles) the chain tensioner failed again. Iron river Chrysler fixed it and this time it was covered under warranty. On 12/21/05 the car would not start and was towed to a different station. They told us it was the timing chain again. They called us a day later and told us the bolt that held the timing chain backed out and there was no loctite on the threads. When the bolt backed out the timing chain let loose and caused extensive damage to the valves and heads. We then went back to iron river Chrysler and told them about the car. They told us there are issues about the 2.7 liter engine which is in our car and that the timing chain was no longer under the 12,000 - 12 month warranty. I feel that this problem was due to the cause of negligence of iron river Chrysler garage.

- Caspian, MI, USA

problem #143

Dec 112005

Intrepid 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact stated engine locked while driving. He had the vehicle towed to the dealership. They dropped the oil pan and found the oil was sludge, and there were metal shavings from the bearings. They stated the problem was due to improper maintenance, although they were at the service center, where maintenance was performed. The vehicle needed a new engine, and no repairs were made due to the expense.

- West Plains, MO, USA

problem #142

Nov 182005

Intrepid 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 83,500 miles
I was on my way home, after work 6:30pm when my engine star sounding funny (tapping noise) then a loud noise, and the car stop, I'm not a mechanic so all I did was call a toll truck, and bring the car to the shop, the next day I got a call from the shop, they told me that the timing chain was broken and the valves bend, (I need a new engine) I was told that with labor and parts it'll be around $4500 dls. I pull the car out of the shop and bring this to my garage, where is been sitting for the last 2 weeks.

- Waukegan, IL, USA

problem #141

Nov 302005

Intrepid

  • 35,500 miles
The contact stated the engine stalled intermittently. This was an ongoing problem. The vehicle was taken into the dealership multiple times. They have been unable to duplicate the problem.

- Morgan Hill, CA, USA

problem #140

Oct 142005

Intrepid 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 50,300 miles
I was driving the car on a busy highway when the engine started to make a knocking noise. It stalled 2 times and then just died. I am disabled, a single mother of 2 and the car became uncontrollable for me to get it off to the side. We drifted down the road till we stopped at a better location. I called for a tow truck and help to get me and my 2 sons home. The car was towed to brown daub Dodge where it was purchased new. They said the engine failed and it would cost anywhere from 5,000 to 8,000 to repair. They blamed it on maintenance. The car had been very well maintained. The service manager told me you had to use a special oil (5W30) instead of 10W30 because of problems with the 2.7L engines. I checked my records and during the warranty period I took the car to them every 3,000 miles and they were using 10W30. The repair shop where I took my car to after the warranty was over was using 5W30 the correct oil. I am living on social security disability benefits to support myself and my 2 sons. I have no means of coming up with this money and should not have too. Chrysler should be held accountable for the notorious engine/transmission failures in these cars. I have a friend who use to work for Chrysler and said he couldn't work for a company where the were told to "say nothing" but what the told him to tell people in these situations. This could have been a potentially deadly accident for us. Brown daub will accept no liability for using the wrong oil and I contacted Chrysler and they won't do anything either. I am know under the emotional stress of being stranded without a car and have to rely on whatever help I can find to get myself to my doctor appts. To follow up on my disability and get my children where they need to be.

- Coplay, PA, USA

problem #139

Oct 112005

Intrepid 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 91,000 miles
Traveling down the highway at 55 mph and car started missing and just died as we were going down the road. We barely managed to get it off of the highway.

- Gainesville, MO, USA

problem #138

Sep 232004

Intrepid 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 84,000 miles
The contact was having problems with the engine about one year and half ago. It was making a slight clicking noise. It made loud boom noise and it had no power.it quit running about one year ago. The contact towed it back to the house, and the dealership told him that engine malfunctioned. The contact maintained oil changes as recommended. The engine had 90,000 miles on it. He reported not having any problems with the engine prior to hearing the clicking noise.

- Chattanooga, TN, USA

problem #137

Jul 232005

Intrepid 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 70,000 miles
I tried to start my 2000 Dodge Intrepid one day and heard loud clinking noises coming from the engine. I had it towed to the garage and was told that a timing chain had broken and that I needed a new engine that would cost $6,000. I only have 70,000 miles on the car. My oil was changed every 3000 miles as instructed by the owners manual.

- Erie, PA, USA

problem #136

Aug 272005

Intrepid

  • Automatic transmission
  • 85,981 miles
Engine sludge, cooling system problems. Was driving and without warning Intrepid shut down. I was told this was the timing chain.

- Brook Park, OH, USA

problem #135

Aug 042005

Intrepid 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 140,000 miles
While my husband was on his way to work from our home in yacolt wa. Heading to salem or., the engine in our 2000 Dodge Intrepid quit without warning, he was on I-205 at 5:00 am in the dark he easily could have been killed as well as endangered others on the highway. This vehicle had been maintained very well and we have owned since 17,00 miles. I now am aware that there are hundreds of people that this has happened to and yet the daimler-Chrysler Corp. Has not acted to inform the consumers that this is a problem or a safety issue. We have three children who up until two months ago were always in this vehicle with me because it was my daily driver. It could have happened quite easily while my children were in the car on a major roadway.

- Yacolt, WA, USA

problem #134

Oct 132003

Intrepid 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 94,000 miles
2000 Dodge Intrepid. Consumer complained about engine problems about a year after purchasing the car. The engine overheated and caused the car to stall. Took vehicle to the dealership 4 times and they said it was a sensor which they replaced the first three times free of charge. The last time took vehicle to the dealer and they said engine blew out. And it needed to be replaced. Consumer did not have the engine replaced because could not find a replacement. The only place that could get an engine was from Chrysler, and that would cost more that what the car was worth.

- Bolingbrook , IL, USA

problem #133

Jul 312005

Intrepid 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 90,000 miles
Contact owned a 2000 Dodge Intrepid and the engine seized while driving on 7-31-05. It just stopped. It had been making intermittent noises for about 1 week prior, but nothing constant. It sputtered before quitting. Contact has not talked to the dealer but she planned on doing so.

- Cedar Springs , MI, USA

problem #132

Jul 272005

Intrepid 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 147,000 miles
Had car 8 months with three oil changes drove 9,000 miles total, heard clicking noise when engine started that morning, two hours later car stalled and heard loud knock from engine, had car towed and inspected by ase certified mechanic, was told car need new engine couldn't be fixed, due to sludge in engine.

- Cumming, GA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »