10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
6 / 4
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
75,463 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

The NHTSA is the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints can be spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem. See the Back button — blue bar at the very top of the page — to explore more.

Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Dodge Journey:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #38

Apr 162015

Journey 6-cyl

  • 33,729 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Journey. While traveling 35 mph, the transmission failed. The contact stated that smoke appeared under the hood and fluid leaked underneath the vehicle. The contact stated that the transmission was repaired previously under an extended warranty. The vehicle was diagnosed the technician verified an isolated oil leak to the power transfer unit, as the case was cracked. The power transfer unit was replaced.. the failure mileage was 33,166. Updated 7/14/15

- Baltimore, MD, USA

problem #37

Mar 092015

Journey 6-cyl

  • 50,000 miles
The transmission when changing to lower speed, clunks.

- Gibsonville, NC, USA

problem #36

Dec 082014

Journey

  • 102,000 miles
The fuel gauge stopped working causing low fuel to flash all the time and the check engine light to stay on. Transmission tries to shift into another level at approx. Speed of 35 to 40 mph causing bucking O resurging motion.

- Jacksonville, FL, USA

problem #35

Nov 102014

Journey 6-cyl

  • 64,000 miles
The output seal on the transfer case failed and was leaking on to the exhaust. Had it replace and it has failed a second time and the dealer informed me that the seal will only be replaced once and after that the whole transfer case has to be replaced.

- Pine Island, MN, USA

problem #34

Sep 012014

Journey

  • 91,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Journey. The vehicle failed to start without warning. On a different occasion, the contact mentioned that the vehicle stalled without warning and restarted after the transmission was shifted into park. Also, the passenger side heat unit failed. The vehicle was towed to a dealer where the technician initially diagnosed that the win module and the pentium intake was defective. The remedy failed to repair the failure. As a result, the technician determined that the transmission range sensor needed to be replaced. The technician diagnosed that the trans range sensor needed to be replaced. The manufacturer stated that the VIN was included in NHTSA campaign number: 11V139000 (electrical system). The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 91,000.

- Rome, NY, USA

problem #33

Sep 082014

Journey 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 77,912 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Journey. The contact stated while traveling at approximately 40 mph, there was a strong vibration and the vehicle was driving roughly. The contact discovered smoke under the vehicle. The vehicle was towed to the contact's residence where an independent mechanic diagnosed that the transfer case and/or the driveshaft needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 77,912. Updated 11/12/14 updated 11/12/114

- Fayetteville, WV, USA

problem #32

Mar 152014

Journey

  • 90,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Journey. The contact stated that while driving at 65 mph, all of the warning lights flickered and the transmission shifted into a lower gear where it became stuck. The vehicle was towed to the dealer where it was diagnosed that there was no failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 90,000.

- Indianapolis, IN, USA

problem #31

Aug 132014

Journey 4-cyl

  • 81,000 miles
While driving along the highway, with cruise control on, the vehicle lost power and decelerated. The etc and traction control lights came on the dash. After pulling to the side of the road the vehicle was restarted. After being restarted the vehicle drove normally. This scenario has happened three times at highway speeds and once during acceleration. Around the same time of onset with the power loss issue the vehicle will not start intermittently. Sometimes it starts after several minutes, sometimes it does not start for several hours.

- Boone, IA, USA

problem #30

Aug 222014

Journey 6-cyl

  • 101,000 miles
I purchased the car in January of 2014 from a used car lot (which I will never do again) and it was sold with transmission leaks. I just found this out after taking the car in for a hole in one of the coolant hoses less than a month ago because it wasn't leaking on the ground. I started hearing a grinding, squeaking and ticking sound that my mechanic couldn't figure out. I just had the breaks done so they are essentially brand new. I had to have the tires replaced because they were worn to the thread. Going up a hill yesterday, I heard a loud noise and then the car wouldn't move. This left me in the middle of the road blocking traffic with 5 children in the car. Turns out there's a cracked transfer case. Sounds like there are many others like me out there having similar problems with this particular year make and model and a recall is in order....again!!!!

- San Francisco, CA, USA

problem #29

Jan 012010

Journey 4-cyl

  • 36,000 miles
Rotors and brakes went out at 36,000 and had to be replaced due to being too small for the vehicle. Of course this was just out side of warranty. Recall was called after we replaced them. Went out again at 45,000 and again at 85,000. I had a knocking noise from under neath and took it in and it was covered under power train. Had to take it in again at 40,000 knocking noise again and luckily it covered under power train. At 45,000 my Journey wouldn't start and just didn't know when it would start 30 minutes to an hour. This has happened several times and was told it was the key ignition control and that they are back logged and couldn't replace it but charged $100 for diagnostic again and have had to take it in again since. At 75,000 I was left stranded due to over heating and had to take it in again and it was the temperature control sensor. Brakes went out again at 95,000 and now at 107,00 the check engine light is on and did a diagnostic and it's the throttle runner control is stuck open and unable to get it in until a week later due to the dealer to busy. I think this has gone on to long with these Dodge Journeys and it's time for some recalls on them. I will never but a Dodge again!

- Ellabell, GA, USA

problem #28

Jul 232013

Journey 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 20,854 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Journey. While driving 40 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning on several occasions. The dealer was unable to diagnose the cause of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired and the manufacturer was notified. The failure mileage was 20,854. Updated 09/05/14 the cosnumer stated the vehicle loses all brakes, dash lights, and steering. Updated 09/11/2014

- Garden Valley, CA, USA

problem #27

Mar 292013

Journey 6-cyl

  • 38,000 miles
My 2009 Dodge Journey has not regularly started for over a year off and on. When turning it to the starting position it will just click. It will never start in park and after much research I have found that putting it into neutral would start it which worked for a little over a year. Now over a year later of putting it into neutral to start I am finding that its not working any longer. I have had this vehicle since 2012 so only a year after I bought this I started having the problems. In 2013 I replaced the starter and it didn't start 2 hours after replacing it. I have researched and have seen I am not the only one with this problem. I am a mother of 3 kids and can not be stranded someplace because Chrysler doesn't want to take the responsibility to recall the problem and fix it!! this problem needs to be fixed for all of us experiencing it!! why hasn't it?

- Edon, OH, USA

problem #26

Apr 102014

Journey

  • 162,000 miles
First incident was sometime in April 2014. While driving the engine stalled (turned off) three time daring that same day. I submitted an incident report to this office. Called Dodge corporate office and spoke to a representative named [xxx]. she help us get the local dealership fix the PCM flash throttle body, which the dealership stated was causing the problem. Dodge has a recall on for this PCM problem on the 2010 and some 2009 Journey models. My VIN number was not covered according to Dodge, but not VIN numbers are stated on the recall notes. The second incident happen around a week an half after the first one and after the dealership say it was fixed and safe to drive. My wife was driving with the kid on board and while exiting the freeway, the engine stalled (turned off) and had to use the emergency brake to avoid hit other cars. Called [xxx] at corporate and took car back to dealership. Dealership now is saying the problem is the win module, which again is on the recall for the 2010 Journey, but not on the 2009. Asked dealership manager ([xxx]) if this would fix the problem. He stated he is not sure, but that is the next diagnostic step to take. I also asked how much it would cost to fix he stated $700 and they would not cover it, because my VIN number is not covered under the recall. [xxx] at corporate was trying to reduce price, but dealership is not willing to work with Dodge corporate. Misty authorized a rental car, I'm having to pay for the insurance incase I have an accident. This needs to be investigated and all 2008, 2009, and 2010 need to be covered under the recall. All models are having the same problems. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Corona, CA, USA

problem #25

Jun 092014

Journey

  • 117,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Journey. The contact stated while driving 30 mph, the vehicle stalled and the check engine warning indicator was illuminated. The problem recurred intermittently. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the power control module was defective. The vehicle had not been repaired. The contact was made aware of a recall notification under NHTSA campaign id number 08V528000 (power train). However, the VIN was not included on the recall.the manufacturer was notified of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 117,000.

- Knoxville, TN, USA

problem #24

Dec 042013

Journey

  • 77,000 miles
While making a left hand turn, I felt the car jerk several times as though I was using anti-lock brakes. This was confusing since I did not even have my foot on the brake. Seconds later I heard an almost grinding or dragging noise. I pulled over into the first empty lot I found and checked the tires, got down and checked under the car for anything hanging that could have been dragging on the ground, found nothing that looked out of the ordinary. I thought then that there may have been snow or ice around the tires since it had snowed the night before. I proceeded to get back into the car and drove approximately three minutes and the noise got louder. I drove to my mechanic which was another 5 minutes away. He was amazed that the power train seemed to explode from the inside out. In all his years of fixing cars, he said he had never seen anything like it. We've read many recall notices for the power train yet no one is willing to help with this recall. Since we bought the car used, they say that the recall is not transferable. This is total bull since it is approx $2400. If this was a defective part, there should be no reason why we would be responsible to have it repaired. Something must be able to be done. I would even be willing to pay half the bill but not the entire bill since it must have been defective to start with. I have been without a car now for four weeks and have become a burden to friends and family, needing rides to and from work. I am very upset with Dodge for not even attempting to meet me half way. I was under the impression that they were a reputable company. Unless they can help in some way, I will never purchase another Dodge and discourage anyone else to also.

- Cheektowaga, NY, USA

problem #23

Sep 182013

Journey 6-cyl

  • 95,000 miles
I was driving on the highway, with my daughter in the car, and my truck completely lost power. I was luckily able to pull over and restart the vehicle. It was very scary and my life and my daughter's life were in jeopardy. This happens approximately one every 3 weeks. Today, 11-25-2013, my fiance was driving around a roundabout, the car died and she was hit lightly from behind. Also, the controls on my driver's side door do not work properly. They rarely roll down the windows correctly and right now, the back driver's side window is down. I had to duct tape plastic on the door. I am taking it to the dealership tomorrow to try and fix these problems. I just don't know why this series of 2009 Journeys were not recalled. We are scared to even drive the Journey especially because of the lost power issue and with really no money to have it diagnosed.

- Noblesville, IN, USA

problem #22

Nov 112013

Journey 6-cyl

  • 65,000 miles
The transmission has been shifting very rough. After taking it to the dealer and "no engine light no problem" was determined today the car refused to accelerate but was revving a lot and temporarily lost the drive gear while I was driving!!!.. I had to park the car and walk home and get the car towed back.

- Philadelphia, PA, USA

problem #21

Oct 172013

Journey

  • 177,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Journey. The contact stated that the transmission hesitated at acceleration, the engine overheated and the transmission fluid was leaking from the vehicle. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer for inspection or repairs. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The VIN was not available. The approximate failure and current mileage was 177,000.

- Ellenwood , GA, USA

problem #20

Apr 262011

Journey

  • 30,000 miles
Parking sensor in transmission that sends a signal that car is in park not working I properly may be a huge issue because when you are in drive and sitting it gets stuck in park. Then takes off no warning. If me O our anyone in my family is injured I will be the one to help settle a law suit with Chrysler. I spoke of this problem to the dealer while it was under warranty the rep. Said I had to leave my car there till the problem duplicates. This is a expensive car and my only transportation which is why I had the warranty. The other issue is when sitting at the light the brakes slip causing the vehicle to lunge forward. This is even after replacing the brakes at the dealership the vehicle is a money pit. The consumer takes the bill or could lose their life messing with Chrysler.

- Katy, TX, USA

problem #19

Feb 012013

Journey

  • 98,000 miles
Brakes, allignment, drive shaft was bent...4th set of tires purchased in Feb. 2013 gas tank & fuel pump needed replaced April 2013 caliper locked up causing fire, vehicle needed to be towed May 2013.

- Webster, TX, USA

Read the next 18 complaints »