10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
11 / 11
Injuries / Deaths:
11 / 0
Average Mileage:
45,858 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

The NHTSA is the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints can be spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem. See the Back button — blue bar at the very top of the page — to explore more.

Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Dodge Journey:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #292

Aug 022010

Journey 6-cyl

  • 31,000 miles
All the vehicle dash lights started flashing, gauges bounced to 0 and back, wipers would activate, and vehicle made chime noise - repeatedly. The problem will sometimes last only for a few seconds and other times for the duration of the drive, and even continuing upon startup of the next drive. This problem was very intermittent to begin with and now is becoming more common. I have not been able to find a solution and the dealer originally told me that they could not help me because they could not duplicate the problem. This problem is well known on many online forums and is a huge safety concern for my wife and children. I believe that it may be an issue related to the tipm and related to NHTSA action number :DP14004. Dodge really needs to recall this issue, immediately. The problem is happening very frequently now.

- Danielsville, GA, USA

problem #291

Sep 132014

Journey

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Journey. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 11V139000 (electrical system) and stated that the part needed was not available within a reasonable timeframe. The dealer did not provide a specific date for when the part would become available. The manufacturer was contacted and could not provide an estimated date for when the vehicle would receive the recall repair. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Kaplan, LA, USA

problem #290

Jun 162011

Journey 4-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Journey. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for a recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 7/1/15 the consumer stated the vehicle was scheduled to be repaired on September 15th after receiving the second notice. Updated 9/15/015

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #289

Apr 232015

Journey 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Journey. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (electrical system, air bags); however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 7/1/15 updated 9/15/15

- Audubon, NJ, USA

problem #288

Jun 142014

Journey

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Journey. That contact stated that NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (air bags, electrical system) exceeded a reasonable amount of time for repair. The dealer stated that the part needed for repair was not available. The contact made several attempts to speak to the manufacturer; however, due to long hold times, had yet to speak to a live representative. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Cape May Court House , NJ, USA

problem #287

Sep 162014

Journey

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Journey. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Buckeye, AZ, USA

problem #286

Jul 022014

Journey 6-cyl

  • 42,000 miles
For almost a year the doesn't start when it doesn't want to I get in the car and everything lights up and the engine just clicks I've had the starter replaced the battery the some module with new keys the shifter and nothing has helped im at a loss the car has been towed more times than I can count I've been stuck with my children in dark parking lots far from home it happens way to much and the fact that they cant fix this problem is ridiculous no one should have to deal with this I have now been in a rental for 3 weeks im sick over this I lost my car in sandy and bought this stupid one to replace that and now im trying to fix my home and a car I pay cash for.

- Lindenhurst, NY, USA

problem #285

Dec 202014

Journey 4-cyl

  • 85,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Journey. While driving approximately 50 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle restarted after being parked for ten hours; however, the failure recurred on several occasions. The vehicle was taken to the dealer and the contact was informed that the VIN was included in NHTSA campaign number: 11V139000 (electrical system). The part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 85,000. Updated 5/18/15 updated 10/5/2017

- West Columbia, SC, USA

problem #284

Jan 032014

Journey

  • 75,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Journey. The contact stated that the vehicle stalled several times without warning. The key failed to turn over in order to restart the vehicle. The contact had the vehicle towed to a dealer more than three times due to the failure. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 11V139000 (electrical system) and stated that the part needed was not available. The dealer did not provide a specific date for when the part would become available. The manufacturer was contacted and could not provide an estimated date for when the part would become available. The approximate failure mileage was 75,000.

- Madison, OH, USA

problem #283

Aug 072014

Journey

  • 73,223 miles
Random electrical issues when either the (1) drivers side door is opened when the car is running, or (2) when the car is first started. Windshield wipers start going, all the panel lights start blinking, interior sounds beeping, and gas indicates on empty. This continues until the car just decides to stop. I am afraid I am going to have a total electrical failure while driving. I hope and pray this becomes a recall soon. It's very scary.

- Raleigh, NC, USA

problem #282

Nov 122014

Journey

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Journey. The contact received a notification for NHTSA campaign number: 11V139000 (electrical system); however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- New Braunsels, TX, USA

problem #281

Oct 242014

Journey

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Journey. While in park, the vehicle failed to start. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The failure recurred on numerous occasions. The VIN was included in NHTSA campaign number: 11V139000 (electrical system); however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was unknown.

- Oakpark, MI, USA

problem #280

Apr 102015

Journey

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Journey. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 11V139000 (electrical system); however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 5/29/15 updated 9/17/2015

- Danvers , MA, USA

problem #279

Apr 012015

Journey 4-cyl

  • miles
2009 Dodge Journey. Consumer writes in regards to wireless ignition recall notice issues. The consumer has been unsuccessful at getting the recall work done. The dealer will not return his call. Recall # 14V373000.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #278

Apr 072015

Journey

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Journey. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (electrical system) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Pratt, KS, USA

problem #277

Sep 052014

Journey

  • 70,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Journey. The contact stated that the key was difficult to turn over to start the vehicle and the vehicle stalled several times. The contact was not able to restart the vehicle and it was towed more than once to the contact's residence. The vehicle was included in NHTSA campaign number: 11V139000 (electrical system) and stated that the part was not available for several months. The contact continued to experience the failure without warning while waiting for the part. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 70,000.

- Sinton , TX, USA

problem #276

Jun 022014

Journey 6-cyl

  • miles
Recall number L25. Have talked with local dealers and with Dodge to get recall taken care of. Have been put on priority list and not received any communications in over 4 months. My son uses the car at college and has had the car shut off while driving, negating the power steering and brakes. I checked the Dodge website and they said parts are now available, but I received no notification.

- Strongsville, OH, USA

problem #275

Feb 262015

Journey

  • 85,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Journey. While defrosting the windshield, the interior lights illuminated independently and the rear passenger side window rolled down independently. The driver side door panel caught fire. The contact extinguished the fire and the door panel would no longer shut or latch. The vehicle was towed to the dealer. The technician diagnosed that the entire door panel needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 85,000.

- Memphis, TN, USA

problem #274

Mar 312014

Journey

  • 39,000 miles
I bought this vehicle in 2014, 3 days after purchase went to start my car, it wouldn't start. When I turned it over it said "bad key". this has done this off and on for the last year. As of 3/26/15 my car was totally locked down. I knew of the recall and have asked lithia of eugene Oregon 97401 in regards to it, and they have said there is no parts in for the recall. I spoke with parts, today and they stated they had keys in. So then sent me to the service department. The service department states this does not fall under the recall or my warranty. That I need to replace the whole ignition, which will give me 2 new keys for the sum of $702 out of my pocket expense. If they are having so many problems with these ignitions for this year, I would assume it would fall under the recall. I have been stranded with this situation "bad key" and my vehicle not starting numerous times, each time that I made reference to it with lithia Dodge of eugene, Oregon. They just said they will send me information when the part comes in. The company never had a written report of the complaint on there part for unknown reasons, even though I had complained about it. I am very frustrated in the way service department has handled this situation non professional and making it now my problem to have to deal with. I have no other car so I have to pay to get it fixed at this point, and rent a car until they can order the new ignition in, and repair it. Which they stated can take up to a week. At $20 dollars a day rental fee for a car, and then the other $702 for the repair. I am not a happy camper with my vehicle at this point, or with litha Dodge of eugene Oregon..

- Junction City, OR, USA

problem #273

Aug 102012

Journey 6-cyl

  • 60,000 miles
Vehicle fails to start or "shuts" down while running. Dealer charged me approximately $1000 to repair and the repair was ineffective (prior to receiving recall notice) dealer is now informing me that the repair parts detailed in the recall are in "short supply" or "backordered" and they are expecting them not to be available for one year.

- Northborough, MA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »