10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
11 / 11
Injuries / Deaths:
11 / 0
Average Mileage:
45,858 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

The NHTSA is the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints can be spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem. See the Back button — blue bar at the very top of the page — to explore more.

Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Dodge Journey:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #272

Jul 222010

Journey

  • 10 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Journey. The contact stated while driving approximately 60 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. After restarting, the vehicle resumed normally. The failure recurred numerous times. The contact referenced NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (air bags, electrical system) however, the part needed to perform the repair was unavailable. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 10.

- Madison, FL, USA

problem #271

Mar 272015

Journey 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Journey. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (air bags, electrical system) however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure...updated 05-26-15 the consumer stated it had been nearly 8 months and the part necessary to perform the recall had not been made available. Updated 6/30/2015

- Capecoral, FL, USA

problem #270

Jan 292015

Journey

  • 55,000 miles
The owns a 2009 Dodge Journey. The contact stated that while attempting to start the vehicle, the engine failed to start. The contact received a recall notification of NHTSA campaign number: 11V139000 (electrical system) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 55,000. Updated 7/9/15 the consumer stated the vehicle was repaired on 6-11-2015 under the recall. Updated 9/18/15

- Chicago , IL, USA

problem #269

Mar 012009

Journey

  • 17,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Journey. While driving various speeds, the contact heard an abnormal noise when the brake pedal was depressed. The failure occurred on multiple occasions. The contact also stated that the brakes failed to stop the vehicle immediately when the brake pedal was depressed. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the brakes and the rotors needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired however, after a short period of time the failure recurred multiple times. Additionally, the tires were replaced multiple times due to the continuous failures. The contact received NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (air bags, electrical system) and stated that the parts were unavailable. The dealer was uncertain when the parts would become available to service the vehicle under the recall. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 17,000.

- Land O Lakes, FL, USA

problem #268

Mar 012014

Journey

  • 48,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Journey. The contact stated that the vehicle would not start until after several attempts without warning. The failure recurred on several occasions. The vehicle was taken to the dealer but the failure was unable to be determined. On separate occasions, the dealer replaced the starter, the key, the win module, shifter and battery but the failure persisted. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 48,000.

- Lindenhurst, NY, USA

problem #267

Mar 202015

Journey

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Journey. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 11V139000 (electrical system); however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Spring Hill, FL, USA

problem #266

Mar 132015

Journey 6-cyl

  • miles
I received a recall notice for my vehicle back in 2013 or 2014 regarding the wireless ignition node (win) module. Chrysler recall number is: L25 NHTSA recall number is: 11V-139. Recall date is: March 1, 2011. I have had my vehicle completely shut off on several different occasions which has almost gotten me in a wreck. I have been fortunate to be able to get out of the way of traffic but the last two times this has happened I was barely able to avoid an accident. One time I was driving on a toll road in austin, Texas and going over a bridge and had to pull as close to the center cement wall as possible and restart my vehicle and hurry to get out of traffic before I was hit. This last time that it happened I was driving on my way to work on again a busy 4 lane road and was able to pull into an entrance of an apartment complex and restart my vehicle. Both times it has been a close call. My local Dodge dealership keeps telling me that there is currently no replacement part available. This is becoming very frustrating and also very scary at the same time. Can you please advise me as to when this replacement part might be available. Like it said I have.

- Temple, TX, USA

problem #265

May 162012

Journey 6-cyl

  • 5,600 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Journey. While driving approximately 30 mph, the engine stalled without warning. The vehicle restarted and resumed normal operation. The failure recurred numerous times. The contact was made aware of NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (air bags, electrical system) however, the part needed was unavailable to perform the repair. The manufacturer was notified. The approximate failure mileage was 5,600. Updated. 6/9/15 the consumer stated he received are recall 10 months ago. However, the parts were not available. Updated 07/02/15

- Syracuse, NY, USA

problem #264

Jun 182014

Journey

  • 90,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Journey. The contact stated that the vehicle failed to start intermittently. The contact stated that NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (air bags, electrical system) exceeded a reasonable amount of time for repair. The dealer stated that the part needed was not available for repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the delay. The vehicle was repaired at the owner's expense; however, the failure recurred. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 90,000.

- Shelton , CT, USA

problem #263

Mar 182015

Journey

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Journey. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 11V139000 (electrical system); however, the part needed to do the repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Commack, NY, USA

problem #262

Apr 012010

Journey 6-cyl

  • miles
Frequently all exterior and interior lights flash on and off, windshield wipers going off, doors will not unlock, windows will not go down, dash panel flashing (it is as though the car is possessed, the panel will show the gas tank as empty, the temp gauge rises to hot and I have to pull over for fear of engine actually overheating) periodically while in this mode, the vehicle will not start. The vehicle has been into 2 different dealerships. Electrical codes were coming up but could noT be identified, multiple loss of communication codes of the interior could not be identified (they were unable to pin point where they were coming from) I was advised to bring it back when it happened again. Finally Friday, March 13, 2015 the car started going haywire and I was able to get into the dealership. While the car was running they were able to diagnose and registered multiple loss of communication codes coming from door windows and dash board, they found they were all connected to the tibm. Due to all of the electrical recalls when I first purchased the vehicle, it is my opinion that they have known all along that the Journeys had electrical issues. The 2012 model was recalled because of them. I feel tibm has been the issue all along. I travel back and forth 100 miles weekly some times twice a week on the highway picking kids up from school and can not afford to be stranded on the highway nor can I afford to purchase a new vehicle. The dealership is charging me over $1200 for replacement of the tibm. I called Chrysler/Dodge care and they stated because my car is out of warranty, they can't help me. I am currently in dispute with them because, these problems were happening while the car was under warranty and they held my car for weeks trying to identify the issue. I am awaiting a response from Dodge case worker.

- Muskogee, OK, USA

problem #261

Apr 012012

Journey

  • Automatic transmission
  • 20,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Journey. The contact stated that the vehicle would not start until after several attempts. The vehicle was taken to the dealer. The technician was unable to diagnose the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (air bags, electrical system) however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The approximate failure mileage was 20,000. Updated 4/15/15

- Bloomington, MN, USA

problem #260

Oct 092014

Journey

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Journey. The contact received a notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (air bags, electrical system); however, the vehicle was unable to be serviced under the recall because the part needed was unavailable to perform the repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Raleigh, NC, USA

problem #259

Dec 202013

Journey 6-cyl

  • 100 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Journey. The contact stated that the service engine warning light illuminated on several occasions and the vehicle shook violently while driving. The contact also stated that the vehicle stalled without warning. After several attempts, the vehicle was able to restart but the failure recurred. The vehicle was included in NHTSA campaign number: 11V139000 (electrical system) but the part was not available for an extended period of time. The vehicle was taken to the dealer on over three occasions where the failure was unable to be replicated. In addition, the contact stated that the key failed to turn in the ignition switch to start the vehicle. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 100. Updated 8/27/15 updated 9/28/2017

- Victorville, CA, USA

problem #258

Mar 122015

Journey 6-cyl

  • 90,000 miles
Ignition will shut off while driving. Also dashboard will read bad key and refuse to start. Chrysler states that it is part of recall L25 but the part is unavailable. In the meantime my car is a paperweight that I can't drive. They have no date on when parts will be available. What is my recourse?

- Denver, CO, USA

problem #257

Nov 052014

Journey

  • 75,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Journey. While starting the vehicle, the key remained in between the on and the accessory position before the vehicle stalled. The contact was able to restart the vehicle. The failure recurred on numerous occasions. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The VIN was included in NHTSA campaign number: 11V139000 (electrical system) however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 75,000.

- Rochester, MN, USA

problem #256

Mar 122015

Journey 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Journey. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (air bags, electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 4/21/15

- Palatine, IL, USA

problem #255

Mar 022015

Journey 4-cyl

  • miles
2009 Dodge Journey. Consumer writes in regards to the wireless ignition node module detents recall notice. The consumer has been unsuccessful at getting the dealer to comply with the recall. Recall # 14V373000.

- Bakersfield, CA, USA

problem #254

Nov 242014

Journey

  • 83,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Journey. The contact stated that while driving approximately 20 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The failure recurred on numerous occasions. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The vehicle was included in NHTSA campaign number: 11V139000 (electrical system). However, the parts to do the repair were unavailable. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 83,000.

- North Providence , RI, USA

problem #253

Mar 152013

Journey 6-cyl

  • miles
I own a 2009 Dodge Journey. And received recall notification L25 / NHTSA 14V-373 however the part to do the repair was not available. I think that the manufacturer had far exceeded a reasonable amount of time. I have experienced the failure in several incidents of car not starting, fortunately, there have been no wrecks yet. I've been on phone for over an hour trying to get someone to answer my call from Chrysler customer service 1-800-853-1403. I want something done and I want it done now, before someone gets injured due to this lack of action from Chrysler!

- Piney Flats, TN, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »