10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
11 / 11
Injuries / Deaths:
11 / 0
Average Mileage:
45,858 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

The NHTSA is the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints can be spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem. See the Back button — blue bar at the very top of the page — to explore more.

Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Dodge Journey:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #192

Dec 152014

Journey 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Journey. The contact received a notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (electrical system) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 02/09/15 updated 06/9/2015

- Beverly Hills, MI, USA

problem #191

Oct 062014

Journey 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Journey. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 11V139000 (electrical system) and stated that the parts needed were not available for several months. The dealer was unable to provide a specific date for when the parts would become available and the contact was unable to be added to a waiting list. The manufacturer was contacted and could not provide an estimated date for when the vehicle would receive the recall repairs. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 2/24/15 updated 03/03/15

- Amherst, NY, USA

problem #190

Oct 012014

Journey 6-cyl

  • miles
In regard to the frequency operated button ignition key (fobik), I have not received a second notice by the Chrysler dealership about repairing my vehicle. I called and was told that the parts are not available. I received that information 2 months ago. I request your immediate attention. I am not comfortable driving the car in this condition.

- Jackson, TN, USA

problem #189

Jul 172012

Journey

  • 60,000 miles
While in the drive through car turned off and I couldn't stop and scraped the driverside fender on a yellow barrier pole. I thought it was a fluke (a wtf moment) so I never worried about it again. It still cuts off every now and again but I am usually parked or moving slowly. I did get pulled over one time when the car cut off and to stop I had to put it in park so I wouldn't run a stopsighn onto hwy 99. (he let me go) went for the recall on the ignition sat for over an hour only to be told they dont have the replacement part or know when they will have it. On many occasions I am unable to get the car to start. When this happens I have to place the car in neutral and try again. The car will start once placed in neutral. Whenever there is a thunderstorm the driverside rear door will fill up with water from the outside. If I slam the door hard the water will flow out of the bottom. Front brakes grind and squeek no matter if the pads are new or have been on for a while. (I tried new rotors to) wiring recall was fixed only to do the samething as before months later.

- Missouri City, TX, USA

problem #188

Dec 042014

Journey 6-cyl

  • miles
In 10/14 I received recall #L25/NHTSA 14V-373. On 11/5/14 I called my dealer and was told "no parts available". "no schedule". the same day I called Chrysler recall assist. Center 1-800-853 and was told. "no parts available or schedule available. On 12/4/14 called antioch Chrysler/Dodge. "bring the car in for diagnosis. I wasted 1 hr! "no parts avail. Or scheduled! when you receive notice from Chrysler that parts are available, call dealer for appointment." According to the recall, there is danger in driving this vehicle. "engine shut off and passive restraint systems would also shut off. How can Chrysler not have a schedule for parts availability. Do I assume that they haven't been ordered, or if so, were ordered from an incompetent manufacturer" why recall at all"

- Antioch, CA, USA

problem #187

Dec 022014

Journey

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Journey. The contact received a notification for NHTSA campaign id number: 14V737000 (electrical system) and stated that the part needed was unavailable to repair the vehicle. The dealer was unable to inform when the part would become available. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Calabash, NC, USA

problem #186

Oct 012014

Journey 6-cyl

  • 135,171 miles
The part that is defected is tipm(total integrated power module) which I guess you can say the brain. I was driving on my way to work and all of a sudden my whole dash board goes dark and then that's when things went crazy. The wipers starting going and would not stop, this was a dry day can you imagine. The gauges went haywire such as my thermostat went to zero, signal lights would not work, radio died, gas light came on and no speed odometer. All this to say that I travel about 65 miles or so one way to work. Did not know what to think of this and as I continue driving thank goodness to that. The dash board start again to go dark and things came back on and this happen again before I got to work. Need less to say what a way to start out the morning, I thought there may have been a gremlin in my vehicle or some ghost from pass. Trying to brush this off and said this was a fluke or something. I did finally take it to a dealer and this was what was told to me and the cost is almost $900 just for this part, that is crazy. I did not fix this that day because I said this is ridiculous. Then in reading up on this issue there have been numerous complaints about this situation with auto/dealer and they refuse to recall and take care of this real safety issue. This was one of there first cross over vehicle made so there was room for error and errors should be fix by them. Shame on them not to. I need this to be taken care of by them not me the consumer who still has to pay for this vehicle. I need your help! thanks

- Warrenton, NC, USA

problem #185

Nov 242014

Journey

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Journey. The contact received a notification for recall NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (electrical system). However, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experience a failure.

- Birmingham, AL, USA

problem #184

Nov 132014

Journey 4WD 4-cyl

  • 90,000 miles
On four separate occasions, I attempted to start my vehicle (all lights, radio work) and only hear clicks of the starter and the vehicle did not start. On the second occasion, the vehicle finally started after approximately thirty minutes. I took the Journey to an auto center and they tested the battery, which was registering at 490 cca and they suggested I get a battery soon. On the third occasion, I went to pick my wife up from a doctors appointment and stopped the Journey for less than five minutes. I attempted to start the Journey and it did not start for over 30 minutes. I attempted to have the vehicle jump started; however, after three separate vehicles attempted to jump my Journey, it did not start and had to call a tow truck. After the tow truck driver charged the battery for approximately 5 minutes, the vehicle started. I immediately had the battery replaced and thought the issues was solved. On the fourth occasion, all four of which took place in a three week period, after stopping at a store for approximately 10 minutes, the Journey did not start. After waiting for approximately 30 minutes, the vehicle finally started. I have reviewed the recalls and this is not listed, yet there are multiple complaints of this issue. I will be attempting to have all current recalls repaired and hope this issue is take care of before myself or someone in my family is seriously injured due to this happening while driving on the highway.

- Fredericksburg, VA, USA

problem #183

Sep 012014

Journey

  • 120,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Journey. The contact stated that NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (electrical system) had exceeded a reasonable amount of time for repair. The dealer stated that the parts were on back order and were unavailable. The manufacturer was made aware of the delay. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact also experienced an intermittent failure where the key would either fail to turn or become stuck in the ignition switch. After several failed attempts, the key would eventually release from the ignition switch. Additionally, the cruise control would fail to engage when activated at various speeds. The manufacturer was not made aware the failure. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The failure mileage was 120,000.

- Columbus Grove, OH, USA

problem #182

Nov 132014

Journey

  • 57,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Journey. The contact stated that when attempting to start the vehicle, several attempts had to be made before the vehicle would start. The vehicle was included in recall NHTSA campaign id number: 11V139000 (electrical system). However, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The approximate failure mileage was 57,000.

- Solon, OH, USA

problem #181

Sep 012014

Journey

  • 91,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Journey. The vehicle failed to start without warning. On a different occasion, the contact mentioned that the vehicle stalled without warning and restarted after the transmission was shifted into park. Also, the passenger side heat unit failed. The vehicle was towed to a dealer where the technician initially diagnosed that the win module and the pentium intake was defective. The remedy failed to repair the failure. As a result, the technician determined that the transmission range sensor needed to be replaced. The technician diagnosed that the trans range sensor needed to be replaced. The manufacturer stated that the VIN was included in NHTSA campaign number: 11V139000 (electrical system). The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 91,000.

- Rome, NY, USA

problem #180

Mar 032014

Journey

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Journey. The contact received a notification for NHTSA campaign number: 11V13900 (electrical system); however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount on time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Elberton, GA, USA

problem #179

Sep 012014

Journey

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Journey. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign: 14V373000 (electrical system). The contact stated that the part was unavailable. The manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Buffalo, NY, USA

problem #178

Nov 132014

Journey 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Journey. The contact received a notification for NHTSA campaign id number: 14V373000 (electrical system) and stated that the part needed was unavailable to repair the vehicle. The dealer was unable to inform the contact of when the part would become available. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 12/19/14 updated 02/03/15.

- Fostoria, OH, USA

problem #177

Sep 242014

Journey

  • 92,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Journey. The contact indicated that they key failed to turn over into the on position preventing the vehicle from starting. The contact was included in NHTSA campaign id number: 14V373000 (electrical system). The dealer was contacted several times who indicated that the part was not available but did not specify if the contact would be placed on a waiting list. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 92,000.

- Winter Haven, FL, USA

problem #176

Aug 042014

Journey

  • 48,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Journey. The contact stated that the vehicle failed to start as the bad key warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to a dealer. However, the failure was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The contact received a notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (electrical system). The failure mileage was 48,000.

- Schaumburg, IL, USA

problem #175

Feb 102014

Journey

  • 69,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Journey. The contact stated that after starting the vehicle, the vehicle shut off. The vehicle was able to restart after the second attempt. The failure occurred on several occasions. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (electrical system) however, the part was not available to perform the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 69,000.

- Broomfield, CO, USA

problem #174

May 152014

Journey

  • 70,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Journey. The contact stated that the vehicle started after several attempts. The failure occurred multiple times intermittently. The vehicle was taken to a dealer for diagnostic testing. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 70,000.

- West Plains , MO, USA

problem #173

Nov 042014

Journey 6-cyl

  • miles
There is a recall on the ignition system and each time we call the local dealer to make an appointment, we are simply told that there isn't a part available anywhere to fix the issue. We would like to get this situation taken care of asap. Any help that can be provided would be appreciated.

- Dallas, GA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »