10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
11 / 11
Injuries / Deaths:
11 / 0
Average Mileage:
45,858 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

The NHTSA is the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints can be spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem. See the Back button — blue bar at the very top of the page — to explore more.

Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Dodge Journey:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #612

Jul 292016

Journey

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Journey. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V373000 (electrical system, air bags) and 16V047000 (air bags). The part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect and VIN tool confirms parts not available respectively.

- Conroe, TX, USA

problem #611

Jun 272016

Journey

  • 69,000 miles
Vehicle lost all electrical power while driving, engine died, with associated loss of steering power, braking power, etc. After stopping, placing transmission in park, removing key ("fobik"), and replacing it back to turn the ignition switch, electrical power returned and engine started. I had just exited the street into a parking lot (loss of power occurred as I completed returning the steering wheel to center after turning from street) and stalled blocking traffic through the lot until I restarted the engine.

- Kearns, UT, USA

problem #610

Jul 092015

Journey

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Journey. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (air bags, electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Henrico, VA, USA

problem #609

Jul 062013

Journey

  • 50,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Journey. The contact stated that the vehicle experienced trouble starting. Also, when the accelerator pedal was depressed, the vehicle jerked forward. The dealer repaired the vehicle per NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (electrical system), but the failure recurred. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The VIN was invalid. The failure mileage was approximately 50,000.

- Savannah, GA, USA

problem #608

Mar 102016

Journey

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Journey. The contact stated that the VIN was included in NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V373000 (air bags and electrical system) and 10V658000 (electrical system). The contact called the dealer, but the part was not available within a reasonable time frame. The contact was unable to schedule an appointment and determine when the vehicle would be repaired. The manufacturer was not notified. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Blue Ash, OH, USA

problem #607

Jun 082016

Journey

  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Journey. The contact stated that the vehicle had trouble starting and stalled while the vehicle was operated. All the warning indicators were illuminated. The vehicle was not taken to an independent mechanic or dealer. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The contact was informed that the vehicle was repaired per NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (air bags, electrical system) a year prior to owning the vehicle. The failure mileage was approximately 100,000.

- Milledgeville, IL, USA

problem #606

May 132016

Journey

  • 143,389 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Journey. After the vehicle was repaired per NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (air bags, electrical system), the vehicle failed to start after numerous attempts. The contact stated that the engine stalled twice without warning. The vehicle was towed to a dealer where the cause of the failure could not be determined. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 143,389.

- Maumelle, AR, USA

problem #605

Oct 292015

Journey

  • 75,274 miles
I purchased a 2009 Dodge Journey in March 2015. It gave me no issues until after I completed the key fob recall in August 2015. Since then, it would randomly not start. It was in and out of the dealership several times and the following parts were replaced, all of which were covered under the extended warranty I purchased with the vehicle: Fuel injector on Oct. 9, a new battery on Oct. 29, 2015, a new starter on Nov. 16, 2015, a leaking overflow container on Nov. 24, 2015, the tipm was replaced on April 11, 2016, and most recently electrical wires and cables on June 7, 2016, which hook up to the starter. I called Chrysler headquarters on or about May 2 to report these issues and I received very poor customer service. I was told that my vehicle is too old and has too much mileage for them to do anything for me. The Journey has had episodes almost every day, sometimes more than once a day, of not starting since I got it back last week. The dealership told me when it does act up, to put it in neutral, which has been successful in getting the vehicle to start. They are taking it back on Monday to replace yet another part that they hope will finally be the answer to this ongoing nightmare, but IżM not getting my hopes up. If we werenżT in an upside-down loan, we would have traded in the Journey a long time ago. It is not a reliable vehicleżluckily I havenżT been stranded in a remote location at night, but it doesnżT seem right that I should have to resort to taking that chance. Iżve never had so many issues with any other vehicle Iżve owned!

- Tiffin, OH, USA

problem #604

Jun 072016

Journey

  • 138,503 miles
Let it be noted that after the R03 recall all the following issues started occurring. First incident: Driving about 30mph every light on the dashboard except the engine light illuminated, gauges spun around and back and forth, then stopped all together, the rmp's revved up to 5ooo and the accelerator went to the floor with no action as if the car was off. There was a obviuous loss of power, the car was hesitating like it wanted to stall out, and the vehicle once stopped did not start again until being jumped. Once started, none of the light were on except, oddly now, the engine light which threw codes PO0562 & PO700. The battery read 12.2V on the diagnostic while off then 14.4 when the car was started(after being jumped for 1 minute only). 5 minutes into the drive and boom, the demon took over the car again but now the car would not go pst maybe 7mph, again in accelerator power, no shifting, all power still on in the car, but seems low on power. Once turned off, it would not start but still had power. Again, got jumped, diagnostic, and same codes, alternator fine, battery fine, seems to be getting poor connection. Started 2 days later and loud, unstable idle, won't switch gears seems as if its on but running off of stored power. Dealer now says only code is PO622. Symptoms are seeming to be the tipm all over again. Again, none of this started until I took it to Dodge to have the RO3 recall repaired. The key since also does not register at times, will say "mismatch key" on dashboard, all sensors flash then go away such as (gascap, door ajar, check engine light would ignite with no code, gate, key), wouldn't turn over, frequent :dead battery" then starts without jump few minutes later. Overtime the car will act possessed with all lights on is after hitting a bump, again Chrysler dealer recall department is stating tipm, dewlap will not check that while diagnosing. Help!

- North Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #603

Jan 272016

Journey

  • 146,557 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Journey. While driving at any speed, the vehicle stalled and the engine light illuminated. The contact had to make several attempts to start the vehicle. The vehicle was repaired according to an unknown recall, but the failure recurred. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that there was a failure with the engine and PCM. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The VIN was not available. The failure mileage was approximately 146,557.

- Blue Springs, MO, USA

problem #602

May 162015

Journey

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Journey. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (air bags, electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Greenlawn, NY, USA

problem #601

May 072016

Journey

  • 200,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Journey. While attempting to make a right turn, the vehicle became difficult to steer and stalled without warning. The front end of the contact's vehicle crashed into the front end of another vehicle. The front end of the contact's vehicle was damaged and was no longer able to be driven. The vehicle was towed. A police report was filed. The contact received neck, back, arm, and head injuries. Medical attention was received. The contact received notifications of NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V373000 (air bags, electrical system) and 16V047000 (air bags); however, the vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 200,000. Parts distribution disconnect and VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Nashville, TN, USA

problem #600

Jan 012016

Journey

  • 86,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Journey. In January of 2016, the vehicle was repaired according to NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (air bags, electrical system). The repair failed to correct the failure. The vehicle was stalling and could not be restarted. The manufacturer was not notified. The failure mileage was 86,000.

- Manteca, CA, USA

problem #599

Dec 102015

Journey

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Journey. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 16V047000 (air bags) and 14V373000 (air bags and electrical system). The parts were not available in a reasonable time frame to receive the repairs from the dealer. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Johns Island, SC, USA

problem #598

May 072016

Journey

  • miles
I' got this car and the repairs never stopped coming. I've replaced the brakes & rotors 4 times in 3 years. I had to pay to have the car re-wired due to electrical problems & add a starter, replaced hoses. Shocks and ball joints. This has to be the worst vehicle ever.

- Albany, NY, USA

problem #597

May 202014

Journey

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Journey. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (service brakes, hydraulics); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact experienced a failure with the ignition node module pertaining to the battery of the vehicle. The failure mileage was unknown.

- South Coffeyville, OK, USA

problem #596

Apr 232016

Journey

  • 113,000 miles
Since I've bought this car in 2013 I've had problems with it starting. A few days after I bought it I had a problem took it to the dealer and they replaced the throttle body. 2 years later had a problem again and it went away. Now it is doing it again and I never know whether or not it is going to start. I've been stranded multiple times and had to get it towed home. My lights radio and everything work the car just won't start and I only get clicking sound. Its not the battery and not the starter. We have found disconnecting the battery for a little while will reset the computer and then it will start. However I do not know how to do that and I shouldn't have to. If it doesn't start I have to wait for my husband to come get me and do it. My car has been recalled many times for different electrical problems and I think the should be held resposible for this too. Your car not starting is a major safety hazard depending on where you are or if have children with you on a hot day. We had our grandson with us one day last month and got stranded, we parked the car and came back an hour later and wouldn't start. All lights and radio came on. We called for a jump from roadside assistance and they said an hour and half wait. We went back in the store for an hour and came out to see if it would start and it did. No jump or anything! and everyday other day since then it's been the same thing. If you google the 09 Dodge Journey starting problems there are many many complaints of people having the same issues. Please recall this car!!

- Baraboo, WI, USA

problem #595

Aug 032015

Journey

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Journey. While parked, the vehicle failed to start. The vehicle was serviced under NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (air bags, electrical system), but the remedy failed to repair the vehicle. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was unknown.

- Brooklyn, NY, USA

problem #594

Dec 112015

Journey

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Journey. While driving at various speeds, the windshield wipers and indicators on the instrument panel would independently power on. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the wiring behind the radio failed and needed to be repaired. The vehicle was repaired, but the failure recurred. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the power control module and tcm would need to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was unknown.

- Hawkinsville, GA, USA

problem #593

Apr 072014

Journey

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Journey. The contact received a recall notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (air bags, electrical system); however, the part for the recall repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced the failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Grand Junction, CO, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »