10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
11 / 11
Injuries / Deaths:
11 / 0
Average Mileage:
46,195 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

The NHTSA is the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints can be spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem. See the Back button — blue bar at the very top of the page — to explore more.

Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Dodge Journey:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

problem #700

Sep 162019

Journey

  • miles
My car is constantly unable to start im being told due to electrical issues. Ive replaced the starter, battery, & alternator. There are all kinds of forums telling you ways around getting the car to start but no real fixes. Some people spending hundreds and thousands trying to fix this issue by replacing fuse boxes, adding cables, replacing the entire computer system and more to no avail. While others just park the car until its paid off or sell it. Its not fair and its inconvenient. Dodge Journeys 2009+ are all experiencing these issues.

- Cincinnati, OH, USA

problem #699

Aug 012018

Journey

  • miles
When a certain light appears it causes my brake lights to go out. I have been pullover multiple times and almost in accidents because of this. I have children. I have replaced multiple bulbs for nothing. This car has been an safety hazard. I worked sooooooo hard to pay off I should be able to have a safe reliable vechile. I am a cna I have clients that I need to Transport and I cant which is causing me to be broke because I cant work. If you have a heart please please help me and my family.

- Flint, MI, USA

problem #698

Aug 202019

Journey

  • 50,000 miles
Randomly, when trying to start the car, the engine will make a singular click sound but will not turn over. However, most of the time, when putting the car into neutral, it will start. Sometimes it will take multiple times of putting car in neutral, back to park, for the car to start. The issues happens with both cold and hot starts (happens more often when in hot weather. We have taken the car into the dealer and they, "could not find any issues." The issue has occured over the last 4 years.

- Lakeside, CA, USA

problem #697

Aug 052019

Journey

  • 160,000 miles
Takara recall. The horn will randomly go off. And so will the alarm.

- Galena, KS, USA

problem #696

Jul 012019

Journey

  • 130,000 miles
Vehicle will not consistently start in park. Placing the vehicle in neutral worked for a few months ths and now, after the starter and O2 sensors have been replaced, the vehicle has begun to have the same problems. Our current short term fix is to jiggle the battery cables/wiring harness and after 5 minutes that works. Hadn't had this issue for five years (as the owner) and during the past year it's been one non-start after another. Drove the vehicle for an hour without a problem starting. Stopped to get gas, tried to start the vehicle, nothing. The dash turns on, the vehicle cli is, but wont turn over. Battery, alternator, starter...charging system checked out to be ok. Concerned I will be stranded without a true fix to this issue. The vehicle was stationary each time we tried to start it. Wwle even captured a video of the non-start and our resolution for the mechanic to view. They didnt wxoweince the issue; but I did, and they needed more information to trouble shoot further.

- Jacksonville, FL, USA

problem #695

Jul 122019

Journey

  • 101,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Journey. While the vehicle was parked, the contact removed the key from the ignition switch, but the engine did not shut off. The contact had to remove a fuse from the fuse box in order to shut off the vehicle. The vehicle was not taken to an independent mechanic or a dealer for diagnostic testing. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 101,000.

- Middleriver, MD, USA

problem #694

Jul 022019

Journey

  • 162,000 miles
On several occasions my Dodge Journey has shut off while driving and while sitting at a traffic light. Some instances occurred while turning at a traffic light or driving straight ahead on a local city road. The check engine light, traction equalizer warning and air bag lights all come on just prior to the car shutting off most times. Other times there is no warning until my steering wheel and brakes lock up indicated that the car has shut off. Iżve had the car serviced for the engine amongst other repairs and the problem still persists and the codes clear only temporarily. The car lights dim or flicker and the car shakes sometimes when starting up indicating that the car will not hold power to drive. The battery is good and the mechanic has stated that the issue is electrical.

- Orlando, FL, USA

problem #693

May 222019

Journey

  • miles
I bought this Dodge Journey SXT last yr 2/16/2018, I asked the salesman if there's any recalls or anything wrong with this car.. he said only need to replace the rear tires.. I contacted a lemon law lawyer the next day after getting the tires replaced bc he lied to me, the tie rod & ball joint had to be replaced, on top of that I found out there are (4) recalls on my car that were never taken care of, so Dodge chyrsler dealership replaced the front/back airbags in (Mar/April)of year 2018.. I received the recalls to my phone, to top that off I purchased this vehicle in cash over ($4,263), the lemon law lawyer told me to go to a website to get the history on my car I bought, it was involved in a car accident on passenger side on (10/18/2017).. I was lied to totally, I almost got rear ended bc the transmission stopped on me, my sister raised $$ to get transmission replaced, now had to put new brakes/new battery/new starter/another new tire/ then the hub assembly broke along with the sway bar arm, the electrical system is faulty & car starts but then if I go anywhere & then try to start to go home, it wonżT start & the fob key needs to be replaced as well.. this car is a safety hazard, too many problems that shouldnżT be happening..it has stopped on me too many times to count, IżM at thee point I afraid to drive it.. this vehicle has (2 recalls) that have not been taken care of yet, I had to call Canada to tell them I bought the vehicle bc they didnżT have me as the new owner, I didnżT get any recall notices in the mail bc I just bought this car last yr & it was at a dealership, they never took care of the recalls, , I was sent a notice to my credit karma acct telling me there's 4 recalls but the airbags are dismissed bc they were taken care of, . I have 2 recalls that have not been repaired.my ignition switch hasnżT worked from the day I bought this car, it's loose.

- Rockford, MI, USA

problem #692

May 062019

Journey

  • 146,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Journey. The contact stated that the vehicle stalled on several occasions. While driving approximately 60 mph on a major highway, the vehicle stalled causing the contact to crash into a brick wall. The drivers side air bag deployed with force however the front passenger side air bag failed to deploy. The driver sustained neck pains, body pains, muscle spasms in the left arm and scarring to the left arm. The front passenger sustained head, mouth and face injury due to no air bag deployment. Both received further medical treatment. A police report was filed. The vehicle was not diagnosed and a dealer was not contacted. The contact was unaware that the vehicle was included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (air bags and electrical system) as the vehicle was not purchased from a dealer. The manufacturer was notified of the failures and the crash to determine if they may open an investigation. The approximate failure mileage was 146,000.

- Grimes, IA, USA

problem #691

Jun 142016

Journey

  • 140,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Journey. The contact stated that the vehicle failed to start when the key was placed in the ignition and all the warning indicators illuminated on the instrument panel. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic where it was diagnosed that the engine timing switch failed and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired, but the failure recurred a few days later. The vehicle was not repaired again. The manufacturer and dealer were not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 140,000.

- Davenport, IA, USA

problem #690

Mar 012019

Journey

  • miles
My car fails to stay started when sticking the key in the ignition.

- Indianapolis, IN, USA

problem #689

Mar 252019

Journey

  • 113,966 miles
My Dodge Journey is starting sometimes..and will not start at other times. There have been hundreds of driver complaints.Dodge is not addressing this major problem. Driving fine..park it..get in and it will not start. It seems to be a problem with the electronics...computer issue. Dodge should know. Due to all the same complains they are receiving. They need to do a recall. It has been happening intermittently last time 3/25/19..

- Allegan, MI, USA

problem #688

Feb 232019

Journey

  • 126,908 miles
Battery goes dead all the time, check enjine light, traction light, loses power going up small hills, won't shift, air bag light stays on, testing says it has a battery drain, cam shat sensor light changed but still says bad, we put a new battery in but doesnt help.

- Hardy, AR, USA

problem #687

Jul 052017

Journey

  • 0 miles
Recall the starters! I am sick of bwing syranded because our car won't start!!!! this is an issues for thousands of people!

- Mcarthur, OH, USA

problem #686

Oct 212018

Journey

  • 90,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Journey. While driving approximately 30 mph, the vehicle slowed down and the brake lights illuminated. The contact stopped the vehicle and noticed smoke outside the front passenger side. The vehicle shut off and the instrument panel blacked out; however, the windshield wipers did not stop. The vehicle was towed to the contact's residence. The contact called jim browne Chrysler Jeep Dodge Ram tampa bay at 813-452-5499 (located at 10909 N Florida ave, tampa, fl 33612) and was informed that there was no recall. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and also stated that there was no recall. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The failure mileage was approximately 90,000.

- Tampa, FL, USA

problem #685

Feb 172018

Journey

  • 129,988 miles
Not right, , transmission stopped on me driving, K & M Dodge mechanic says it's not my fault that the transmission just stopped on me while driving, he said the 2 gear isnżT there, this is 2 times now I almost got killed, to top that off I purchased this mused vehicle on 2/16/2018 & paid cash of $4,263 I asked if this car had any problems bc I do not want to put any money into it.. he told me & my parents only needed rear tires, I asked if it's neen in a car accident, he said no.. he said I will be the 2nd owner, , something isnżT right, so I took it in on 2/17/2018 to get 2 new rear tires & omg, are you kidding me, , this car didnżT have any airbags, electrical system was messed up, had to have a oil change on 2/22/2018, then it went in repair shop on 2/26/2018 for recall on airbags, then got it back on 3/26/2018, just for it to go back in on 4/1/2018 for a ball joint/tie rods/rotors/brakes front & back/ wheel alignment/new battery you got to be kidding me, , I am pissed as heck, found out IżM the 4th/5th owner, , it was in S car accident passenger side in Oct 2017 car stalled on ppl, minor frame work, car is missing lots of parts, then I had to buy another tire front passenger side, key fob doesnżT want to start car, ,then I almost got hit driving bc ignition stopped on me driving, , then had starter replaced new on 8/26/2018 to top that off on Aug 28 car stalls again, friend comes over with meter to check out car statistics & says car needs the transmission control modular reset so I can drive, so then try to drive car on Sept 5th, wonżT move, so I have to get rides, then on Sept 12th start up, try to drive it & the car stops, tried to drive it back to K & M Dodge on Sept 12th 2018, , it's been there since that day bc not drivable, needs a new transmission, I canżT afford bc I am on disibility (social security disabilty), I called a lawyer on 2/17/2018

- Rockford, MI, USA

problem #684

Oct 182018

Journey

  • 140,000 miles
The car would randomly fail to start. Sometimes the battery would completely drain. Putting it in neutral would sometimes work but not always.

- Columbus, OH, USA

problem #683

Oct 152018

Journey

  • 70,000 miles
Journey would not start despite healthy battery & other components while stationary. Had happened multiple times after being driven for about 30 miles or after sitting overnight. Have been told they don't know what is causing the issue. Hundreds of other Dodge owners complain in online forums about the same issue. Problem didn't start until we had the recall repairs done for the ignition and airbags.

- Riverdale, UT, USA

problem #682

Oct 132018

Journey

  • 133,942 miles
Bought a used 2009 Dodge Journey in February, have replaced the battery and starter in the last few months. Sometimes we can start the car normally, sometimes you have to jump the car off. Yesterday, the car would not shift or start, tried the neutral safety switch which enabled me to push the Journey but still would not crank. Research online shows that many other consumers have or are experiencing the same problem. I feel Dodge needs to take responsibility and figure out why these vehicles are malfunctioning. It's costing us money and time we do not have trying to chase down an electrical issue. I even had the PCM checked out and it too was in a good bill of health

- Tomball, TX, USA

problem #681

Sep 272018

Journey

  • 67,000 miles
Car does not start after being parked - sometimes when turned off for a short time (like getting gasoline), sometimes at the end of a work day or overnight. The car will sometimes start on its own after leaving it alone for more than a few hours. Car has been into shop several times and has had the following done: Changed to new battery 2X, checked alternator, ran computer diagnostic. This has happened 4 times in the past years. The car "clicks" one time, power windows and radio still work. We are afraid this will keep happening.

- Dumont, NJ, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »