10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
55,521 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

The NHTSA is the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints can be spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem. See the Back button — blue bar at the very top of the page — to explore more.

Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Dodge Journey:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #20

Jan 072014

Journey 4-cyl

  • 88,000 miles
Power steering hoses rupturing from cold weather. Second hose in less than 1 month to blow out while vehicle is parked and warming up. Many people online with same complaint, when it gets cold the Journey starts blowing the power steering hoses. Seems to have been a problem from the start, but the problem hasn't been fixed and newer models are still experiencing this problem. The mechanic feels this is due to the material being used is not the appropriate material, it is too hard and brittle. Once the hose blows out you lose the power steering which is dangerous and it starts to get smoke inside the vehicle as the power steering fluid is smoking in the engine.

- Star Prairie, WI, USA

problem #19

Dec 172012

Journey

  • 54,390 miles
We bought the Dodge Journey in Dec 2012 3 weeks or so later I returned to dealership with a clicking sound when I moved the steering wheel that the front end was shaking and that there was a load roar long story short every 6 months rotors brakes tires are having to be replaced and I guess what really set things more in motion was Jan 21 2014 while traveling down the interstate to take a sick child to the dr the left front tire valve steam blew out my husband got the car off the road only to jack it up to change tire when the weight of the vehicle bent the jack causing it to fall almost on my husbands foot, we bought this car because it was a V6 and had the room we need to travel to dr appts with our special needs child because we have to travel so far I have had nothing but trouble the dealership after a fight agreed to put new brakes the machined the rotors and said the steering was a Dodge thing nothing to worry about only the load clicking when pulling in or out of a parking space and the roar in the front they claim is the raos and they also at this time put 4 new tires on the car now mind you this was all done 7/6/13 and they done all of this when they purchased the car in 11/20/12 and when I go back in to the car fax every 6 months the breaks rotors and tires have to be replaced. Now here it is 6 months later for us and blow out also we just changes the rotors and brakes on the 11 of this month so see the 6 month deal with this car and when searching other complaints I am finding the same problem I have contacted Chrysler and they say call my dealership I informed [xxx] at Chrysler it was not the dealerships problem they didn't make the car. It is a death trap there are so many more issues with this car but the deadly ones are the tires blowing out the brakes crumbling and the rotors wearing out with in 6 months thank U and I so hope that someone can help us. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Hillsville , VA, USA

problem #18

Jul 192013

Journey

  • 55,000 miles
I am not reporting an accident... yet. I was driving on residential street about 35 mph when the "airbag warning light" came on. Thereafter it came on each time I started my car and started to drive. Contacted nearest dealer and was told that my vehicle was not apart of the recall ( 09V118000), although the recall named 2009 Dodge Journeys. They wanted me to pay to have it checked! I then called Chrysler Corp and spoke with a rep who also stated that my vehicle was not apart of the recall. It appears to me that it should have been since I never had this type of issue before with any of the approx. 7 vehicles I have purchased over the last 50 years. I drive to California at least 3 times each year and various locations within the state of Arizona. I want Chrysler to contact the bill-luke dealership and have them check my electrical system and fix the problem, at Chrysler's expense. I am sure I am not the only owner who has this complaint.

- Phoenix, AZ, USA

problem #17

Apr 152013

Journey 6-cyl

  • 53,600 miles
Have had the rack and pinion fixed 1 1/2 years ago and it is leaking again. Have had to put 3 sets of brake pads on in 3 years. Also had to put new rotor and brake caliper on right front due to brake locking up! this car only has 53,600 miles on it and has been one thing after another breaking down on it. Been told by two Dodge mechanics this should not be happening. Would like for the dealer to do something about it. Been told there were recalls on this car and we have never gotten one in the mail. Help!!

- Niota, IL, USA

problem #16

May 152012

Journey 6-cyl

  • 16,000 miles
Since I brought my Journey I had to get my brakes replaced several time & rotors replace, transmission sealant leak and recently when I was driving to work my tire pressure light came on and within minutes my tire was almost flat. I was able to just make it to a gas station and went to fill up my tire and my valve stem went all the way in and my tire went totally flat and lost all pressure. My car had to be towed and ended up spending $300 to get my front passenger and rear passenger side valve stems replaced. The service guy agreed that it was unsafe and I could of easily spun out if I lost all tire pressure right away. I have 2 kids and I feel unsafe to drive with my children in the car. On top of these issues my steering wheel continue to shake but I had it in to the service department a number of times and they said everything is ok. One of the instances they said the shaking was because of my routers and resurfaced them twice. Please help me. I don't know of my options but I am concerned for me and my family's safety with this car. Sincerely, [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6)

- West Bend, WI, USA

problem #15

Jan 082012

Journey 6-cyl

  • miles
While pulling the car into my driveway the car just shut down/died. I had no control of the steering. Extremely frightening and thankfully this did not occur while at an intersection or on the highway.

- Cincinnati, OH, USA

problem #14

Sep 102011

Journey 6-cyl

  • miles
We purchased this vehicle 2/2011 with 47,000 miles and recently in 9/2011 at our regular oil change we were told the left-front tie rod was going to need replaced. Now the steering is loose, and its loud in the front end while driving over bumps. We don't feel like we should be replacing tie-rod ends this soon on this vehicle that is in excellent shape otherwise. I know there is a Dodge Ram recall campaign#10V65800 for the same thing. Could this be something also related to the 2009 Dodge Journey?

- Galion, OH, USA

problem #13

Jun 122010

Journey

  • miles
NHTSA it all started when I bought my Journey: Nice looking but very, very bad experience 1.transmission, it change speed by itself. It change speed from 80 mph to 40, then 70 mph to 30 mph.. I was driving in the expressway and this change of speed happen to me several times. I took it to the dealer and they said that they could not found the problem, after so many incidents I got mad to the dealer and told them that my life is at risk because the car change speed by itself that they have to do something about it. They finally fix the car. 2.brakes, I have problems with the brakes too. They run fast and have to keep changing them. 3.battery, I have problems with the battery too. I have told them numerous times too check the battery, because the car does not want to start and they keep telling me that there is nothing wrong with the battery. So my question to them is the following if the battery is good., what is the problem? I have to turn on the switch several times until the car start. They said that they cannot find the problem. And now the latest problem!!!!!!!! 4.steering, every time I turn the wheels the car make a wear sound like an old car 5.car does not turn off. Now my car does not want to turn off the dealer said that I bought the car and that now the car is mine and I have to take care of it. Yeah right!!! so my question is the following what is NHTSA going to do about it while Chrysler ignore their customers complaints and not taking responsibility. In the mean time we the consumers have to pay for Chrysler poor performance, etc. Dodge Journey should be remove from the market. And we as consumers should be reimburse or at least Chrysler should recall all cars.

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #12

Aug 232011

Journey

  • 66,326 miles
2009 Dodge Journey SXT. In the year I have owned it, I have replaced brakes twice, as rite now I am replacing them cause they started squeaking a week ago and today they locked up. Also replacing one of the calipers. Any time I take a hard left turn, there is a loud grinding noise. I have replaced the tires already, and have had to replace the rear 2 again recently. Any time I go to brake when going over 40 mph, the steering wheel shakes uncontrollably. I have also received a recall from a local dealership for a wiring harness in drivers side. When I went in to dealership, they put it on order and said they would call when it came in, but never did. That was 6 months ago.

- Spring Lake, NC, USA

problem #11

Sep 282010

Journey 4-cyl

  • 43,201 miles
Purchase a Dodge Journey 2009. I inform the dealer that the windows were not coming down as they should. Didn't get fixed. The keyless remote was suppose to be with the car it wasn't, they installed a after market keyless remote, don't work correct. The brakes were squeaking and could hear air within the car when applying brakes. I was told that there's nothing wrong and it was normal. It has been 4 to 5 months later now its not starting. Contact chrsyler llc, told me I had to have it towed to a dealer, get diagnose, get it fixed and I have to pay for it all and they will reimburse half for the part, labor is all on me. The vehicle has done this no start problem 3 times in 2 and half days. Also notice that the steering column gets hot for some unforeseen reason. Inform the dealer I purchase my Journey from, I was told that is normal. Still have the Journey can't trade in back because I have no money, so I am stuck with it. Having it towed to dealer to get problem looked at and all expense is on me. What do I do. I think chrsyler will not repay me. I have to borrow money to get this done because this is my only transportation. I am scared that I might have a electrical fire while driving and will not notice it until it too late. What do I do. Please help in richmond va.

- Henrico Or Richmond, VA, USA

problem #10

Feb 052010

Journey 6-cyl

  • 8,800 miles
2009 Dodge Journey: Pre-mature brake and rotor wear causing steering shake at 8,800 miles and again 10 months later at 15,000 miles.

- Phoenix, AZ, USA

problem #9

May 222010

Journey

  • 36,500 miles
Recently purchased 2009 Dodge Journey, has a scraping noise in the steering, intermittent, louder at times than other when turning, returned to dealership who refused to make any repairs even though they confessed to having heard sound. My concern is it may lock up while turning and resulting in an accident. Had less than 36,000 miles when first reported.

- Poulan, GA, USA

problem #8

Jun 162009

Journey

  • miles
I purchased a 2009 Dodge Journey in may of 2009. Within a month of the purchase, I had the brakes and rotors replaced. Since then, I have complained numerous times about the brakes pulsating when applied and the steering wheel shaking. This has been a safety issue since the purchase of the car. I have all the documents to show where I have complained to the dealership. Now they are saying the brakes are no longer under warranty and I would have to pay for any service done to the brakes. I am not understanding why I should have to come out of my pocket with this expense when I have been complaining since I purchased the vehicle. I have a grandson that I Transport daily and don't feel safe driving something that I am paying for monthly. I recently had a vehicle pull out in front of me and went to put the brakes on and the brakes made a grinding and took a long to stop. The steering wheel shook as I applied the brake. My grandson was in the vehicle, but he was not injured.

- New Castle, DE, USA

problem #7

Mar 082010

Journey

  • 21,000 miles
On Monday, March 8, 2010, my wife, two year old daughter and I suffered a third episode of the following dangerous malfunctions: Steering, transmission and drivetrain issues that, without notice, result in an unbearable screeching and grinding noise emanating from underneath the vehicle at speeds between 15 and 30 mph, a pause and hesitation in acceleration between speeds of 15 and 30 M.P.H. that causes the car to jump forward, the immediate loss of accurate steering and a burning smell throughout the car interior we suffered the most recent episode, without notice, while driving through rush hour traffic at 7:45 a.M. we waited two hours for a tow truck to arrive. Fortunately, my wife and daughter were only shaken, but not injured. In the last three months, we have had an unsafe rear tire replaced, sunroof parts replaced for constant leaking, a new electronic module installed to prevent the episodes of the entire electronic system malfunctioning causing the loss of car function and door locks and multiple power steering parts replaced.

- Cranford, NJ, USA

problem #6

Jul 092008

Journey

  • 856 miles
Car leaks, right rear door lock will not always lock, alarm will not cut off, car makes a funny noise when turning, car quit and finally got it started, pulls to left, doors will lock and will take approx. 2 minutes for it to unlock, misses when pulling.

- York, SC, USA

problem #5

Mar 152008

Journey

  • miles
This vehicle has several defects the front end makes a whining noise when turning, the dash is rubbing on the windshield with an awful noise, it pulls to the left while driving, and the engine sounds like a rod is about ready to blow through the hood. My wife and I are embarrassed to drive this thing.

- Ark City, KS, USA

problem #4

Nov 252008

Journey

  • 100 miles
I have a brand new 2009 Dodge Journey. The steering makes noise, interior lights don't work, hazard lights don't work, locks malfunction, alarm malfunctions and won't turn off...I brought it in to have the steering issue looked at and was told they need to keep it for at least a day to fix it. They refuse, however to give me a rental until they find a diagnosis, which they now tell me will take at least 2 days. So, I'm driving around with a car that has one thing after another breaking on it because I can't afford to go 2 days without a car. I have to work. They don't stand by their product and it's going to cause problems for many consumers.

- Burbank, CA, USA

problem #3

Aug 012008

Journey 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 60 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Journey. While driving approximately 60 mph, the vehicle pulled to the left and vibrated. There were no warning lights illuminated on the instrument panel. On three separate occasions, the vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer for identical failures. The tires were replaced; however, there was no resolution to the malfunctions. Also, the fuel gauge does not operate properly. The vehicle has not been repaired correctly for the failures. The failure mileage was 60 and current mileage was 3,235. Updated 10/14/08. The consumer stated there was a problem with the tires. Updated 10/16/08.

- Fort Mill, SC, USA

problem #2

Jul 252008

Journey

  • 1,000 miles
While driving the Dodge jouney, up a hill, it just stop. We were not out of gas. Had to E towed to level ground. The ride is very rocky, and she pulls to the right. It is very hard to see all around the car. The exhaust seems out of control.

- Brooklyn, NY, USA

problem #1

May 132008

Journey

  • 860 miles
2009 Journey SXT with 860 miles was driving into parking lot when vehicle lost power, vehicle would not restart. Taken to dealer and PCM was replaced. Also complained of grinding/whining noise while driving, returned to the dealership 4 times before repairs were attempted. Power steering pump and rack and pinion replaced. Still have whining noise intermittently while turning left.

- Redding, CA, USA