10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
1,422 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

The NHTSA is the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints can be spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem. See the Back button — blue bar at the very top of the page — to explore more.

Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 1996 Dodge Neon:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #199

Apr 052001

(reported on)

Neon

  • miles
When driving noticed excessive amount of oil leaking into engine compartment. Consumer has contacted dealer, dealer noticed head gasket need replacing.

- Concord, NC, USA

problem #198

Jan 011997

Neon

  • miles
Vehicle leaks oil, and headgasket is blowen. Contacted dealer, and dealer changed head gasket. But soon after headgasket blewout again.

- Blasdell, NY, USA

problem #197

Feb 251998

Neon

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
This was consumers fourth time of having head gaskets fixed. On 02-25-1998 head gaskets and camshaft were replaced at 24,194 miles; on 04-30-1998, cylinder head & spark plugs were replaced at 25,509 miles; on 10-5-1998, engine oil leaked, camshaft sensor seal was replaced at 28,847miles; and on 0 3-27-2001, gaskets/ valve cover, and spark plugs needed to be replaced at 48,800 miles. Consumer was trying to get to bottom of problem, and find out why this kept happening.

- Owensboro, KY, USA

problem #196

Feb 251998

Neon

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
This was consumers fourth time of having head gaskets fixed. On 02-25-1998 head gaskets and camshaft were replaced at 24,194 miles; on 04-30-1998, cylinder head & spark plugs were replaced at 25,509 miles; on 10-5-1998, engine oil leaked, camshaft sensor seal was replaced at 28,847miles; and on 0 3-27-2001, gaskets/ valve cover, and spark plugs needed to be replaced at 48,800 miles. Consumer was trying to get to bottom of problem, and find out why this kept happening.

- Owensboro, KY, USA

problem #195

Feb 251998

Neon

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
This was consumers fourth time of having head gaskets fixed. On 02-25-1998 head gaskets and camshaft were replaced at 24,194 miles; on 04-30-1998, cylinder head & spark plugs were replaced at 25,509 miles; on 10-5-1998, engine oil leaked, camshaft sensor seal was replaced at 28,847miles; and on 0 3-27-2001, gaskets/ valve cover, and spark plugs needed to be replaced at 48,800 miles. Consumer was trying to get to bottom of problem, and find out why this kept happening.

- Owensboro, KY, USA

problem #194

Feb 251998

Neon

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
This was consumers fourth time of having head gaskets fixed. On 02-25-1998 head gaskets and camshaft were replaced at 24,194 miles; on 04-30-1998, cylinder head & spark plugs were replaced at 25,509 miles; on 10-5-1998, engine oil leaked, camshaft sensor seal was replaced at 28,847miles; and on 0 3-27-2001, gaskets/ valve cover, and spark plugs needed to be replaced at 48,800 miles. Consumer was trying to get to bottom of problem, and find out why this kept happening.

- Owensboro, KY, USA

problem #193

Jan 242001

Neon

  • miles
Oil seals fail causing an oil leak, valve cover gasket failed.

- Richmond, VA, USA

problem #192

Jun 151998

Neon

  • miles
Blown head gasket each time.

- Sumter, SC, USA

problem #191

Jan 012000

Neon

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Head gasket blew on vehicle.

- Kingston, GA, USA

problem #190

Feb 282001

Neon

  • miles
Oil leak, head gasket. This is a known problem with all of the vehicles manufactured for that year.

- San Jose, CA, USA

problem #189

Feb 292000

Neon

  • miles
Car was serviced for oil/filter change, 4 cylinder tune up, transmission service on February 29, 2000. During rush hour traffic vehicle stalled. Called dealer to inform them of situation. Towing service was called. Waited one hour for tow truck. Vehicle restarted and was driving to owner's residence. Called towing service again on the morning of March 1, 2000. Vehicle was towed to hendrick Dodge. Vehicle was diagnosed as having a malfunctioning ignition coil. Coil was replaced on March 1, 2000. Owner picked up vehicle on the afternoon on March 1, 2000. Vehicle stalled again within 5 miles of the hendrick Dodge. Towing service was called again. Vehicle was towed back to hendrick Dodge. Dealership diagnosed the problem as being a faulty wiring harness and cam/crank sensor. On March 8, the dealership had replaced the faulty mechanisms and credited the owner the cost of the unnecessarily installed distributor coil.

- Raleigh, NC, USA

problem #188

Dec 122000

Neon

  • miles
The headgasket and camshaft seal failed at 37687 miles which is clearly premature. The estimated repairs plus the necessary towing charge were in excess of $600. After a complaint by telephone the warranty was extended by daimler Chrysler to cover the full amount. I am filing this complaint not for my own benefit, since my cost of repair was covered, but to provide documentation for an investigation of this problem.

- Syracuse, NY, USA

problem #187

Dec 122000

Neon

  • miles
The headgasket and camshaft seal failed at 37687 miles which is clearly premature. The estimated repairs plus the necessary towing charge were in excess of $600. After a complaint by telephone the warranty was extended by daimler Chrysler to cover the full amount. I am filing this complaint not for my own benefit, since my cost of repair was covered, but to provide documentation for an investigation of this problem.

- Syracuse, NY, USA

problem #186

Mar 151996

Neon

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Head gasket was replaced at 35,000 miles and again at 71,000 miles due to poor design.

- Tiffen, OH, USA

problem #185

Mar 072001

Neon

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Engine head gasket blew out. As the result of head gasket failure, oil mixed with the coolant. The dealer cleaned the radiator and fixed the head gasket.

- Federal Way, WA, USA

problem #184

Feb 011998

Neon

  • miles
The Dodge Neon's 2.0 L engine has an apparant manufacturer's defect in the head gasket assembly. The car leaks oil. Our particular car received dealer service once already for the head gasket defect but the oil leak persists. When the vehicle was taken to the dealer a second time the dealer said they found no apparant leak. Close after that our factory warranty expired. Our car now leaks almost a quart of oil every day. This problem is not one isolated to just our particular vehicle. There have been many cases of failed head gaskets recorded and shared by Neon owners. According to a user website "Neons.org" 32% of all Neon owners have already had to replace the defecive part within 30,000 miles of the vehicle's life; most at their own cost. Please document and address this problem that plagues Neon owners who are just trying to buy a reliable little car. Thank you.

- Clovis, CA, USA

problem #183

Feb 152001

Neon

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Vehicle needs to have head gasket replaced.

- Copley, OH, USA

problem #182

Nov 012000

Neon

  • miles
First head gasket failure occurred at less than 36,000 miles; covered on warranty. Dodge refuses to cover second failure and claims "no known problems" with head gasket longevity when called. Good maintenance record on vehicle; av. 15-16K miles/year use.

- St. Paul, MN, USA

problem #181

Jan 252001

Neon

  • miles
There was an oil leakage around head gasket. The dealer told me that Chrysler Jeep's have the same problems and are being recalled. The Dodge dealer told me I have to pay for it. My warranty was expired, and the dealer said Chrysler won't pay for Neons. This is a defect not something I did to the car. I have never had an accident. I hope this helps, because I can't afford to fix it.

- Saint Cloud, FL, USA

problem #180

Jan 292001

(reported on)

Neon

  • miles
Vehicle leaking oil technician stated head gasket needed to be replaced.

- Brooklyn, NY, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »