10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
33 / 4
Injuries / Deaths:
41 / 1
Average Mileage:
21,475 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

The NHTSA is the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints can be spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem. See the Back button — blue bar at the very top of the page — to explore more.

Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Dodge Ram 1500:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #113

Dec 032014

Ram 1500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V770000 (air bags) and 15V313000 (air bags); however, the parts needed to do the repairs was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repairs. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Enterprise, AL, USA

problem #112

Mar 112015

Ram 1500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received a notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V313000 (air bags) however, the recall part was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Greenacres, FL, USA

problem #111

Jul 312015

Ram 1500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received notification for NHTSA campaign number: 15V313000 (air bags). The dealer was contacted, who confirmed that the part needed was available and an appointment for repair was scheduled. However, once the contact arrived to the dealer they stated that the part was not available. The dealer was unable to determine when the part would become available. The manufacturer was contacted and could not provide an estimated date for when the vehicle would receive the recall repair. The contact was not experiencing a failure.

- North Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #110

Nov 112014

Ram 1500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V354000 (air bags); however, the part needed to perform the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Jackson, MS, USA

problem #109

Jul 012014

Ram 1500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V770000 (air bags) and 15V313000 (air bags), however, the parts to do the repairs were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repairs. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Meridian, MS, USA

problem #108

Jul 152006

Ram 1500

  • 40,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact stated that while driving at approximately 30 mph, a deer jumped in front of the vehicle causing the contact to crash into a concrete divider. The air bags did not deploy. A police report was filed. The contact sustained head injuries, but medical attention was not required. The vehicle was towed to the dealer where the frame on the front of the vehicle was replaced. The manufacture was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 40,000.

- Centerton, AR, USA

problem #107

Jan 232015

Ram 1500

  • miles
I have received two separate recalls for the air bags in my vehicle. In January I took it to texan Dodge in humble, tx. For replacement of the air bags and was told that no parts are available at that time. They promised to call back when parts available. We have checked back several time and still no parts. We received a second recall on May 29, 2015 for the air bags again. We contacted texan Dodge in humble, tx and still no parts available. I am beginning to think that the recalls are not worth the paper they are written on as there is little recourse for me as an owner. I guess if the bags blow up and kill me, my family can sue Chrysler Dodge for my death.

- Kingwood, TX, USA

problem #106

Mar 052015

Ram 1500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V770000 (air bags) and 15V313000 (air bags); however, the parts needed to do the repairs were not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time to provide the needed part to do the repair. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Towder Springs, GA, USA

problem #105

Jul 312015

Ram 1500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V313000 (air bags); however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Greer, SC, USA

problem #104

Jul 132015

Ram 1500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received a notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V313000 (air bags); however, the recall part was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for a recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Cicero, NY, USA

problem #103

Jul 282015

Ram 1500

  • miles
I contacted dealer in February 2015 about the recall R25-NHTSA-15V-313 and its now July 2015 and they say they cn only do 1 or 2 trucks a month and I am number 35 on the list so at this rate it may take 2 years to get the truck fixed under the recall

- Aiken, SC, USA

problem #102

May 292015

Ram 1500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V313000(air bag); however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Felton, DE, USA

problem #101

May 212015

Ram 1500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V770000 (air bags) and 15V313000 (air bags); however, the part needed to do the repair was not made available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time to provide the part needed to do the repair. The contact had not experienced a failure. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure.

- Acworth, GA, USA

problem #100

Jul 102013

Ram 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • 160,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact stated that the air bag warning lamp illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for routine maintenance and the contact reported the failure occurred two years ago. The technician stated that the contact needed to wait for the recall notification to be sent. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V313000 (air bags) and stated that the part needed was not available within a reasonable time frame to schedule the recall repair. The dealer did not give a specific date for when the part would become available. The manufacturer was contacted and could not provide an estimated date for when the vehicle would receive the recall repair. The approximate failure mileage was 160,000. Updated 09/21/15 updated 09/24/15

- Stanwood, MI, USA

problem #99

Feb 042015

Ram 1500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V770000 (air bags); however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Hartwell, GA, USA

problem #98

Jul 212015

Ram 1500

  • miles
After getting a recall (R25/NHTSA 15V-313) for my 2004 Dodge Ram 1500 air bag, I called efird chrysley of florence, SC for an appointment. Was told the parts weren't available but would be in in six weeks on July 21, 2015 so I made an appointment for both my Ram & 2006 charger. My appointment was at 7:30 am & I dropped off the truck for the recall work. At about 11:30 I hadn't received a call back so I called & was told they had to order the parts. Each time I have to get a ride to drop off & pick up the truck. When I complained the service guy shrugged it off as if it was no big deal & there was nothing he could do. I said, "damn, were you even going to call me"". he accused me of cussing at him. What's up with Chrysler? is this their way to piss off everyone so they won't come back to get the work done" (there I go, cussing again)

- Darlington, SC, USA

problem #97

Dec 122013

Ram 1500

  • 110,000 miles
Another single driver vehicle ran a stop sign and the single driver Dodge hit the driver's door directly and deployed both front air bags and totaled both vehicles. The drivers air bag launched metal into the left wrist and forearm of the driver while his hands were in the 10 and 2 O'clock steering wheel positions. The left wrist lacerations and large hematoma required hospital care and left scars. The driver also suffered lower back damage requiring surgery. The truck was totaled in January 2014 and sent for salvage. On December 15, 2014 I received a Chrysler safety recall (P40/NHTSA 14V-354) on the air bag inflators of the 2004 Dodge Ram 1500. The problem in the recall notice is described as; "excessive internal pressure, during airbag deployment events, could result in an increased chance of occupant injury during certain crash conditions."

- Orlando, FL, USA

problem #96

Jul 172015

Ram 1500

  • 95,000 miles
There has not been an incident as of July 17, 2015. I received the airbag recall R25/NHTSA 15V-313 in earlyjune 2015. I have not received a follow up recall notice. I contacted shelor motor mile Dodge in christiansburg Virginia 24073 on July 17, 2015. They told me they would open a ticket and order the parts. They also told me it could take a month or two for the parts to arrive. I feel that this is not a reasonable time due to the nature of the recall. I would like to expidite this process or be provided a rental car until this can be repaired.

- Christiansburg, VA, USA

problem #95

Jan 012014

Ram 1500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V770000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The VIN was not provided. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Keller, TX, USA

problem #94

Jul 012015

Ram 1500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact stated that NHTSA campaign number: 15V313000 (air bags) exceeded a reasonable time for repair. The dealer stated that the part would not be available for repair until approximately four months. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. The VIN was not available.

- Goochland , VA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »