10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
4 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
5 / 0
Average Mileage:
20,190 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

The NHTSA is the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints can be spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem. See the Back button — blue bar at the very top of the page — to explore more.

Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Dodge Ram 2500:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #111

Aug 192014

Ram 2500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 13V529000 (steering); however, the part needed for the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Bountiful, UT, USA

problem #110

Jan 062014

Ram 2500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact received a notification of recall NHTSA campaign id number: 13V529000 (steering). The contact stated that the part needed to service the vehicle under the recall was unavailable. The dealer was unable to provide an expected date for the part to become available. The manufacturer was not notified of the problem. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Craig, CO, USA

problem #109

Aug 122013

Ram 2500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact received a recall notice for NHTSA campaign number: 13V529000 (steering) and stated that the part needed was unavailable to perform the repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced the failure.

- Meridian, ID, USA

problem #108

Jan 092014

Ram 2500 4WD 6-cyl Diesel

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 13V529000 (steering) however, the part was not available to perform the repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 10/2/14 the steering linkage was replaced. Updated 11/18/14

- Washington, UT, USA

problem #107

Jan 152014

Ram 2500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact received notification for NHTSA campaign number: 13V529000 (steering). The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for recall repair. The manufacturer informed the contact that the recall parts were on back order.

- Moses Lake, WA, USA

problem #106

Mar 102014

Ram 2500 4WD 6-cyl Diesel

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact received NHTSA campaign id number: 13V529000 (steering) however, the part to do the repairs was unavailable. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 09/15/14

- Nazareth , PA, USA

problem #105

Jan 012014

Ram 2500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact received the notification for NHTSA campaign id number: 13V529000 (steering). The contact stated that she had contacted the dealer and the manufacturer numerous times and there was no date available for when the parts will be available for the repairs. The contact felt that the repair exceeded a reasonable amount of time. The contact did not experience a failure. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue.

- Olean, MO, USA

problem #104

Jun 102014

Ram 2500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 13V529000 (steering) and stated that the part to do the repair was unavailable. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact did not experience a failure. The VIN was not available.

- Norwich, CT, USA

problem #103

Dec 042013

Ram 2500

  • 99,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 2500. While driving various speeds, the vehicle shook intermittently. The contact attempted to have the vehicle repaired according to NHTSA campaign number: 13V529000 (steering); however, the dealer stated that the parts were unavailable. The manufacturer was not notified. The failure mileage was 99,000.

- Hayesville, NC, USA

problem #102

Jan 062014

Ram 2500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact attempted to have the vehicle repaired according to NHTSA campaign number: 13V528000 (steering), but the parts were unavailable. Neither the dealer nor the manufacturer could provide an estimated date as to when the parts would arrive. The VIN was unavailable. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Evensville, WY, USA

problem #101

Dec 272013

Ram 2500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact received a notification for recall NHTSA campaign id number: 13V529000 (steering) and stated that the parts were not available. The dealer did not provide a specific date when the parts would become available. The manufacturer was also contacted and could not provide an estimated date for when the vehicle would receive the recall repairs. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Kerrville, TX, USA

problem #100

Jan 072014

Ram 2500

  • 75,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact stated that while pulling out of the driveway, the vehicle made a loud noise. After inspecting the vehicle, the contact noticed that the driver front tire was detached. The vehicle was towed to the dealer where the tie rod was replaced two years ago. The contact received notification for recall NHTSA campaign number 13V529000 (steering) and stated that the part to do the repairs was unavailable. The manufacturer was made aware of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 75,000.

- Santa Barbara, CA, USA

problem #99

Jan 072014

Ram 2500 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact received a notification for recall NHTSA campaign number 13V529000 (steering) and stated that the part to do the repairs was unavailable. The manufacturer was made aware of the problem. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 10/7/14 updated 3/11/15

- Bremerton, WA, USA

problem #98

Jul 102014

Ram 2500 4WD 8-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact received a notification for recall NHTSA campaign number: 13V529000 (steering). The dealer and the manufacturer were contacted numerous times and they were not able to specify when the parts would be available for the repairs. The repair was not taken care of in a reasonable amount of time. Contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 10/02/14 updated 03/2/2015

- Boise, ID, USA

problem #97

Jul 102014

Ram 2500 4WD 6-cyl Diesel

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact received a notification for recall NHTSA campaign number: 13V529000 (steering). The dealer and the manufacturer were contacted numerous times and they have no idea when the parts would be available for the repairs. The repair was not taken care of in a reasonable amount of time. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 9/18/14 the consumer stated after almost 10 months from original notice, the parts arrived. However, no appointment has been made. Updated 1002/14

- Dayton, MN, USA

problem #96

May 122014

Ram 2500 8-cyl

  • miles
Chrysler issued a safety recall for a possible left tie rod ball stud failure. The recall notice says to call for an appointment so the parts can be ordered prior to the appointment. When I arrived for my appointment I was told that Chrysler only sends them only one part per month, and they have hundreds of recalls. When I asked if it was safe to drive, their answer was, it should be. I have not heard from them since. That was 2 months ago. I feel some action needs to be taken against Chrysler to see that the parts are made available to the dealerships. This is for recall notice # N49 / NHTSA 13V-529.

- Palmer, AK, USA

problem #95

Dec 162013

Ram 2500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact received a notification of NHTSA campaign id number: 13V528000(steering). The contact stated that the repair had exceeded a reasonable amount of time. The dealer stated that parts were not available. The contact had not experienced a failure. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue.

- Refugio, TX, USA

problem #94

Jan 062014

Ram 2500 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
I had received a recall letter from Chrysler (N49 / NHTSA 13V-529) back in January and I had contacted my dealership (carl burger's Dodge in la mesa, ca 91942) shortly after receiving the letter. I was told that my name was added to a list and that they would contact me after the parts had arrived to replace the left tie rod ball stud on my truck. In may, I sent the dealership an email requesting an approximation for the recall work to be performed. I outlined an upcoming trip that I needed to drive my truck on and I never got a response. I called the dealership in June and was told that my name was still on the list but that I am number 147 and that Chrysler was only shipping them (1) tie rod per week. I have an out of state trip planned for the end of August and I have serious concerns due to some clunking that I am feeling in the steering wheel that this tie rod could possibly fail. Last week I received the same recall letter from Chrysler. I am not sure what more I can do? thank you, [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6)

- Lakeside, CA, USA

problem #93

Jan 062014

Ram 2500 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
Important saftey recall N49/NHTSA 13V-529: The left tie rod ball stud on the truck may fracture under certain driving conditions. This could cause a loss of directional control and/or crash without warning. The 2500 Dodge Ram was purchase to tow a 27foot rv. This is its primary purpose. Since I received the recall notice (Jan 2014), I've contacted folsom Dodge (folsom, ca) each month. I am told that they do not have the parts to make the repairs, and that there are over 100 trucks ahead of my truck. Folsom Dodge will call me, but I have not received a call back from them. I have called on the following dates: Jan 27, 2014; Feb 21, 2014; Mar 21, 2014; Apr 25, 2014; May 23, 2014; Jun 20, 2014; and Jul 7, 2014. I am call every two weeks. This is now "camping" season. This repair must be made as soon as possible. It's been over 7 months and still no parts"???" really!!!!! each time we take the rv out, we are risking our lives unnecessarily. This is unacceptable.

- Placerville, CA, USA

problem #92

Jan 082014

Ram 2500 4WD Diesel

  • Automatic transmission
  • 64,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact received NHTSA campaign id number: 13V529000 (steering) however, the part to do the repairs was unavailable. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 09/16/14

- Pampa, TX, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »