6.6

fairly significant
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
10,503 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

The NHTSA is the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints can be spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem. See the Back button — blue bar at the very top of the page — to explore more.

Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Ford Edge:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #56

Dec 262017

Edge

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2009 Ford Edge. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V384000 (air bags). The parts to do the repair were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The dealer (karl flammer Ford, 41975 us-19, tarpon springs, fl 34689 (888) 901-5275) confirmed that the parts were not available for the recall remedy. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts of available.

- Trinity, FL, USA

problem #55

Dec 122017

Edge

  • miles
Takata recall. Dealership and Ford Motor Company have no information on availability of the replacement air bags, or, at least they say the have no information. Yet Chrysler corporation advertises that they have replacement air bags and want their customers to make appointments to get the replacement completed. This tells me that the bags are available and Ford's claims should be investigated.

- Tampa, FL, USA

problem #54

Dec 072017

Edge 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2009 Ford Edge. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V384000 (air bags); however, the part for the recall repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The contact called autonation Ford frisco (6850 highway 121, frisco, tx 75034; 972-763-5523) and was informed that the part for the recall repair was not available. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available. Updated 8/24/18

- Carrollton, TX, USA

problem #53

Jun 012016

Edge

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Ford Edge. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V384000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. Commercial motor company in aransas pass, Texas was made aware of the recall and stated that the parts were unavailable. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Rockport, TX, USA

problem #52

Mar 012017

Edge

  • miles
Takata recall not done yet

- Egg Harbor Township, NJ, USA

problem #51

Jun 302016

Edge

  • miles
"takata recall" - recall was June 2016 and keep calling Ford and still cannot fix it. They can build new cars and make money but not fix a very bad problem of cars they already made money on, which is not right. They should be help accountable to do a fix that's dangerous than bringing new cars off their assembly line!!!!

- Hollywood, FL, USA

problem #50

Mar 172017

Edge

  • miles
Takata recall. I received a recall notice from Ford on March 17, 2017 describing an "issue" regarding potential metal fragments in the airbags. I tried to get the airbags replaced in cleveland, at Liberty Ford. We moved to hilton head in the spring of 2017 and I have since tried to get the airbags replaced, on November 6, 2017 at O.C. welch Ford in hardeeville, SC. Neither dealerships will replace the airbags because they state the replacement airbags are "not available" and that Ford will send me a letter advising me when parts are available. Part of the problem may be that I did not buy my 2009 Ford Edge at a dealership. I bought it while I was stationed in landstuhl, germany with the navy. I bought it through overseas military sales and picked the car up at a dealership in parma oh after it was shipped there. This shouldn't have any bearing on Ford replacing my airbags, but perhaps it does.

- Hilton Head Island, SC, USA

problem #49

Mar 012017

Edge 6-cyl

  • miles
2009 Ford Edge. Consumer writes in regards to safety airbag recall. The consumer stated the airbag recall exceeded a reasonable amount of time to be completed. Updated 11/22/2017 updated 12/7/2017

- Powhatan, VA, USA

problem #48

Jul 012016

Edge

  • miles
Takata recall in July of 2016 I received notice that my passenger side air bag was under recall it has a takata air bag. I have called and complained to Ford Motor Co. I have received no response and the airbag is still in my car. They assure me that there is no reason for alarm. They have no replacement at this time I call the dealership at least once a month to check.

- Wayne, MI, USA

problem #47

Nov 202016

Edge

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Ford Edge. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 17V024000 (air bags) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. Sheehy Ford of ashland of ashland, Virginia was made aware of the recall and stated that the parts were unavailable. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- King And Queen Courthouse, VA, USA

problem #46

Nov 172017

Edge

  • miles
Takata recall, it has been over a year since the recall begin and the dealers still say they don't have parts.

- Sacramento, CA, USA

problem #45

Nov 152017

Edge

  • miles
Takata recall all Ford service departments in my area said that they cannot get the parts to fix my airbags.

- Fruitvale, TX, USA

problem #44

Sep 152009

Edge

  • 99 miles
I received a recall notice in the mail dated July 2016, went to my Ford dealer and was advised they would contact me once the parts were available. It's now been 16 months and they continue to tell me the parts are not yet available. My wife has been driving an unsafe vehicle now since purchasing this automobile new on 9/15/2009 and no one seems to be interested in making the repairs. She and I both want to know when we can expect these life and/or death repair parts to become available

- Columbus, GA, USA

problem #43

Jan 102017

Edge

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2009 Ford Edge. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 17V024000 (air bags); however, the parts to do the repair were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The dealer (platte valley auto - kearney, 4210 N 2nd ave, kearney, ne 68847) was contacted and confirmed that the parts were not available for the recall remedy. The manufacturer was not contacted. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Burwell, NE, USA

problem #42

Nov 092017

Edge

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2009 Ford Edge. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V384000 (air bags); however, the parts to do the repair were unavailable. The contact received the recall notice over a year ago. The dealer (redlands Ford Inc., 1121 w colton ave, redlands, ca 92374 (909) 793-3211) was contacted several times and confirmed that the parts were not available for the recall remedy. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact received a postcard from tk holdings about filing for bankruptcy. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Redlands, CA, USA

problem #41

Nov 092017

Edge

  • miles
Takata recall have not been contacted regarding recall, my vehicle has not been repaired

- Duncanville Meadow Ln, TX, USA

problem #40

Jun 012016

Edge

  • miles
Takata recall

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #39

Jan 012016

Edge

  • 98,000 miles
Takata recall. Ford is not taking care of this safety recall. The company is just passing the buck to another company which is bankrupt.

- Goleta, CA, USA

problem #38

Oct 012015

Edge

  • miles
I received the recall notice almost 2 years ago. This has not been repaired, I am hesitant of having anyone ride in the passenger seat

- Kearney, MO, USA

problem #37

Nov 032017

Edge

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Ford Edge. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 17V024000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. Crest Ford Inc. In flat rock, Michigan 48134 was made aware of the recall and stated that the parts were unavailable. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Brownstown Twp, MI, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »