6.6

fairly significant
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
10,503 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

The NHTSA is the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints can be spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem. See the Back button — blue bar at the very top of the page — to explore more.

Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Ford Edge:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #36

Sep 012017

Edge

  • miles
Takata recall: Air bags need to be replaced per recall.

- Joliet, IL, USA

problem #35

Jun 292016

Edge

  • miles
Its been since 2016 that the takata recall on my Ford Edge was brought to my attention but I have yet to get the replacement of my airbags. I went to 2 Ford deals and was informed that I need to present a letter stating that I could get my airbags replaced. My vehicle remains a hazard to occupants. How much longer is the process for replacement of hazardous airbags? is there anything I can do to speed up the process.

- Mcallen, TX, USA

problem #34

Jun 012016

Edge

  • miles
Takata recall - no remedy despite recall in June 2016. No replacement to date. Takata has filed chapter 11.

- Glendale, CA, USA

problem #33

Jul 122016

Edge

  • miles
Takata recall. Having been checking with helfman Ford in houston and many other local Ford dealers on many occasions to get takata replacement airbags for my 2009 Ford Edge since July 2016 through November 3, 2017 to get replacement because of fear of personal injury or death due to defective airbag as part of the national air bag recall but the houston dealers do not have parts to replace still

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #32

Nov 022017

Edge

  • miles
Takata recall: No parts available from Ford to repair air bag. It is at least five months since my first notification and Ford cannot say when they will have the parts. I am concerned that nothing will be done. Who is making sure repairs are done in timely manner?

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #31

Mar 012017

Edge

  • miles
Takata recall. I have been calling Ford since I received this notice back in March and they keep telling me that the parts are not available. I received a notice today of a takata chapter 11 bankruptcy filing and I am concerned that my recalled airbag might never be replaced now.

- Eugene, OR, USA

problem #30

Oct 252017

Edge

  • miles
I received a post card telling me of the problem from tk holdings, Inc.

- Suffolk, VA, USA

problem #29

Oct 312017

Edge

  • miles
Takata recall: Nothing being done by Ford regarding replacement of parts. Received the notice in the mail from tk holdings regarding the issue with the defective takata airbag inflator... called a Ford dealership to receive free airbag repair and was told there were no parts from Ford. This a recall dated from January 2017 and it is now October 31, 2017

- Warrensville Heights, OH, USA

problem #28

Jan 102017

Edge

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2009 Ford Edge. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 17V024000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The dealer was contacted (ed kenley Ford, layton, ut, 801-776-4201) and confirmed that the parts were not available for the recall remedy. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue and was not able to confirm when the parts were to become available. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Ogden, UT, USA

problem #27

Oct 032016

Edge

  • 150,000 miles
Takata recall -- after checking that my vehicle was impacted by this recall, I have continuously called dealers in Virginia beach and northern Virginia for the past year and there isnt even a waiting list. I am told to try back again without any suggestion as to when they will be have materials in stock to fix the situation.

- Virginia Beach, VA, USA

problem #26

Jun 012016

Edge

  • miles
Takata recall: Well over a year ago I received notice from Ford that I have a takata airbag that was recalled. These airbags were not in the first recall but would be replaced as soon as new ones were available. In September, 2017 I asked my dealer is there was any date yet on when these airbags would be available. They said no, not yet. How much longer am I to wait, especially since takata has filed for bankruptcy?

- Seaford, DE, USA

problem #25

Mar 152016

Edge

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2009 Ford Edge. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 17V024000 (air bags). The part to do the recall repair was not yet available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. Larry H. miller Ford lakewood (11595 w 6th ave, lakewood, co 80215, (720) 643-1545) confirmed that the part was not yet available. The manufacturer was not notified. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Lakewood, CO, USA

problem #24

Mar 012017

Edge

  • miles
Takata recall Ford sent me a letter for replacement of air bags and dealership says they aren't available. No deployment

- Bolton, CT, USA

problem #23

Jan 102017

Edge

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2009 Ford Edge. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 17V024000 (air bags) and stated that the part was not available within a reasonable time frame to schedule the recall repair. The dealer (champaign Ford city, 701 w marketview dr, champaign, il 61822, (217) 352-0462) did not give a specific date for when the part would become available. The manufacturer was contacted and could not provide an estimated date for when the contacts vehicle would receive the recall repair. The contact was not experiencing a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Mahomet, IL, USA

problem #22

Jun 012016

Edge

  • miles
Takata recall. I received a notice in the mail over a year ago about this airbag recall. I decided to check on status and there still is no remedy yet available. I believe this is unacceptable to be wait over a year for an extremely important safety device. The recall was issued June 1, 2016.

- Tampa, FL, USA

problem #21

Oct 242017

Edge

  • 120,000 miles
Takata recall - vehicle recall status dating back to June 1, 2016 is still incomplete due to remedy not yet available. I received a notice in the mail today (10-24-2017) that tk holdings, Inc. (takata) and certain of its affiliates have filed chapter 11 bankruptcy cases. My complaint is that the defective air bags in my vehicle have not be repaired/replaced.

- Athens, AL, USA

problem #20

Oct 242017

Edge

  • 56,000 miles
Received Ford safety recall notice July 2016. Airbag on passenger side cannot be changed because local dealers say replacement airbag not available. Have contacted dealer 4 times since July 2016 and still they do not have replacement airbag. Very concerned with letting anyone sit in passenger seat due to possible harm to persons in event of airbag deployment.

- Billings, MT, USA

problem #19

Feb 202017

Edge

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2009 Ford Edge. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 17V024000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The contact called Ford country (280 N gibson rd, henderson, nv 89014) and was informed that the part was unavailable. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. The VIN was not available. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Henderson, NV, USA

problem #18

Feb 282017

Edge

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Ford Edge. The contact received a notification of NHTSA campaign number: 17V024000 (air bags) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The vehicle was taken to an unknown dealer in christianburg, va where they confirmed parts were not available. The manufacturer was notified of issue. The contact had not experienced any failures. The VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Christiansburg, VA, USA

problem #17

Jan 102017

Edge

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Ford Edge. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 17V024000 (air bags); however, the parts to do the repair were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The contact called a local dealer (southeast Ford, 2224 w elk ave, elizabeth, tn 37643) and was informed that the parts were not available. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue and was not able to confirm when the parts were to become available. The contact stated that he visited the websites (tkrestructions.com/ppic) and (airbagrecall.com), but did not receive a response. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Elizabethton, TN, USA

Read the next 16 complaints »