10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
21 / 4
Injuries / Deaths:
11 / 1
Average Mileage:
89,839 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

The NHTSA is the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints can be spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem. See the Back button — blue bar at the very top of the page — to explore more.

Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Ford Escape:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #33

May 062012

Escape 6-cyl

  • miles
As I was accelerating to get on the freeway I felt my car accelerate beyond the speed in which I was applying pressure. I immediately removed my foot from the pedal but the pedal remained all the way on the floor board. I tried braking but the brake pedal applied no stopping force. I exited the freeway not knowing what was ahead in terms of innocent bystanders and traffic. Not knowing how to proceed I began standing on the brake with both feet and lifting the emergency brake. My car continued to gain speed and showed no signs of slowing down. I drove the right side of my vehicle down some concrete construction barriers on the feeder in hopes that it would slow the vehicle but our speed was so great at this point we were bouncing off and I was afraid we would cause a more horrific accident by being thrown back on to the freeway. I made it through an intersection narrowly missing a truck driving through. I got on to the other side of the concrete barriers at the intersection and began driving on the dirt road under construction. Searching for something to crashed into to stop my vehicle as each passing second our speed increased, I located a telephone pole and crashed into it with my two small children, my mother and myself in the vehicle. I am unsure if the vehicle caught fire but there were bystanders would came with a fire extinguisher and sprayed my engine. I am also unsure of the speed of the vehicle at the point of impact. The last time I looked it was around 60 miles per hour when I was entering the freeway.

- Cypress, TX, USA

problem #32

Jul 022012

Escape

  • 97,769 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Ford Escape. The contact stated that upon starting, there was an increase in the engine rpms and the vehicle accelerated forward once shifted into gear. The vehicle was taken to a local repair shop. The repair shop stated that the throttle body gasket and sensor needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was contacted. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 97,769 and the current mileage was 98,000.

- Bennington, NE, USA

problem #31

Feb 072011

Escape 6-cyl

  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Ford Escape. The contact stated that the vehicle would sporadically exhibit sudden acceleration. The contact had to use the emergency brakes on each occasion, but the wheels continued spinning. The contact's mechanic cleaned the accelerator pedal but stated that they did not find a problem with the vehicle. The failure recurred after the cleaning of the accelerator pedal. The failure mileage was 100,000 and the current mileage was 146,000. Updated 08/28/12 the consumer stated that the vehicle was put into reverse and then accelerated on its own. The consumer depressed the brake but, the vehicle did not stop until the emergency brake was pulled. The front wheels continued to spin. The second time shifting from reverse to park, then to drive the vehicle accelerated again. The emergency brake was pulled and the front wheels continued to spin. Updated 09/05/2012

- Lincoln University, PA, USA

problem #30

May 032012

Escape

  • 157,100 miles
As I was accelerating to pass a slow moving vehicle, I pressed on the gas petal and after I was back in my proper lane, my vehicle kept speeding and not backing off on the gas. I then put the car in neural and the engine continued to keep racing. I tried to stomp lightly on the gas petal to see if it would come back up but it didn't. I then shut off the engine and called the tow truck company.

- Allendale, MI, USA

problem #29

Jul 182012

Escape

  • 100,000 miles
I do not own a Ford Escape but rather I'm a mechanic that has ran into this problem 2 or 3 times over the last couple years. The throttle sticks on these vehicles due to the speed control actuator to throttle cable. There is a plastic sleeve around the steel cable that allows the cable to retract freely. The plastic degrades and brakes up over time allowing the speed control throttle cable to bind and wedge its self under the engine cover causing a stuck wide open throttle condition. There should be a recall on this cable. It runs from the speed control (cruise control) actuator to the throttle body butterfly. Removal of the engine cover is the simple fix for this issue, but the speed control cable is indeed at fault.

- Colorado Springs, CO, USA

problem #28

May 152012

Escape 6-cyl

  • 76,000 miles
I would like to add my complaint to the acceleration problems of the 2001-2004 Ford Escapes which my 2004 has also experienced. There have been a few situations over the last 2-3 years where my cars engine would suddenly start racing while parked at idle. When the issue first began I was able to tap the gas pedal with my foot and the car would return to a standard idle. The more recent instances now require turning the vehicle off and it would idle normal again after being restarted. I believe this problem is connected to a current investigation and the letter dated 7/10/12 written to Ford from the center for auto safety. This may also be connected to a prior recall 04V-574 that I was recently made aware of. Please keep me advised of your efforts or anything I can do to help. Thank you

- Sterling Heights, MI, USA

problem #27

Mar 152008

Escape

  • 52,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Ford Escape. The contact stated that at engine start up, air bag warning light illuminated. On a seperate occassion, the accelerator pedal detached from the vehicle while attempting a turn. The vehicle was taken to the dealer and a private mechanic to diagnose both failures. The dealer confirmed that a computer chip failed and the private mechanic replaced the throttle cable for the detached accelerator pedal. The manufacturer was contacted. The failure mileage was 52,000 and the current mileage was 78,116.

- Muskegon, MI, USA

problem #26

Jan 012011

Escape

  • 85,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Ford Escape. The contact was driving approximately 55 mph when the vehicle abnormally accelerated at a rapid speed. The vehicle failed to decelerate when the brakes were applied. The contact immediately shifted into neutral and the vehicle came to a complete stop with the engine exhibiting an unusually high increase in rpms. The failure recurred intermittently. The dealer was notified and they advised the contact that there were no recalls related to the failure for his vehicle. The vehicle was neither repaired nor diagnosed for the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 85,000. Updated 03/22/11 updated 12/20/11

- Rogers, MN, USA

problem #25

Dec 102010

Escape

  • 141,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Ford Escape. The contact stated that when she depressed the accelerator pedal, it stuck to the floorboard and accelerated up to 80 mph although the brake pedal was also depressed. The contact had to turn the vehicle off to stop the vehicle. The vehicle had not been inspected or repaired. The current and failure mileages were approximately 141,000.

- Norwood , NC, USA

problem #24

Oct 242010

Escape

  • 107,394 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Ford Escape. While driving 65 mph with the cruise control on as he depressed the accelerator pedal to past another vehicle there was sudden acceleration and the vehicle speed increased more than it should. He had to depress the brake pedal with extreme force in order to get to move onto the side of the road and turn the engine off. The vehicle was towed to the closest dealer and after inspection he was told that the vehicle speed control cable broke and caused the vehicle to accelerate. The vehicle speed control was disconnected; yet, the vehicle was driven to his residence. He then took the vehicle to another dealer where they replaced the cable at his expense for $160. The manufacturer was notified and also offered no assistance. The failure mileage was 107,394.

- Waynesburg, PA, USA

problem #23

Jul 182010

Escape

  • 164,000 miles
On Sunday, July 18th, 2010, while driving on 280 S. in the afternoon, I passed a vehicle that was traveling approximately 50 mph on the highway. As I pressed the accelerator, the vehicle continued to accelerate. As this was the 2nd occurrence, I did not panic but tried a couple of remedies. I ensured the cruise control was off, it was. I tried to "pop" the gas pedal off the floor but it was limp. I tapped the accelerator to no avail. I put the vehicle in neutral as the RPM's were hitting over 4500 RPM and the mph were hitting over 70+ and not slowing. I coasted to the side and waited for a tow truck. The car was taken to the dealer. They found the throttle cable was indeed slack and the throttle body was in the wide open position. They called the Ford hotline who said they have never heard of the problem occurring or had a record of the occurrence. The dealer charged me for the inspection and suggested I replace the throttle body and pvc valve? they weren't sure if that was the cause of the problem but they suggested it. The throttle body, they said was on back order because of increased demand. The vehicle had 164,000 miles on it.

- San Jose, CA, USA

problem #22

Oct 182009

Escape

  • 140,000 miles
I was the owner of a 2004 Ford Escape that was recalled because the engine would suddenly accelerate uncontrollable. I had to call my insurance co. Geico because of this they sent out a tow truck to check the situation. The tow operator got the engine to run normally. I put in a claim against Ford and was told that they did not think they were liable. My Escape accelerated again and was involved in a accident that totaled the vehicle. I need help to present my case to Ford Motor Co.

- Forestville, MD, USA

problem #21

Apr 142010

Escape

  • 73,272 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Ford Escape. The contact stated that while driving at speeds of 35 mph with her foot steady on the accelerator pedal, the vehicle accelerated up to speeds of 70 mph without warning. She shifted into neutral gear and had to use both feet to apply extreme pressure to the brake pedal, in order to bring the vehicle to a stop. She stated that there was a burning odor throughout the failure. The dealer performed a diagnostic test which revealed that the vehicle cruise control cable had broken and caused a shard of metal to become lodged in the accelerator mechanism. The vehicle had not been repaired when the complaint was filed. The approximate failure and current mileages were 73,272.

- Aurora, CO, USA

problem #20

Mar 152010

Escape

  • 104,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Ford Escape. While driving approximately 60 mph with the accelerator pedal depressed more than of the way, the contact noticed that the pedal would not release causing the vehicle to accelerate. He applied the brake pedal which slowed the vehicle down. The failure occurred on three occasions. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer and the contact had not spoken with the manufacturer when the complaint was filed. The current mileage was approximately 104,000. The failure mileage was approximately 100,000.

- Arlington, MA, USA

problem #19

Mar 232010

Escape 6-cyl

  • 72,667 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Ford Escape. The contact stated that while driving at unknown speeds and removing his foot from the accelerator pedal, the vehicle suddenly accelerated. He was able to bring the vehicle to a stop without incident. In addition, the contact stated that the engine would exhibit unusual increases in rpms of up to 4500 while in any gear. The vehicle was previously repaired under NHTSA campaign id number 04V574000: Vehicle speed control: Cables, however the dealer stated that the failure was contributed to the idle air control valve malfunctioning. He proceeded to explain the idle air control valve was not closing correctly, therefore causing the vehicle to accelerate without depressing the accelerator pedal. The failure mileage was 77,000 and the current mileage was 72667. The idle air control valve failed which caused the vehicle to accelerate at an excessive speed. Updated 05/03/10. Updated 06/03/10 updated 06/10/10.

- Niceville , FL, USA

problem #18

May 132009

Escape

  • 90,000 miles
Ford Escapes were recalled for sticking accelerators while this vehicle was under warranty. At ~90K miles, accelerator began sticking (three separate occasions). Fortunately all occurred on the highway where there was enough time to pull over and 'unstick' the accelerator. Mats were not the issue since I removed the mats after the first incident. Ford claimed there was nothing wrong yet replaced several components (at my expense). No incidents since then - about 20K miles later. Obviously they still have a problem.

- Hoffman Estates, IL, USA

problem #17

Mar 012010

Escape

  • 62,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Ford Escape. The vehicle failed to accelerate and decelerate and he had to turn the vehicle off to avoid a collision. The manufacturer stated that the vehicle was repaired under recall 04V5740000 vehicle speed control, cables in 2005; therefore they will not offer any assistance. The vehicle will be repaired. The failure mileage was 62,000. The current mileage was 112,000.

- Tampa, FL, USA

problem #16

Jan 152010

Escape

  • 36,000 miles
While moving my 2004 Ford Escape in my driveway the vehicle suddenly accelerated without my foot on the pedal. I struck a bush in my yard and was able to stop. The bush was destroyed and there was approx. $500 damage to my vehicle. A recall repair on the accelerator cable was performed by Ford in March of 2005. I brought the vehicle to a Ford dealer who would not even look at the vehicle without charging me. I reported the incident to Ford Motor Co. Who stated that they repaired the accelerator cable when it was recalled and would not repair it again. I have since had the bumper damage repaired and will have the accelerator cable inspected by an independent garage. I am lucky that no one was hurt during this incident. I am hesitant to drive this car again and I am very careful when I have to. I am a retired police officer and have seen what M/V crashes can do.

- Wilmington, MA, USA

problem #15

Oct 122007

Escape

  • miles
Ford 2004 Escape - slowly making ascent up a driveway - suddenly accelerator pedal sticks, engine racing, car begins rapid acceleration - driver able to slam on brakes with extreme pressure to stop car - engine continues to race - driver able to put car in park with engine still racing - turns off car. He then turns car back on, only to have engine still racing - immediately turns off again. Dealership called to come pick up car.

- Farmington Hills, MI, USA

problem #14

Jan 082010

Escape

  • 38,000 miles
The engine revs in below zero weather ever since I bought the Escape in 2003. I'll be driving on the freeway at 60 mph and the only way I can slow the speed of the car is by applying the brakes and the engine continues revving as if it were still going 60. Then when I get off the freeway the car continues to rev like that and I stop at stop signs and it revs and only by pushing down hard on the brake can I control the car as it continues to rev as if going about 60mph. Often when I start it in the morning it revs (when below zero) and continues to rev as I drive a mile or so to have coffee. This has been the case since I got the car. I initially took it in to tousley Ford in white bear, Minnesota. They said it was fixed and charged something like $186 and it did the same thing on driving it home (about 12 miles). I took it back then and there as it was dangerous and they tried to fix it again and it still revved. Attempted fixes: Feb 18, 08 replaced iac, replaced 1L8Z*9F715 X-valve. Then Feb. 19, '08 replaced iac again per invoice. I just gave up and due to finances decided to take my chances driving it as is (still revs). What do I do now? the date of incident instead of Jan. 8, 2010 should be stated as "every winter since 2003". never has been fixed.

- St. Paul, MN, USA

Read the next 13 complaints »